Response to Amendment
Any rejections and/or objections made in the previous Office action and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maurer (US 2019/0233609 A1) in view of Guschall (WO 98/01276 A1). As the cited WO publication is in a non-English language, a machine-translated version of the publication will be cited to.
Regarding Claims 1 and 3, Maurer teaches methods of solvent recycling polyolefins (Abstract) comprising dissolving cut pieces of plastic in solvent to obtain solution/suspension, purifying the resulting mixture by filtration, separating solvent and polymer via evaporation, and then extruding polymer (¶ 16-19, 33-35; Examples). Maurer teaches various polyolefins such as polyethylene or polypropylene (¶ 21), construed as thermoplastics. Maurer teaches embodiments where additives such as pigments or particles are added to the solution/suspension prior to evaporation and subsequent extrusion (¶ 34-35), construed as adding an insoluble solid additive and subsequently separating the polymer/additive from solvent via flash evaporation.
Examples are taught where treated plastic particles are of 1-5 square centimeter size (¶ 37). Maurer differs from the subject matter claimed in that specified protocols of obtaining classified/downsized materials is not described. Guschall teaches methods of recycling/treating mixed plastic materials so as to isolate plastic particles that exceed a particular weight or density (heavy fraction) (Abstract), the heavy fraction being polymers such as polyolefins (Page 3). The method allows a relatively simple and cost-effective means to isolate heavy fractions for further processing whereby various impurities such as glass or metals can be removed (Pages 1-2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to utilize the methods of Guschall to process waste materials because doing so would afford waste polyolefin particles in a relatively simple and cost-effective means as taught by Guschall.
Guschall teaches plastic material is provided, downsized, and classified such as via air classifier and/or sieves to form uniform grain size for further processing (Pages 14-15). Particle sizes ranging roughly from 2 mm to 10 mm is described (Page 18; 2,000-10,000 microns) whereby smaller particles, such as less than 1.6 mm, are removed via sieving (Page 17). Therefore, Guschall suggests classified downsized plastic particles where at least 99 wt% of particles smaller than 300 microns have been removed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant generally argues the prior art does not describe various advantages associated with removal of particles smaller than 300 microns. This is not found persuasive. Maurer teaches solvent based recycling of plastic particles 1 to 5 cm2 of size (¶ 37), which is consistent with such size values. It is unclear how or why the benefits alluded to by applicant are not already operating within the prior art. Moreover, the prior art need not recognize the criticality of a limitation, but rather the prior art needs to only teach that limitation. The rejections of record have shown that the claimed limitation is present in the prior art. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. See MPEP 2144(IV).
Applicant argues the addition of solid additives that are insoluble in the solvent followed by evaporation is not taught by the prior art. This is not found persuasive as Maurer teaches such at ¶ 34-35.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEPHEN E RIETH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759