DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 12/9/25. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-8, 11, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sheets (2020/0028297).
With regard to claim 1, Sheets teaches, as shown in figures 1-4: “A connector 10 comprising: a shield sleeve 12; a jacket 20 at least partially surrounding and fixed to the shield sleeve 12; a lock collar 22 rotatable on and at least partially surrounding the shield sleeve 12, the lock collar 22 and the shield sleeve 12 having a connection end (right end in figure 1) for coupling to an electrical line 14 and a mating end (left end in figure 1) for making a plug-in connection; wherein the jacket 20 and the lock collar 22 and/or a seal ring 18 are at least partially overlapping; and a seal 16 in the overlap region, wherein the seal 16 is elastic and biased by the lock collar 22 and/or the seal ring 18 toward the connection end”.
With regard to claim 4, Sheets teaches: “The connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Sheets also teaches, as shown in figures 1-4: “wherein the seal 16 is an annular seal and is positioned between the lock collar and/or the seal ring 18 and the jacket 20”.
With regard to claim 5, Sheets teaches: “The connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Sheets also teaches, as shown in figures 1-4 and taught in the Abstract: “wherein the jacket 20 and/or the seal is an overmold”.
With regard to claim 6, Sheets teaches: “The connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Sheets also teaches, as shown in figures 1-4 and taught in the paragraph 43: “wherein the lock collar 22 is a locking nut”.
With regard to claim 7, Sheets teaches: “The connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Sheets also teaches, as shown in figures 1-4: “wherein the lock collar is held in position by a spring 18 and thereby the compression of the seal 16 is permanently realized”.
With regard to claim 8, Sheets teaches: “The connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Sheets also teaches, as shown in figures 1-4: “wherein the lock collar and/or the seal ring 18 has a jacket inner surface against which the seal 16 rests in regions and through which the seal 16 is biased”.
With regard to claim 11, Sheets teaches: “The connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Sheets also teaches, as shown in figures 1-4: “wherein the connector 10 is provided with an electrical shield 12”.
With regard to claim 13, Sheets teaches: “The connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Sheets also teaches, as shown in figures 1-4 and taught in paragraph 29: “wherein the seal 16 is made of creep-resistant material (the materials in paragraph 29 provide at least moderate creep-resistance)”.
With regard to claim 14, Sheets teaches: “The connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Sheets also teaches, as shown in figures 1-4: “wherein the lock collar 22 is provided with a knurl for actuation”.
With regard to claim 15, Sheets teaches: “The connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Sheets also teaches, as shown in figures 1-4: “wherein the shield sleeve 12 has at least one flat that ensures local strength”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheets (2020/0028297).
With regard to claim 2, Sheets teaches: “The connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Sheets does not teach: “wherein the seal 16 is part of the jacket”. However, Sheets teaches in the abstract and as shown in figures 1-4, that the jacket (enclosure 20) is in mechanical contact with the seal (sealing ring 16). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to form the seal and the jacket as one piece in order to create a tighter bond between the seal and the jacket. Also, it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1993).
With regard to claim 3, Sheets teaches: “The connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Sheets does not teach: “wherein the seal is part of the lock collar and/or the seal ring”. However, Sheets teaches in the abstract and as shown in figures 1-4, that the sealing ring 18 is in mechanical contact with the seal (sealing ring 16). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to form the seal and the sealing ring as one piece in order to create a tighter bond between the seal and the sealing ring. Also, it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1993).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheets (2020/0028297) in view of Shaw (2013/0149884).
With regard to claim 9, Sheets teaches: “The connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Sheets does not teach: “wherein the seal has webs and grooves to ensure defined compression”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Shaw teaches, as shown in figures 1-24 and taught in paragraphs 104-108: “wherein the seal 67 has webs (paragraph 105 teaches the seal 67 forced into the wire web of the sheath, which would give the seal webs) and grooves (at least the grooves around 132 and groove 143) to ensure defined compression”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to combine the features of Shaw with the invention of sheets in order to enhance the seal (Shaw, paragraph 108).
With regard to claim 10, Sheets teaches: “The connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Sheets does not teach: “wherein the jacket and/or the lock collar and/or the ring seal has webs and grooves in the region of the seal in order to increase the effect of the seal”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Shaw teaches, as shown in figures 1-24 and taught in paragraphs 104-108: “wherein the jacket and/or the lock collar and/or the ring seal 67 has webs (paragraph 105 teaches the seal 67 forced into the wire web of the sheath, which would give the seal webs) and grooves (at least the grooves around 132 and groove 143) in the region of the seal in order to increase the effect of the seal”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to combine the features of Shaw with the invention of sheets in order to enhance the seal (Shaw, paragraph 108).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/9/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With regard to claim 1, the Applicant argues that the cited reference does not teach “a connector having a seal that is biased by a lock collar or seal ring toward a connection end”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees, since the positioning of the seal and the seal ring, as well as the materials of the seal is selected to have elastic properties (Sheets, paragraph 35) and the seal ring is selected to apply pressure to hold the seal in place. Since the seal is positioned on the connection end side, the seal will be biased toward the connection end.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN M KRATT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831