DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination
Previous Rejections
Applicants' arguments, filed 12/01/2025, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being obvious over Popplewell et al. (US 2022/0226797 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Popplewell discloses a biodegradable core-shell microcapsule wherein the shell of the microcapsule is composed of biopolymers cross-linked with a combination of two or more different types of cross-linking agents [Abstract] [0022]. The shell of the microcapsule can include at least two polysaccharide biopolymers with corn starch disclosed as a preferred starch polymer to be used [0022]-[0024]. Popplewell discloses polyisocyanate (which refers to a compound having two or more isocyanates, [0058]), and a second cross-linker as a combination of crosslinking-agents to be used for the shell [0077] [0255; Table 34]. The polyisocyanate is present in an amount of 0.1-40% by weight [0078]. A phenolic acid, such as gallic acid, is disclosed as a second cross-linking agent [0055] [0151]. The core of the microcapsule is composed of an active ingredient [0009], such as a hydrophobic fragrance [0080]-[0083] [0085].
Popplewell is not believed to be anticipatory because Popplewell could be construed as not clearly and unequivocally disclosing the claimed invention or directing those skilled in the art to the claimed invention without any need for picking, choosing and combining various disclosures not directly related to each other by the teachings of the cited reference. Namely, one skilled in the art would need to choose corn starch as a second polysaccharide, gallic acid as the second cross-linking agent, and a hydrophobic fragrance as an active ingredient for the core.
Nevertheless, claim 12 is rendered prima facie obvious over the teachings of Popplewell, because it is prima facie obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods, to yield predictable results. In the instant case, all the claimed elements (e.g., a polysaccharide, corn starch, polyisocyanate, and gallic acid to be used in the shell and a hydrophobic core) were known in the prior art (e.g., Popplewell) and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results (e.g., a biodegradable microcapsule) to one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2143.A.
The instant claim 12 recites, the content of the polyisocyanate is 20 wt.% or less.
Popplewell taught polyisocyanate in an amount of 0.1-40% by weight. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 A.
Furthermore, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In this case, the general condition of the weight of polyisocyanate has been taught by the prior art; as such, it would not have been inventive for the skilled artisan to have discovered the optimum weight percentage of polyisocyanate in the shell via routine experimentation.
Claim 13 is rendered prima facie obvious because Popplewell discloses the microcapsule shell with the polysaccharides and crosslinking agents is crosslinked [abstract].
Claim 14 is rendered prima facie obvious because Popplewell discloses the biodegradable core-shell microcapsules are a slurry [0010] and can be formulated as a slurry [0174].
Claim 16 is rendered prima facie obvious because Popplewell discloses the microcapsules can be included in a fabric care product [0171] [0174].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 12-14 and 16 have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicants argues at pg. 7 that a protective colloid such as those selected from corn starch, potato starch, rye starch, wheat starch, barely starch, oat starch, rice starch, pea starch, tapioca starch, and mixtures therefore is not taught by Popplewell and that the protective colloid confers the beneficial properties of biobased and biodegradable capsule shells.
The Examiner disagrees that this feature is not taught by Popplewell. Popplewell discloses that the shell of the microcapsule can include at least two polysaccharide biopolymers with corn starch disclosed as a preferred starch polymer to be used [0022]-[0024]. The core-shell microcapsules of Popplewell are biodegradable [abstract] and Popplewell teaches that corn starch is naturally occurring, economical, and available [0023].
Double Patenting
Claims 12-14 and 16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 and 12-16 of copending application No. 18/019,793 in view of Popplewell et al. (US 2022/0226797 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The copending claims recite all of the features instantly recited for the capsule expect for the first crosslinking agent being a polyisocyanate in an amount of 20 wt.% or less, the capsule comprising a second crosslinking agent, such as gallic acid, and the protective colloid being corn starch.
Popplewell discloses a biodegradable core-shell microcapsule wherein the shell of the microcapsule is composed of biopolymers cross-linked with a combination of two or more different types of cross-linking agents [Abstract] [0022]. The shell of the microcapsule can include at least two polysaccharide biopolymers with corn starch disclosed as a preferred starch polymer to be used [0022]-[0024]. Popplewell teaches that corn starch is naturally occurring, economical, and available [0023]. Popplewell discloses polyisocyanate is present in an amount of 0.1-40% by weight [0078]. A phenolic acid, such as gallic acid, is disclosed as a second cross-linking agent [0055] [0151].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include polyisocyanate in an amount of 20 wt.% or less, gallic acid, and corn starch within the copending claims. The ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to formulate the capsule to include polyisocyanate in an amount of 20 wt.% or less and gallic acid as taught by Popplewell at [0055] [0151] [0078] and to include corn starch because Popplewell teaches that corn starch is naturally occurring, economical, and available [0022]-[0024].
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 12-14 and 16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 8-15, 17-21, and 23 of copending application No. 18/835,342 in view of Popplewell et al. (US 2022/0226797 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The copending claims recite all of the features instantly recited for the capsule expect for the capsule comprising a second crosslinking agent, such as gallic acid, and the protective colloid being corn starch.
Popplewell discloses a biodegradable core-shell microcapsule wherein the shell of the microcapsule is composed of biopolymers cross-linked with a combination of two or more different types of cross-linking agents [Abstract] [0022]. The shell of the microcapsule can include at least two polysaccharide biopolymers with corn starch disclosed as a preferred starch polymer to be used [0022]-[0024]. Popplewell teaches that corn starch is naturally occurring, economical, and available [0023]. A phenolic acid, such as gallic acid, is disclosed as a second cross-linking agent [0055] [0151].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include gallic acid and corn starch within the copending claims. The ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to formulate the capsule to include gallic acid as taught by Popplewell at [0055] [0151] and to include corn starch because Popplewell teaches that corn starch is naturally occurring, economical, and available [0022]-[0024].
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Double Patenting Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/01/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the double patenting rejection of copending application No. 18/019,793 in view of Popplewell has been obviated in view of the amendments to the claims.
The Examiner disagrees. The claims are patently indistinct and remain provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting in view of Popplewell et al. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include polyisocyanate in an amount of 20 wt.% or less, gallic acid, and corn starch within the copending claims. The ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to formulate the capsule to include polyisocyanate in an amount of 20 wt.% or less and gallic acid as taught by Popplewell at [0055] [0151] [0078] and to include corn starch because Popplewell teaches that corn starch is naturally occurring, economical, and available [0022]-[0024].
Conclusion
/ASHLEE E WERTZ/Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/SAHANA S KAUP/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612