DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to applicants’ amendment and response received November 11, 2025. Claims 24-26, 28-30, and 32-43 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The rejection of claims 24-26, 30, 32, 33, and 38-42 under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Ivanova et al, RU 2009/148269 is withdrawn in view of applicants’ amendment and response.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24-26, 28, 30, 32-36, and 38-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiang et al, US 6,583,181.
Chiang et al teach disinfecting wipes (col. 4, lines 62-67) comprising NaOH, EDTA, a 60/40 mixture of DDMAC and BZK, and the balance water with a pH of 7.1 (col. 6, example 1). Suitable biocidal amines include Lonzabac 12 (col. 3, lines 41-45), and so as mixtures of biocides are contemplated by the reference, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to include Lonzabac 12 in example 1 with confidence of forming an effective disinfecting solution as Lonzabac 12 is taught as a suitable biocide of the reference.
With respect to the pH range claimed, these compositions may have a pH as high as 8.5 (col. 4, lines 27-29).
With respect to claims 34-36, ethoxylated alcohols are suitable surfactants of the invention (col. 4, lines 19-21).
Applicants have traversed this rejection on the grounds that the reference teaches neutral pH values and so does not recognize that a more basic pH allows for effective compositions without the use of alcohol. First, there is no alcohol in example 1 above and the reference allows for pH values as high as 8.5, which is within the range claimed. Disinfecting wipes with an alkaline pH are known in the art, and the reference allows for a more basic pH than exemplified, and so the rejection is maintained.
Claims 24-26, 28-30, 32-36, and 38-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al, US 2018/0343859.
Jiang et al teach an antimicrobial wipe composition comprising 0.1% Lonzabac 12, 0.4% of a mixture of BZK and DDDMAC (20% Lonzabac active agent), EDTA, monoethanolamine, ethoxylated alcohol, and the balance water (¶84, example 2), wherein the composition has a pH as high as 9 (¶21). This is precisely the invention claimed except the examiner cannot say with certainty that the ratio of BZK to DDMAC is 50/50. These mixtures are common, however, and are commercially available as taught by Chiang et al above and so the examiner maintains one of ordinary skill in the art would expect these two disinfectants to be present in roughly equal amounts.
With respect to claim 29, GLDA is a suitable chelant of the invention (¶64).
Applicants have traversed this rejection on the grounds that the reference teaches a wide range of pH values and so does not recognize that a more basic pH allows for effective compositions without the use of alcohol. First, there is no alcohol in example 2 above and the reference allows for alkaline pH values within the range claimed. Disinfecting wipes with an alkaline pH are known in the art and the reference allows for a basic pH and so the rejection is maintained.
Claims 24-26, 28-30, and 32-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al, US 2018/0343859 in view of Napolitano et al, US 2012/0039974.
Jiang et al are relied upon as set forth above. Though ethoxylated alcohols are the preferred surfactant of the reference, the reference does not mention a C16-18 alcohol. Such nonionic surfactants are extremely common in the art as taught by Napolitano et al, which teaches a disinfecting wipe comprising a quaternary biocide and ethoxylated alcohol (¶87, table 1), and suitable ethoxylated alcohols may have cetyl, stearyl, and cetostearyl alkyl groups (¶56). It would be patently obvious to use common ethoxylated alcohols based on C16-18 alcohols in the disinfecting wipe of Jiang et al as these ethoxylated alcohols are taught as suitable in the disinfecting wipes of Napolitano et al.
Applicants’ traversal is the same as above and the examiner’s response is the same.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLES I BOYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761