DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's submission filed on January 21, 2026 has been entered.
No claims are amended.
Claims 1-13 are pending this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McClure (US 20160154108 A1) in view of Kroeger et al (US 2019/0391276 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, McClure discloses a positioning method comprising: performing first positioning for calculating a position of a moving object on the basis of a satellite signal received from a satellite [0015 for using DGNSS];
transmitting positioning information corresponding to the position of the moving object to a base station server that selects one base station from among a plurality of base stations on the basis of the position of the moving object [0015-0017 for master and secondary base stations for moving object (rover)];
acquiring, from the base station server, correction information generated based on a satellite signal received by the one base station from the satellite [0015-0016];
and performing second positioning for calculating the position of the moving object on the basis of the correction information, wherein when the second positioning of the moving object based on first correction information corresponding to a first base station that is the one base station becomes possible [0015-0018 for using new correction signals from secondary base station],
the same positioning information as the positioning information obtained immediately before the second positioning of the moving object based on the first correction information becomes possible is transmitted to the base station server [0015-0018].
McClure fails to explicitly teach and the first correction information including latitude and longitude indicating the position of the first base station and time information is used regardless of an actual location of the moving object.
Kroeger has a method comprises receiving an approximate location of a rover platform based on satellite signals for a Global Navigation Satellite System (abstract) and teaches and the first correction information including latitude and longitude indicating the position of the first base station and time information is used regardless of an actual location of the moving object [0052, and 0075 for using differential corrections with longitude and latitude].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the work vehicle position techniques, as disclosed by McClure, further including the correction calculations as taught by Kroeger for the purpose to produce differential corrections for that location (Kroeger, 0075).
Regarding Claim 2, McClure discloses when the second positioning of the moving object based on the first correction information becomes possible [0018, 0037-0038],
the first correction information generated based on a satellite signal received by the first base station from the satellite is acquired from the base station server, and the position of the moving object is calculated on the basis of the first correction information [0015-0018].
Regarding Claim 3, McClure discloses when the second positioning of the moving object based on the first correction information becomes possible, the first correction information is acquired from the base station server, and the position of the moving object is calculated on the basis of the first correction information in each case where [0015-0018]:
the moving object is located in a place closer to the first base station than to a second base station [0018 for switching using hysteresis];
and the moving object is located in a place closer to the second base station than to the first base station [0018-0019].
Regarding Claim 4, McClure discloses when the second positioning of the moving object based on the first correction information becomes possible, the first correction information is acquired from the base station server [0015-0018],
and the position of the moving object is calculated on the basis of the first correction information even in a case where the moving object moves to the place closer to the second base station from the place closer to the first base station [0015-0018 for switching using hysteresis].
Regarding Claim 5, McClure discloses when the second positioning of the moving object based on the first correction information becomes impossible [0039 for blocked (impossible) areas],
the positioning information corresponding to the position of the moving object is transmitted to the base station server after the second positioning of the moving object based on the first correction information becomes impossible [0039-0040 for checking for an available corrector].
Regarding Claim 6, McClure discloses the moving object is a work vehicle that travels in a field located between the first base station and the second base station [0038-0041];
the field includes a first region closer to the first base station than an intermediate point between the first base station and the second base station and a second region closer to the second base station than the intermediate point [0040-0041];
and when the second positioning of the moving object based on the first correction information becomes possible, the position of the moving object is calculated based on the first correction information in each case where: the work vehicle travels in the first region [0039-0041];
and the work vehicle travels in the second region [0039-0041].
Regarding Claim 7, McClure discloses the moving object is a work vehicle that travels in a field located between the first base station and a second base station [0011, 0039-0041];
the field includes two divided regions divided at an intermediate point between the first base station and the second base station [0039 for subareas (divided regions)];
the positioning information corresponding to a first divided region having a larger area of the two divided regions is transmitted to the base station server [0038-0040];
the correction information generated based on a satellite signal received from the satellite by a base station closer to the first divided region between the first base station and the second base station is acquired [0033-0035];
and the position of the moving object is calculated based on the correction information [0037-0038].
Regarding Claim 8, McClure discloses when the second positioning of the moving object based on the correction information becomes possible, the position of the moving object is calculated based on the correction information in each case where [0015-0018]:
the work vehicle travels in the first region [0015-0018];
and the work vehicle travels in the second region [0015-0018].
Regarding Claim 9, McClure discloses in a case where a distance between the moving object and the one base station is less than a predetermined distance, the second positioning of the moving object based on the correction information corresponding to the one base station becomes possible [0043-0044],
and, in a case where the distance between the moving object and the one base station is equal to or more than the predetermined distance, the second positioning of the moving object based on the correction information corresponding to the one base station becomes impossible [0033, 0038-0039 for lost signals].
Regarding Claim 10, McClure discloses the positioning information includes at least longitude information, latitude information, and time information [0015-0017];
and when the second positioning of the moving object becomes possible, the same latitude information and longitude information as the longitude information and the latitude information obtained immediately before the second positioning of the moving object becomes possible are transmitted to the base station server [0016-0018].
Regarding Claim 11, McClure discloses a positioning device comprising: a first positioning processing unit that performs first positioning for calculating a position of a moving object on the basis of a satellite signal received from a satellite [0015 for using DGNSS];
a transmission processing unit that transmits positioning information corresponding to the position of the moving object calculated by the first positioning processing unit to a base station server that selects one base station from among a plurality of base stations on the basis of the position of the moving object calculated by the first positioning processing unit [0015 for master and secondary base stations for moving object (rover)];
an acquisition processing unit that acquires, from the base station server, correction information generated based on a satellite signal received by the one base station from the satellite [0015-0016];
and a second positioning processing unit that performs second positioning for calculating the position of the moving object on the basis of the correction information acquired by the acquisition processing unit, wherein when the second positioning of the moving object based on first correction information corresponding to a first base station that is the one base station becomes possible [0015-0017 for using new correction signals from secondary base station],
the transmission processing unit transmits, to the base station server, the same positioning information as the positioning information obtained immediately before the second positioning of the moving object based on the first correction information becomes possible [0016-0018].
McClure fails to explicitly teach and the first correction information including latitude and longitude indicating the position of the first base station and time information is used regardless of an actual location of the moving object.
Kroeger has a method comprises receiving an approximate location of a rover platform based on satellite signals for a Global Navigation Satellite System (abstract) and teaches and the first correction information including latitude and longitude indicating the position of the first base station and time information is used regardless of an actual location of the moving object [0052, and 0075 for using differential corrections with longitude and latitude].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the work vehicle position techniques, as disclosed by McClure, further including the correction calculations as taught by Kroeger for the purpose to produce differential corrections for that location (Kroeger, 0075).
Regarding Claim 12, McClure discloses and a control device that performs traveling processing on the basis of position information calculated by the positioning device [0033-0034].
Regarding Claim 13, McClure discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium for storing a positioning program for causing one or a plurality of processors to execute [0018]:
performing first positioning for calculating a position of a moving object on the basis of a satellite signal received from a satellite [0015 for using DGNSS];
transmitting positioning information corresponding to the calculated position of the moving object to a base station server that selects one base station from among a plurality of base stations on the basis of the calculated position of the moving object [0015 for master and secondary base stations for moving object (rover)];
acquiring, from the base station server, correction information generated based on a satellite signal received by the one base station from the satellite [0015-0016];
and performing second positioning for calculating the position of the moving object on the basis of the correction information, wherein when the second positioning of the moving object based on first correction information corresponding to a first base station that is the one base station becomes possible [0015-0017 for using new correction signals from secondary base station],
the same positioning information as the positioning information obtained immediately before the second positioning of the moving object based on the first correction information becomes possible is transmitted to the base station server [0016-0018].
McClure fails to explicitly teach and the first correction information including latitude and longitude indicating the position of the first base station and time information is used regardless of an actual location of the moving object.
Kroeger has a method comprises receiving an approximate location of a rover platform based on satellite signals for a Global Navigation Satellite System (abstract) and teaches and the first correction information including latitude and longitude indicating the position of the first base station and time information is used regardless of an actual location of the moving object [0052, and 0075 for using differential corrections with longitude and latitude].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the work vehicle position techniques, as disclosed by McClure, further including the correction calculations as taught by Kroeger for the purpose to produce differential corrections for that location (Kroeger, 0075).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a
general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
On page 3, first paragraph of applicant’s arguments, applicant states that the art does does not each base station correction using latitude/longitude. The examiner respectfully disagrees: McClure teaches a hysteresis effect to maintain the rover in contact with the base station (receiving position correction data from base station [McClure, 0041]. Kroeger strengthens the correction by using differential corrections values form the DGPSR stations and the locations of reference station that are conveyed to the rover with DCM, therefore the rover receives correction information for fixed virtual reference station locations and can interpolate the data [Kroeger, 0049].
On page 3, third paragraph of applicant’s arguments, applicant states that the Kroeger does not each base station correction using latitude/longitude. The examiner respectfully disagrees: Kroeger solves the well-know problem of differential correction instability by maintaining fixed reference station positions independent of rover movement [Kroeger, 0036-0037] which directly applies the same principles of receiving corrections for a fixed first position rather than continuously updating based on rover location to any GNSS correction system including a physical base station network like the applicant’s.
On page 3, last paragraph of applicant’s arguments, applicant states argues that the combination of McClure and Kroeger is not obvious. The examiner respectfully disagrees: both references address the identical problem of instability caused by frequent position-based updates in GNSS correction systems. Kroeger teaches that maintaining fixed reference station position improves accuracy and eliminates constant updates [Kroeger, 0003, 0037] enhance McClure’s hysteresis-based system for keeping corrections tied to the current base station [McClure, 0041].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMARINA MAKHDOOM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648