DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A2 (figure 1D), including claims 1-3, 10-12, 14-16, in the reply filed on 01/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takashi (JP 2010-197917).
Regarding claim 1, Takashi (figures 1-4) discloses a computing device, comprising:
a device image display that outputs device display light rendering device display images (second liquid crystal display element 21);
an optical configuration (reflective polarizing plate 1; figure 1) for a viewer (40; figure 4) of the computing device to view external display images (16, 26; see at least paragraphs 0044-0045) rendered with external display light from an external image display and the device display images rendered with the device display light from the device image display (The second image 26 is displayed on the second liquid crystal display element 21 with the same resolution as the first liquid crystal display element 11 by performing an RGBW mosaic arrangement and performing a predetermined rendering process according to the RGBW mosaic arrangement; see at least paragraph 0058);
wherein the external display light is of a first light property (the transmission axis of the reflective polarizing plate 1 out of the light emitted from the first display body 10 as in the case where the light emitted from the first and second display bodies 10 and 20 is non-polarized light. Light other than the polarization component parallel to 1a passes through the reflective polarizing plate 1 and leaks to the viewer side, or the reflection axis 1b of the reflective polarizing plate 1 out of the emitted light from the second display body 20 Light other than the parallel polarization component is not reflected to the viewer side by the reflective polarizing plate 1; see at least paragraphs 0054-0056);
wherein the device display light is of a second light property different from the first light property (the transmission axis of the reflective polarizing plate 1 out of the light emitted from the first display body 10 as in the case where the light emitted from the first and second display bodies 10 and 20 is non-polarized light. Light other than the polarization component parallel to 1a passes through the reflective polarizing plate 1 and leaks to the viewer side, or the reflection axis 1b of the reflective polarizing plate 1 out of the emitted light from the second display body 20 Light other than the parallel polarization component is not reflected to the viewer side by the reflective polarizing plate 1; see at least paragraphs 0054-0056);
a display light combiner implemented as a part of the optical configuration to combine the external display light of the first light property and the device display light of the second light property to reach the viewer's vision field (11; the first display body 10 controls the transmission of light incident from one surface and transmits the transmitted light from the other surface to display an image. 11 and a first surface light source 14 which is a light emitting element arranged to face the incident surface of the first liquid crystal display element 11, that is, a backlight, and the incident surface side of the first liquid crystal display element 11. The polarizing plate 12 and the first polarizing plate 13 provided on the emission surface side of the first liquid crystal display element 11 and functioning as the polarizing means; see at least paragraph 0028);
wherein the display light combiner causes the optical configuration to selectively reflect, based on the second light property, the device display light toward the viewer's vision field and to selectively transmit, based on the first light property, the external display light toward the viewer's vision field (11; the first display body 10 controls the transmission of light incident from one surface and transmits the transmitted light from the other surface to display an image. 11 and a first surface light source 14 which is a light emitting element arranged to face the incident surface of the first liquid crystal display element 11, that is, a backlight, and the incident surface side of the first liquid crystal display element 11. The polarizing plate 12 and the first polarizing plate 13 provided on the emission surface side of the first liquid crystal display element 11 and functioning as the polarizing means; see at least paragraph 0028).
Regarding claim 2, Takashi (figures 1-4) discloses wherein the device image display comprises a light source (14, 24), a light filter (polarizing plate 12 and polarizing plate 13) and an image output (11); wherein the light filter is configured to filter incoming source light of the light source to generate outgoing filtered light in accordance with the second light property; and wherein the outgoing filtered light is further modulated by the image output into the device display light rendering device display images.
Regarding claim 3, Takashi (figures 1-4) discloses wherein the first light property is represented by a first light spectral distribution, wherein the second light property is a second light spectral distribution different from the first light spectral distribution (the transmission axis of the reflective polarizing plate 1 out of the light emitted from the first display body 10 as in the case where the light emitted from the first and second display bodies 10 and 20 is non-polarized light. Light other than the polarization component parallel to 1a passes through the reflective polarizing plate 1 and leaks to the viewer side, or the reflection axis 1b of the reflective polarizing plate 1 out of the emitted light from the second display body 20 Light other than the parallel polarization component is not reflected to the viewer side by the reflective polarizing plate 1; see at least paragraphs 0054-0056).
Regarding claim 14, Takashi (figures 1-4) discloses a method, comprising:
outputting, with a device image display of a computing device, display light rendering device display images (second liquid crystal display element 21);
outputting, with an external image display, external display light rendering external display images (16, 26; see at least paragraphs 0044-0045);
providing through an optical configuration (reflective polarizing plate 1; figure 1) of the computing device for a viewer of the computing device to view the external display images rendered with the external display light from the external image display and the device display images rendered with the device display light from the device image display (The second image 26 is displayed on the second liquid crystal display element 21 with the same resolution as the first liquid crystal display element 11 by performing an RGBW mosaic arrangement and performing a predetermined rendering process according to the RGBW mosaic arrangement; see at least paragraph 0058);
wherein the external display light is of a first light property (the transmission axis of the reflective polarizing plate 1 out of the light emitted from the first display body 10 as in the case where the light emitted from the first and second display bodies 10 and 20 is non-polarized light. Light other than the polarization component parallel to 1a passes through the reflective polarizing plate 1 and leaks to the viewer side, or the reflection axis 1b of the reflective polarizing plate 1 out of the emitted light from the second display body 20 Light other than the parallel polarization component is not reflected to the viewer side by the reflective polarizing plate 1; see at least paragraphs 0054-0056);
wherein the device display light is of a second light property different from the first light property (the transmission axis of the reflective polarizing plate 1 out of the light emitted from the first display body 10 as in the case where the light emitted from the first and second display bodies 10 and 20 is non-polarized light. Light other than the polarization component parallel to 1a passes through the reflective polarizing plate 1 and leaks to the viewer side, or the reflection axis 1b of the reflective polarizing plate 1 out of the emitted light from the second display body 20 Light other than the parallel polarization component is not reflected to the viewer side by the reflective polarizing plate 1; see at least paragraphs 0054-0056);
combining, with a display light combiner implemented as a part of the optical configuration of the computing device, the external display light of the first light property and the device display light of the second light property to reach the viewer's vision field (11; the first display body 10 controls the transmission of light incident from one surface and transmits the transmitted light from the other surface to display an image. 11 and a first surface light source 14 which is a light emitting element arranged to face the incident surface of the first liquid crystal display element 11, that is, a backlight, and the incident surface side of the first liquid crystal display element 11. The polarizing plate 12 and the first polarizing plate 13 provided on the emission surface side of the first liquid crystal display element 11 and functioning as the polarizing means; see at least paragraph 0028);
wherein the display light combiner causes the optical configuration of the computing device to selectively reflect, based on the second light property, the device display light toward the viewer's vision field and to selectively transmit, based on the first light property, the external display light toward the viewer's vision field (11; the first display body 10 controls the transmission of light incident from one surface and transmits the transmitted light from the other surface to display an image. 11 and a first surface light source 14 which is a light emitting element arranged to face the incident surface of the first liquid crystal display element 11, that is, a backlight, and the incident surface side of the first liquid crystal display element 11. The polarizing plate 12 and the first polarizing plate 13 provided on the emission surface side of the first liquid crystal display element 11 and functioning as the polarizing means; see at least paragraph 0028).
Regarding claim 15, Takashi (figures 1-4) discloses system comprising a computing device and an external image display (16, 26; see at least paragraphs 0044-0045 and figure 3), wherein the system is configured to perform the method as recited in claim 14 (figure 4)
Regarding claim 16, Takashi (figures 1-4) discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, storing software instructions, which when executed by one or more processors cause performance of the method recited in claim 14 (72; see at least paragraph 0036).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takashi (JP 2010-197917) in view of Ninan et al. (US 2018/0295351).
Regarding claim 10, Takashi discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, Takashi is silent regarding wherein the device display images comprise a right view device display image visible only to the viewer's right view vision field and a left view device display image visible only to the viewer's left view vision field. Ninan et al. (figures 1-4) teaches wherein the device display images comprise a right view device display image visible only to the viewer's right view vision field and a left view device display image visible only to the viewer's left view vision field (left view optical stack 202-2 and right view optical stack 202-1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the computing device as taught by Ninan et al. in order to achieve augmented entertainment system renders right view cinema display images for the viewer to view through a right view optical stack of the wearable device. Consequently, an increase in profitability would be achieved.
Regarding claim 11, Takashi discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, Takashi is silent regarding wherein the external display images comprise a right view external display image visible only to the viewer's right view vision field and a left view external display image visible only to the viewer's left view vision field. Ninan et al. (figures 1-4) teaches wherein the external display images comprise a right view external display image visible only to the viewer's right view vision field and a left view external display image visible only to the viewer's left view vision field (left view optical stack 202-2 and right view optical stack 202-1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the computing device as taught by Ninan et al. in order to achieve augmented entertainment system renders right view cinema display images for the viewer to view through a right view optical stack of the wearable device. Consequently, an increase in profitability would be achieved.
Regarding claim 10, Takashi discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, Takashi is silent regarding wherein the external display images are visible to a first vision field of the viewer's left and right view vision fields but are not visible to a second different vision field of the viewer's left and right view vision fields. Ninan et al. (figures 1-4) teaches wherein the external display images are visible to a first vision field of the viewer's left and right view vision fields but are not visible to a second different vision field of the viewer's left and right view vision fields (left view optical stack 202-2 and right view optical stack 202-1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the computing device as taught by Ninan et al. in order to achieve augmented entertainment system renders right view cinema display images for the viewer to view through a right view optical stack of the wearable device. Consequently, an increase in profitability would be achieved.
Conclusion
/LAUREN NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871