DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed July 21, 2026. Claims 12-16 remain withdrawn from consideration. Applicant has amended claims 1, 3, 4 and 6. Claim 2 has been cancelled. New claims 17-19 have been added. Currently, claims 1, 3-10 and 12-19 remain pending in the application.
The rejection of claim 4 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, for containing the limitations “TRPV1” and “TRPV3” is withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments and remarks.
The rejection of claim 4 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, for containing the limitations “substances that cause a sharp taste or a warmth or heat sensation on skin or mucous membranes or a tingling sensation in the mouth or throat” and “active ingredients with a pungent or acrid or astringent effect” is withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments and remarks.
The rejection of claims 1 and 3-10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akeroyd et al, WO 2020/131879, is maintained for the reasons of record.
The rejection of claims 1-10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al, WO 2020/131866, is withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments and remarks.
The provisional rejection of claims 1-10 under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/019,786 is withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments and remarks.
The provisional rejection of claims 1 and 3-10 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 8-15, 17-21 and 23 of copending Application No. 18/835,342 is maintained for the reasons of record.
NEW GROUNDS OF REJECTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akeroyd et al, WO 2020/131879.
Akeroyd et al, WO 2020/131879, discloses a preparation method for microcapsules prepared from proteins (see abstract). It is further taught by Akeroyd et al that the protein microcapsules are prepared by the steps of (i) providing an oil-in-water emulsion having a plurality of oil droplets dispersed in an aqueous phase, in which the oil phase contains a polyisocyanate crosslinker and an active material, the aqueous phase contains a protein, (ii) providing a condition sufficient to induce interfacial polymerization in the oil-in-water emulsion to form a microcapsule slurry that contains microcapsules each having a microcapsule wall encapsulating a microcapsule core, thereby obtaining the microcapsule composition, (iii) curing the microcapsule at a temperature of 0-125 degrees Celsius for 10 minutes to 24 hours, and (iv) after the curing step, adding a 0.5-5% by weight of a chitosan aqueous solution to the microcapsule at a pH of 1-5 (i.e., a polysaccharide; see paragraph 9), followed by drying (see paragraph 13). Akeroyd et al further discloses that the polyisocyanate is present in an amount of 0.2-5% by weight, wherein suitable polyisocyanates include a trimethylol propane adduct of xylylene diisocyanate (i.e., contains two or more isocyanate groups; see paragraphs 10-11), that the microcapsule contains 10-90% by weight of a fragrance (i.e., a hydrophobic active ingredient; see paragraph 16), that the interfacial polymerization can be induced by heating the oil-in-water emulsion to an elevated temperature of 35-95 degrees Celsius (see paragraph 25), that the interfacial polymerization can also be induced by adding a catalyst, such as 1,4-diazabicyclol[2.2.2]octane (i.e., DABCO), to the emulsion (see paragraphs 25 and 67), that suitable proteins include wheat in an amount of 0.8-10% by weight (see paragraphs 36-48 and claim 4 on page 47), that suitable polyisocyanates include aromatic polyisocyanates (see paragraph 51), that suitable active materials include fragrances (see paragraph 71), and that the microcapsules are cooled by storing them at a temperature of 5-37 degrees Celsius for 8 weeks (see paragraph 148), per the requirements of the instant invention. Specifically, note Examples 1-27.
Although Akeroyd et al generally discloses a process for making a protein microcapsule, wherein the protein microcapsule is cured at a temperature of at least 60 degrees Celsius, the reference does not require such a process of making a protein microcapsule with this step with sufficient specificity to constitute anticipation.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have formulated a process for making a protein microcapsule, as taught by Akeroyd et al, that contained the step of curing the protein microcapsule at a temperature of at least 60 degrees Celsius, because such a process for making a protein microcapsule falls within the scope taught by Akeroyd et al. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success, because such a process for making a protein microcapsule including the step of curing the protein microcapsule at a temperature of at least 60 degrees Celsius is expressly suggested by the Akeroyd et al disclosure.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-10 and 17-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 and 12-16 of copending Application No. 18/019,786 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending Application No. 18/019,786 claims a similar process for preparing a biodegradable protein and/or polysaccharide based microcapsule comprising the steps of providing an internal non-aqueous phase comprising at least one aliphatic polyisocyanate crosslinking agent and at least one hydrophobic active ingredient, such as a fragrance, providing an external aqueous phase comprising at least one protein, adjusting the pH below the isoelectric point of the protein, emulsifying the internal non-aqueous phase in the external aqueous phase to obtain an oil-in-water emulsion, adding an additional polysaccharide, carrying out a first crosslinking, such as by the addition of DABCO catalyst, to obtain a microcapsule slurry, curing the microcapsule slurry at a temperature of at least 60 degrees Celsius, and cooling (see claims 1-10 and 12-16 of copending Application No. 18/019,786), as required in the instant claims. Therefore, instant claims 1, 3-10 and 17-19 are an obvious formulation in view of claims 1-10 and 12-16 of copending Application No. 18/019,786.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 17-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 8-15, 17-21 and 23 of copending Application No. 18/835,342 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending Application No. 18/835,342 claims a similar process for preparing a plant-protein based microcapsule comprising the steps of providing an internal non-aqueous phase comprising at least one aliphatic polyisocyanate crosslinking agent and at least one hydrophobic active ingredient, such as a fragrance, providing an external aqueous phase comprising at least one plant protein, emulsifying the internal non-aqueous phase in the external aqueous phase to obtain an oil-in-water emulsion, carrying out a first crosslinking, such as by the addition of DABCO catalyst, to obtain a microcapsule slurry, curing the microcapsule slurry at a temperature of at least 60 degrees Celsius, and cooling (see claims 1-6, 8-15, 17-21 and 23 of copending Application No. 18/835,342), as required in the instant claims. Therefore, instant claims 17-19 are an obvious formulation in view of claims 1-6, 8-15, 17-21 and 23 of copending Application No. 18/835,342.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 21, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Akeroyd et al, WO 2020/131879, does not teach or suggest in general a step of adding at least one polysaccharide in an amount ranging from 0.5-7% by weight, as required by applicant in the newly amended claims. However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Specifically, the examiner respectfully maintains that Akeroyd et al clearly discloses adding a 0.5-5% by weight chitosan aqueous solution to the microcapsule at a pH of 1-5 (i.e., a polysaccharide; see paragraph 9), as required by applicant in the newly amended claims.
The examiner notes that the provisional rejection of claims 1, 3-10 and 17-19 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 8-15, 17-21 and 23 of copending Application No. 18/835,342 is maintained for the reasons of record. Accordingly, this rejection will be held in abeyance until an indication of allowable subject matter in the instant application is identified.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN P MRUK/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
Brian P Mruk
September 8, 2026