DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on March 17, 2026. Claims 1-20 are still pending in the present application. This action is made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 17, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The argument features Mildh does not disclose the access eligibility condition is defined by the base station and evaluated by the UE to determine whether the communication session is to be established.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s statement and asserts that, using the broadest reasonable interpretation, Mildh discloses that the access eligibility condition is defined by the base station [par. 77, lines 1-3. “… the eNB may page the UE…using the S-TMSI of the UE in the local coverage area of the eNB.”] and evaluated by the UE to determine whether the communication session is to be established [par. 77, lines 1-10, based on the UE receiving the page from the eNB using the S-TMSI of the UE “…the UE…contacts the network by sending a NAS (Non Access Stratum) service request. The NAS service request will in turn trigger the setup of the RRC and S1 connection as well as the user plane radio bearers for the UE, and the UE will enter the ECM-CONNECTED state.”].
The independent claims are still broadly written. What does the defining entail? How does the UE evaluate the condition? Further amendments are needed to clearly indicate the patentable subject matter.
In view of the above, the rejection using Mildh and Kwon is maintained as repeated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mildh et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2017/0257904) in view of Kwon et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2013/0100938).
Consider claim 1; Mildh discloses a user equipment ("UE") for wireless communication, comprising:
at least one memory (par. 101, lines 2-9); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (par. 101, lines 2-9), the at least one processor configured to cause the UE to:
receive (par. 77, lines 3-4), from a base station (par. 77, lines 3-4), a paging message for establishing a communication session (par. 77, lines 3-10), wherein the at least one access eligibility condition is predefined [par. 77, lines 1-3. “… the eNB may page the UE…using the S-TMSI of the UE in the local coverage area of the eNB.”] and corresponds to at least one of a frequency band, a radio access network area (par. 77, lines 4-5), a timing advance range, a closed access group, or a network slice parameter;
evaluate the at least one access eligibility condition to determine whether the communication session is to be established [par. 77, lines 1-10, based on the UE receiving the page from the eNB using the S-TMSI of the UE “…the UE…contacts the network by sending a NAS (Non Access Stratum) service request. The NAS service request will in turn trigger the setup of the RRC and S1 connection as well as the user plane radio bearers for the UE, and the UE will enter the ECM-CONNECTED state.”];
determine (par. 77, lines 4-7), based on a configuration of the UE (e.g. location), whether the UE satisfies the at least one access eligibility condition [e.g. the UE is still in the local area (par. 77, lines 4-7)]; and
transmit (par. 77, lines 5-7), to the base station (par. 77, lines 5-7), a response to the paging message comprising an indication of whether the UE satisfies the at least one access eligibility condition [e.g. the UE is still in the local area (par. 77, lines 4-7)].
Mildh discloses the claimed invention except: a paging message that comprises a paging extension field specifying at least one access eligibility condition.
In an analogous art Kwon discloses that it is well known in the field of art for a paging message that comprises a paging extension field specifying at least one access eligibility condition (par. 136, lines 7-14).
It is an object of Mildh’s invention to provide a method for conveying data. It is an object of Kwon’s invention to provide a method of synchronizing data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Mildh by including paging fields, as taught by Kwon, for the purpose of effectively managing communication in a wireless network.
Consider claim 2, as applied in claim 1; Mildh discloses determine and indicate in the response a first subset of the set of conditions that can be fulfilled by the UE [e.g. NAS service request (par. 77, lines 5-7)] and a second subset of the set of conditions that cannot be fulfilled by the UE [e.g. setup (par. 77, lines 7-9)].
Consider claim 3, as applied in claim 1; Mildh discloses prior to receiving the paging message, send UE capability information that indicates the UE supports checking whether the at least one access eligibility condition is fulfilled [e.g. LTE capable (par. 45, lines 1-11)].
Consider claim 4, as applied in claim 1; Mildh discloses periodically scan conditions on the UE to determine whether the UE is capable of fulfilling the at least one access eligibility condition [e.g. whether the UE is in the local area or outside the area (par. 77, lines 4-7, 12-16)].
Consider claim 5, as applied in claim 1; Mildh discloses include, in the response, a request for assistance information to determine whether the UE can fulfill the at least one access eligibility condition [e.g. no response by the UE leads to assistance by other eNBs (par. 77, lines 12-16)].
Consider claim 6, as applied in claim 5; Mildh discloses receive the assistance information in response to the request (par. 78, lines 1-11).
Consider claim 7, as applied in claim 6; Mildh discloses the assistance information indicates one or more of a frequency availability within a paging area, a radio access network ("RAN") area (par. 78, lines 1-11), a timing advance ("TA"), a closed access group ("CAG"), or RAN capabilities of the UE.
Consider claim 8, as applied in claim 1; Mildh discloses the at least one access eligibility condition comprises at least one of a frequency availability within a paging area, a radio access network ("RAN") area (par. 77, lines 4-7, 12-16), a timing advance ("TA"), a closed access group ("CAG"), or a security domain.
Consider claim 9; Mildh discloses a network equipment ("NE") for wireless communication, comprising:
at least one memory (par. 82, lines 2-10); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (par. 82, lines 2-10), the at least one processor configured to cause the NE to:
define at least one access eligibility condition to control whether a communication session is to be established upon evaluation by a user equipment (“UE”) [par. 77, lines 1-3. “…the eNB may page the UE…using the S-TMSI of the UE in the local coverage area of the eNB.”], wherein the at least one access eligibility condition corresponds to at least one of a frequency band, a radio access network area (par. 77, lines 4-5), a timing advance range, a closed access group, or a network slice parameter;
send a paging message to the UE that indicates the at least one access eligibility condition for establishing the communication session (par. 77, lines 3-4);
receive (par. 77, lines 5-7), a response message from the UE that comprises an indication of whether the UE satisfies the at least one access eligibility condition [e.g. the UE is still in the local area (par. 77, lines 4-7)]; and
activate a data session with the UE (par. 77, lines 7-10) in response to the indication indicating that the UE satisfies the at least one access eligibility condition [e.g. the UE is still in the local area (par. 77, lines 4-7)].
Mildh discloses the claimed invention except: a paging message that indicates at least one access eligibility condition.
In an analogous art Kwon discloses that it is well known in the field of art for a paging message that indicates at least one access eligibility condition (par. 136, lines 7-14).
It is an object of Mildh’s invention to provide a method for conveying data. It is an object of Kwon’s invention to provide a method of synchronizing data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Mildh by including paging fields, as taught by Kwon, for the purpose of effectively managing communication in a wireless network.
Consider claim 10, as applied in claim 9; Mildh discloses determine and indicate in the response a first subset of the set of conditions that can be fulfilled by the UE [e.g. NAS service request (par. 77, lines 5-7)] and a second subset of the set of conditions that cannot be fulfilled by the UE [e.g. setup (par. 77, lines 7-9)].
Consider claim 11, as applied in claim 9; Mildh discloses receive a request for assistance information to determine whether the UE can fulfill the at least one access eligibility condition [e.g. no response by the UE leads to assistance by other eNBs (par. 77, lines 12-16)].
Consider claim 12, as applied in claim 11; Mildh discloses the assistance information indicates one or more of a frequency availability within a paging area, a radio access network ("RAN") area (par. 78, lines 1-11), a timing advance ("TA"), a closed access group ("CAG"), or RAN capabilities of the UE.
Consider claim 13, as applied in claim 9; Mildh discloses the at least one access eligibility condition is sent in the
Consider claim 14, as applied in claim 9; Mildh discloses the at least one access eligibility condition comprises at least one of a frequency availability within a paging area, a radio access network ("RAN") area (par. 77, lines 4-7, 12-16), a timing advance ("TA"), a closed access group ("CAG"), or a security domain.
Consider claim 15; Mildh discloses a method performed by a user equipment ("UE"), the method comprising:
receive (par. 77, lines 3-4), from a base station (par. 77, lines 3-4), a paging message for establishing a communication session (par. 77, lines 3-10), wherein the at least one access eligibility condition is predefined [par. 77, lines 1-3. “… the eNB may page the UE…using the S-TMSI of the UE in the local coverage area of the eNB.”] and corresponds to at least one of a frequency band, a radio access network area (par. 77, lines 4-5), a timing advance range, a closed access group, or a network slice parameter;
evaluate the at least one access eligibility condition to determine whether the communication session is to be established [par. 77, lines 1-10, based on the UE receiving the page from the eNB using the S-TMSI of the UE “…the UE…contacts the network by sending a NAS (Non Access Stratum) service request. The NAS service request will in turn trigger the setup of the RRC and S1 connection as well as the user plane radio bearers for the UE, and the UE will enter the ECM-CONNECTED state.”];
determining (par. 77, lines 4-7), based on a configuration of the UE (e.g. location), whether the UE satisfies the at least one access eligibility condition [e.g. the UE is still in the local area (par. 77, lines 4-7)]; and
transmitting (par. 77, lines 5-7), to the base station (par. 77, lines 5-7), a response to the paging message comprising an indication of whether the UE satisfies the at least one access eligibility condition [e.g. the UE is still in the local area (par. 77, lines 4-7)].
Mildh discloses the claimed invention except: a paging message that indicates at least one access eligibility condition.
In an analogous art Kwon discloses that it is well known in the field of art for a paging message that indicates at least one access eligibility condition (par. 136, lines 7-14).
It is an object of Mildh’s invention to provide a method for conveying data. It is an object of Kwon’s invention to provide a method of synchronizing data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Mildh by including paging fields, as taught by Kwon, for the purpose of effectively managing communication in a wireless network.
Consider claim 16; Mildh discloses a method performed by a network equipment (“NE”), comprising:
defining at least one access eligibility condition to control whether a communication session is to be established upon evaluation by a user equipment (“UE”) [par. 77, lines 1-3. “…the eNB may page the UE…using the S-TMSI of the UE in the local coverage area of the eNB.”], wherein the at least one access eligibility condition corresponds to at least one of a frequency band, a radio access network area (par. 77, lines 4-5), a timing advance range, a closed access group, or a network slice parameter;
sending a paging message to the UE that indicates the at least one access eligibility condition for establishing the communication session (par. 77, lines 3-4);
receiving (par. 77, lines 5-7), a response message from the UE that comprises an indication of whether the UE satisfies the at least one access eligibility condition [e.g. the UE is still in the local area (par. 77, lines 4-7)]; and
activating a data session with the UE (par. 77, lines 7-10) in response to the indication indicating that the UE satisfies the at least one access eligibility condition [e.g. the UE is still in the local area (par. 77, lines 4-7)].
Mildh discloses the claimed invention except: a paging message that indicates at least one access eligibility condition.
In an analogous art Kwon discloses that it is well known in the field of art for a paging message that indicates at least one access eligibility condition (par. 136, lines 7-14).
It is an object of Mildh’s invention to provide a method for conveying data. It is an object of Kwon’s invention to provide a method of synchronizing data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Mildh by including paging fields, as taught by Kwon, for the purpose of effectively managing communication in a wireless network.
Consider claim 17, as applied in claim 15; Mildh discloses determine and indicate in the response a first subset of the set of conditions that can be fulfilled by the UE [e.g. NAS service request (par. 77, lines 5-7)] and a second subset of the set of conditions that cannot be fulfilled by the UE [e.g. setup (par. 77, lines 7-9)].
Consider claim 18, as applied in claim 15; Mildh discloses prior to receiving the paging message, send UE capability information that indicates the UE supports checking whether the at least one access eligibility condition is fulfilled [e.g. LTE capable (par. 45, lines 1-11)].
Consider claim 19, as applied in claim 15; Mildh discloses periodically scan conditions on the UE to determine whether the UE is capable of fulfilling the at least one access eligibility condition [e.g. whether the UE is in the local area or outside the area (par. 77, lines 4-7, 12-16)].
Consider claim 20, as applied in claim 15; Mildh discloses include, in the response, a request for assistance information to determine whether the UE can fulfill the at least one access eligibility condition [e.g. no response by the UE leads to assistance by other eNBs (par. 77, lines 12-16)].
Conclusion
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within
TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not
mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the
shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any
extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
Examiner should be directed to Joel Ajayi whose telephone number is (571) 270-1091. The Examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday from 7:30am to 5:00pm and Friday 7:30am to 4:00 pm.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Jeanette Parker can be reached on (571) 270-3647. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/JOEL AJAYI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646