DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/06/2023 and 02/18/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of Claim(s)
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6-9, 12, 14-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Andriluka (US 9058663 B2).
Claim(s) 2-3, 5, 10-11, 13, and 18-19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 01/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, the applicant argues that Andriluka does not teach the embodiment “determine, for each of one or more sets of a plurality of the persons, whether times of changes in pose of the persons in the set correlate with each other; and detect the persons whose times of changes in pose are determined to correlate with each other, as the persons having a causal relationship with each other.”. The reasoning the applicant provides is “Specifically, Andriluka discloses grouping persons when the 2D bounding boxes of those persons are spatially close and the scales (apparent sizes) of those persons are similar. In other words, Andriluka assumes that persons who appear near each other in the image and have similar image sizes are likely to interact. This grouping is merely a spatial heuristic, not a temporal determination based on correlation of pose-change timing.” The examiner interprets that the main argument of the applicant revolves around a temporal reasoning or change to detect a casual relationship between different frames of a human posing.
The examiner respectfully disagrees that Andriluka does not teach the embodiments. Regarding the temporal determination of pose-change timing, the sections cited in the Non-Final rejection (Col 3. Lines 22-40 and Col 4. Lines 5-12) do mention a spatial relationship involved in their pose estimation but also mention a temporal relationship calculated as well. In Col. 3 Lines 22-40, Andriluka states “Of course, one of ordinary skill in the art will recognize that the techniques for recovering 2D and 3D pose are in no way limited to dancing, and that embodiments of the invention may be readily adapted to recover 2D and 3D pose estimates for two (or more) individuals engaging a variety of different correlated activities (whether complex, periodic, or otherwise).” Wherein it is described that at times, the invention may use periodic data, a time-based calculation, for identifying 2D and 3D pose estimates from one another.
Regarding “detect the persons whose times of changes in pose are determined to correlate with each other, as the persons having a causal relationship with each other.”,
The connection of the people’s poses over different times is further described by Col 3-4. Lines 63-12 wherein the invention is used for a video game where the participants could be partially occluded from the camera and based on both actions in the game, the location of the participants, and the time passed the system can interpolate the pose/action the participant uses. These actions are determined based on multiple individuals within the game to each other in examples such as dancing or boxing shown in the previously cited paragraphs and Figures 3 and 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6-9, 12, 14-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Andriluka (US 9058663 B2).
Regarding Claim 1:
Andriluka (US 9058663 B2) teaches: A causal interaction detection apparatus comprising (Col 2. Lines 31-37, “As part of recovering 3D pose estimates, the techniques described herein explicitly account for interactions between people in the recorded video. More specifically, individual subjects are treated as mutual "context" for one another. One embodiment provides an automatic framework for estimating 3D pose of interacting people performing complex activities from monocular observations.”):
at least one processor (Col 1. Lines 51-53, “This method may further include generating, by operation of one or more computer processors, …”); and
memory storing instructions (Col 4. Lines 50-57, “More specific examples (a non-exhaustive list) of the computer readable storage medium would include the following: an electrical connection having one or more wires, a portable computer diskette, a hard disk, a random access memory (RAM), a read-only memory (ROM), an erasable programmable read-only memory (EPROM or Flash memory), an optical fiber, a portable compact disc read-only memory (CD-ROM),”);
wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to (Col 4. Lines 50-57, “More specific examples (a non-exhaustive list) of the computer readable storage medium would include the following: an electrical connection having one or more wires, a portable computer diskette, a hard disk, a random access memory (RAM), a read-only memory (ROM), an erasable programmable read-only memory (EPROM or Flash memory), an optical fiber, a portable compact disc read-only memory (CD-ROM),”):
extract pose information for each of persons detected from a video data, the pose information indicating poses of the person in a time series (Col 7. Lines 25-28, “More specifically, as a first step towards inferring 2D or 3D poses of people, positions of potentially interacting people are recovered from the video sequence and tracked over time (i.e., over multiple times).”);
generate, for each of the persons, a change model that shows change in pose over time based on the pose information (Col 8. Lines 57-67, “Further, the pose recovery tool may use tree-structured pictorial structures (PS). However, embodiments (1) add flexibility to parts allowing the model to effectively capture foreshortening and different views of the person with respect to the camera and (2) condition the pose estimates on person detections to deal with image over-counting and encourage consistent pose estimates over time, and (3) utilize a collection of multi-person pictorial structure models that encode modes of interactions between two people (aspects). This new model is referred to herein as a multi-aspect flexible pictorial structure (MaFPS) model.”);
determine, for each of one or more sets of a plurality of the persons, whether times of changes in pose of the persons in the set correlate with each other (Col 3. Lines 22-40, “Note, the discussion below uses a pair of individuals dancing as an example of a joint, correlated activity which constrains 2D and 3D pose of the two individuals engaging in the activity. Of course, one of ordinary skill in the art will recognize that the techniques for recovering 2D and 3D pose are in no way limited to dancing, and that embodiments of the invention may be readily adapted to recover 2D and 3D pose estimates for two (or more) individuals engaging a variety of different correlated activities (whether complex, periodic, or otherwise). For example, the techniques described herein may be used to estimate the pose of athletes interacting with one another, e.g., boxers in the ring. Doing so may facilitate a virtual replay and analysis of their motion. Another example includes estimates of 3D pose for people involved in semi-periodic interactions (e.g., a play between defender and striker in an attempt to score a goal during a soccer match). Another example is estimates of 3D pose of people involved in a correlated but potentially spatially disjoint activity (e.g., a Simon says game).”); and
detect the persons whose times of changes in pose are determined to correlate with each other, as the persons having a causal relationship with each other (Col 4. Lines 5-12, “What makes this unique (gaming) is the pose recovery based on grouping people engaged in a correlated activity with one another, using proximity detections of interacting persons (either spatially or temporally/statistically). Those correlated activities imply a context that assists the pose recovery tool for each individual. The correlated activity is also used to infer a constrained post, which is used to recover and estimate a 3D pose.”).
Regarding Claim 4:
Andriluka teaches: The causal interaction detection apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
determine whether a distance between a first person and a second person is equal to or less than a threshold (Col 8. Lines 21-31, Two people are dancing within the threshold of a distance range and are grouped together by activity); and
determine the first person does not have a causal relationship with the second person when the distance is determined to be larger than the threshold (Col 8. Lines 21-25, Associations between people are only made if the distance is less than a predetermined threshold relating to distance).
Regarding Claim 6:
Andriluka teaches: The causal interaction detection apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the pose information represents the pose of the person at a frame of the video data by co-ordinates of multiple keypoints of the person detected from the frame (Figure 4A and 4B, Points of human points are identified and their coordinate location is shown in 4B).
Regarding Claim 7:
Andriluka teaches: The causal interaction detection apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the change model of the person represents the change in pose of the person at a frame of the video data by a dissimilarity value between the pose of the person at the frame and a reference pose (Col 13. Lines 15-25, Calculating changes in pose compared to a reference model where in the difference is represented as delta).
Regarding Claim 8:
Andriluka teaches: The causal interaction detection apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the dissimilarity value for the person at a frame of the video data is computed as a distance between the pose of the person at the frame and the reference pose (Col 13. Lines 15-25, Difference between pose of two different subjects in reference frame compared to another frame).
Regarding Claim 9:
Andriluka teaches: A control method performed by a computer, comprising (Col 1. Lines 51-57, “This method may further include generating, by operation of one or more computer processors, a 2D pose estimation for at least the first person. The 2D pose estimation is generated, at least in part, to account for constraints on positions of body parts of the first and second person resulting from participating in the correlated activity.”):
extracting pose information for each of persons detected from a video data, the pose information indicating poses of the person in a time series (Col 7. Lines 25-28, “More specifically, as a first step towards inferring 2D or 3D poses of people, positions of potentially interacting people are recovered from the video sequence and tracked over time (i.e., over multiple times).”);
generating, for each of the persons, a change model that shows change in pose over time based on the pose information (Col 8. Lines 57-67, “Further, the pose recovery tool may use tree-structured pictorial structures (PS). However, embodiments (1) add flexibility to parts allowing the model to effectively capture foreshortening and different views of the person with respect to the camera and (2) condition the pose estimates on person detections to deal with image over-counting and encourage consistent pose estimates over time, and (3) utilize a collection of multi-person pictorial structure models that encode modes of interactions between two people (aspects). This new model is referred to herein as a multi-aspect flexible pictorial structure (MaFPS) model.”);
determining, for each of one or more sets of a plurality of the persons, whether times of changes in pose of the persons in the set correlate with each other (Col 3. Lines 22-40, “Note, the discussion below uses a pair of individuals dancing as an example of a joint, correlated activity which constrains 2D and 3D pose of the two individuals engaging in the activity. Of course, one of ordinary skill in the art will recognize that the techniques for recovering 2D and 3D pose are in no way limited to dancing, and that embodiments of the invention may be readily adapted to recover 2D and 3D pose estimates for two (or more) individuals engaging a variety of different correlated activities (whether complex, periodic, or otherwise). For example, the techniques described herein may be used to estimate the pose of athletes interacting with one another, e.g., boxers in the ring. Doing so may facilitate a virtual replay and analysis of their motion. Another example includes estimates of 3D pose for people involved in semi-periodic interactions (e.g., a play between defender and striker in an attempt to score a goal during a soccer match). Another example is estimates of 3D pose of people involved in a correlated but potentially spatially disjoint activity (e.g., a Simon says game).”); and
detecting the persons whose times of changes in pose are determined to correlate with each other, as the persons having a causal relationship with each other (Col 4. Lines 5-12, “What makes this unique (gaming) is the pose recovery based on grouping people engaged in a correlated activity with one another, using proximity detections of interacting persons (either spatially or temporally/statistically). Those correlated activities imply a context that assists the pose recovery tool for each individual. The correlated activity is also used to infer a constrained post, which is used to recover and estimate a 3D pose.”).
Regarding Claim 12:
Andriluka teaches: The control method according to claim 9, further comprising:
determining whether a distance between a first person and a second person is equal to or less than a threshold (Col 8. Lines 21-31, Two people are dancing within the threshold of a distance range and are grouped together by activity); and
determining the first person does not have a causal relationship with the second person when the distance is determined to be larger than the threshold (Col 8. Lines 21-25, Associations between people are only made if the distance is less than a predetermined threshold relating to distance).
Regarding Claim 14:
Andriluka teaches: The control method according to claim 9,
wherein the pose information represents the pose of the person at a frame of the video data by co-ordinates of multiple keypoints of the person detected from the frame (Figure 4A and 4B, Points of human points are identified and their coordinate location is shown in 4B).
Regarding Claim 15:
Andriluka teaches: The control method according to claim 9,
wherein the change model of the person represents the change in pose of the person at a frame of the video data by a dissimilarity value between the pose of the person at the frame and a reference pose (Col 13. Lines 15-25, Calculating changes in pose compared to a reference model where in the difference is represented as delta).
Regarding Claim 16:
Andriluka teaches: The control method according to claim 15,
wherein the dissimilarity value for the person at a frame of the video data is computed as a distance between the pose of the person at the frame and the reference pose (Col 13. Lines 15-25, Difference between pose of two different subjects in reference frame compared to another frame).
Regarding Claim 17:
Andriluka teaches: A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program that cause a computer to execute:
extracting pose information for each of persons detected from a video data, the pose information indicating poses of the person in a time series (Col 7. Lines 25-28, “More specifically, as a first step towards inferring 2D or 3D poses of people, positions of potentially interacting people are recovered from the video sequence and tracked over time (i.e., over multiple times).”);
generating, for each of the persons, a change model that shows change in pose over time based on the pose information (Col 8. Lines 57-67, “Further, the pose recovery tool may use tree-structured pictorial structures (PS). However, embodiments (1) add flexibility to parts allowing the model to effectively capture foreshortening and different views of the person with respect to the camera and (2) condition the pose estimates on person detections to deal with image over-counting and encourage consistent pose estimates over time, and (3) utilize a collection of multi-person pictorial structure models that encode modes of interactions between two people (aspects). This new model is referred to herein as a multi-aspect flexible pictorial structure (MaFPS) model.”);
determining, for each of one or more sets of a plurality of the persons, whether times of changes in pose of the persons in the set correlate with each other (Col 3. Lines 22-40, “Note, the discussion below uses a pair of individuals dancing as an example of a joint, correlated activity which constrains 2D and 3D pose of the two individuals engaging in the activity. Of course, one of ordinary skill in the art will recognize that the techniques for recovering 2D and 3D pose are in no way limited to dancing, and that embodiments of the invention may be readily adapted to recover 2D and 3D pose estimates for two (or more) individuals engaging a variety of different correlated activities (whether complex, periodic, or otherwise). For example, the techniques described herein may be used to estimate the pose of athletes interacting with one another, e.g., boxers in the ring. Doing so may facilitate a virtual replay and analysis of their motion. Another example includes estimates of 3D pose for people involved in semi-periodic interactions (e.g., a play between defender and striker in an attempt to score a goal during a soccer match). Another example is estimates of 3D pose of people involved in a correlated but potentially spatially disjoint activity (e.g., a Simon says game).”); and
detecting the persons whose times of changes in pose are determined to correlate with each other, as the persons having a causal relationship with each other (Col 4. Lines 5-12, “What makes this unique (gaming) is the pose recovery based on grouping people engaged in a correlated activity with one another, using proximity detections of interacting persons (either spatially or temporally/statistically). Those correlated activities imply a context that assists the pose recovery tool for each individual. The correlated activity is also used to infer a constrained post, which is used to recover and estimate a 3D pose.”).
Regarding Claim 20:
Andriluka teaches: The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 17 (Col 4. Lines 50-58, “More specific examples (a non-exhaustive list) of the computer readable storage medium would include the following: an electrical connection having one or more wires, a portable computer diskette, a hard disk, a random access memory (RAM), a read-only memory (ROM), an erasable programmable read-only memory (EPROM or Flash memory), an optical fiber, a portable compact disc read-only memory (CD-ROM), an optical storage device, a magnetic storage device, or any suitable combination of the foregoing.”),
wherein the program further causes the computer to execute:
determining whether a distance between a first person and a second person is equal to or less than a threshold (Col 8. Lines 21-31, Two people are dancing within the threshold of a distance range and are grouped together by activity); and
determining the first person does not have a causal relationship with the second person when the distance is determined to be larger than the threshold (Col 8. Lines 21-25, Associations between people are only made if the distance is less than a predetermined threshold relating to distance).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 2-3, 5, 10-11, 13, and 18-19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Relevant Art Directed to State of Art
ISHIHARA (US 20210304434 A1)
Hanamoto (US 20190213791 A1)
KUSANO (JP 6887586 B1)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2665
/Stephen R Koziol/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2665