DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 9/22/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that:
As Unity of Invention Rules are being applied, the application may include an
independent claim for a given product, an independent claim for a process for the manufacture of the product and an independent claim for use of the product. The pending claims are directed to (1) A product (claims 1-16), and a process of use of said product (claims 17-23). Applicants have therefore complied with the Unity of Invention standards. Applicants assert that the pending set of claims complies with the requirement of Unity of Invention under PCT Rule 13 or at least that restriction should not be made between the product claims and the method claims. Applicants therefore assert that the Restriction Requirement is improper.
This is not found persuasive. The Unity of Invention Rules cites by Applicant refer to a product and a process of use of said product, i.e. the same product. However, the claimed product includes technical features not required by the claimed process. e.g. a feeder as claimed, an engagement member as claimed, and a moving mechanism as claimed. Additionally, the claimed pressing member is conventional. See the art rejection below.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
Figure 4 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include multiple not mentioned in the specification. The present invention is drawn to an improvement icer a conventional apparatus. In order to describe the invention, the present application imports a figure, numbered 4 in the application, from WO2015/132180. However, instead of keeping in the figure only reference numbers relevant to describing the invention, Fig. 4 also includes a large number of reference numbers that are not described in the specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters 190, 191, 193, 112 and 112’ have been used to designate different versions of corresponding structural elements. Whereas Fig. 4, for example, shows these elements as they are in the conventional apparatus. The embodiment of Fig. 5 modifies at least some of these elements relative to the conventional arrangement. The embodiment of Figs. 6-9 presents yet another modified version of at least some of these elements. However, the drawings use exactly the same reference numbers, despite the structural differences. Similarly, elements numbered 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 are present in both embodiments, but are structurally different. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to because Fig. 8 shows surfaces 2e and 2d as being in the plane of the paper. However, as understood from the disclosure, surfaces 2e and 2d should be at the contact between nozzle 191 and the wire 300, as seen in Fig. 7. In Fig. 8, “1C” should read --1c--. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to because [0060] of the application as published states member 1c is L-shaped when viewed in axial/longitudinal section in Fig. 9. However, member 1c does not appear L-shaped in Fig. 9, so it is unclear what is described. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-11 and 13-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, lines 2 and 3, “machine; said” should read --machine, said-- and “conductor; said” should read --conductor, said--;
In claim 1, line 17, “and press” should read --and pressing--;
In claim 4, line 2, “configure to” should read --configured to--;
In claim 15, line 1, “apparatus s according” should read --apparatus according--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Note that the present application incorporates by reference multiple features disclosed in several WO publications.
As per 35 C.F.R. 1.57(d): "Essential material" may be incorporated by reference, but only by way of an incorporation by reference to a U.S. patent or U.S. patent application publication, which patent or patent application publication does not itself incorporate such essential material by reference. "Essential material" is material that is necessary to:
(1) Provide a written description of the claimed invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor of carrying out the invention as required by 35 U.S.C. 112(a);
(2) Describe the claimed invention in terms that particularly point out and distinctly claim the invention as required by 35 U.S.C. 112(b); or
(3) Describe the structure, material, or acts that correspond to a claimed means or step for performing a specified function as required by 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Any claimed limitations interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) are deemed to have a corresponding structure as described in the present specification only, i.e., Applicant cannot rely on features incorporated by reference if the incorporation by reference is not according to 35 U.S.C. 1.57(d).
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
feeder configured feeding portions of said conductor along a feeding axis and through an aperture in a feeding direction in claim 1;
engagement member configured to engage said conductor in claim 1;
moving mechanism … configured to move the at least one engagement member relative to the aperture in a direction transverse to the feeding axis in claim 1;
pressing member configured for selectively engaging said conductor and press said conductor against a fixing backing surface in claim 1;
pressing member … configured to apply a pressing force to said conductor in a thrust direction substantially transverse to said feeding direction in claim 2;
pressing member … configured to apply said pressing force on at least two sides of a cross-section of said conductor in claim 6;
actuator member configured to move the pressing member in said thrust direction in claim 8;
transmission mechanism configured to convert movement of the actuator in the feeding direction into movement of the pressing member in the thrust direction in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 limitation “moving mechanism … configured to move the at least one engagement member relative to the aperture in a direction transverse to the feeding axis” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The issue here is that the specification attempts to incorporate by reference (see the application as published, paragraph [0030]) an example of a moving means (i.e., moving mechanism) described in WO2015/132180.
The incorporation of essential material in the specification by reference to an unpublished U.S. application, foreign application or patent, or to a publication is improper. Applicant is required to amend the disclosure to include the material incorporated by reference, if the material is relied upon to overcome any objection, rejection, or other requirement imposed by the Office. The amendment must be accompanied by a statement executed by the applicant, or a practitioner representing the applicant, stating that the material being inserted is the material previously incorporated by reference and that the amendment contains no new matter. 37 CFR 1.57(g).
Since the description of the moving mechanism is not properly incorporated by reference, the present application as originally filed does not describe the structure corresponding to the claimed moving mechanism.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 1 limitation engagement member configured to engage said conductor invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Referring to Fig. 4, the engagement members are understood to be rod-shaped elements. However, Fig. 6 shows a different structure for the engagement members, it not being clear what the structure is and how it functions. [0057] of the application as published acknowledges the engagement members 112, 112’ of Fig. 6 have a different structure from that of the engagement members shown in Fig. 4, without actually describing the structure. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
In claim 9, the term “said actuator” lacks proper antecedent basis.
In claim 10, the term “the actuator” lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claims 1-11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 limitation “moving mechanism … configured to move the at least one engagement member relative to the aperture in a direction transverse to the feeding axis” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The issue here is that the specification attempts to incorporate by reference (see the application as published, paragraph [0030]) an example of a moving means (i.e., moving mechanism) described in WO2015/132180. Since the specification omits a description of many of the reference numbers in Fig. 4, one of ordinary skill in the art would not know which structural elements are deemed to correspond to the claimed moving mechanism.
The incorporation of essential material in the specification by reference to an unpublished U.S. application, foreign application or patent, or to a publication is improper. Applicant is required to amend the disclosure to include the material incorporated by reference, if the material is relied upon to overcome any objection, rejection, or other requirement imposed by the Office. The amendment must be accompanied by a statement executed by the applicant, or a practitioner representing the applicant, stating that the material being inserted is the material previously incorporated by reference and that the amendment contains no new matter. 37 CFR 1.57(g).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ponzio (WO2012/156066A1) and further in view of Bibeau (US2007/0079642A1).
Claims 1 and 2 include limitations interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), as discussed above.
The structure corresponding to a feeder configured for feeding portions of said conductor along a feeding axis and through an aperture in a feeding direction, each portion having a predetermined length is deemed to be a pair of motorized belts pressing on the conductor and applying pull/thrust force to the conductor, or a pair of clamping units clamping the conductor using jaws that can hold and release the conductor in a coordinated and intermittent manner, as described in [0028] of the application as published, or equivalent structure.
The structure corresponding to engagement member configured to engage said conductor is deemed to be a rod-shaped element or equivalent structure, as shown in Fig. 4. However, see the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as the full scope of the structure covered by this limitation is unclear.
The structure corresponding to moving mechanism … configured to move the at least one engagement member relative to the aperture in a direction transverse to the feeding axis is unclear. See rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
The structure corresponding to pressing member configured for selectively engaging said conductor and press said conductor against a fixing backing surface in claim 1 and pressing member … configured to apply a pressing force to said conductor in a thrust direction substantially transverse to said feeding direction in claim 2 is deemed to be an elongated element (see Fig. 1a in Fig. 5), or the structure corresponding to movable body 1c as shown in Figs. 8 and 9 and as described in the specification, or equivalents thereof.
Ponzio discloses the claimed invention as follows (limitations not disclosed are crossed out, below):
Claim 1. An apparatus (see Fig. 1) for manufacturing coil members for insertion into slots of a core of a dynamo-electric machine; said coil members being formed by bending portions of an electric conductor; said apparatus comprising:
a feeder (16, including motorized belts 16a and 16b; see Fig. 1 and page 5, lns. 3-10) configured for feeding portions of said conductor along a feeding axis and through an aperture (80, Fig. 3) in a feeding direction (10’, Fig. 3), each portion having a predetermined length;
at least one engagement member (51, 52, Figs. 5-13a) configured to engage said conductor downstream of said aperture along the feeding direction;
a moving mechanism (drive cylinder 61, Fig. 6; see page 11, ln. 29 to page 12, ln. 4) operatively coupled to the at least one engagement member and configured to move the at least one engagement member relative to the aperture in a direction transverse direction to the feeding axis, wherein said conductor is bent by engagement with the at least one engagement member (see Figs. 8a-13a);
Claim 2.
Bibeau discloses an apparatus for bending a wire 70 to form a coil 132 (see Fig. 21). The apparatus includes a bending mechanism 16 (see Fig. 7) which includes a wire holding assembly 74 for selectively immobilizing the wire 70 during the bending process and a wire bending assembly 76 for bending a selected portion of the wire 70. See Fig. 7 and [0065]. “The wire holding assembly 74 includes a bracket 78, defining a wire-receiving support, to which is mounted an actuator 80 provided with a piston 82, defining a movable friction element, that may slide through an aperture of the bracket 78. The assembly 74 also includes a channel element 84 provided with a longitudinal channel 85 configured and sized to receive the wire 70 and defining a fixed friction element, and a top plate 86 interconnecting the element 84 and the bracket 78.” See [0066]. “The wire 70 is prevented from moving when it is frictionally engaged by the piston 82 when it is extended through the aperture of the bracket 78.” (see [0067]). As mentioned in [0075], “the piston 82 is actuated to prevent wire movement during the bending process and returns to its resting position while wire is fed to the bending mechanism.”
In view of the teachings of Bibeau, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the apparatus of Ponzio with a suitably modified and position wire holding assembly similar to that of Bibeau, at an appropriate location along the wire feed path, such as between the aperture and the engagement members, in order to prevent wire movement in the axial direction during the bending process. However, it is deemed one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to provide a wire holding assembly member at other locations, such as within tube 21 or right before aperture 80. The piston of such a wire holding assembly corresponds to the claimed pressing member, and the claimed backing surface is defined by the surface of channel element 84 on the opposite side of the wire, relative to the piston 82, as the wire passes through the channel 85.
Conclusion
/LIVIUS R. CAZAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3729