Response to Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed 02/03/2023 does not comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.121(c)(2). Eight claims in the preliminary amendment are labeled as Currently Amended, but there is no underlining or strikethrough to show the changes to the claims. A marked up version of the original filing that was used for examination, including strikethrough where language is removed and margin edits where text is added is included with this Office action as an appendix. Any amendment submitted must be based on the attached amendment with regards to the identifiers per 37 CFR 1.121(c). Any future response that does not comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.121 may be held noncompliant.
Drawings
Figure 1 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g).
Figure 2 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(o) for lacking suitable descriptive legends. Examiner suggests using the labels as described in paragraph [0033] of the specification.
Figures 4 and 5 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(p) for not having legible text in the drawings. The mathematical notation in the drawings is not legible.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: “read from the secondary main memory” should read “read from the secondary . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: the first and second operation modules in claims 1 and 6, which are being interpreted as being implemented by hardware or software per paragraph [0062] of the specification.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 5's recitation of the LSTM parameter matrix comprising the first and second submatrices is already recited in claim 1, and therefore does not further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 10 is a method claim that corresponds to apparatus claim 5 and has the same issue with regards to its dependency on claim 6. Applicant may cancel the claims, amend the claims to place the claims in proper dependent form, rewrite the claims in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claims complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over colah's blog, “Understanding LSTM Networks”, hereinafter Olah; in view of Smith et al., “Anatomy of High-Performance Many-Threaded Matrix Multiplication”, hereinafter Smith; and further in view of Hennessy et al., Computer Architecture: A Quantitative Approach, hereinafter Hennessy.
Regarding claim 1, Olah discloses for each of the K frames, the second operation module is operable to: cause the processor to compute a second intermediate result vector corresponding to each frame according to a second submatrix of the LSTM parameter matrix, the first intermediate result vector and an LSTM output vector of a previous frame; and update an LSTM gated vector and an LSTM state vector, and compute an LSTM output vector of a current frame according to the first intermediate result vector and the second intermediate result vector (p. 3, “repeating module in an LSTM”), but does not disclose either the reading of parameters into cache and doing a multiply-accumulate operation or the memory hierarchy.
Smith discloses an algorithm which is operable to read input vectors of K frames from a current layer into the processor cache and read one row after another from a first submatrix of a LSTM parameter matrix into the processor cache, to enable the processor to perform an multiply-accumulate operation between the input vectors of the K frames and one row after another of the first submatrix, until traversing all rows of the first submatrix to obtain a first intermediate result vector corresponding to each of the K frames (Figure 1), wherein K is greater than 1 and K is selected such that sizes of the input vectors of the K frames and of one row of the first submatrix of the LSTM parameter matrix are smaller than a size of the processor cache (Section II, ¶ 3).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the LSTM as disclosed by Olah to use the cache aware matrix multiplication algorithm as disclosed by Smith because Smith’s algorithm maximizing cache allows faster access to data when performing matrix multiplication compared to repeatedly reading data from memory or storage (Hennessy, Figure 2.1(b)).
Smith does not disclose the memory hierarchy of a computer. Hennessy discloses a system comprising a processor, a processor cache, a main memory, a secondary memory, a first operation module and a second operation module, wherein an access speed of the processor cache is higher than that of the main memory, and an access speed of the main memory is higher than that of the secondary memory (Figure 2.1(b)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the memory hierarchy as disclosed by Hennessy to the system as disclosed by Olah and Smith because “a memory hierarchy […] takes advantage of locality and trade-offs in the cost-performance of memory technologies.” (p. 72).
Regarding claim 2, Smith discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the second operation module is operable to read the first intermediate result vector of the current frame and the LSTM output vector of the previous frame into the processor cache, and enable the processor to access the second submatrix in one of the main memory and the secondary memory (Figure 1), and Olah discloses thereby the processor computes the second intermediate result vector for each frame according to the second submatrix of the LSTM parameter matrix, the first intermediate result vector and the LSTM output vector of the previous frame (Page 9, Ct = ft * Ct-1 + (1 – ft) * Ct).
Regarding claim 3, Smith discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the first submatrix of the LSTM parameter matrix of the current layer is stored in the main memory (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 4, while Smith does not disclose storing the layer in the secondary memory, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a secondary memory instead of a primary memory as disclosed by Hennessy to re-use the parameters on a system reboot, because storage is not cleared the same way RAM is when a system boots.
Regarding claim 5, as discussed in the 35 U.S.C. 112(d) rejection above, it does not limit the scope as claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
Regarding claims 6-10, they are method claims that correspond to apparatus claims 1-5, respectively, and are rejected for the same reasons.
Discussion of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhang et al. (US 11,526,728) discloses splitting neural network data across cache layers to maximize throughput and the scheduling of performing LSTM operations into phases dependent on past outputs and independent of past outputs. Nurvitadhi et al. (US 2018/0189638) discloses techniques for streamlining LSTM operation by mapping the algorithm to a flow graph to best optimize the hardware, but does not use a cache-aware technique for multiply-accumulate.
Conclusion
/M.S./
Matthew StrappExaminer, Art Unit 2182 (571)272-9343
/ANDREW CALDWELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2182