Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8, 16 and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The limitation “an orientation corresponding to the sternum axis“ is indefinite since the limitation require the use of the subjective judgement of one of ordinary skilled in the art. While, Applicant's specification does provide an example a sternum axis can be an imaginary axis that is in line with approximate center of the sternum (see paragraph 39). This particular example is not sufficient to meet the MPEP requirement that a subjective terminology be accompanied with a specification that provide an objective standard such that one of ordinary skilled in the art can use to determine the metes and bound of the limitation (see MPEP 2173.05(b) IV). An example can only provide a specific single instance that demonstrates a principle, case, or situation; while an objective standard requires that the Applicant disclose a general rule or criterion that is applicable across a range of circumstances.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang et al. (Document ID CN 106652708 A; 2017-05-10) in view of Sweeney et al. (Document ID US 5195896 A1; 1993-03-23).
Regarding Claim 1, Liang et al. teaches:
A CPR training manikin (Abstract and fig. 1 show that the model is a cardiopulmonary resuscitation training model, i.e. a CPR manikin), the CPR training manikin comprising: a lower torso surface (fig. 1, item 1) and an upper torso surface (fig. 1, item 4), the lower torso surface and the upper torso surface being joined to define a torso-shaped compartment, the torso-shaped compartment defining an interior portion (Page 11, paragraph 2 shows that the upper torso, i.e. skin 4, covers the lower torso surface, i.e. trunk base 1; Figures 1-3 show that these two items come together to define an interior, torso-shaped compartment) and a sternum axis (i.e., an axis oriented in line with the approximate center of the sternum as per para. [0039] of Applicant’s specification; Page 7, paragraph 2 and figure 5 show that the rib cover 2 sits between skin 4 and trunk base 1, i.e. within the torso-shaped compartment, and that item 63, i.e. a component of rib cover 2, aligns with the sternum axis; Page 10, paragraph 2 further shows that rib cover 2 simulates the chest bone structure of a human body); a chest compression unit disposed internally to the interior portion, the chest compression unit comprising a main compression spring joining in compression resistant separated positions a bottom compression plate and a chest compression plate (Figure 2 and page 7, paragraph 2 show that the rib cover 2, i.e. a chest compression plate, and spring 11, i.e. a main compression spring, sits between skin 4 and trunk base 1, i.e. within the torso-shaped compartment; Page 10, paragraph 5 further shows that spring fixing groove 103 serves as a bottom connection point for spring 11); and the chest compression plate residing under an interior surface of the upper torso surface (Figure 2 and page 7, paragraph 2 show that the rib cover 2, i.e. a chest compression plate sits between skin 4 and trunk base 1, i.e. within the torso-shaped compartment) and being compressible against the main compression spring to simulate compressions of a human chest during CPR (Page 10, paragraphs 2 and 4 show that the chest compression plate 2 is made to be compressed against the main compression spring 11), wherein a plurality of LED lights are aligned linearly on the chest compression plate in a region and in an orientation corresponding to the sternum axis (Page 7, paragraph 2 and figure 5 show that item 63 consists of LEDs, is a component of rib cover 2, and is in an orientation that corresponds to the sternum axis).
Liang et al. fails to explicitly teach:
The chest compression unit comprising a main compression spring joining in compression resistant separated positions a bottom compression plate and a chest compression plate (Liang et al. only mentions a fixing groove 103 as a bottom connection point for the spring, which is a part of trunk base 1 and is not really a “plate”).
Sweeney et al. teaches:
A chest compression unit comprising a main compression spring joining in compression resistant separated positions a bottom compression plate and a chest compression plate (Figure 2 and column 4 lines 9-51 show a main compression spring 63 interposed between plate 60, i.e. the chest compression plate, and plate 62, i.e. the bottom compression plate).
It would be obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for someone of
ordinary skill in the art to apply the known technique of utilizing both a top and bottom plate for the compression mechanism in a CPR dummy present in Sweeny et al. to the similar device of Liang et al., a CPR dummy, in order to create an effective compression mechanism for a CPR dummy. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motived to incorporate the known technique of Sweeny et al. with the similar device of Liang et al. as this the utilization of back plate would serve to reinforce the lower torso body of CPR dummy from the force of manual compression.
Regarding Claim 3, Liang et al. teaches:
The CPR training manikin of claim 1, wherein the upper torso surface comprises molded features visually corresponding to a sternum of a human torso (Page 11, paragraphs 2 and 3 show that the body skin 42, i.e. a component of the upper torso surface 4, may comprise ribs and the ensiform structure, i.e. the posterior surface of the sternum; note that the phrasing ”molded features visually corresponding to a sternum of a human torso” is broad but as shown, on page 11, paragraphs 2 and 3, Lian et al. teaches that the upper torso surface 4 may comprise features of the sternum, i.e. molded features that visually correspond to a sternum of a human torso).
Regarding Claim 5, Liang et al. teaches:
The CPR training manikin of claim 1, wherein the chest compression plate has a size and shape that mimics a human rib cage (Page 10, paragraph 2 and figure 5 show that rib cover 2 simulates the chest bone structure of a human body, i.e. the rib cage).
Regarding Claim 7, Liang et al. teaches:
The CPR training manikin of claim 1, wherein the upper torso surface is translucent in the region corresponding to a placement of the plurality of LED lights (Page 11, para. 1 shows that the upper torso surface 4 has good light transmittance so one can observe LEDs through the skin).
Regarding Claim 8, Liang et al. teaches:
The CPR training manikin of claim 1, wherein the plurality of LED lights are powered by a battery source, the battery source being disposed in the interior portion (Page 10, paragraph 5 and figure 8, show that the system is powered by a battery box 9 located at the bottom of trunk base 1, i.e. the battery source is located on the interior of the system).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang et al. (Document ID CN 106652708 A; 2017-05-10) in view of Sweeney et al. (Document ID US 5195896 A1; 1993-03-23) and in further view of Reed et al. (Document ID US 20090035740 A1; 2009-02-05).
Regarding Claim 2, Liang et al. in view of Sweeney et al. fails to explicitly teach:
The CPR training manikin of claim 1, wherein the upper torso surface comprises latex-free vinyl.
Reed et al. teaches:
The CPR training manikin of claim 1, wherein the upper torso surface comprises latex-free vinyl (Para. [0065] shows that the skin of the mannequin body, i.e. the upper torso surface, may comprise Polyvinyl Chloride, i.e. a latex-free vinyl; PVC is a synthetic polymer of plastic that does not contain natural rubbers such as latex).
It would be obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for someone of
ordinary skill in the art to apply the known technique of utilizing a latex-free material in a CPR dummy present in Reed et al. to the similar device of Liang et al., a CPR dummy, in order to create an effective CPR dummy. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motived to incorporate the known technique of Reed et al. with the similar device of Liang et al. as the utilization of a latex-free material would allow users with a latex allergy to make use of the CPR device.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang et al. (Document ID CN 106652708 A; 2017-05-10) in view of Sweeney et al. (Document ID US 5195896 A1; 1993-03-23) and in further view of Pastrick et al. (Document ID US 20150125840 A1; 2015-05-07).
Regarding Claim 4, Liang et al. in view of Sweeney et al. fails to teach:
The CPR training manikin of claim 1, wherein the lower torso surface and the upper torso surface are pivotally joined to define a clamshell configuration.
Pastrick et al. teaches:
The CPR training manikin of claim 1, wherein the lower torso surface and the upper torso surface are pivotally joined to define a clamshell configuration (Figure 2a and para. [0038], show that an upper torso surface 40 fits with lower torso surface in a clam shell style).
It would be obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for someone of
ordinary skill in the art to apply the known technique of utilizing a clamshell configuration in the design of a CPR dummy present in Pastrick et al. to the similar device of Liang et al., a CPR dummy, in order to create an effective CPR dummy. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motived to incorporate the known technique of Pastrick et al. with the similar device of Liang et al. as the utilization of a clam shell design better allows for the opening of the CPR dummy for both maintenance and cleaning purposes.
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang et al. (Document ID CN 106652708 A; 2017-05-10) in view of Sweeney et al. (Document ID US 5195896 A1; 1993-03-23) and in further view of Fossan (Document ID WO 2012035129 A2; 2012-03-22).
Regarding Claim 6, Liang et al. in view of Sweeney et al. fails to teach:
The CPR training manikin of claim 1, wherein the plurality of LED lights are mounted on a sternum PCBA joined to the chest compression plate.
Fossan teaches:
The CPR training manikin of claim 1, wherein the plurality of LED lights are mounted on a sternum PCBA joined to the chest compression plate (Page 6, lines 15-24; page 7, lines 4-10; and figure 1 show that a printed circuit board 2 may be mounted to a chest plate 1 and that sensors 3, which may include lights, are mounted on printed circuit board in areas that align with the center of the sternum).
It would be obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for someone of
ordinary skill in the art to apply the known technique of utilizing lighting elements on the compression plate of a CPR dummy present in Fossan to the similar device of Liang et al., a CPR dummy, in order to create a user-friendly CPR dummy. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motived to incorporate the known technique of Fossan with the similar device of Liang et al. as the utilization of lighting allows for the device to show a user the proper locations on the CPR dummy to deliver compressions (Page 6, lines 15-24).
Claims 9, 11, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang et al. (Document ID CN 106652708 A; 2017-05-10) in view of Sweeney et al. (Document ID US 5195896 A1; 1993-03-23), Utermoehlen et al. (Document ID US 10386205 B2; 2019-08-20), and Richard et al. (Document ID WO 2016030393 A1; 2016-03-03).
Regarding Claim 9, Liang et al. teaches:
A CPR training manikin (Abstract and fig. 1 show that the model is a cardiopulmonary resuscitation training model, i.e. a CPR manikin), the CPR training manikin comprising: a lower torso surface (fig. 1, item 1) and an upper torso surface (fig. 1, item 4), the lower torso surface and the upper torso surface being joined to define a torso-shaped compartment, the torso-shaped compartment defining an interior portion (Page 11, paragraph 2 shows that the upper torso, i.e. skin 4, covers the lower torso surface, i.e. trunk base 1; Figures 1-3 show that these two items come together to define an interior, torso-shaped compartment) and a sternum axis (i.e., an axis oriented in line with the approximate center of the sternum as per para. [0039] of Applicant’s specification; Page 7, paragraph 2 and figure 5 show that the rib cover 2 sits between skin 4 and trunk base 1, i.e. within the torso-shaped compartment, and that item 63, i.e. a component of rib cover 2, aligns with the sternum axis; Page 10, paragraph 2 further shows that rib cover 2 simulates the chest bone structure of a human body); a chest compression unit disposed internally to the interior portion, the chest compression unit comprising a main compression coil spring joining in compression resistant separated positions a bottom compression plate and a chest compression plate (Figure 2 and page 7, paragraph 2 show that the rib cover 2, i.e. a chest compression plate, and spring 11, i.e. a main compression spring, sits between skin 4 and trunk base 1, i.e. within the torso-shaped compartment; Page 10, paragraph 5 further shows that spring fixing groove 103 serves as a bottom connection point for spring 11), the main compression coil spring having a spring axis oriented generally orthogonal to and intersecting the sternum axis (figures 2 and 3 show that spring 11, i.e. the main compression coil, is generally orthogonal to and intersects the sternum axis); the chest compression plate residing under an interior surface of the upper torso surface (Figure 2 and page 7, paragraph 2 show that the rib cover 2, i.e. a chest compression plate sits between skin 4 and trunk base 1, i.e. within the torso-shaped compartment) and being compressible against the main compression coil spring to simulate compressions of a human chest during CPR (Page 10, paragraphs 2 and 4 show that the chest compression plate 2 is made to be compressed against the main compression spring 11); and
Liang et al. fails to explicitly teach:
The chest compression unit comprising a main compression spring joining in compression resistant separated positions a bottom compression plate and a chest compression plate (Liang et al. only mentions a fixing groove 103 as a bottom connection point for the spring, which is a part of trunk base 1 and is not really a “plate”); and at least one electrically conductive measuring spring disposed in the interior of the main compression coil spring, the at least one electrically conductive measuring spring being connected in an electrical circuit configured to measure a change in inductance with a corresponding change in a length of the at least one electrically conductive measuring spring.
Sweeney et al. teaches:
A chest compression unit comprising a main compression spring joining in compression resistant separated positions a bottom compression plate and a chest compression plate (Figure 2 and column 4 lines 9-51 show a main compression spring 63 interposed between plate 60, i.e. the chest compression plate, and plate 62, i.e. the bottom compression plate).
It would be obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for someone of ordinary skill in the art to apply the known technique of utilizing both a top and bottom plate for the compression mechanism in a CPR dummy present in Sweeny et al. to the similar device of Liang et al., a CPR dummy, in order to create an effective compression mechanism for a CPR dummy. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motived to incorporate the known technique of Sweeny et al. with the similar device of Liang et al. as this the utilization of back plate would serve to reinforce the lower torso body of CPR dummy from the force of manual compression.
Richard et al. teaches:
At least one electrically conductive measuring spring disposed in the interior of the main compression coil spring (Figure 8b, page 6, paragraph 3, and page 9, paragraph 5 show a traction spring 52 disposed in the interior of a main compression coil spring 54).
It would be obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for someone of
ordinary skill in the art to apply the known technique of disposing a traction spring in the interior of CPR machine’s main compression spring present in Richard et al. to the similar device of Liang et al., a CPR training model, in order to create a realistic CPR simulator. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motived to incorporate the known technique of Richard et al. with the similar device of Liang et al. as the utilization of a traction spring in addition to a primary compression spring “advantageously provide the actuating member with an equilibrium position that better simulates the rest position of patient than a system comprising only one biasing mechanism” and allows for the equilibrium position of the chest compression plate to be modified (Richard et al., page 10, paragraph 3).
Utermoehlen et al. teaches:
at least one electrically conductive measuring spring (Abstract and figure 1 show an electrically conductive spring 10), the at least one electrically conductive measuring spring being connected in an electrical circuit configured to measure a change in inductance with a corresponding change in a length of the at least one electrically conductive measuring spring (Abstract shows that the spring forms a measurement inductance that is dependent on effective length of the spring; Figure 1 and column 4, lines 4-23 show that this measurement inductance is measured via an evaluation and control unit 22).
It would be obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for someone of
ordinary skill in the art to apply the known technique of utilizing both a measurement spring to measure compression length present in Utermoehlen et al. to the similar device of Liang et al., a CPR dummy, in order to create an effective CPR dummy. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motived to incorporate the known technique of Utermoehlen et al. with the similar device of Liang et al. as this would allow an additional method with which to evaluate the user’s ability to properly deliver compressions to the model.
Regarding Claim 11, Liang et al. teaches:
The CPR training manikin of claim 9, wherein the upper torso surface comprises molded features visually corresponding to a sternum of a human torso (Page 11, paragraphs 2 and 3 show that the body skin 42, i.e. a component of the upper torso surface 4, may comprise ribs and the ensiform structure, i.e. the posterior surface of the sternum).
Sweeney et al. further teaches:
The CPR training manikin of claim 9, wherein the upper torso surface comprises molded features visually corresponding to a sternum of a human torso (Column 2, lines 33-54 show that the training manikin is anatomically shaped to replicate a human torso and includes anatomical landmarks such as the sternum).
It would be obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for someone of
ordinary skill in the art to apply the known technique of including anatomical landmarks on a CPR dummy present in Sweeny et al. to the similar device of Liang et al., a CPR dummy, in order to create a user-friendly CPR dummy. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motived to incorporate the known technique of Sweeny et al. with the similar device of Liang et al. as this of the landmarks would better allow the user to find the proper locations for hand placement.
Regarding Claim 13, Liang et al. teaches:
The CPR training manikin of claim 9, wherein the chest compression plate has a size and shape that mimics a human rib cage (Page 10, paragraph 2 and figure 5 show that rib cover 2 simulates the chest bone structure of a human body, i.e. the rib cage).
Regarding Claim 14, Liang et al. in view of Sweeney et al., Utermoehlen et al., and Richard et al. fails to explicitly teach the CPR training manikin of claim 9, comprising two measuring springs. However, Utermoehlen does teach the utilization of a single measurement spring to determine compression travel (Abstract), and Richard et al. does teach the potential utilization of multiple traction/compression springs (page 10, paragraph 1). It would be obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for someone of ordinary skill in the art to duplicate a part, i.e. the measurement spring, of Utermoehlen; In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960), the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. Someone of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to duplicate the measurement spring of Utermoehlen et al. to achieve one of many predictable results such as: making the measurement system stiffer, having a backup measurement spring in case of failure, or determining specific compression travel values on different parts of the chest plate.
Regarding Claim 15, Utermoehlen et al. further teaches:
The CPR training manikin of claim 9, wherein the change in inductance is analyzed and reported to an electronic device as a measure of compression (Figure 1 and column 4, lines 4-48 show that the measurement inductance is measured via an evaluation/control unit 22, i.e. an electronic device, and evaluated as compression travel x).
Regarding Claim 16, Liang et al. teaches:
The CPR training manikin of claim 9, further comprising a plurality of LED lights aligned linearly on the chest compression plate in a region and in an orientation corresponding to the sternum axis (Page 7, paragraph 2 and figure 5 show that item 63 consists of LEDs, is a component of rib cover 2, and is in an orientation that corresponds to the sternum axis).
Claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang et al. (Document ID CN 106652708 A; 2017-05-10) in view of Sweeney et al. (Document ID US 5195896 A1; 1993-03-23), Utermoehlen et al. (Document ID US 10386205 B2; 2019-08-20), and Richard et al. (Document ID WO 2016030393 A1; 2016-03-03) and in further view of Reed et al. (Document ID US 20090035740 A1; 2009-02-05).
Regarding Claim 10, Liang et al. in view of Sweeney et al., Utermoehlen et al., and Richard et al. fails to teach:
The CPR training manikin of claim 9, wherein the upper torso surface comprises latex-free vinyl.
Reed et al. teaches:
The CPR training manikin of claim 9, wherein the upper torso surface comprises latex-free vinyl (Para. [0065] shows that the skin of the mannequin body, i.e. the upper torso surface, may comprise PVC, i.e. a latex-free vinyl).
It would be obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for someone of
ordinary skill in the art to apply the known technique of utilizing a latex-free material in a CPR dummy present in Reed et al. to the similar device of Liang et al., a CPR dummy, in order to create an effective CPR dummy. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motived to incorporate the known technique of Reed et al. with the similar device of Liang et al. as the utilization of a latex-free material would allow users with a latex allergy to make use of the CPR device.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang et al. (Document ID CN 106652708 A; 2017-05-10) in view of Sweeney et al. (Document ID US 5195896 A1; 1993-03-23), Utermoehlen et al. (Document ID US 10386205 B2; 2019-08-20), and Richard et al. (Document ID WO 2016030393 A1; 2016-03-03) and in further view of Pastrick et al. (Document ID US 20150125840 A1; 2015-05-07).
Regarding Claim 12, Liang et al. in view of Sweeney et al., Utermoehlen et al., and Richard et al. fails to teach:
The CPR training manikin of claim 9, wherein the lower torso surface and the upper torso surface are pivotally joined to define a clamshell configuration.
Pastrick et al. teaches:
The CPR training manikin of claim 9, wherein the lower torso surface and the upper torso surface are pivotally joined to define a clamshell configuration (Figure 2a and para. [0038], show that an upper torso surface 40 fits with lower torso surface in a clam shell style).
It would be obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for someone of
ordinary skill in the art to apply the known technique of utilizing a clamshell configuration in the design of a CPR dummy present in Pastrick et al. to the similar device of Liang et al., a CPR dummy, in order to create an effective CPR dummy. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motived to incorporate the known technique of Pastrick et al. with the similar device of Liang et al. as the utilization of a clam shell design better allows for the opening of the CPR dummy for both maintenance and cleaning purposes.
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang et al. (Document ID CN 106652708 A; 2017-05-10) in view of Sweeney et al. (Document ID US 5195896 A1; 1993-03-23), Utermoehlen et al. (Document ID US 10386205 B2; 2019-08-20), Richard et al. (Document ID WO 2016030393 A1; 2016-03-03), and Pastrick et al. (Document ID US 20150125840 A1; 2015-05-07).
Regarding Claim 17, Liang et al teaches:
A CPR training manikin (Abstract and fig. 1 show that the model is a cardiopulmonary resuscitation training model, i.e. a CPR manikin), the CPR training manikin comprising: a lower torso surface (fig. 1, item 1) and an upper torso surface (fig. 1, item 4), the lower torso surface and the upper torso surface being joined to define a torso-shaped compartment, the torso-shaped compartment defining an interior portion (Page 11, paragraph 2 shows that the upper torso, i.e. skin 4, covers the lower torso surface, i.e. trunk base 1; Figures 1-3 show that these two items come together to define an interior, torso-shaped compartment) and a sternum axis (i.e., an axis oriented in line with the approximate center of the sternum as per para. [0039] of Applicant’s specification; Page 7, paragraph 2 and figure 5 show that the rib cover 2 sits between skin 4 and trunk base 1, i.e. within the torso-shaped compartment, and that item 63, i.e. a component of rib cover 2, aligns with the sternum axis; Page 10, paragraph 2 further shows that rib cover 2 simulates the chest bone structure of a human body); a chest compression unit disposed internally to the interior portion, the chest compression unit comprising a main compression coil spring joining in compression resistant separated positions a bottom compression plate and a chest compression plate (Figure 2 and page 7, paragraph 2 show that the rib cover 2, i.e. a chest compression plate, and spring 11, i.e. a main compression spring, sits between skin 4 and trunk base 1, i.e. within the torso-shaped compartment; Page 10, paragraph 5 further shows that spring fixing groove 103 serves as a bottom connection point for spring 11), the main compression coil spring having a coil spring axis oriented generally orthogonal to and intersecting the sternum axis (figures 2 and 3 show that spring 11, i.e. the main compression coil, is generally orthogonal to and intersects the sternum axis); the chest compression plate residing under an interior surface of the upper torso surface (Figure 2 and page 7, paragraph 2 show that the rib cover 2, i.e. a chest compression plate sits between skin 4 and trunk base 1, i.e. within the torso-shaped compartment) and being compressible against the main compression coil spring to simulate compressions of a human chest during CPR (Page 10, paragraphs 2 and 4 show that the chest compression plate 2 is made to be compressed against the main compression spring 11); and
Liang et al. fails to explicitly teach:
The chest compression unit comprising a main compression spring joining in compression resistant separated positions a bottom compression plate and a chest compression plate (Liang et al. only mentions a fixing groove 103 as a bottom connection point for the spring, which is a part of trunk base 1 and is not really a “plate”); a telescoping piston sleeve enclosing the main compression coil spring; at least one electrically conductive measuring spring disposed in the interior of the main compression coil spring, the at least one electrically conductive measuring spring being connected in an electrical circuit configured to measure a change in inductance with a corresponding change in a length of the at least one electrically conductive measuring spring.
Sweeney et al. teaches:
A chest compression unit comprising a main compression spring joining in compression resistant separated positions a bottom compression plate and a chest compression plate (Figure 2 and column 4 lines 9-51 show a main compression spring 63 interposed between plate 60, i.e. the chest compression plate, and plate 62, i.e. the bottom compression plate).
It would be obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for someone of
ordinary skill in the art to apply the known technique of utilizing both a top and bottom plate for the compression mechanism in a CPR dummy present in Sweeny et al. to the similar device of Liang et al., a CPR dummy, in order to create an effective compression mechanism for a CPR dummy. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motived to incorporate the known technique of Sweeny et al. with the similar device of Liang et al. as this the utilization of back plate would serve to reinforce the lower torso body of CPR dummy from the force of manual compression.
Richard et al. teaches:
At least one electrically conductive measuring spring disposed in the interior of the main compression coil spring (Figure 8b, page 6, paragraph 3, and page 9, paragraph 5 show a traction spring 52 disposed in the interior of a main compression coil spring 54).
It would be obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for someone of
ordinary skill in the art to apply the known technique of disposing a traction spring in the interior of CPR machine’s main compression spring present in Richard et al. to the similar device of Liang et al., a CPR training model, in order to create a realistic CPR simulator. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motived to incorporate the known technique of Richard et al. with the similar device of Liang et al. as the utilization of a traction spring in addition to a primary compression spring “advantageously provide the actuating member with an equilibrium position that better simulates the rest position of patient than a system comprising only one biasing mechanism” and allows for the equilibrium position of the chest compression plate to be modified (Richard et al., page 10, paragraph 3).
Utermoehlen et al. teaches:
at least one electrically conductive measuring spring (Abstract and figure 1 show an electrically conductive spring 10), the at least one electrically conductive measuring spring being connected in an electrical circuit configured to measure a change in inductance with a corresponding change in a length of the at least one electrically conductive measuring spring (Abstract shows that the spring forms a measurement inductance that is dependent on effective length of the spring; Figure 1 and column 4, lines 4-23 show that this measurement inductance is measured via an evaluation and control unit 22).
It would be obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for someone of
ordinary skill in the art to apply the known technique of utilizing both a measurement spring to measure compression length present in Utermoehlen et al. to the similar device of Liang et al., a CPR dummy, in order to create an effective CPR dummy. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motived to incorporate the known technique of Utermoehlen et al. with the similar device of Liang et al. as this would allow an additional method with which to evaluate the user’s ability to properly deliver compressions to the model.
Pastrick et al. teaches:
A telescoping piston sleeve enclosing the main compression coil spring (Para. [0043] and figure 11, show that the large spring 74, i.e. the main compression coil spring, is enveloped by telescoping sleeve components 75 and 76 ).
It would be obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for someone of
ordinary skill in the art to apply the known technique of utilizing a telescoping piston sleeve in the design of a CPR dummy present in Pastrick et al. to the similar device of Liang et al., a CPR dummy, in order to create an effective CPR dummy. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motived to incorporate the known technique of Pastrick et al. with the similar device of Liang et al. as the utilization of a telescoping piston sleeve would limit the main compression spring’s ability to deviate from its intended path of movement.
Regarding Claim 18, Pastrick et al. further teaches:
The CPR training manikin of claim 17, wherein a portion of the telescoping piston sleeve is shaped to hold in position the chest compression plate and one end of the main compression coil spring (Para. [0043] shows that the locking ring 72 may be molded as one piece within inner sleeve 76, and that locking ring 72 may be engaged with the central chest plate 50; Para. [0043] and figure 11 further show that the coil spring is engaged with locking ring 72).
Regarding Claim 19, Utermoehlen et al. teaches:
The CPR training manikin of claim 17, wherein the change in inductance is analyzed and reported to an electronic device as a measure of compression of the main compression coil spring (Figure 1 and column 4, lines 4-48 show that the measurement inductance is measured via an evaluation/control unit 22, i.e. an electronic device, and evaluated as compression travel x).
Regarding Claim 20, Liang et al teaches:
The CPR training manikin of claim 17, further comprising a plurality of LED lights aligned linearly on the chest compression plate in a region and in an orientation corresponding to the sternum axis (Page 7, paragraph 2 and figure 5 show that item 63 consists of LEDs, is a component of rib cover 2, and is in an orientation that corresponds to the sternum axis).
Summary
No claim is allowed
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103
Conclusion
/A.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/ROBERT J UTAMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715