DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I and Species 1A, corresponding to claims 1-6, 8 and 10 in the reply filed on April 7th, 2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 7, 9 and 11-30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 discloses the limitation “wherein the one or more thermal insulation modules to maintain a temperature of…” Such a limitation is unclear. It is suggested to amend to “insulation modules configured to maintain…” or “insulation modules maintains…” Appropriate action is required.
Claims 2-6, 8 and 10 are rejected as well merely due to their dependency from claim 1.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the tank" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 also recites the limitation “a liquid transmission means” in lines 13 to 14, which invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lacroix (U.S. Publication No. 2005/0118310) in view of Alva (Publication No. IN 201921002694 A).
It is first noted that the Figures discussed in Alva (Publication No. IN 201921002694) are found in Patent Document No. 335463 registered to Alva; wherein Patent Document No. 335463 is the same application No. (Application No. IN 201921002694) in both Publication No. IN 201921002694 and Patent Document No. 335463 which are both registered to Alva. Thus, Patent Document No. 335463 and Publication No. IN 201921002694 are one in the same.
Concerning claims 1 & 10, Lacroix discloses a method for preserving an organic product in a process plant (Canadian Irradiation Centre), the method comprising:
Obtaining the poultry (concerning claim 10; paragraph 153) organic product, wherein the organic product is subjected to freezing at a predefined temperature (paragraph 153); and
Irradiating the organic product for a predefined time period (paragraph 153).
Lacroix does not appear to disclose that the method comprises the step of enclosing the product with an apparatus that is inbuilt with a thermal insulation module configured to maintain a temperature of the product at the predefined temperature during the predefined time period. Alva discloses a method for preserving an organic product in a process plant (paragraph 79) by obtaining the organic product (paragraph 7), enclosing the organic product within an apparatus (110), and irradiating the organic product for a predefined time period (paragraphs 14, 25 and 67; Figure 3). The reference continues to disclose that the method comprises the step of enclosing the product with an apparatus that is inbuilt with a thermal insulation module configured to maintain a temperature of the product at the predefined temperature during the predefined time period (paragraphs 65 and 83; Figures 2 & 3) in order to ensure the product remains at the predefined temperature throughout the irradiation process (paragraph 66). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to comprise the step of enclosing the product with an apparatus that is inbuilt with a thermal insulation module configured to maintain a temperature of the product at the predefined temperature during the predefined time period in Lacroix in order to ensure the product remains at the predefined temperature throughout the irradiation process as exemplified by Alva.
Thus, claim 1 is not patentable over Lacroix in view of Alva.
Regarding claim 2, Lacroix continues to disclose sealing the organic product in one of a gas permeable bag or a high barrier bag, and freezing the organic product up to the predefined temperature, wherein the predefined temperature is based on the type and composition of the organic product, and wherein the predefined temperature is selectable from a range of -40 to -195 degree Celsius (paragraph 153).
Thus, claim 2 is unpatentable over Lacroix in view of Alva as well.
Concerning claim 6, Lacroix also discloses that the predefined temperature is selectable from a range of 0 to -195 degree Celsius, and wherein a concentration of radiation required for irradiating the organic product is selectable from a range of 0.3-5 kGy, based on a type of the organic product (paragraph 153). The reference does not appear to disclose the predefined time range however, but does disclose that the time period is a result effective variable (Figures 24-26). As such, the Courts have held that "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456,105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.). Therefore, it would have been well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the predefined time period in the method of Lacroix to between 5 and 180 minutes in order to successfully decontaminate a given organic food product for a particular application; as such is considered a result effective variable that would be optimized by one of ordinary skill through routine experimentation. Only the expected results would be attained.
Thus, claim 6 is not patentable over Lacroix in view of Alva as well.
With respect to claim 8, Lacroix also discloses storing the irradiated organic in a cooling device maintained at a third predefined temperature selectable from -15 to -105 degree Celsius (paragraphs 143, 153). Furthermore, based on the methods of irradiation at 0.3-30kGy and storage conditions at -80 degrees Celsius, and further that Lacroix discloses that the method is applicable on meats, poultry, vegetables, fruits, grains, etc. (paragraph 47); it is respectfully submitted that Lacroix also meets the limitations of the organic product having a first shelf life up to 10 years when stored at the third predefined temperature, and wherein the first shelf life is based on a type of the organic product, and wherein the irradiated organic product retains the physiological, chemical, biological and structural properties of the organic product during the first shelf life (paragraphs 47, 143 and 153).
Thus, claim 8 is also not patentable over Lacroix in view of Alva.
Allowable Subject Matter
Should the Applicant overcome the 35 USC 112(b) rejections noted above, then claims 3-5 would be merely objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/KEVIN JOYNER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799