DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 3,5, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farooqui et al. US 2019/0156647 in view of Cook et al., US 20170350846
Regarding claim 1, Farooqui discloses a three-dimensional (3D) printed sensor system, comprising: a 3D printed object (Fig. 1;side panels 103 with printed circuit board 121); a 3D printed sensor on a body of the 3D printed object, wherein a capacitance is indicative of an environmental condition of the 3D printed object (Fig. 1; Humidity sensor 118 measures dielectric constant of air; ¶[0028]; capacitor sensor measures humidity); and a controller integrated with the body of the 3D printed object, the controller to measure a capacitance of the 3D printed sensor (Fig. 1; computing device inside wireless transceiver 124).
Farooqui is silent in wherein the 3D printed sensor comprising a dielectric region disposed between electrodes, wherein the controller applies voltages to the electrodes of the 3D printed sensor such that the capacitance is measured and wherein a porosity of the dielectric region is selected to cause an amount of infiltration by a compound. However, Cook teaches a 3D printed sensor comprising a dielectric region disposed between electrodes (¶[0036] -sensors fabricated using 3D printing; Fig. 3- capacitive sensor 300 having electrodes 301, 302 with dielectric layer 304), wherein a controller applies voltages to the electrodes of the 3D printed sensor such that a capacitance is measured (Fig. 13; cpu 1312 to humidity sensor 1340) and wherein a porosity of the dielectric region is selected to cause an amount of infiltration by a compound (Claim 15; dielectric ink material sized to produce a selected porosity). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Cook into Farooqui since the substitution would produce the predictable result of detecting moisture and environmental conditions in the sensor system and provides a low cost and rapidly manufactured sensor.
Regarding claim 3, Farooqui discloses further comprising at least one of: a power supply; a storage device to store measured capacitance values; a communication device to transmit measured capacitance values; and a calibration sensor comprising a dielectric region disposed between electrodes to provide a calibration value (Fig. 1; wireless transceiver 124, converter 127; Fig. 2; battery 150).
Regarding claim 5, Farooqui is silent in wherein the dielectric region comprises at least one of unfused build material and under-fused build material. Rolin teaches wherein the dielectric region comprises at least one of unfused build material and under-fused build material (¶[0106]; dielectric deposition requiring unfused particles). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Rolin into Farooqui for the benefit of producing an efficient 3D printed sensor.
Regarding claim 6, Farooqui teaches wherein the controller is to transmit the capacitance of the 3D printed sensor (¶[0028]; transceiver outputs the capacitance values ).
Claim(s) 2, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farooqui et al. US 2019/0156647 in view of Cook et al., US 20170350846 in view of McAlpine et al., US 20190122584
Regarding claim 2, Farooqui discloses wherein: the 3D printed sensor is formed on a surface of the 3D printed object. Farooqui is silent in wherein the sensor follows a contour of a curved surface of the 3D printed object. McAlpine teaches wherein the sensor follows a contour of a curved surface of the 3D printed object (See Fig. 4d, 4g, 4h; sensor follows a curve of the 3d organ model). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of McAlpine into Farooqui as modified since the substitution would produce the predictable result of detecting moisture and environmental conditions in the sensor system.
Regarding claim 4, Farooqui is silent in wherein the calibration sensor is internal to the body of the 3D printed object. McAlpine teaches wherein a sensor is internal to a body of a 3d printed object (Fig. 15d; cap censor internal to the 3d organ model). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of McAlpine into Farooqui as modified for the benefit of monitoring conditions in the desired area.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farooqui et al. US 2019/0156647 in view of Cook et al., US 20170350846 in view of Pierre et al., US 20200132616
Regarding claim 7, Farooqui is silent in wherein: the dielectric region of the 3D printed sensor is to absorb a non-water chemical; and absorption of the non-water chemical produces a change in the capacitance of the dielectric region. Pierre teaches a dielectric region of a 3D printed sensor is to absorb a non-water chemical (¶[0028]; Fig. 3; printed humidity sensor with non-water absorptive dielectric region 322); and absorption of the non-water chemical produces a change in the capacitance of the dielectric region (¶[0030]; dielectric 322 used to limit capacitance from sensor leads therefore the region produces a change in capacitance). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Pierre into Farooqui in order to concentrate capacitive operation at a desired portion in the sensing element and/or to limit parasitic capacitance.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farooqui et al. US 2019/0156647 in view of Cook et al., US 20170350846 in view of Zhao et al., US 20190134898 in view of Flink et al., US 20180141274 A1
Regarding claim 8, Farooqui is silent in wherein: the 3D printed sensor comprises polyamide 12; the dielectric region of the 3D printed sensor comprises barium titanate; and electrodes of the 3D printed sensor comprise silver nanoparticles. Zhao teaches a 3D printed component comprises polyamide 12 (¶[0174]; polyimide 12 build material); and electrodes comprise silver nanoparticles (¶[0056]; silver nanoparticles in conductive region). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Zhao into Farooqui as modified for the benefit of providing the materials with desired properties of conducting and insulating electrical signals.
Farooqui as modified is silent in the dielectric region of the 3D printed sensor comprises barium titanate. Flink teaches a dielectric region of the 3D printed sensor comprises barium titanate (Fig. 14b; ¶[0101]; dielectric 160 may be barium titanate). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Flink into Farooqui as modified for the benefit of providing a material having high dielectric constant.
Claim(s) 9, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farooqui et al., US 2019/0156647 in view of Hussain et al., US 20190148170 in view of Cook et al., US 20170350846
Regarding claim 9, Farooqui discloses a method, comprising: measuring a capacitance of a three-dimensional (3D) printed humidity sensor on a surface of a 3D printed object (Fig. 1; side panels 103 with printed circuit board 121; Humidity sensor 118 measures dielectric constant of air; ¶[0028]; capacitor sensor measures humidity), wherein a controller is integrated with the body of the 3D printed object (Fig. 1; computing device inside wireless transceiver 124).
Farooqui is silent in wherein a capacitance of a dielectric region of the 3D printed humidity sensor is indicative of a humidity condition of the 3D printed object; and determining, from a database, a humidity for the 3D printed object based on the capacitance of the 3D printed humidity sensor. Hussain discloses wherein a capacitance of a dielectric region of a humidity sensor is indicative of a humidity condition of a 3D printed object (Fig. 11e; ¶[0047]-[0048];humidity sensor embedded in 3d printed packages; humidity sensor with polyimide film which absorb water molecules increases capacitance); and determining, from a database, a humidity for the 3D printed object based on the capacitance of the humidity sensor (Fig. 11d, 11f; low and high operation frequency capacitance to humidity level data known from the plot). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Hussain into Farooqui for determining humidity levels in different operating frequencies.
Farooqui is silent in wherein the 3D printed humidity sensor includes a dielectric
region disposed between electrodes, and wherein the controller applies voltages to the electrodes of the 3D printed humidity sensor such that the capacitance is measured and wherein a porosity of the dielectric region is selected to cause an amount of infiltration by a compound. However, Cook teaches a 3D printed sensor comprising a dielectric region disposed between electrodes (¶[0036] -sensors fabricated using 3D printing; Fig. 3- capacitive sensor 300 having electrodes 301, 302 with dielectric layer 304), wherein a controller applies voltages to the electrodes of the 3D printed sensor such that a capacitance is measured (Fig. 13; cpu 1312 to humidity sensor 1340) and wherein a porosity of the dielectric region is selected to cause an amount of infiltration by a compound (Claim 15; dielectric ink material sized to produce a selected porosity). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Cook into Farooqui since the substitution would produce the predictable result of detecting moisture and environmental conditions in the sensor system and provides a low cost and rapidly manufactured sensor.
Regarding claim 12, Farooqui is silent in further comprising: determining a structure of the dielectric region of the 3D printed humidity sensor; and determining a humidity based on the capacitance of the dielectric region of the 3D printed humidity sensor and the structure of the dielectric region. Hussain teaches determining a structure of the dielectric region of the 3D printed humidity sensor; and determining a humidity based on the capacitance of the dielectric region of the 3D printed humidity sensor and the structure of the dielectric region (¶[0047]l[0048]; polyimide film absorption is a change in structure which increases capacitance). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Hussain into Farooqui for determining humidity levels in different operating frequencies.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farooqui et al., US 2019/0156647 in view of Hussain et al., US 20190148170 in view of Cook et al., US 20170350846 in view of Chaffins et al., US 20180272607
Regarding claim 10, Farooqui is silent in further comprising forming the 3D printed humidity sensor by depositing build material and selectively depositing fusing agent to fuse portions of the build material to form the 3D printed humidity sensor. Chaffins teaches forming a 3D printed part by depositing build material and selectively depositing fusing agent to fuse portions of the build material to form the 3D printed part (Claim 2; “selectively applying a fusing agent on at least a portion of a build material”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Chaffins into Farooqui for the benefit of forming an efficient 3D printed sensor.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farooqui et al., US 2019/0156647 in view of Hussain et al., US 20190148170 in view of Cook et al., US 20170350846 in view of Itakura et al., US 20060186901.
Regarding claim 11, Farooqui is silent in further comprising measuring a capacitance from a calibration 3D printed humidity sensor; and wherein determining a humidity for the 3D printed object further comprises: calculating a difference between the capacitance of the 3D printed humidity sensor and the capacitance from the calibration 3D printed humidity sensor; and offsetting a humidity measurement based on a calculated difference. Itakura teaches measuring a capacitance from a calibration humidity sensor (Fig. 1; reference electrodes 143, 144); and wherein determining a humidity further comprises: calculating a difference between the capacitance of a humidity sensor and the capacitance from the calibration humidity sensor (¶[0044; capacitance difference in the electrodes determines humidity); and offsetting a humidity measurement based on a calculated difference (¶[0057]-[0059]; output of the sensor portion is adjusted). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Itakura into Farooqui for the benefit of providing a more accurate value of humidity in the object/environment that is monitored.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farooqui et al., US 2019/0156647 in view of Hussain et al., US 20190148170 in view of Cook et al., US 20170350846 in view of Lee et al., US 20170238870 A1
Regarding claim 13, Farooqui is silent in further comprising measuring capacitance values from a plurality of 3D printed humidity sensors. Lee teaches measuring values from a plurality of 3D printed humidity sensors (Fig. 1b-2; plurality of 3d printed humidity sensors 15 to signal collector 26). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Lee into Farooqui for the benefit of monitoring humidity at various locations within the structure.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farooqui et al., US 2019/0156647 in view of Itakura et al., US 20060186901 in view of Cook et al., US 20170350846.
Regarding claim 14, Farooqui discloses a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium encoded with instructions executable by a processor, the machine-readable storage medium comprising instructions to: determine a first capacitance from a measurement of a three-dimensional (3D) printed sensor integrated on a 3D printed object (Fig. 1; side panels 103 with printed circuit board 121; Humidity sensor 118), wherein a controller is integrated with the body of the 3D printed object (Fig. 1; computing device inside wireless transceiver 124).
Farooqui is silent in instructions to: determine a second capacitance from a measurement of a calibration sensor on an interior of the 3D printed object; and determine, from a mapping between capacitance and humidity values, a humidity at the 3D printed sensor based on the first capacitance and second capacitance. Itakura teaches determining a first capacitance from a measurement of a sensor integrated on an object (Fig. 1a; sensor having detection electrodes 141, 142); determine a second capacitance from a measurement of a calibration sensor on an interior of the object (Fig. 1a; sensor having detection electrodes 143, 144); and determine, from a mapping between capacitance and humidity values, a humidity at the sensor based on the first capacitance and second capacitance (¶[0043]; humidity detected on basis of capacitance difference between electrodes 141, 142 and electrodes 143, 144). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Itakura into Farooqui for the benefit of providing a more accurate value of humidity in the object/environment that is monitored.
Farooqui is silent in wherein the 3D printed sensor includes a dielectric region disposed between electrodes, and wherein the controller applies voltages to the electrodes of the 3D printed sensor such that the first capacitance is measured and wherein a porosity of the dielectric region is selected to cause an amount of infiltration by a compound. However, Cook teaches a 3D printed sensor comprising a dielectric region disposed between electrodes (¶[0036] -sensors fabricated using 3D printing; Fig. 3- capacitive sensor 300 having electrodes 301, 302 with dielectric layer 304), wherein a controller applies voltages to the electrodes of the 3D printed sensor such that a capacitance is measured (Fig. 13; cpu 1312 to humidity sensor 1340) and wherein a porosity of the dielectric region is selected to cause an amount of infiltration by a compound (Claim 15; dielectric ink material sized to produce a selected porosity). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Cook into Farooqui since the substitution would produce the predictable result of detecting moisture and environmental conditions in the sensor system and provides a low cost and rapidly manufactured sensor.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farooqui et al., US 2019/0156647 in view of Itakura et al., US 20060186901 in view of Cook et al., US 20170350846 in view of Hussain et al., US 20190148170
Regarding claim 15, Farooqui is silent in wherein the mapping is indexed by physical characteristics of the 3D printed sensor. Hussain teaches wherein a mapping is indexed by physical characteristic of a 3d printed sensor (¶[0048]; humidity levels mapped to capacitance based on polyimide characteristic changes). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Hussain into Farooqui for the benefit of providing an accurate measurement of humidity in the sensor environment.
Conclusion
/FEBA POTHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2858