DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
2 This instant Office Action is in response to Amendment filed on 7/22/2025.
3. This Office Action is made Final.
4. Claims 5-7 are pending.
5. Claims 1-4 were previously cancelled.
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant’s arguments regarding the amendment presented on 7/22/2025 have been fully considered but are moot because of new grounds of rejection set forth herein with at least one new reference as necessitated by amendment.
7. In light of submission of updated specification, the objection to the title of the specification is withdrawn herein.
8. In light of submission of abstract, the objection to abstract is withdrawn herein.
9. In light of amendment, the claim objection is withdrawn herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong et al. US 20210337534 hereafter Xiong in view of KHOSHNEVISAN et al. US 20210226680 hereafter KHOSHNEVISAN.
As to Claim 5. (Currently Amended) Xiong discloses a terminal [i.e. UE/Communication Device] device comprising: reception circuitry [Transceiver-710] configured to [Fig. 7, Sections 0125-0126: The communication device-700 may be suitable for use as a UE. The communication device include transceiver-710 for transmitting and receiving signals to and from other stations using one or more antennas-701]:
receive a downlink control information (DCI) format [Section 0013: A user equipment (UE) configured for physical uplink control channel (PUSCH) repetition in 5G NR configured to decode a downlink control information (DCI) format received from nodeB/gNB (i.e. base station)], and to determine that the DCI format indicates a first sounding reference signal resource index (SRI) and a second SRI [Table 7.3.1.1.2-28 (Depicts each SRIs mapped to bits/indexes), Sections 0015, 0018: The DCI format indicates a first and a second sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI) for PUSCH repetition. The DCI format include two SRI fields corresponding to two SRS resource sets for PUSCH transmission with repetition];
and transmission circuitry [Antenna-701] configured to [Fig. 7, Sections 0126: The communication device include antennas-701] transmit a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) scheduled by the DCI format [Sections 0013, 0023, 0071: The DCI format including a scheduling grant for a PUSCH transmission. The UE encode each PUSCH transmission in accordance with using antenna ports. UE is equipped with multiple transmit antennas for port transmission employed for PUSCH],
wherein the transmission circuitry [Antenna-701] is further configured to [Sections 0071, 0126]: apply first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource, indicated by the first SRI [Section 0015: The DCI format indicates a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI) for PUSCH repetition], to a first repetition of the PUSCH [Fig. 6, Sections 0015, 0021: Each SRI correspond to an SRS resource set; the UE apply the first SRI to first PUSCH transmission occasion of the PUSCH repetition. The UE determine a first transmit beam direction from the first SRI to apply to the first PUSCH occasion of the PUSCH repetition],
and apply a second SRS resource indicated by the second SRI [Section 0015: The DCI format indicates a second sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI) for PUSCH repetition], to a second repetition of the PUSCH [Fig. 6, Sections 0015, 0021, 0063: Each SRI correspond to an SRS resource set; the UE apply the second SRI to the second PUSCH transmission occasion of the PUSCH repetition. The UE determine a second transmit beam direction from the second SRI to apply to the second PUSCH occasion of the PUSCH repetition allowing a different beam direction to be use for each transmission occasion. In NR Rel-15, a number of repetitions can be configured for the transmission of PUSCH]
Although Xiong discloses the UE apply different transmit beams which can be interpreted as spatial transmit filter to first SRI of first PUSCH repetition and second SRI to second PUSCH repetition, it does not explicitly state the phrase “spatial transmission filter”
However, KHOSHNEVISAN teaches apply a first spatial transmission filter of first SRS resource [Sections 0044, 0089: The spatial relation for SRS (sounding reference signal) resource indicate a spatial transmission filter which may effectively be an uplink beam for PUSCH. The first SRS resource associated with a value indicated by SRI codepoint (i.e. index); the second SRS resource indicated by another (i.e. second) SRI codepoint value]; a second spatial transmission filter of a second SRS resource [Sections 0051, 0091: The BS configure a plurality of repetition PUSCH transmission to have different SRS resources. Identifying spatial relation information, associated with the first SRS resource, as a spatial transmission filter to be used for the first repetition of PUSCH transmission; and identifying spatial relation associated with second SRS resource, as a spatial transmission filter to be used for the second repetition of PUSCH transmission].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the method of Xiong relating to UE applying different transmit beams to first SRI of first PUSCH repetition and second SRI to second PUSCH repetition, and each SRI correspond to an SRS resource set with the teaching of KHOSHNEVISAN relating to UE identifying and applying spatial relation information, associated with the first SRS resource spatial transmission filter for first repetition of PUSCH transmission; and spatial relation associated with second SRS resource spatial transmission filter for the second repetition of PUSCH transmission, different SRS applied to different PUSCH repetitions and a spatial relation transmission filter(s) may be uplink transmit beam(s). By combining the method/systems, it would be obvious without undue experimentation that the UE applying its uplink transmit beams is similar to applying spatial transmission filter for the different (i.e. first and second) SRS resource(s) SRIs applied to first and second PUSCH repetition transmission; thereby permitting the repetitions to be beamformed or optimized for different channel conditions which increases the performance and reliability of the PUSCH transmissions as suggested by KHOSHNEVISAN.
As to Claim 6. (Currently Amended) Xiong discloses a base station [i.e. BS/nodeb, gNB] comprising: transmission circuitry [Antenna-701] configured to [Fig. 7, Sections 0125-0126: The communication device-700 may be suitable for use as a node B, such as a gNB. The communication device include transceiver-710 for transmitting and receiving signals to and from other stations using one or more antennas-701]
transmit a downlink control information (DCI) format [Section 0013: A user equipment (UE) configured for physical uplink control channel (PUSCH) repetition in 5G NR configured to decode a downlink control information (DCI) format received from nodeB/gNB (i.e. base station)], indicating a first sounding reference signal resource index (SRI) and a second SRI [Table 7.3.1.1.2-28 (Depicts each SRIs mapped to bits/indexes) Sections 0015, 0018: The DCI format indicates a first and a second sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI) for PUSCH repetition. The DCI format include two SRI fields corresponding to two SRS resource sets for PUSCH transmission with repetition];
and reception circuitry [Transceiver-710] configured to [Fig. 7, Sections 0126: The communication device include transceiver-710 for receiving signals from other stations] receive a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) scheduled by the DCI format [Sections 0013, 0023, 0071: The DCI format including a scheduling grant for a PUSCH transmission. The UE encode each PUSCH transmission in accordance with using antenna ports. UE is equipped with multiple transmit antennas for port transmission employed for PUSCH],
wherein first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource, indicated by the first SRI, is applied to a first repetition of the PUSCH [Section 0015: The DCI format indicates a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI) for PUSCH repetition], to a first repetition of the PUSCH [Fig. 6, Sections 0015, 0021: Each SRI correspond to an SRS resource set; the UE apply the first SRI to first PUSCH transmission occasion of the PUSCH repetition. The UE determine a first transmit beam direction from the first SRI to apply to the first PUSCH occasion of the PUSCH repetition],
and second SRS resource, indicated by the second SRI [Section 0015: The DCI format indicates a second sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI) for PUSCH repetition], is applied to a second repetition of the PUSCH [Fig. 6, Sections 0015, 0021, 0063: Each SRI correspond to an SRS resource set; the UE apply the second SRI to the second PUSCH transmission occasion of the PUSCH repetition. The UE determine a second transmit beam direction from the second SRI to apply to the second PUSCH occasion of the PUSCH repetition allowing a different beam direction to be use for each transmission occasion. In NR Rel-15, a number of repetitions can be configured for the transmission of PUSCH]
Although Xiong discloses the UE apply different transmit beams which can be interpreted as spatial transmit filter to first SRI of first PUSCH repetition and second SRI to second PUSCH repetition, it does not explicitly state the phrase “spatial transmission filter”
However, KHOSHNEVISAN teaches apply a first spatial transmission filter of first SRS resource [Sections 0044, 0089: The spatial relation for SRS (sounding reference signal) resource indicate a spatial transmission filter which may effectively be an uplink beam for PUSCH. The first SRS resource associated with a value indicated by SRI codepoint (i.e. index); the second SRS resource indicated by another (i.e. second) SRI codepoint value]; a second spatial transmission filter of a second SRS resource [Sections 0051, 0091: The BS configure a plurality of repetition PUSCH transmission to have different SRS resources. Identifying spatial relation information, associated with the first SRS resource, as a spatial transmission filter to be used for the first repetition of PUSCH transmission; and identifying spatial relation associated with second SRS resource, as a spatial transmission filter to be used for the second repetition of PUSCH transmission].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the method of Xiong relating to UE applying different transmit beams to first SRI of first PUSCH repetition and second SRI to second PUSCH repetition, and each SRI correspond to an SRS resource set with the teaching of KHOSHNEVISAN relating to UE identifying and applying spatial relation information, associated with the first SRS resource spatial transmission filter for first repetition of PUSCH transmission; and spatial relation associated with second SRS resource spatial transmission filter for the second repetition of PUSCH transmission, different SRS applied to different PUSCH repetitions and a spatial relation transmission filter(s) may be uplink transmit beam(s). By combining the method/systems, it would be obvious without undue experimentation that the UE applying its uplink transmit beams is similar to applying spatial transmission filter for the different (i.e. first and second) SRS resource(s) SRIs applied to first and second PUSCH repetition transmission; thereby permitting the repetitions to be beamformed or optimized for different channel conditions which increases the performance and reliability of the PUSCH transmissions as suggested by KHOSHNEVISAN.
As to Claim 7. (Currently Amended) Xiong discloses a method performed by a terminal device [i.e. UE/Communication Device], the method comprising: receiving a downlink control information (DCI) format [Section 0013: A user equipment (UE) configured for physical uplink control channel (PUSCH) repetition in 5G NR configured to decode a downlink control information (DCI) format received from nodeB/gNB (i.e. base station)], and determining that the DCI format indicates a first sounding reference signal resource index (SRI) and a second SRI [Table 7.3.1.1.2-28 (Depicts each SRIs mapped to bits/indexes) Sections 0015, 0018: The DCI format indicates a first and a second sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI) for PUSCH repetition. The DCI format include two SRI fields corresponding to two SRS resource sets for PUSCH transmission with repetition];
transmitting a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) scheduled by the DCI format, wherein transmitting the PUSCH comprises [Sections 0013, 0023, 0071: The DCI format including a scheduling grant for a PUSCH transmission. The UE encode each PUSCH transmission in accordance with using antenna ports. UE is equipped with multiple transmit antennas for port transmission employed for PUSCH]:
applying a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource, indicated by the first SRI [Section 0015: The DCI format indicates a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI) for PUSCH repetition], to a first repetition of the PUSCH [Fig. 6, Sections 0015, 0021: Each SRI correspond to an SRS resource set; the UE apply the first SRI to first PUSCH transmission occasion of the PUSCH repetition. The UE determine a first transmit beam direction from the first SRI to apply to the first PUSCH occasion of the PUSCH repetition],
and applying second SRS resource, indicated by the second SRI [Section 0015: The DCI format indicates a second sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI) for PUSCH repetition], to a second repetition of the PUSCH [Fig. 6, Sections 0015, 0021, 0063: Each SRI correspond to an SRS resource set; the UE apply the second SRI to the second PUSCH transmission occasion of the PUSCH repetition. The UE determine a second transmit beam direction from the second SRI to apply to the second PUSCH occasion of the PUSCH repetition allowing a different beam direction to be use for each transmission occasion. In NR Rel-15, a number of repetitions can be configured for the transmission of PUSCH]
Although Xiong discloses the UE apply different transmit beams which can be interpreted as spatial transmit filter to first SRI of first PUSCH repetition and second SRI to second PUSCH repetition, it does not explicitly state the phrase “spatial transmission filter”
However, KHOSHNEVISAN teaches apply a first spatial transmission filter of first SRS resource [Sections 0044, 0089: The spatial relation for SRS (sounding reference signal) resource indicate a spatial transmission filter which may effectively be an uplink beam for PUSCH. The first SRS resource associated with a value indicated by SRI codepoint (i.e. index); the second SRS resource indicated by another (i.e. second) SRI codepoint value]; a second spatial transmission filter of a second SRS resource [Sections 0051, 0091: The BS configure a plurality of repetition PUSCH transmission to have different SRS resources. Identifying spatial relation information, associated with the first SRS resource, as a spatial transmission filter to be used for the first repetition of PUSCH transmission; and identifying spatial relation associated with second SRS resource, as a spatial transmission filter to be used for the second repetition of PUSCH transmission].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the method of Xiong relating to UE applying different transmit beams to first SRI of first PUSCH repetition and second SRI to second PUSCH repetition, and each SRI correspond to an SRS resource set with the teaching of KHOSHNEVISAN relating to UE identifying and applying spatial relation information, associated with the first SRS resource spatial transmission filter for first repetition of PUSCH transmission; and spatial relation associated with second SRS resource spatial transmission filter for the second repetition of PUSCH transmission, different SRS applied to different PUSCH repetitions and a spatial relation transmission filter(s) may be uplink transmit beam(s). By combining the method/systems, it would be obvious without undue experimentation that the UE applying its uplink transmit beams is similar to applying spatial transmission filter for the different (i.e. first and second) SRS resource(s) SRIs applied to first and second PUSCH repetition transmission; thereby permitting the repetitions to be beamformed or optimized for different channel conditions which increases the performance and reliability of the PUSCH transmissions as suggested by KHOSHNEVISAN.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: 1. Go et al. US 20230118905
Furthermore, each additional prior arts cited on PTO-892 but not applied in rejection contains a disclosed description related to the claimed subject matter found either in the Figures, description summary and/or disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
October 27, 2025
/JAEL M ULYSSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477