DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on March 3, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there would not be a burden on the examiner to search both groups of inventions. This is not found persuasive because the examiner respectfully maintains that there is a lack of unity a posteriori, since the biodegradable microcapsules of Group II is not a technical feature that defines a contribution over the prior art. Accordingly, the examiner maintains that the distinct inventions would require separate and distinct searches.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 12-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on March 3, 2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, for containing the limitations “TRPV1” and “TRPV3” in instant claim 4. These limitations render the claim vague and indefinite, since it is unclear what the abbreviations mean. For clarification purposes, the examiner asserts that these abbreviations should be amended to recite “Transient Receptor Potential channels of the vanilloid 1” and “Transient Receptor Potential channels of the vanilloid 3”, as defined by applicant in paragraph 150 of the instant specification. Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, for containing the limitations “substances that cause a sharp taste or a warmth or heat sensation on skin or mucous membranes or a tingling sensation in the mouth or throat” and “active ingredients with a pungent or acrid or astringent effect”. These limitations render the claim vague and indefinite, since one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to ascertain the metes and bounds of the limitations “substances that cause a sharp taste or a warmth or heat sensation on skin or mucous membranes or a tingling sensation in the mouth or throat” and “active ingredients with a pungent or acrid or astringent effect”. Specifically, hydrophobic active ingredients that cause a sharp taste, cause a warm or heat sensation on the skin or mucous membrane, cause a tingling sensation in the mouth or throat, and have a pungent or acrid or astringent effect to one person would not necessarily have the same effect on another person. Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akeroyd et al, WO 2020/131879.
Akeroyd et al, WO 2020/131879, discloses a preparation method for microcapsules prepared from proteins (see abstract). It is further taught by Akeroyd et al that the protein microcapsules are prepared by the steps of (i) providing an oil-in-water emulsion having a plurality of oil droplets dispersed in an aqueous phase, in which the oil phase contains a polyisocyanate crosslinker and an active material, the aqueous phase contains a protein, (ii) providing a condition sufficient to induce interfacial polymerization in the oil-in-water emulsion to form a microcapsule slurry that contains microcapsules each having a microcapsule wall encapsulating a microcapsule core, thereby obtaining the microcapsule composition, (iii) curing the microcapsule at a temperature of 0-125 degrees Celsius for 10 minutes to 24 hours, and (iv) after the curing step, adding a chitosan aqueous solution to the microcapsule (see paragraph 9). Akeroyd et al further discloses that the interfacial polymerization can be induced by heating the oil-in-water emulsion to an elevated temperature of 35-95 degrees Celsius (see paragraph 25), that the interfacial polymerization can also be induced by adding a catalyst, such as 1,4-diazabicyclol[2.2.2]octane (i.e., DABCO), to the emulsion (see paragraphs 25 and 67), that suitable proteins include wheat (see paragraphs 36-48), that suitable polyisocyanates include aromatic polyisocyanates (see paragraph 51), that suitable active materials include fragrances (see paragraph 71), and that the microcapsules are cooled by storing them at a temperature of 5-37 degrees Celsius for 8 weeks (see paragraph 148), per the requirements of the instant invention. Specifically, note Examples 1-27.
Although Akeroyd et al generally discloses a process for making a protein microcapsule, wherein the protein microcapsule is cured at a temperature of at least 60 degrees Celsius, the reference does not require such a process of making a protein microcapsule with this step with sufficient specificity to constitute anticipation.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have formulated a process for making a protein microcapsule, as taught by Akeroyd et al, that contained the step of curing the protein microcapsule at a temperature of at least 60 degrees Celsius, because such a process for making a protein microcapsule falls within the scope taught by Akeroyd et al. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success, because such a process for making a protein microcapsule including the step of curing the protein microcapsule at a temperature of at least 60 degrees Celsius is expressly suggested by the Akeroyd et al disclosure.
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al, WO 2020/131866.
Xu et al, WO 2020/131866, discloses a preparation method for microcapsules prepared from polysaccharides (see abstract). It is further taught by Xu et al that the polysaccharide microcapsules are prepared by the steps of (i) providing an oil-in-water emulsion having a plurality of oil droplets dispersed in an aqueous phase, in which the oil phase contains a polyisocyanate crosslinker and an active material, the aqueous phase contains a polysaccharide and an optional dispersant, and (ii) providing a condition sufficient to induce interfacial polymerization in the oil-in-water emulsion to form a microcapsule slurry that contains microcapsules each having a microcapsule wall encapsulating a microcapsule core, thereby obtaining the microcapsule composition (see paragraphs 15 and 20). Xu et al further discloses that the interfacial polymerization can be induced by heating the oil-in-water emulsion to an elevated temperature of 55-135 degrees Celsius (see paragraph 18), that the preparation process further comprises the steps of (iii) adding lysine to the microcapsule slurry and (iv) curing the microcapsule slurry at a temperature of 55-135 degrees Celsius for 10 minutes to 48 hours (see paragraph 19), that a catalyst, such as 1,4-diazabicyclol[2.2.2]octane (i.e., DABCO), is added to the emulsion (see paragraphs 20 and 78), that suitable polysaccharides include cellulose (see paragraphs 34-38), that suitable polyisocyanates include aromatic polyisocyanates (see paragraph 41), that suitable active materials include fragrances (see paragraph 95), and that the microcapsules are cooled by storing them at a temperature of 25-37 degrees Celsius for 8 weeks (see Examples 27A-27C in paragraphs 198-199), per the requirements of the instant invention. Specifically, note Examples 1-27C.
Although Xu et al generally discloses a process for making a polysaccharide microcapsule, wherein the polysaccharide microcapsule is cured at a temperature of at least 60 degrees Celsius, the reference does not require such a process of making a polysaccharide microcapsule with this step with sufficient specificity to constitute anticipation.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have formulated a process for making a polysaccharide microcapsule, as taught by Xu et al, that contained the step of curing the polysaccharide microcapsule at a temperature of at least 60 degrees Celsius, because such a process for making a polysaccharide microcapsule falls within the scope taught by Xu et al. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success, because such a process for making a polysaccharide microcapsule including the step of curing the polysaccharide microcapsule at a temperature of at least 60 degrees Celsius is expressly suggested by the Xu et al disclosure.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/019,786 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 and 8-15 of copending Application No. 18/835,342 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending Application No. 18/835,342 claims a similar process for preparing a plant-protein based microcapsule comprising the steps of providing an internal non-aqueous phase comprising at least one aliphatic polyisocyanate crosslinking agent and at least one hydrophobic active ingredient, such as a fragrance, providing an external aqueous phase comprising at least one plant protein, emulsifying the internal non-aqueous phase in the external aqueous phase to obtain an oil-in-water emulsion, carrying out a first crosslinking, such as by the addition of DABCO catalyst, to obtain a microcapsule slurry, curing the microcapsule slurry at a temperature of at least 60 degrees Celsius, and cooling (see claims 1-6 and 8-15 of copending Application No. 18/835,342), as required in the instant claims. Therefore, instant claims 1-10 are an obvious formulation in view of claims 1-6 and 8-15 of copending Application No. 18/835,342.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
/BRIAN P MRUK/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
Brian P Mruk
April 14, 2026