DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-2, 5-10 and 12-15 are pending wherein claims 7-9 are withdrawn from consideration and claims 3-4 and 11 are canceled. The previously indicated allowability of any claims is withdrawn.
Status of Previous Rejection
The previous rejection of claims 1-2, 5-6, 10, 13 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 102312135A) is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 10, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (Effect of combinative addition of Ti and Sr on modification of AA4043 welding wire and mechanical properties of AA6082 welded by TIG welding).
In regard to claims 1-2, 5, 10, 13 and 15, Wang et al. teaches addition of strontium to AA4043 welding wire with the presence of strontium ranging from 0 to 1 mass percent (Table 1 and Figure 8). Strontium is taught as being more effective than titanium in the formation of α(Al) dendrites thereby increasing the nucleation rate and leads to transition of α(Al) from columnar to fine equiaxed phase (page 278, right column). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the instant invention to optimize the strontium content as a result-effective variable in order to achieve the desired content of α(Al) dendrites and formation of the desired fine equiaxed phase. MPEP 2144.05 II.
With respect to the recitation “a welding speed of the aluminum alloy filler metal is 1 m/min or more” in claim 1, since Wang et al. discloses substantially similar compositions, this property would be expected. MPEP 2112.01 I.
With respect to the recitation “a surface-active element that lowers the surface tension of molten aluminum” in claims 1 and 5, since Wang et al. discloses substantially similar compositions, this property would be expected. MPEP 2112.01 I.
Still regarding claim 5, Wang et al. teaches welding the AA4043 alloy to AA6082 aluminum alloys (abstract and page 279).
In regard to claim 6, Wang et al. discloses treating a substantially similar composition in the same manner (welding) (page 280). Therefore, equiaxed grains with an average grain size of 150 µm or less would be expected.
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 10, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pinto et al. (Laser Welding of Dissimilar Aluminum Alloys with Filler Materials) in view of Knuutinen et al. (Modification of Al-Si alloys with Ba, Ca, Y and Yb).
In regard to claims 1 and 12, Pinto et al. discloses using 4043 (aluminum-silicon) filler alloy for welding (page R337). Based on Table 1 of Pinto et al., 4043 (aluminum-silicon) filler alloy contains 4.5 to 6 weight percent silicon and since it has below 12.5 weight percent silicon, it would be considered a hypoeutectic alloy (page R336).
Knuutinen et al. disclose adding 460 to 890 ppm barium (0.046 to 0.089 weight percent) to hypoeutectic aluminum alloys in order to form very refined fibrous silicon thereby improving the mechanical properties (pages 229 and 232).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the instant invention to add 460 to 890 ppm barium (0.046 to 0.089 weight percent), as disclosed by Knuutinen et al., to the hypoeutectic 4043 aluminum based filler metals, as disclosed by Pinto et al., in order to form very refined fibrous silicon thereby improving the mechanical properties (pages 229 and 232).
With respect to the recitation “a welding speed of the aluminum alloy filler metal is 1 m/min or more” in claim 1, since Pinto et al. in view of Knuutinen et al. discloses substantially similar compositions, this property would be expected. MPEP 2112.01 I.
With respect to the recitation “a surface-active element that lowers the surface tension of molten aluminum” in claims 1 and 5, since Pinto et al. in view of Knuutinen et al. discloses substantially similar compositions, this property would be expected. MPEP 2112.01 I.
In regard to claim 2, Knuutinen et al. discloses wherein the addition of barium and calcium produces fibrous silicon and improves the properties similar to that of strontium and sodium (page 238, left column). Therefore, it would have been obvious to substitute 0.046 to 0.089 weight percent strontium for the 0.046 to 0.089 weight percent barium with expected success of forming a very refined fibrous silicon thereby improving the mechanical properties.
In regard to claim 5, Pinto et al. discloses using 4043 (aluminum-silicon) filler alloy for welding to join dissimilar metals of AA6063-T6 aluminum alloy with AA6082-T6 aluminum alloys (page R337). Based on Table 1 of Pinto et al., 4043 (aluminum-silicon) filler alloy contains 4.5 to 6 weight percent silicon and since it has below 12.5 weight percent silicon, it would be considered a hypoeutectic alloy (page R336).
Knuutinen et al. disclose adding 460 to 890 ppm barium (0.046 to 0.089 weight percent) to hypoeutectic aluminum alloys in order to form very refined fibrous silicon thereby improving the mechanical properties (pages 229 and 232).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the instant invention to add 460 to 890 ppm barium (0.046 to 0.089 weight percent), as disclosed by Knuutinen et al., to the hypoeutectic 4043 aluminum based filler metals, as disclosed by Pinto et al., in order to form very refined fibrous silicon thereby improving the mechanical properties (pages 229 and 232).
Still regarding claim 5 and in regard to claim 14, Knuutinen et al. discloses wherein the addition of barium and calcium produces fibrous silicon and improves the properties similar to that of strontium and sodium (page 238, left column). Therefore, it would have been obvious to substitute 0.046 to 0.089 weight percent strontium for a portion or all of 0.046 to 0.089 weight percent barium with expected success of forming a very refined fibrous silicon thereby improving the mechanical properties.
In regard to claim 6, Pinto et al. in view Knuutinen et al.of discloses treating a substantially similar composition in the same manner (welding). Therefore, equiaxed grains with an average grain size of 150 µm or less would be expected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered, but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
/JESSEE R ROE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759