DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments and corresponding arguments filed 11/12/2025 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Examiner agrees the new limitations set forth in amended Claim 1 are supported by instant Fig. 20, and are not disclosed by the prior art.
Applicant has added new Claims 14-18. Regarding these new claims, Applicant states “claims 14-18 recite further limitations which are not disclosed or made obvious by the applied prior art references,” but does not explain where support for these limitations can be found in the instant disclosure. Some of the new claims are not supported by the instant disclosure, see the 35 USC § 112(a) Section in this action for additional detail.
Examiner’s search has been updated to include the amended and new claims. The claimed invention remains obvious, but over new art.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 18 recites “The battery module of claim 1, wherein the first opening is located along an edge of the end plate such that the module connector is not entirely surrounded by the end plate.” The instant disclosure does not provide a special definition of “not entirely surrounded by,” so the limitation is being interpreted to mean the end plate does not “encase” or “fully engulf” the module connector.
Examiner notes the limitation “the module connector is not entirely surrounded by the end plate” appears to be inherent to the structure created by Claim 1, which recites “a module connector is disposed in the first opening of the end plate.” As shown in instant Figs. 3 and 16, by having an opening (400L) in the end plate (400), the end plate cannot “entirely surround” the module connector (610/600), as a portion of the module connector is accessible through the opening of the end plate:
18/020,008 – Fig. 3
18/020,008 – Fig. 16
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 15 recites “The battery module of claim 14, wherein the third opening is located between the first opening and the second opening.” Although a third opening is supported by the instant disclosure, the location of the third opening set forth by Claim 15 is not supported. Claims 1 and 14 (from which Claim 15 depends) define a first opening, a second opening, and a third opening as follows:
First Opening: “a first opening … located in the end plate, wherein a module connector is disposed in the first opening of the end plate” (Claim 1)
Second Opening: “a second opening … located in the end plate,” and “a first portion of the busbar assembly protrudes through the second opening of the end plate” (Claim 1)
Third Opening: “a third opening is located in the end plate, and wherein a second portion of the busbar assembly protrudes through the third opening” (Claim 16)
Examiner’s annotated Fig. 1 demonstrates how the location of the third opening is not “located between the first opening and the second opening” as required by Claim 15. Instead, the first opening (400L) is located between the third opening and the second opening (400H).”
18/020,008 – Annotated Fig. 1
Please provide support for this limitation in the disclosure, or amend/cancel the claim. For the purpose of this action, Claim 15 will be interpreted as “The battery module of claim 14, wherein the first opening is located between the third opening and the second opening.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17 recites “The battery module of claim 16, wherein the locking part is located at an edge of the busbar frame.” The instant disclosure does not teach the locking part is a component of the busbar frame, or located on the busbar frame.
The instant specification discloses “A slit 306 may be formed in an upper part of the busbar frame 300, and a locking part 336 may be formed at both ends of the upper cover 330 in the longitudinal direction.” Although the locking part may engage with the busbar frame, the locking part is on the upper cover, and is not “located at an edge of the busbar frame.”
Please provide support for this limitation in the disclosure, or amend/cancel the claim. For the
purpose of this action, Claim 17 will be interpreted as “The battery module of claim 16, wherein the
locking part is located at an edge of the upper cover.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 11-15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al., CN 111554837 A, and further in view of Blossfeld et al., US 20110170269 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Wu discloses a battery module (pouch battery module [0041], Figs. 1-8, Annotated Fig. 1) comprising:
a battery cell stack in which a plurality of battery cells are stacked (pouch battery assembly 300 consists of several pouch cells 301 [0041-0043], Figs. 2-3);
a module frame for housing the battery cell stack (lower housing 102 [0045-0047]);
a busbar frame for covering a front surface or a rear surface of the battery cell stack (busbar 400 [0043], covers front surface of battery cell stack in Fig. 2);
an end plate coupled to the module frame and covering the busbar frame (front end plate 210 [0044-0047], end plate is welded to module frame [0045]); and
a busbar assembly located between the busbar frame and the end plate (positive and negative terminals 401 [0043], Figs. 1-3 and 7),
wherein a module connector is disposed in a first opening of the end plate (front end plate 201 is additionally provided with a lead-out hole for a connector terminal 411 [0044], Figs. 1 and 8) and a first portion of the busbar assembly protrudes through a second opening of the end plate (portion of terminal protruding from lead-out holes 220 in the front end plate 201 [0044], Figs. 1 and 7).
Wu – Annotated Fig. 1
Wu discloses the module connector (411) is electrically connected to the busbar frame (400, [0045]), but does not disclose the module connector is “mounted on one surface of the busbar frame by a housing that protects the module connector” as required by the claim. However, this limitation is taught by Blossfeld.
Blossfeld teaches an electrical connector (electronic assembly 10 [0027-0034], Figs. 1-3) comprising a protective housing (housing 12 and cover 26 [0027], Figs. 1-3; housing is “protective” as it secures and aligns the pin header assembly 20 and circuit board 18 [0027-0030]). Blossfeld teaches the connector has three lugs with corresponding openings, which serve as attachment points to connect the housing to a larger device (metal fastener/bolt 54 connects assembly 10 to a device body [0030-0034], Figs. 1-3).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add Blossfeld’s electrical connector housing around Wu’s module connector, in order to protect and secure the connector to a device.
Blossfeld – Figs. 1 and 2
Regarding Claim 2, modified Wu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Wu does not specifically disclose “the busbar frame comprises a holder for holding the module connector, and the holder comprises a terminal end whose axial cross section is convex.” However, this limitation is also taught by Blossfeld.
Blossfeld teaches in order to attach the connector assembly 10 to a device body, a holder (fastener/bolt 54) is inserted into each of the three tubular sleeves 48 on each lug 46, and the holder projects from the end of the sleeve to connect to a device body ([0030-0034], Figs. 1-3).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the holder of Blossfeld (fastener/bolts 54) to connect Wu’s busbar frame and module connector, as Blossfeld teaches the holder (54) effectively secures the module connector to a nearby device (battery module/busbar frame).
Examiner notes the limitation “the holder comprises a terminal end whose axial cross section is convex” is met by the shape of the bolt in Blossfeld Fig. 3:
Blossfeld – Annotated Fig. 3
Regarding Claim 3, modified Wu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Wu discloses the terminal end of the holder (Blossfeld, 54) comprises a first terminal end and a second terminal end that are axially separated (see Annotated Blossfeld Fig. 3).
Blossfeld – Annotated Fig. 3
Regarding Claim 4, modified Wu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Wu
discloses the housing includes a slot into which the holder is inserted (Blossfeld, central opening 56 in
lug 52 [0030-0032], Figs. 1-2).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Wu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Wu discloses the module connector comprises a holder hole into which the holder is inserted (Blossfeld, fastener 54 is inserted into opening 50 of tubular sleeve 48 [0030-0032], Fig. 2), and an opening of the holder hole corresponds to an opening of the slot (Blossfeld, sleeve 48 received by central opening 56 [0030]).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Wu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Wu discloses the holder slides inside the slot, so that the holder and the housing are slidably coupled along one direction (Blossfeld, fastener 54 inserted and extends through sleeve 48 and central opening 56 [0030-0032], Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Wu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Wu discloses a diameter of at least a partial section of the slot (Blossfeld, 56) is larger than a diameter of an
opening of the holder hole (Blossfeld, sleeve 48 is received by central opening 56 [0030]).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Wu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Wu discloses a sealing member that is located between the housing and the end plate (Blossfeld, O-ring seal 28 may be provided between the cover 26 and the housing 12 to help seal the electronic assembly 10 [0027], Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Wu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Wu
discloses the sealing member has a closed curve shape in which opposite terminal ends are connected
(Blossfeld, seal 28 is an “O-ring” [0027], see “closed curved shape” in Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Wu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Wu discloses a battery pack comprising at least one of the battery module (Wu, battery system comprising multiple modules [0004, 0023, 0042]).
Regarding Claim 14, modified Wu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Wu discloses a third opening is located in the end plate, and wherein a second portion of the busbar assembly protrudes through the third opening (Wu, the positive and negative terminals 401 are led out from the lead-out holes 220 in the front end plate 201 [0044], Annotated Wu Fig. 1).
Wu – Annotated Fig. 1
Regarding Claim 15, modified Wu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Wu discloses the third opening is located between the first opening and the second opening (Wu, the connector terminal 411 is roughly located in the middle of the positive terminal 401a and the negative terminal 401b, the lead-out hole of the connector terminal 411 is located in the center [0044], see Annotated Wu Fig. 1 in Claim 14).
Regarding Claim 18, modified Wu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Wu discloses the first opening is located along an edge of the end plate such that the module connector is not entirely surrounded by the end plate (see Annotated Wu Fig. 1, portions of module connector 411 are not covered by the end plate 200):
Wu – Annotated Fig. 1
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Oh et al., US 20190348720 A1.
Regarding Claims 16 and 17, modified Wu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Wu discloses the battery module further comprises an upper cover (Wu, upper housing 101 [0045]), but does not disclose “the upper cover is fastened to the busbar frame by a locking part” (Claim 16) or “the locking part is located at an edge of the upper cover” (Claim 17; see Section 35 USC 112(b)). However, these limitations are taught by Oh.
Oh teaches a battery module upper cover (upper plate 410) and busbar module (side plates 420) may be hingedly coupled to each other using hook portions 414 formed in the upper plate 410 and rod portions 424 formed in the side plates 420 ([0149-0152], Fig. 14). Oh teaches the “plurality of hook-shaped hook portions 414 may be formed at the ends of the upper plate 410 in a spaced-apart relationship with each other” ([0150], satisfies Claim 17). Oh teaches the coupling of the upper cover (410) and busbar frame (420) by a locking part (414) enables a predetermined fixing force to be used, improves the workability, and the hinge design enables the busbar frame to be made via injection molding, which is low cost ([0150-0152]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the upper cover be fastened to the busbar frame with a hinged locking part, wherein the locking part is located at an edge of the upper cover, in the battery module of modified Wu, as Oh teaches a hinged locking part connects the upper cover and busbar frame in a way that improves workability and reduces cost.
Oh – Fig. 14
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Gao et al., US 20210104779 A1.
Regarding Claims 8 and 9, modified Wu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Wu does not disclose “a first fastening hole is formed in the end plate, and a fastening member is inserted into the first fastening hole so that the housing and the end plate are coupled” (Claim 8). Modified Wu also does not disclose “a second fastening hole corresponding to the first fastening hole is formed in the housing, the second fastening hole is located on a coupling surface of the housing” (Claim 9). However, these limitations are taught by Gao.
Gao teaches a battery module connector and housing (connector 142 and cell management board 11 [0090-0095], Figs. 1-4), wherein a first fastening hole is formed in an end plate (hole in front cover 13 near connector opening 132 [0090-0095], Annotated Fig. 4), and a fastening member (bolt 6) is inserted into the first fastening hole so that the housing and the end plate are coupled (fixed to battery module by bolt 6 [0090]). Gao also teaches a second fastening hole corresponding to the first fastening hole is formed on a coupling surface of the housing (hole in board 11 near connector 142 [0095], Annotated Fig. 4; “coupling surface” formed when module is assembled, see Fig. 1). Gao teaches the bolts are used to secure the front cover to the battery module ([0090-0091], Fig. 1).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add a first fastening hole in the end plate, a second fastening hole in the housing, and a fastening member to couple the end plate and housing, in the battery module of modified Wu, as Gao teaches this configuration to secure an end plate and connector assembly to a battery module.
Gao – Annotated Fig. 4
The Claim 9 limitation “the coupling surface is a surface perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of the battery cell stack” is met by modified Wu, as the coupling surface of modified Wu is perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of the battery cell stack (see Annotated Wu Fig. 2):
Wu – Annotated Fig. 2
Regarding Claim 10, modified Wu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Wu discloses the first fastening hole is formed in two or more numbers (see four “first fastening holes” in end plate 13, Annotated Gao Fig. 4).
Gao – Annotated Fig. 4
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BETHANY C GARCIA/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721