DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Upon consideration, the previous rejection of record was withdrawn in light of new amendments. However new rejection has been applied to the amended claims. All changes made in the rejection are necessitated by the amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 4, 8, 13, 17, 20-21, 29-31, 33-35, 38, and 49-53 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10-02-2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over U.S. Patent No. 5,051,325 hereinafter Shishikura.
Regarding Claims 1 and 29, Shishikura teaches a secondary battery (energy storage device) comprising a non-aqueous electrolyte (electrolyte composition), wherein the electrolyte comprises an acyclic ether (i.e., 1,2-dimethoxyethane), cyclic ether (i.e., tetrahydrofuran), and a sodium-based salt (column 10, lines 1-27).
Shishikura further teaches that a mixed solvent of 1,2-dimethoxyethane with another ether at a volume ratio of from 2/1 to 1/20 (column 10, lines 50-55). Shishikura teaches that the mixed solvent comprises acyclic ether with cyclic ether (column 10, lines 12-21).
Alternatively, the Supreme Court decided that a claim can be proved obvious merely by showing that the combination of known elements was obvious to try. In this regard, the Supreme Court explained that, " [w]hen there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill in the art has a good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp." An obviousness determination is not the result of a rigid formula disassociated from the consideration of the facts of the case. Indeed, the common sense of those skilled in the art demonstrates why some combinations would have been obvious where others would not. Therefore, choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation for success, is likely to be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S._,_, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 -97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143 , E.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form an electrolyte composition for a secondary battery, wherein the electrolyte comprises a mixed solvent of acyclic ether with cyclic ether at a volume ratio of from 2/1 to 1/20 before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because such configuration can form an electrolyte with improved electric conductivity.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 8, 13, 17, 20-21, 29-31, 33-35, 38 and 49-53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2020/0161706 hereinafter Cao in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,051,325 hereinafter Shishikura.
Regarding Claim 1, Cao teaches an electrolyte comprising: an active salt; and a solvent (paragraph 193), wherein the active salt comprises sodium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide [NaFSI] (paragraph 200), and wherein the solvent comprises 1,2-dimethoxyethane (DME) and 1,3-dioxolane (DOL) (paragraph 195).
Cao does not specifically teach that the cyclic ether is present at a higher volume than the acyclic ether.
However, Shishikura teaches a secondary battery (energy storage device) comprising a non-aqueous electrolyte (electrolyte composition), wherein the electrolyte comprises an acyclic ether (i.e., 1,2-dimethoxyethane), cyclic ether (i.e., tetrahydrofuran), and a sodium-based salt (column 10, lines 1-27).
Shishikura further teaches a mixed solvent of 1,2-dimethoxyethane with another ether at a volume ratio of from 2/1 to 1/20 (column 10, lines 50-55). Shishikura teaches that the mixed solvent comprises acyclic ether with cyclic ether (column 10, lines 12-21).
The Supreme Court decided that a claim can be proved obvious merely by showing that the combination of known elements was obvious to try. In this regard, the Supreme Court explained that, " [w]hen there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill in the art has a good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp." An obviousness determination is not the result of a rigid formula disassociated from the consideration of the facts of the case. Indeed, the common sense of those skilled in the art demonstrates why some combinations would have been obvious where others would not. Therefore, choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation for success, is likely to be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S._,_, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 -97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143 , E.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form an electrolyte composition for a secondary battery, wherein the electrolyte comprises a mixed solvent of acyclic ether with cyclic ether at a volume ratio of from 2/1 to 1/20 before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because such configuration can form an electrolyte with improved electric conductivity.
Regarding Claims 2 and 4, Cao teaches that the solvent comprises 1,2-dimethoxyethane (DME) and 1,3-dioxolane (DOL) (paragraph 195).
Regarding Claim 8, Cao teaches that the active salt comprises sodium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide [NaFSI] (paragraph 200).
Regarding Claims 13 and 17, Cao teaches that the active salt has a molar concentration in the electrolyte within a range of from 0.1 M to 3 M (paragraph 201).
Regarding Claims 20 and 21, Cao teaches an electrolyte that comprises an active salt (i.e., sodium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide [NaFSI]) (paragraph 200), and a solvent (i.e., 1,2-dimethoxyethane (DME) and 1,3-dioxolane (DOL)) (paragraph 195). With regards to recitation “operable below -40oC” and “operable below -150oC”, such recitation is considered a functional limitation and therefore not given patentable weight. In addition, the electrolyte composition of Cao is substantially similar to that of the claims and therefore capable of being operated at similar temperatures (see MPEP § 2112.01).
Regarding Claim 29, Cao teaches an energy storage device (paragraph 214) comprising an electrolyte, the electrolyte comprising: an active salt; and a solvent (paragraph 193), wherein the active salt comprises sodium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide [NaFSI] (paragraph 200), and wherein the solvent comprises 1,2-dimethoxyethane (DME) and 1,3-dioxolane (DOL) (paragraph 195).
Cao does not specifically teach that the cyclic ether is present at a higher volume than the acyclic ether.
However, Shishikura teaches a secondary battery (energy storage device) comprising a non-aqueous electrolyte (electrolyte composition), wherein the electrolyte comprises an acyclic ether (i.e., 1,2-dimethoxyethane), cyclic ether (i.e., tetrahydrofuran), and a sodium-based salt (column 10, lines 1-27).
Shishikura further teaches that a mixed solvent of 1,2-dimethoxyethane with another ether at a volume ratio of from 2/1 to 1/20 (column 10, lines 50-55). Shishikura teaches that the mixed solvent comprises acyclic ether with cyclic ether (column 10, lines 12-21).
The Supreme Court decided that a claim can be proved obvious merely by showing that the combination of known elements was obvious to try. In this regard, the Supreme Court explained that, " [w]hen there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill in the art has a good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp." An obviousness determination is not the result of a rigid formula disassociated from the consideration of the facts of the case. Indeed, the common sense of those skilled in the art demonstrates why some combinations would have been obvious where others would not. Therefore, choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation for success, is likely to be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S._,_, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 -97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143 , E.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form an electrolyte composition for a secondary battery, wherein the electrolyte comprises a mixed solvent of acyclic ether with cyclic ether at a volume ratio of from 2/1 to 1/20 before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because such configuration can form an electrolyte with improved electric conductivity.
Regarding Claim 30, Cao teaches that the energy storage device is a battery (paragraph 214).
Regarding Claim 31, Cao teaches that the energy storage device is a lithium ion or sodium ion battery (paragraph 174).
Regarding Claims 33 and 34, Cao teaches that the energy storage device is a sodium metal battery (paragraph 173).
Regarding Claim 35, Cao teaches that the energy storage device comprises an electrode, wherein the electrode is a carbon-based electrode (paragraph 174).
Regarding Claim 38, Cao teaches that the energy storage device comprises an electrode, wherein the electrode comprises a sodium metal anode (paragraph 182).
Regarding Claim 49, Cao teaches that the solvent comprises 1,2-dimethoxyethane (DME) and 1,3-dioxolane (DOL) (paragraph 195).
Regarding Claim 50, Cao teaches that the active salt comprises sodium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide [NaFSI] (paragraph 200).
Regarding Claims 51 and 52, Cao teaches that the active salt has a molar concentration in the electrolyte within a range of from 0.1 M to 3 M (paragraph 201).
Regarding Claim 53, Cao teaches an electrolyte that comprises an active salt (i.e., sodium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide [NaFSI]) (paragraph 200), and a solvent (i.e., 1,2-dimethoxyethane (DME) and 1,3-dioxolane (DOL)) (paragraph 195). With regards to recitation “operable below -40oC”, such recitation is considered a functional limitation in an apparatus claim and therefore not given patentable weight. In addition, the electrolyte composition of Cao is substantially similar to that of the claims and therefore capable of being operated at similar temperatures (see MPEP § 2112.01).
Claim(s) 1 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2021/0057795 hereinafter Bi in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,051,325 hereinafter Shishikura.
Regarding Claims 1 and 29, Bi teaches an energy storage device comprising an electrolyte, the electrolyte comprising: an electrolyte salt; and a solvent, wherein the electrolyte salt comprises sodium perchlorate [NaClO4] (paragraph 21), and wherein the solvent comprises 1,2-dimethoxyethane (DME) and 1,3-dioxolane (DOL) (paragraph 23).
Bi does not specifically teach that the cyclic ether is present at a higher volume than the acyclic ether.
However, Shishikura teaches a secondary battery (energy storage device) comprising a non-aqueous electrolyte (electrolyte composition), wherein the electrolyte comprises an acyclic ether (i.e., 1,2-dimethoxyethane), cyclic ether (i.e., tetrahydrofuran), and a sodium-based salt (column 10, lines 1-27).
Shishikura further teaches a mixed solvent of 1,2-dimethoxyethane with another ether at a volume ratio of from 2/1 to 1/20 (column 10, lines 50-55). Shishikura teaches that the mixed solvent comprises acyclic ether with cyclic ether (column 10, lines 12-21).
The Supreme Court decided that a claim can be proved obvious merely by showing that the combination of known elements was obvious to try. In this regard, the Supreme Court explained that, " [w]hen there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill in the art has a good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp." An obviousness determination is not the result of a rigid formula disassociated from the consideration of the facts of the case. Indeed, the common sense of those skilled in the art demonstrates why some combinations would have been obvious where others would not. Therefore, choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation for success, is likely to be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S._,_, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 -97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143 , E.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form an electrolyte composition for a secondary battery, wherein the electrolyte comprises a mixed solvent of acyclic ether with cyclic ether at a volume ratio of from 2/1 to 1/20 before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because such configuration can form an electrolyte with improved electric conductivity.
Conclusion
/OSEI K AMPONSAH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752