DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the tapered spring ring, as claimed in claim 16, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-8, 11, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sheets (2020/0028297).
With regard to claim 1, Sheets teaches, as shown in figures 1-4 and taught in paragraphs 35-40: “A connector 10 comprising: a shield sleeve 12; a jacket 20 at least partially surrounding and fixed to the shield sleeve 12; a lock collar 22 rotatable on and at least partially surrounding the shield sleeve 12, the lock collar 22 and the shield sleeve 12 having a connection end (right end in figure 1) for coupling to an electrical line 14 and a mating end (left end in figure 1) for making a plug-in connection; wherein the jacket 20 and the lock collar 22 and/or a seal ring 18 are at least partially overlapping; and a seal 16 in the overlap region, wherein the seal 16 is elastic and biased by the lock collar 22 and/or the seal ring 18 toward the connection end (paragraphs 35-40 teach the seal being formed of a mechanically flexible material like rubber and that the seal is compressed by the seal ring and optionally the lock collar in a radial direction, which would cause a mechanically flexible ring to be biased along the axial direction)”.
With regard to claim 4, Sheets teaches: “The connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Sheets also teaches, as shown in figures 1-4: “wherein the seal 16 is an annular seal and is positioned between the lock collar and/or the seal ring 18 and the jacket 20”.
With regard to claim 5, Sheets teaches: “The connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Sheets also teaches, as shown in figures 1-4 and taught in the Abstract: “wherein the jacket 20 and/or the seal is an overmold”.
With regard to claim 6, Sheets teaches: “The connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Sheets also teaches, as shown in figures 1-4 and taught in the paragraph 43: “wherein the lock collar 22 is a locking nut”.
With regard to claim 7, Sheets teaches: “The connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Sheets also teaches, as shown in figures 1-4: “wherein the lock collar is held in position by a spring 18 and thereby the compression of the seal 16 is permanently realized”.
With regard to claim 8, Sheets teaches: “The connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Sheets also teaches, as shown in figures 1-4: “wherein the lock collar and/or the seal ring 18 has a jacket inner surface against which the seal 16 rests in regions and through which the seal 16 is biased”.
With regard to claim 11, Sheets teaches: “The connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Sheets also teaches, as shown in figures 1-4: “wherein the connector 10 is provided with an electrical shield 12”.
With regard to claim 13, Sheets teaches: “The connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Sheets also teaches, as shown in figures 1-4 and taught in paragraph 29: “wherein the seal 16 is made of creep-resistant material (the materials in paragraph 29 provide at least moderate creep-resistance)”.
With regard to claim 14, Sheets teaches: “The connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Sheets also teaches, as shown in figures 1-4: “wherein the lock collar 22 is provided with a knurl for actuation”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheets (2020/0028297).
With regard to claim 2, Sheets teaches: “The connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Sheets does not teach: “wherein the seal 16 is part of the jacket”. However, Sheets teaches in the abstract and as shown in figures 1-4, that the jacket (enclosure 20) is in mechanical contact with the seal (sealing ring 16). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to form the seal and the jacket as one piece in order to create a tighter bond between the seal and the jacket. Also, it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1993).
With regard to claim 3, Sheets teaches: “The connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Sheets does not teach: “wherein the seal is part of the lock collar and/or the seal ring”. However, Sheets teaches in the abstract and as shown in figures 1-4, that the sealing ring 18 is in mechanical contact with the seal (sealing ring 16). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to form the seal and the sealing ring as one piece in order to create a tighter bond between the seal and the sealing ring. Also, it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1993).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheets (2020/0028297) in view of Shaw (2013/0149884).
With regard to claim 9, Sheets teaches: “The connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Sheets does not teach: “wherein the seal has webs and grooves to ensure defined compression”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Shaw teaches, as shown in figures 1-24 and taught in paragraphs 104-108: “wherein the seal 67 has webs (paragraph 105 teaches the seal 67 forced into the wire web of the sheath, which would give the seal webs) and grooves (at least the grooves around 132 and groove 143) to ensure defined compression”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to combine the features of Shaw with the invention of sheets in order to enhance the seal (Shaw, paragraph 108).
With regard to claim 10, Sheets teaches: “The connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Sheets does not teach: “wherein the jacket and/or the lock collar and/or the ring seal has webs and grooves in the region of the seal in order to increase the effect of the seal”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Shaw teaches, as shown in figures 1-24 and taught in paragraphs 104-108: “wherein the jacket and/or the lock collar and/or the ring seal 67 has webs (paragraph 105 teaches the seal 67 forced into the wire web of the sheath, which would give the seal webs) and grooves (at least the grooves around 132 and groove 143) in the region of the seal in order to increase the effect of the seal”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to combine the features of Shaw with the invention of sheets in order to enhance the seal (Shaw, paragraph 108).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheets (2020/0028297) in view of Schafer et al. (2013/0072048).
With regard to claim 15, Sheets as modified by Schafer teaches: “The connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Sheets does not teach: “wherein the shield sleeve has at least one flat that ensures local strength and acts as a rotation-inhibiting formation between the shield sleeve and the jacket”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Schafer teaches, as shown in figures 5-9: “wherein the shield sleeve 14 has at least one flat 32 that ensures local strength and acts as a rotation-inhibiting formation between the shield sleeve 14 and the jacket 30”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Schafer with the invention of Sheets in order to lock of the shield sleeve with respect to the jacket (Schafer, paragraph 42).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheets (2020/0028297) in view of Ehret et al. (2012/0252263).
With regard to claim 17, Sheets teaches: “The connector according to claim 1, as shown above.
Sheets does not teach: “wherein the seal expands radially, at least in certain regions, in response to being biased toward the connection end”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Ehret teaches, as shown in figures 1A-1B and taught in paragraphs 28 and 34: “wherein the seal 70 expands radially, at least in certain regions, in response to being biased toward the connection end 2 (paragraph 28 teaches the seal can be formed of elastic or rubber material that biases 30 towards 40 in the direction of the connection end 2, this would cause a rubber or other elastic material to expand radially)”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Ehret with the invention of Sheets in order to prevent deterioration by environmental elements (Ehret, paragraph 33).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 18-19 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regard to claim 18, Sheets teaches, as shown in figures 1-4 and taught in paragraphs 35-40: “A connector 10 comprising: a shield sleeve 12 having a connection end (right end in figure 1) for coupling to an electrical line 14 and a mating end (left end in figure 1) for making a plug-in connection; a jacket 20 at least partially surrounding the shield sleeve 12 and fixed against rotation relative to the shield sleeve 12; a lock collar 22 rotatable relative to the shield sleeve 12 and the jacket 20, the lock collar 22 configured to be pushed onto the shield sleeve 12… when the connector 10 is assembled and to at least partially axially overlap the jacket 20; a seal 16 in an overlap region of the jacket 20 and the lock collar 22, wherein the seal 16 is elastic and is biased toward the connection end (paragraphs 35-40 teach the seal being formed of a mechanically flexible material like rubber and that the seal is compressed by the seal ring and optionally the lock collar in a radial direction, which would cause a mechanically flexible ring to be biased along the axial direction)… the lock collar 22 applies a force toward the connection end to compress the seal (paragraphs 35-40 teach the seal being formed of a mechanically flexible material like rubber and that the seal is compressed by the seal ring and optionally the lock collar in a radial direction, which would cause a mechanically flexible ring to be biased along the axial direction)”.
Sheets does not specifically teach the lock collar pushed onto the shield sleeve “from the mating end”. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to assemble the lock collar from the mating end, since the lock collar is mounted on the mating end. Also, if the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966.
Sheets also does not teach: “and the seal expands radially at least in certain regions in response to being biased toward the connection end”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Ehret teaches, as shown in figures 1A-1B and taught in paragraphs 28 and 34: “and the seal 70 expands radially at least in certain regions in response to being biased toward the connection end 2 (paragraph 28 teaches the seal can be formed of elastic or rubber material that biases 30 towards 40 in the direction of the connection end 2, this would cause a rubber or other elastic material to expand radially)”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Ehret with the invention of Sheets in order to prevent deterioration by environmental elements (Ehret, paragraph 33).
Neither Sheets nor Ehret teach: “during assembly when the lock collar is pushed onto the jacket; and a tapered spring ring between the lock collar and the shield sleeve, the tapered spring ring seated in a groove in the shield sleeve, and the lock collar having a groove in which the tapered spring ring engages and thus holds the lock collar axially in position, wherein, when the lock collar is pushed onto the shield sleeve and held axially by the tapered spring ring”.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/19/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues with regard to claim 1 that Sheets does not teach “wherein the seal is elastic and biased by the lock collar and/or the seal ring toward the connection end”, since the seal is biased radially instead of axially. The Examiner respectfully disagrees, since the seal taught by the reference is made of a material that would cause a bias in the axial direction when bias is applied in the radial direction (Sheets, paragraphs 35-40), which is similar to claim 17 which claims the seal expanding in a direction perpendicular to the bias applied, which would also bias in that perpendicular direction. The Applicant further argues that the seal is not positioned on the connection end side, but the claim does not require the seal to be positioned on the connection end. The Examiner respectfully disagrees, since the language of the claim does not require the seal to be in the overlap region, which the cited seal is.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN M KRATT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831