DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 8-10, 12-14, 28, 30-31, 33, and 36-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pre-Grant Publication 2010/0063445 to Sternberg et al. (Sternberg hereinafter) in view of US Pre-Grant Publication 2010/0179488 to Spiegel et al. (Spiegel).
Regarding claim 1, Sternberg teaches a prime tube (Fig. 2) for removing air from a fluid reservoir (via 26) comprising a sidewall (20) defining an internal volume (with 24 therein), a connector (8) configured to reversibly engage a reservoir (6) and disposed at a proximal (rightward in Fig. 2)and upstream (at least with respect to the air being vented) end of the sidewall, and a closure (24) which is disposed at a distal (leftward in Fig. 2) and downstream end of the sidewall and which is permeable to air and not the fluid (paragraph 44). Sternberg does not teach an expandable volume. Spiegel teaches another medical fluid device generally, and particularly teaches an expandable volume (14) whose expansion indicates pressure (paragraph 45). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the application to provide an expansible chamber to the prime tube of Sternberg in order to indicate pressure. Thus provided, the expandable volume would be configured to increase as the medical fluid enters the internal chamber, that is, as the pressure therein rises.
Regarding claim 2, Spiegel teaches that the chamber includes a bellows (14) which would have been obvious to include as the pressure indicating device, the bellows expanding when filled to a larger volume.
Regarding claims 4 and 36, Spiegel teaches that the bellows expands to a greater axial length (Xb).
Regarding claims 5 and 37, Spiegel teaches an elastomeric material (paragraph 62) having beneficial properties for this application. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the application to form the bellows of silicone rubber or the like as taught by Spiegel in order to take advantage of the beneficial properties of that substance in the pressure sensing application.
Regarding claims 6, 10, 28 and 38, Spiegel teaches transitioning from a contracted state to an expanded state (paragraph 46) and that the bellows may be rolled over (see Fig. 5c) when contracted and partially unrolled when expanded (see Fig. 5b, i.e. rolling is partial in both states).
Regarding claim 8, Spiegel teaches radial inversion of the bellows in response to fluid pressure increasing therein.
Regarding claim 9, Spiegel teaches a flaccid configuration and a rigid, extended configuration in the absence and presence of pressure respectively.
Regarding claim 12, Sternberg teaches a porous material (paragraph 16).
Regarding claim 13, by definition, Sternberg teaches porousness sufficient for air passage and not liquid (see e.g. paragraph 50).
Regarding claim 14, Sternberg teaches that the membrane may provide an audible sound dependent on presence or absence of flow therethrough (paragraph 20).
Regarding claim 30, Sternberg teaches a prime tube (Fig. 2) a sidewall (20) defining an internal volume (with 24 therein), a connector (8) configured to reversibly engage a reservoir (6) and disposed at a proximal (rightward in Fig. 2) and upstream end of the sidewall, and a closure (24) which is disposed at a distal (leftward in Fig. 2) and downstream end of the sidewall and which is permeable to air and not the fluid (paragraph 44).. Sternberg further teaches a processor (paragraph 20, “controller”) programmed to determine priming status (so as to emit an alarm). Sternberg does not teach an expandable volume. Spiegel teaches another medical fluid device generally, and particularly teaches an expandable volume (14) whose expansion indicates pressure (paragraph 45). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the application to provide an expansible chamber to the prime tube of Sternberg in order to indicate pressure. Thus provided, the expandable volume would be configured to increase as the medical fluid enters the internal chamber, that is, as the pressure therein rises.
Regarding claim 31, Sternberg teaches a processor (controller, paragraph 20) configured to determine priming status. Sternberg teaches that this is done based on a signal from a sensing system (300). However, as Spiegel is directed to ensuring safety via pressure measurement, it would have been equally obvious to use a pressure sensor (or the visual sensor 354 of Sternberg in combination with the bellows of Spiegel) to determine bellows status as the mere substitution of one known sensing method for another according to the known construction and operational methods evinced by both references.
Regarding claim 33, Sternberg teaches an actuator determination of prime based on sensor output, including a visual sensor (354) which measures state changes in the tube. Spiegel teaches detection of pressure based on shape changes (of Xb). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the application to use the shape changes indicated by Spiegel to determine priming in the system of Sternberg as the mere substitution of one known state detection method for another.
Claim(s) 32 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sternberg in view of Spiegel as applied to claim 30 above, and further in view of US Pre-Grant Publication 2007/0233003 to Radgowski et al. (Radgowski).
Regarding claims 32 and 35, Sternberg does not explicitly teach prime determination based on current draw or sensed force. Radgowski teaches another medical fluid apparatus and particularly teaches that prime may be determined from motor current (see e.g. claim 3), which is tantamount to a force reading. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the application to detect prime as taught by Radgowski as the mere substitution of one known prime determination method for another according to the known construction and operational methods evinced by both references.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10 December have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the argument that Sternberg does not teach the proximal upstream and distal downstream orientations relative to a downstream or upstream direction, the examiner notes that the claim is silent as to which fluid flows in the claimed direction and as such Sternberg at least teaches that, due to the hydrophobic membrane (26) and its venting function, air flows in the claimed direction. Additionally, the examiner notes that the reservoir (6) of Sternberg is the source of the fluid, and as shown in Fig. 2, the luer (20) is arranged generally as claimed, with the wide end at the upstream end and the narrow end at the downstream end. Accordingly, the examiner holds that the claimed invention does not patentably distinguish over the Sternberg in this fashion.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHILIP E STIMPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 2 November 2026