DETAILED ACTION
The amendment submitted on 05/21/2026 has been received and considered by the Examiner. Claims 1, 14, 26, and 52 were amended, and claims 3-5, 8-9, 12, 15, 19-20, 23, 27-51, and 53-76 were previously cancelled. Claims 1-2, 6-7, 10-11, 13-14, 16-18, 21-22, 24-26, and 52 remain pending.
The IDS document submitted on 05/12/2026 has been received and considered by the Examiner.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 6-7, 10-11, 13-14, 16-18, 21-22, 24-26, and 52 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 10-11, 13-14, 16-18, 21-22, 24-25, 26, and 52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos et al. (US 2019/0260532 A1, hereinafter “Manolakos”) in view of Ji et al. (US 2023/0308242 A1, hereinafter “Ji”).
As to Claim 1 and 26:
Manolakos describes a method to transmit multiple TCI states including QCL relationship indications in an extended MAC-CE.
Specifically, Manolakos teaches:
Transmitting quasi-co-location (QCL) configuration information of a downlink signal to the UE
Paragraphs 0081-0082 of Manolakos describe “TCI states” that are “configured by a network” and include “DM-RS QCL relationships” (Manolakos, 0081).
The QCL configuration information indicates at least two reference signals and QCL types corresponding to the reference signals
The table on page 11 of Manolakos which follows paragraph 0082 describes a “TCI-RS-Set” including multiple QCL groups (e.g. “QCL-group-1”, “QCL-group-2”, etc.) which each can include multiple TCI configurations.
A first reference signal in the reference signals is used to determine a Doppler property of the downlink signal
Paragraph 0071 of Manolakos states that “the UE 115 may determine ... Doppler shift ... based on the reference signals associated with the TCI-state” (Manolakos, 0071).
A second reference signal in the reference signals is used to determine a delay property of the downlink signal
Paragraph 0071 of Manolakos states that “the UE 115 may determine a delay spread ... based on the reference signals associated with the TCI-state” (Manolakos, 0071).f
Transmitting the downlink signal to the UE
Paragraph 0071 in Manolakos describes “antenna ports used to transmit ... reference signals”, clear evidence of downlink RS transmission (Manolakos, 0071).
The QCL configuration information is carried by a set of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states
Paragraphs 0081-0082 of Manolakos describe “TCI states” that are “configured by a network” and include “DM-RS QCL relationships” (Manolakos, 0081).
And from the list of:
Both the first reference signal and the second reference signal are reference signals corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA; at least two TCI states with one TCI state indicating at least the first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA, and another TCI state indicating at least the second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA; or at least one TCI state indicating at least the first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA, and the second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA; or at least one TCI state indicating at least both the first reference signal and the second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA; or
The first reference signal is a reference signal corresponding to a QCL type being QCL-TypeA, and the second reference signal is a reference signal corresponding to a QCL type being QCL-TypeE, wherein the QCL-TypeE represents a QCL type indicating average delay and delay spread, and the QCL-TypeA represents a QCL type indicating Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay, and delay spread; at least two TCI states with one TCI state indicating at least the first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA, and another TCI state indicating at least the second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeE; or
The first reference signal is a reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeB, and the second reference signal is a reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA, wherein the QCL-TypeB represents a QCL type indicating Doppler shift and Doppler spread; at least two TCI states with one TCI state indicating at least the first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeB, and another TCI state indicating at least the second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA; or at least one TCI state indicating at least the first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeB, and the second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA; or
The first reference signal is a reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeB, and the second reference signal is a reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeE; at least two TCI states with one TCI state indicating at least the first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeB, and another TCI state indicating at least the second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeE; or at least one TCI state indicating at least the first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeB, and the second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeE
Manolakos at least teaches:
Both the first reference signal and the second reference signal are reference signals corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA; at least two TCI states with one TCI state indicating at least the first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA, and another TCI state indicating at least the second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA; or at least one TCI state indicating at least the first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA, and the second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA; or at least one TCI state indicating at least both the first reference signal and the second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA
The table after paragraph 0082 in Manolakos describes a “TCI-RS-Set” including multiple reference signals which have a “qcl-Type” which may be “typeA”. Paragraph 0080 clarifies that “QCL relationship 210 may include a tuple of TCI-states” (Manolakos, 0080). This anticipates “at least two TCI states with one TCI state indicating at least the first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA, and another TCI state indicating at least the second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA” from the claimed list of options above.
Table 2.1 in Manolakos further elaborates that the “QCL-TypeA” signal can determine “Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay, [and] delay spread”.
And:
The first reference signal is a reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeB, and the second reference signal is a reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA, wherein the QCL-TypeB represents a QCL type indicating Doppler shift and Doppler spread; at least two TCI states with one TCI state indicating at least the first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeB, and another TCI state indicating at least the second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA; or at least one TCI state indicating at least the first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeB, and the second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA
The table after paragraph 0082 in Manolakos describes a “TCI-RS-Set” including multiple reference signals which have a “qcl-Type” which may be “typeA” or “typeB”. Paragraph 0080 clarifies that “QCL relationship 210 may include a tuple of TCI-states” (Manolakos, 0080). This anticipates “at least two TCI states with one TCI state indicating at least the first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeB, and another TCI state indicating at least the second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA” from the claimed list of options above.
Table 2.1 in Manolakos further elaborates that the “QCL-TypeB” signal can determine “Doppler shift” and/or “Doppler spread”.
Manolakos does not explicitly disclose:
The first reference signal is not exactly the same as the second reference signal
However, Ji does describe a method to indicate the time and frequency differences between quasi-co-located reference signals to a UE.
Specifically, Ji teaches:
The first reference signal is not exactly the same as the second reference signal
Ji describes “QCL indication information” that “indicates N TCI states” and “the QCL information indicated by each TCI state includes one TRS [tracking reference signal]” which “is associated with QCL type E”. Ji also clarifies that “in M of the N TCI states, QCL information ... is associated with QCL type C” and “[t]he TRS of QCL type E and the TRS of QCL type C may be a same TRS” (Ji, 0013-0014).
Here, the fact that each TRS may be either Type C, Type E, or both corresponds to them “not [being] exactly the same”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Ji’s practice of sending TCI to configure multiple different types of reference signals into Manolakos’ method. As noted in Ji, this helps coordinate multi-station transmission (Ji, 0006).
Claim 26 describes substantially the same subject matter as Claim 1 in the form of an apparatus claim which additionally requires:
A network device, comprising a memory, a transceiver, and a processor, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, the transceiver is configured to transmit and receive data under the control of the processor, and the processor is configured to read the computer program in the memory and perform the following operations
Figs 1-2 in Manolakos show a network device 105, and Manolakos later clarifies that “[t]he functions described” for the network device “may be implemented in hardware software executed by a processor, firmware, or any combination thereof” (Manolakos, 0129).
As to Claim 2:
Manolakos teaches:
Transmitting the reference signals to the UE
Paragraph 0071 in Manolakos describes “antenna ports used to transmit ... reference signals”, clear evidence of downlink RS transmission (Manolakos, 0071).
Manolakos does not explicitly disclose:
Transmitting the downlink signal through multiple transmission reception points (TRPs)
The second reference signal is transmitted from a TRP that is different from a TRP used for transmitting the first reference signal among the TRPs used for transmitting the downlink signal, or
Transmitting the second reference signal simultaneously to the UE by using all TRPs used for transmitting the downlink signal
However, Ji does teach:
Transmitting the downlink signal through multiple transmission reception points (TRPs)
Paragraph 0250 of Ji describes joint transmission from a plurality of TRPs.
And, from the list of:
The second reference signal is transmitted from a TRP that is different from a TRP used for transmitting the first reference signal among the TRPs used for transmitting the downlink signal, or
Transmitting the second reference signal simultaneously to the UE by using all TRPs used for transmitting the downlink signal
Ji at least teaches:
The second reference signal is transmitted from a TRP that is different from a TRP used for transmitting the first reference signal among the TRPs used for transmitting the downlink signal
Paragraph 0251 of Ji describes “data transmission of the different TRPs” that “corresponds to the different DMRS ports” (Ji, 0251).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Manolakos’ method for indicating QCL types to the multi-TRP RS transmission described in Ji. Ji’s multi-TRP reference signals also benefit from having their QCL types configured.
As to Claim 6:
Manolakos does not explicitly disclose:
However, Ji does teach:
The downlink signal is transmitted by multiple transmission reception points (TRPs)
Paragraph 0250 of Ji describes joint transmission from a plurality of TRPs.
Transmitting the downlink signal to the UE according to the frequency compensation value
Paragraph 0038 of Ji describes sending “a DMRS” using “delay-frequency offset compensation” (Ji, 0038).
And, from the list of:
Before transmitting the downlink signal to the UE, the method further comprises any of the following operations:
Determining a frequency offset value of an uplink signal at a first TRP, and determining a frequency compensation value of the downlink signal at a second TRP according to a frequency offset value at the first TRP, wherein the first TRP is a TRP selected by a network device, the second TRP is one or more TRPs other than the first TRP
Determining a frequency offset value of the uplink signal at a third TRP in a reference beam direction, determining a frequency compensation value of the downlink signal at the third TRP according to the frequency offset value at the third TRP, and determining the frequency compensation value at the third TRP as a frequency compensation value at a fourth TRP in the reference beam direction, wherein the third TRP is a TRP in the reference beam direction, and the fourth TRP is one or more TRPs other than the third TRP in the reference beam direction;
Determining a frequency offset value according to a signal received by a fifth TRP in the reference beam direction based on the uplink signal, and determining a frequency compensation value of a sixth TRP in the reference beam direction according to the frequency offset value, wherein the fifth TRP is a group of TRPs in the reference beam direction, and the sixth TRP is one or more TRPs other than the fifth TRP in the reference beam direction
Determining a frequency offset value according to a signal received by all TRPs in the reference beam direction based on the uplink signal, and determining a frequency compensation value at a seventh TRP in another beam direction according to the frequency offset value, wherein the seventh TRP is one or more TRPs in a beam direction other than the reference beam direction
Ji at least teaches:
Determining a frequency offset value of an uplink signal at a first TRP, and determining a frequency compensation value of the downlink signal at a second TRP according to a frequency offset value at the first TRP, wherein the first TRP is a TRP selected by a network device, the second TRP is one or more TRPs other than the first TRP
Paragraphs 0345-0346 of Ji describe “the TRP2 and the TRP 1 negotiat[ing] a frequency offset” (Ji, 0345-0346).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Manolakos’ method for indicating QCL types to the multi-TRP RS transmission described in Ji. Ji’s multi-TRP reference signals also benefit from having their QCL types configured.
As to Claim 10:
Manolakos does not explicitly disclose:
In case that the QCL configuration information indicates a first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeB and a second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA and a second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeE, transmitting the first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA through the first TRP, and transmitting the second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-Type E through one or more second TRPs;
In case that the QCL configuration information indicates a first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeB and a second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TYpeA, transmitting the first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeB through the first TRP, and transmitting the second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA through one or more second TRPs;
In case that the QCL configuration information indicates a first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeB and a second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL TypeE, transmitting the first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeE through one or more second TRPs; and
In case that the QCL configuration information indicates a first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA and a second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA, transmitting the first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA through the first TRP, and transmitting the second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA through one or more second TRPs
However, from this list, Ji does at least teach:
In case that the QCL configuration information indicates a first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA and a second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeE, transmitting the first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA through the first TRP, and transmitting the second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeE through one or more second TRPs;
Paragraph 0041 of Ji states that “[t]he QCL indication information may use M TRSs of QCL type A and L TRSs of QCL type E”, and paragraph 0285 describes two separate TRPs sending each reference signal (Ji, 0041, 0285).
In case that the QCL configuration information indicates a first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA and a second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA, transmitting the first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA through the first TRP, and transmitting the second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA through one or more second TRPs
Paragraph 0041 of Ji states that “[t]he QCL indication information may use M TRSs of QCL type A and L TRSs of QCL type E” (which would correspond to these claim limitations if L = 0), and paragraph 0285 describes two separate TRPs sending each reference signal (Ji, 0041, 0285).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Manolakos’ method for indicating QCL types to the multi-TRP RS transmission described in Ji. Ji’s multi-TRP reference signals also benefit from having their QCL types configured.
As to Claim 11:
Manolakos does not explicitly disclose:
Transmitting indication information of a QCL reference signal for the uplink signal to the UE
The QCL reference signal is used for indicating a reference signal for determining the transmission frequency of the uplink signal
However, Ji does teach:
Transmitting indication information of a QCL reference signal for the uplink signal to the UE
Ji describes “TRSs indicated by the N TCI states” (Ji, 0053).
The QCL reference signal is used for indicating a reference signal for determining the transmission frequency of the uplink signal
Paragraph 0053 of Ji further clarifies that “the TRSs indicated by the M TCI states are used as the reference frequency offset” (Ji, 0053).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Manolakos’ method for indicating QCL types to the multi-TRP RS transmission described in Ji. Ji’s multi-TRP reference signals also benefit from having their QCL types configured.
As to Claim 13:
Manolakos teaches:
Transmitting TCI state indication information to the UE, wherein the TCI state indication information is used for indicating a TCI state corresponding to the first reference signal
Paragraph 0081 explains that “[t]uples of TCI-states may be configured by a network” for “DM-RS QCL relationships” (Manolakos, 0081).
Transmitting sequence number indication information to the UE, wherein the sequence number indication information is used for indicating sequence numbers of the first reference signal among all QCL-TypeA reference signals indicated by TCI states associated with the downlink signal
Paragraph 0081 explains that “[t]uples of TCI-states may be configured by a network” for “DM-RS QCL relationships”, and later adds that “[i]f multiple TCI-states are associated through MAC CE with a DCI codepoint”, then “the sequence may be specified” (Manolakos, 0081).
As to Claim 14 and 52:
Manolakos teaches:
Receiving quasi-co-location (QCL) configuration information of a downlink signal transmitted to user equipment (UE)
Paragraphs 0081-0082 of Manolakos describe “TCI states” that are “configured by a network” and include “DM-RS QCL relationships” (Manolakos, 0081).
The QCL configuration information indicates at least two reference signals and QCL types corresponding to the reference signals, the number of the first reference signal is one or more, and the number of the second reference signal is one or more
The table on page 11 of Manolakos which follows paragraph 0082 describes a “TCI-RS-Set” including multiple QCL groups (e.g. “QCL-group-1”, “QCL-group-2”, etc.) which each can include multiple TCI configurations.
Obtaining the downlink signal according to the QCL configuration information
Paragraph 0071 of Manolakos explains how “when a UE 115 receives an indication of a particular TCI state” which includes a “QCL relationship between antenna ports”, then “the UE 115 may identify ... antenna ports used to transmit” (Manolakos, 0071).
Determining the Doppler property of the downlink signal according to the first reference signal
Paragraph 0071 of Manolakos states that “the UE 115 may determine ... Doppler shift ... based on the reference signals associated with the TCI-state” (Manolakos, 0071).
Determining the delay property of the downlink signal according to the second reference signal
Paragraph 0071 of Manolakos states that “the UE 115 may determine a delay spread ... based on the reference signals associated with the TCI-state” (Manolakos, 0071).f
Obtaining the downlink signal according to the Doppler property and the delay property
Paragraph 0070 of Manolakos describes a UE that “may be able to determine a delay spread, a Doppler shift, etc” in order to “correctly decode a downlink transmission” (Manolakos, 0070).
The Doppler property comprises Doppler shift and Doppler spread, and the delay property comprises average delay and delay spread
Table 2.1 in Manolakos describes the parameters determined by reference signals of QCL type A, B, C, and D. Specifically, these parameters include “Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay, [and] delay spread” (Manolakos, Table 2.1).
Transmitting the downlink signal to the UE
Paragraph 0071 in Manolakos describes “antenna ports used to transmit ... reference signals”, clear evidence of downlink RS transmission (Manolakos, 0071).
And from the list of:
Both the first reference signal and the second reference signal are reference signals corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA; or
The first reference signal is a reference signal corresponding to a QCL type being QCL-TypeA, and the second reference signal is a reference signal corresponding to a QCL type being QCL-TypeE, wherein the QCL-TypeE represents a QCL type indicating average delay and delay spread, and the QCL-TypeA represents a QCL type indicating Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay, and delay spread; or
The first reference signal is a reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeB, and the second reference signal is a reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA, wherein the QCL-TypeB represents a QCL type indicating Doppler shift and Doppler spread; or
The first reference signal is a reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeB, and the second reference signal is a reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeE
Manolakos at least teaches:
Both the first reference signal and the second reference signal are reference signals corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA
The table after paragraph 0082 in Manolakos describes a “TCI-RS-Set” including multiple reference signals which have a “qcl-Type” which may be “typeA”. Paragraph 0080 clarifies that “QCL relationship 210 may include a tuple of TCI-states” (Manolakos, 0080).
And:
The first reference signal is a reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeB, and the second reference signal is a reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA, wherein the QCL-TypeB represents a QCL type indicating Doppler shift and Doppler spread
The table after paragraph 0082 in Manolakos describes a “TCI-RS-Set” including multiple reference signals which have a “qcl-Type” which may be “typeA” or “typeB”. Paragraph 0080 clarifies that “QCL relationship 210 may include a tuple of TCI-states” (Manolakos, 0080).
Table 2.1 in Manolakos further elaborates that the “QCL-TypeB” signal can determine “Doppler shift” and/or “Doppler spread”.
Claim 52 describes substantially the same subject matter as Claim 14 in the form of an apparatus claim which additionally requires:
The memory is configured to store a computer program, the transceiver is configured to transmit and receive data under the control of the processor, and the processor is configured to read the computer program in the memory and perform the following operations
Fig. 7 in Manolakos shows an example UE that includes a “Memory 730” including “software 735” configured to execute on a “processor 740”.
As to Claim 16:
Manolakos teaches:
Determining the delay property of the downlink signal according to both the first reference signal and the second reference signal
Paragraph 0070 of Manolakos describes a UE that can “determine a delay spread ... based on the reference signals received” (Manolakos, 0070).
As to Claim 17:
From the list of
Determining the Doppler property of the downlink signal according to the first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type comprising both the Doppler property and the delay property; and determining the delay property of the downlink signal according to the first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type only comprising the delay property and the second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type comprising the delay property; or
Determining the Doppler property of the downlink signal according to the first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type only comprising the Doppler property; and determining the delay property of the downlink signal according to the second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type only comprising the delay property; or
Determining the Doppler property of the downlink signal according to the first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type only comprising the Doppler property; and determining the delay property of the downlink signal according to the second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type comprising the Doppler property and the delay property; or
Determining the delay property of the downlink signal according to all the first reference signals corresponding to the QCL type comprising the Doppler property and the delay property and all the second reference signals corresponding to the QCL type comprising the Doppler property and the delay property; and determining the Doppler property of the downlink signal according to the first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type comprising the Doppler property and the delay property; or
Determining the delay property of the downlink signal according to the second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type comprising the Doppler property and the delay property; and determining the Doppler property of the downlink signal according to the first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type comprising the Doppler property and the delay property
Manolakos at least teaches:
Determining the Doppler property of the downlink signal according to the first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type only comprising the Doppler property; and determining the delay property of the downlink signal according to the second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type comprising the Doppler property and the delay property
Paragraph 0070-0071 of Manolakos describes how a UE “may be able to determine a delay spread, a Doppler shift, etc. associated with a downlink transmission of data ... on the first set of antenna ports based on the reference signals received” and “a set of TCI-states that correspond to different QCL relationships between antenna ports” (Manolakos, 0070-0071). Table 2.1 in Manolakos further clarifies that a QCL-TypeB signal (i.e. the “QCL type” of the “first reference signal”) can determine “Doppler Shift, [and] Doppler Spread”, and a QCL-TypeA signal (i.e. the “QCL type” of the “second reference signal”) can determine “Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay, [and] average delay spread” (Manolakos, Table 2.1).
Determining the delay property of the downlink signal according to all the first reference signals corresponding to the QCL type comprising the Doppler property and the delay property and all the second reference signals corresponding to the QCL type comprising the Doppler property and the delay property; and determining the Doppler property of the downlink signal according to the first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type comprising the Doppler property and the delay property
Paragraph 0070-0071 of Manolakos describes how a UE “may be able to determine a delay spread, a Doppler shift, etc. associated with a downlink transmission of data ... on the first set of antenna ports based on the reference signals received” and “a set of TCI-states that correspond to different QCL relationships between antenna ports” (Manolakos, 0070-0071). Table 2.1 in Manolakos further clarifies that a QCL-TypeA signal (i.e. the “QCL type” of “all the first reference signals” and “all the second reference signals”) can determine “Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay, [and] average delay spread” (Manolakos, Table 2.1).
Determining the delay property of the downlink signal according to the second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type comprising the Doppler property and the delay property; and determining the Doppler property of the downlink signal according to the first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type comprising the Doppler property and the delay property
Paragraph 0070-0071 of Manolakos describes how a UE “may be able to determine a delay spread, a Doppler shift, etc. associated with a downlink transmission of data ... on the first set of antenna ports based on the reference signals received” and “a set of TCI-states that correspond to different QCL relationships between antenna ports” (Manolakos, 0070-0071). Table 2.1 in Manolakos further clarifies that a QCL-TypeA signal (i.e. the “QCL type” of the “second reference signal” and “the first reference signal”) can determine “Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay, [and] average delay spread” (Manolakos, Table 2.1).
As to Claim 18:
Manolakos teaches:
The first reference signal is a specific reference signal among reference signals corresponding to the QCL type comprising Doppler property and delay property
Paragraph 0070-0071 of Manolakos describes how a UE “may be able to determine a delay spread, a Doppler shift, etc. associated with a downlink transmission of data ... on the first set of antenna ports based on the reference signals received” and “a set of TCI-states that correspond to different QCL relationships between antenna ports” (Manolakos, 0070-0071). Table 2.1 in Manolakos further clarifies that a QCL-TypeA signal (i.e. the “QCL type” of “a specific reference signal among reference signals”) can determine “Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay, [and] average delay spread” (Manolakos, Table 2.1).
The second reference signal is a reference signal corresponding to the QCL type comprising Doppler property and delay property
Paragraph 0070-0071 of Manolakos describes how a UE “may be able to determine a delay spread, a Doppler shift, etc. associated with a downlink transmission of data ... on the first set of antenna ports based on the reference signals received” and “a set of TCI-states that correspond to different QCL relationships between antenna ports” (Manolakos, 0070-0071). Table 2.1 in Manolakos further clarifies that a QCL-TypeA signal (i.e. the “QCL type” of “the second reference signal”) can determine “Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay, [and] average delay spread” (Manolakos, Table 2.1).
As to Claim 21:
Manolakos teaches:
The QCL configuration information is carried by a set of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states
And from the list of:
At least two TCI states with one TCI state indicating at least the first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA, and another TCI state indicating at least the second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeE;
At least two TCI states with one TCI state indicating at least the first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeB, and another TCI state indicating at least the second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA;
At least one TCI state indicating at least the first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeB, and the second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA;
At least two TCI states with one TCI state indicating at least the first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeB, and another TCI state indicating at least the second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeE;
At least one TCI state indicating at least the first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeB, and the second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeE;
At least two TCI states with one TCI state indicating at least the first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA, and another TCI state indicating at least the second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA;
At least one TCI state indicating at least the first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA, and the second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA; and
At least one TCI state indicating at least both the first reference signal and the second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA
Manolakos at least teaches:
At least two TCI states with one TCI state indicating at least the first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeB, and another TCI state indicating at least the second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA
The table after paragraph 0082 in Manolakos describes a “TCI-RS-Set” including multiple reference signals which have a “qcl-Type” which may be “typeA” or “typeB”. Paragraph 0080 clarifies that “QCL relationship 210 may include a tuple of TCI-states” (Manolakos, 0080).
At least two TCI states with one TCI state indicating at least the first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA, and another TCI state indicating at least the second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA
The table after paragraph 0082 in Manolakos describes a “TCI-RS-Set” including multiple reference signals which have a “qcl-Type” which may be “typeA”. Paragraph 0080 clarifies that “QCL relationship 210 may include a tuple of TCI-states” (Manolakos, 0080).
As to Claim 22:
From the list of:
Determining the delay property of the downlink signal according to the first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA and the second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeE, and determining the Doppler property of the downlink signal according to the first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA; or
Determining a time-domain property of the downlink signal according to the second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA, and determining the Doppler property of the downlink signal according to the first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeB; or
Determining a time-domain property of the downlink signal according to the second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeE, and determining the Doppler property of the downlink signal according to the first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeB; or
Determining the delay property of the downlink signal according to all the first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA and all the second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA, and determining the Doppler property of the downlink signal according to a specific reference signal in the first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA
Manolakos at least teaches:
Determining a time-domain property of the downlink signal according to the second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA, and determining the Doppler property of the downlink signal according to the first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeB
Paragraph 0070-0071 of Manolakos describes how a UE “may be able to determine a delay spread, a Doppler shift, etc. associated with a downlink transmission of data ... on the first set of antenna ports based on the reference signals received” and “a set of TCI-states that correspond to different QCL relationships between antenna ports” (Manolakos, 0070-0071). Table 2.1 in Manolakos further clarifies that a QCL-TypeA signal can determine “Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay, [and] average delay spread”, and a QCL-TypeB signal can determine “average delay, [and] average delay spread” (Manolakos, Table 2.1).
Determining the delay property of the downlink signal according to all the first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA and all the second reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA, and determining the Doppler property of the downlink signal according to a specific reference signal in the first reference signal corresponding to the QCL type being QCL-TypeA
Paragraph 0070-0071 of Manolakos describes how a UE “may be able to determine a delay spread, a Doppler shift, etc. associated with a downlink transmission of data ... on the first set of antenna ports based on the reference signals received” and “a set of TCI-states that correspond to different QCL relationships between antenna ports” (Manolakos, 0070-0071). Table 2.1 in Manolakos further clarifies that a QCL-TypeA signal can determine “Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay, [and] average delay spread” (Manolakos, Table 2.1).
As to Claim 24:
Manolakos teaches:
Receiving indication information of the QCL reference signal for the uplink signal
Paragraph 0077 of Manolakos describes a “TCI-state” which “may indicate a CSI-RS has a QCL-TypeA relationship” (Manolakios, 0077).
Manolakos does not explicitly disclose:
Frequency pre-compensation is performed when the network device transmits the downlink signal
Determining a transmitting frequency of the uplink signal according to the indication information
The uplink signal is an uplink signal used to determine a frequency pre-compensation value for the downlink signal in the network device
However, Ji does teach:
Frequency pre-compensation is performed when the network device transmits the downlink signal
Paragraph 0023 of Ji describes applying “frequency offset compensation” to “PDSCHs” (Ji, 0023).
Determining a transmitting frequency of the uplink signal according to the indication information
Paragraph 0177 of Ji describes a terminal obtaining “a reference frequency offset ... based on the QCL indication information” (Ji, 0177).
The uplink signal is an uplink signal used to determine a frequency pre-compensation value for the downlink signal in the network device
Paragraph 0346 of Ji describes obtaining a frequency offset using a sounding reference signal (SRS).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Manolakos’ method for indicating QCL types to the multi-TRP RS transmission described in Ji. Ji’s multi-TRP reference signals also benefit from having their QCL types configured.
As to Claim 25:
Manolakos does not explicitly disclose:
The downlink signal is transmitted through multiple TRPs
Determining, by using the reference signal, a transmitting frequency of the uplink signal used to calculate the frequency pre-compensation value for the downlink signal at each TRP
The downlink signal is transmitted through multiple TRPs, and frequency pre-compensation is performed at one or more TRPs
However, Ji does teach:
The downlink signal is transmitted through multiple TRPs
Paragraph 0251 of Ji describes “the plurality of TRPs” that “jointly transmit the data to the UE” (Ji, 0251).
Determining, by using the reference signal, a transmitting frequency of the uplink signal used to calculate the frequency pre-compensation value for the downlink signal at each TRP
Paragraphs 0286 and 0503 of Ji describe determining the frequency offset for a PDSCH using a DMRS.
Frequency pre-compensation is performed at one or more TRPs
Paragraph 0501 of Ji describes two TRPs that “negotiate a delay-frequency offset” (Ji, 0501).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Manolakos’ method for indicating QCL types to the multi-TRP RS transmission described in Ji. Ji’s multi-TRP reference signals also benefit from having their QCL types configured.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos (US 2019/0260532 A1) in view of Ji (US 2023/0308242 A1) and further in view of Levitsky et al. (US 2020/0186232 A1, hereinafter “Levitsky”).
As to Claim 7:
Manolakos does not explicitly disclose:
Determining a frequency compensation value of the downlink signal at a second TRP according to the frequency offset value at the first TRP comprises:
Obtaining a difference between the frequency offset value at the first TRP and a frequency offset value at the second TRP;
Determining, in case that a frequency compensation value of the first TRP is 0, or no adjustment is performed on a downlink frequency of the downlink signal at the first TRP, that the frequency compensation value at the second TRP is the difference; or
Determining, in case that the frequency compensation value of the first TRP is
Δ
f
1
, that the frequency compensation value at the second TRP is a sum of the difference and
Δ
f
1
, wherein
Δ
f
1
is not 0
However, from this list, Ji at least teaches:
Obtaining a difference between the frequency offset value at the first TRP and a frequency offset value at the second TRP;
Paragraph 0347 of Ji describes obtaining a difference between two frequency offsets.
Determining, in case that a frequency compensation value of the first TRP is 0, or no adjustment is performed on a downlink frequency of the downlink signal at the first TRP, that the frequency compensation value at the second TRP is the difference
Paragraph 0350 of Ji describes a case where “the TRP 1 does not compensate for sending the DMRS/PDSCH” (Ji, 0350).
The combination of Manolakos and Ji also does not explicitly disclose:
After determining the frequency offset value of the uplink signal at the third TRP in the direction of the reference beam, determining frequency compensation values at each TRP in another beam direction according to the frequency offset value at the third TRP
However, Levitsky does describe methods to adjust a frequency offset while switching between uplink and downlink transmission.
Specifically, Levitsky teaches:
After determining the frequency offset value of the uplink signal at the third TRP in the direction of the reference beam, determining frequency compensation values at each TRP in another beam direction according to the frequency offset value at the third TRP
Paragraph 0076 of Levitsky describes “provid[ing] frequency offset adjustment for multiple beams” (Levitsky, 0076).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Levitsky’s practice of using a frequency offset value to determine another offset for a different beam direction at a given TRP into Manolakos’ method for indicating TCI states with QCL types. A TRP that will need to send uplink transmissions and receive downlink ones will benefit from deriving both frequency offsets from a single received parameter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhang et al. (US 2023/0083208 A1) describes a single CORESET that contains multiple TCI states for different types of reference signals. Cha et al. (US 11,502,735 B2) describes a UE receiving multiple TCI states, each one configured with a different RS set. Finally, John Wilson et al. (US 2020/0252108 A1), cited in the IDS filed on 05/21/2026, describes different QCL states for reference signals from different TRPs in CoMP.
BENJAMIN PETER WELTE
Examiner
Art Unit 2477
/GREGORY B SEFCHECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477