DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's arguments filed 2/03/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Zhang only teaches computing a single delta relative to a preconfigure a preconfigured baseline, and not insertion-loss differences among antenna. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Zhang discloses a delta value (par.0181 “the insertion loss value is an additional insertion loss value, and the additional insertion loss value refers to a difference value between the actual insertion loss value”) of each of antenna (par.0119 “the insertion loss values of the antenna port 1 to the antenna port 4 are 1 dB, 1 dB, 3 dB and 6 dB respectively”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang (US Pub. 2021/0159962).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Zhang discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
a memory; and
at least one processor, coupled to the memory (par.0218), and configured to:
determine an insertion loss for each antenna of a plurality of antennas (par.099 “switching from 2T4R to 1T4R…..introduction of other devices may increase the device insertion loss”);
generate an offset matrix correction based at least on the insertion loss for each antenna of the plurality of antennas (par.0117 “report….insertion loss….include four insertion loss values, and for insertion loss values may correspond to antenna 1 to antenna 4”, par.0119 “the insertion loss values of the antenna port 1 to the antenna port 4 are 1 dB, 1 dB, 3 dB and 6 dB respectively”), wherein the offset matrix correction is associated with an insertion loss delta for each antenna of the plurality of antennas (par.0119) with respect to a first antenna (par.0182 “the predefined insertion loss value is 3 dB”) of the plurality of antennas; and
transmit the offset matrix correction to a base station (par.0119 “report…..the insertion loss values of the antenna port 1 to the antenna port 4 are 1 dB, 1dB, 3 dB and 6 db respectively…….12 bits are require to indicated the insertion loss values, every three bits of which corresponds to an antenna port”).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses further comprising a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor (fig.10).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Zhang discloses the offset matrix correction comprises a report of an insertion loss delta for each antenna of the plurality of antennas with respect to a first antenna of the plurality of antennas (par.0129 “the insertion loss value is 2 dB”).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Zhang discloses the offset matrix correction comprises offset coefficients corresponding to the insertion loss delta for each antenna of the plurality of antennas (par.068 “differential with respect antenna port 0, 3 dB, 4 dB, 3 dB”).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang discloses the offset matrix correction comprises a report of the insertion loss for each antenna of the plurality of antennas (par.0119 “report…..the insertion loss values of the antenna port 1 to the antenna port 4 are 1 dB, 1dB, 3 dB and 6 db respectively”).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang discloses the insertion loss for each antenna of the plurality of antennas is based at least on an antenna switching configuration (par.0117 “loss added due to signal sending of the terminal device on different antennas after a cascade switch 3 is added”).
Regarding claims 9 and 15, Zhang discloses transmit a sounding reference signal (SRS), at a maximum power, from each antenna of the plurality of antennas to each receive antenna of the base station (par.065).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang discloses the offset matrix correction is based on a per band or the per band in a band combination (par.068).
Regarding claims 11 and 16, Zhang discloses collect insertion loss information for each antenna of the plurality of antennas, wherein the insertion loss information indicates at least a power difference for each of the plurality of antennas at the UE (par.0119 “report…..the insertion loss values of the antenna port 1 to the antenna port 4 are 1 dB, 1dB, 3 dB and 6 db respectively”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
/TU X NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642