DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6, 8-9, 34, 43-48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Igura et al. (hereinafter Igura)(US 2017/0115375).
Regarding claim 1, Igura teaches an apparatus comprising: a processor circuit; and a memory circuit, wherein the memory comprises instructions executable by the processor circuit, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to determine a position of a first entity in a communication network using at least one position measurement(s)(title, Position estimation system), wherein the at least one position measurement(s) are between a position of the first entity and a position of at least one second entity(s), wherein each of the first entity and at least one second entity(s) comprise at least one antenna(s), wherein the at least at least one antenna(s) are arranged to transmit and/or receive a radio signal for the position measurement, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to determine the position of the first entity using a transmission reception reference point of the radio signal at the at least one antenna(s) of the first entity and/or the at least one antenna(s) of the at least one second entities, and wherein the processor circuit is arranged to determine the position of the first entity using transmission and reception delay information, wherein the transmission and reception delay information comprises information on the signal delay between the transmission reception reference point and a baseband circuit(P[0010], delay time reception means; loop path looping back an RF signal; Fig. 3, Fig. 4; items 101 and 102; also, P[0049-0060]; position estimation means; item 10 in Fig. 5; also P[0061]; also abstract; also Fig. 7, position estimation result, also P[0063]; Fig. 4, timing measurements; P[0024, 0041, 0045-0046], delay time measurements; Fig. 18, antenna 104; baseband unit 105).
Regarding claim 3, Igura teaches an apparatus comprising(P[0085]): a processor circuit; a memory circuit, wherein the memory comprises instructions executable by the processor circuit; and at least one antenna(s)(Fig. 1), wherein the processor circuit is arranged to transmit a transmission reception
wherein the transmission reception reference point and the transmission and reception delay information is used for a position determining process(position estimation means; Fig. 5; also P[0061]),
wherein the transmission and reception delay information comprises information on signal delay between the transmission reception reference point and a baseband circuit(P[0010], delay time reception means; loop path looping back an RF signal).
Regarding claim 4, Igura teaches an apparatus comprising: a processor circuit; a memory circuit, wherein the memory comprises instructions executable by the processor circuit; and at least one receive antenna(s), wherein the at least one receive antenna(s) is arranged to receive a radio signal from at least one radio access network entity(s) and/or user devices of a communication network, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to receive a reception position, a transmission reception reference point, and a transmission and reception delay, transmission and reception delay information of the radio signal, wherein the radio signal is transmitted by at least one transmit antenna(s) of the radio access network entity(s) and/or user devices, wherein the transmission and reception delay information comprises information on the signal delay between the transmission reception reference point and a baseband circuit, wherein the at least one received transmission reception reference point and the transmission and reception delay information are used for a position determining process implemented by the processor circuit or by a network entity, wherein the network entity is remote from the apparatus)(P[0010], delay time reception means; loop path looping back an RF signal; Fig. 3, Fig. 4; items 101 and 102; also, P[0049-0060]; position estimation means; Fig. 5; also P[0061]; also abstract).
Regarding claim 6, Igura teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the transmission reception reference point of the at least one antenna(s) is the location from which electromagnetic waves of the radio signal are originating(Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 8, Igura teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the transmission reception reference point comprises: an absolute position; and/or a position relative to a predefined reference point.(Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Igura teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the transmission reception reference point is associated with first signals or spatial filters(Figure 1, transmission means and receiving means separated).
Regarding claim 34, igura teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor circuit is arranged, to provide information on the transmission and reception delay information based on received instructions(transmits a delay time between reception and transmission; also claim 3, position estimation unit is provided with delay time information)..
Regarding claim 40, Igura teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the circuit operates in using a data, wherein the data is selected from the group consisting of angle of arrival, angle of departure, time of arrival, time of flight, time difference of arrival, enhanced Cell ID, and NR-Multi-RTT(P[0004], OTDOA).
Regarding claim 41, Igura teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the user device comprises at least one of the following: a power-limited UE, or a hand-held UE, like a UE used by a pedestrian, and referred to as a Vulnerable Road User, VRU, or a Pedestrian UE, P-UE, or an on-body or hand-held UE used by public safety personnel and first responders, and referred to as Public safety UE, PS-UE, or an IoT UE, e.g., a sensor, an actuator or a UE provided in a campus network to carry out repetitive tasks and requiring input from a gateway node at periodic intervals, a mobile terminal, or a stationary terminal, or a cellular IoT-UE, or a vehicular UE, or a vehicular group leader (GL) UE, or a sidelink relay, or an IoT or narrowband IoT, NB-IoT, device, or wearable device, like a smartwatch, or a fitness tracker, or smart glasses, or a ground based vehicle, or an aerial vehicle, or a drone, or a moving base station, or road side circuit (RSU), or a building, or any other item or device provided with network connectivity enabling the item/device to communicate using the communication network, e.g., a sensor or actuator, or any other item or device provided with network connectivity enabling the item/device to communicate using a sidelink the communication network, e.g., a sensor or actuator, or any sidelink capable network entity, and wherein the radio access network entity base station comprises at least one of the following: a macro cell base station, or a small cell base station, or a central circuit of a base station, or a distributed circuit of a base station, or a road side circuit (RSU), or a UE, or a group leader (GL), or a relay or a remote radio head, or an AMF, or an MME, or an SMF, or a core network entity, or mobile edge computing (MEC) entity, or a network slice as in the NR or 5G core context, or any transmission/reception point enabling an item or a device to communicate using the communication network, wherein the item or device is provided with network connectivity to communicate using the communication network(Figs. 1-12)..
Regarding claim 43, Igura teaches a method comprising: determining a position of a first entity in a communication network using at least one position measurement (s), wherein the at least one position measurement(s) are between a position of the first entity and at least one second entities, wherein each of the first entity and at least one second entity(s) comprise at least one antenna(s), wherein the at least at least one antenna(s) are arranged to transmit and/or receive a radio signal for the position measurement; and determining the position of the first entity using a transmission reception reference point, transmission reception reference point, and transmission and reception delay, transmission and reception delay, information of the radio signal at the at least one antenna(s) of the first entity and/or at least one antenna(s) of the at least one second entities, wherein the transmission and reception delay information comprises information on the signal delay between the transmission reception reference point and a baseband circuit(P[0010], delay time reception means; loop path looping back an RF signal; Fig. 3, Fig. 4; items 101 and 102; also, P[0049-0060]; position estimation means; Fig. 5; also P[0061]; also abstract; also Fig. 7, position estimation),
Regarding claim 44, Igura teaches a method comprising: transmitting a transmission reception position, transmission reception reference point, and transmission and reception delay, information of the radio signal using the at least one antenna (s), wherein the transmission and reception delay information comprises information on the signal delay between the transmission reception reference point and a baseband circuit)(P[0010], delay time reception means; loop path looping back an RF signal; Fig. 3, Fig. 4; items 101 and 102; also, P[0049-0060]; position estimation means; Fig. 5; also P[0061]; also abstract; also Fig. 7, position estimation),
Regarding claim 45, Igura teaches a method for operating an apparatus for a communication network, wherein the apparatus comprises at least one antenna(s), wherein the at least one antenna(s) is arranged to receive a radio signal from at least one radio access network entities and/or user devices of the communication network, the method comprising: receiving a transmission reception position, transmission reception reference point, and transmission and reception delay, transmission and reception delay, information of the radio signal transmitted by at least one antenna (s) of the respective radio access network entities and/or user devices, wherein the transmission and reception delay information comprises information on the signal delay between the transmission reception reference point and a baseband circuit; and performing a position determining process using the at least one received transmission reception reference point and the transmission and reception delay information, wherein the determining process is arranged to determine the position of the apparatus using the received transmission reception reference point and the transmission and reception delay information(P[0010], delay time reception means; loop path looping back an RF signal; Fig. 3, Fig. 4; items 101 and 102; also, P[0049-0060]; position estimation means; Fig. 5; also P[0061]; also abstract; also Fig. 7, position estimation),
Claims 46-48 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claims 43-45 respectively.
.Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Igura et al. (hereinafter Igura)(US 2017/0115375) in view of Guan et al. (hereinafter Guan)(US 2021/0215814).
Regarding claim 5, Igura teaches all the particulars of the claim except the apparatus, wherein the at least one antenna (s) comprise at least one of a plurality of separate antennas or at least one antenna arrays, wherein each antenna array comprises a plurality of antenna elements. However, Guan teaches in an analogous art wherein the at least one antenna (s) comprise at least one of a plurality of separate antennas or at least one antenna arrays, wherein each antenna array comprises a plurality of antenna elements(P[0033], antenna array). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the apparatus wherein the at least one antenna (s) comprise at least one of a plurality of separate antennas or at least one antenna arrays, wherein each antenna array comprises a plurality of antenna elements in order to have improved accuracy.
Regarding claim 21, Igura teaches apparatus, wherein the transmission and reception delay information comprises a loopback delay, wherein the loopback delay is measured from a first transmit transmission reception reference point to a second receive transmission reception reference point(P[0010], delay time reception means; loop path looping back an RF signal; Fig. 3, Fig. 4; items 101 and 102; also, P[0049-0060]). Igura did not teach specifically wherein each transmission reception reference point is associated with a different antenna, wherein a measurement of the loopback delay is limited to transmission reception reference point outside a certain range R. However, Guan teaches in an analogous art wherein each transmission reception reference point is associated with a different antenna, wherein a measurement of the loopback delay is limited to transmission reception reference point outside a certain range R(P[0047-0049], loopback signal cable connecting transmitter and the circuits; subtracts out the delays in the transmitter receiver chain; Fig. 2, different antennas). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the apparatus wherein each transmission reception reference point is associated with a different antenna, wherein a measurement of the loopback delay is limited to transmission reception reference point outside a certain range R in order to have improved accuracy.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Igura et al. (hereinafter Igura)(US 2017/0115375) in view of Nory et al. (hereinafter Nory)(US 2020/0305088) and Wilson et al. (hereinafter Wilson)(US 2020/0007194).
Regarding claim 7, Igura teaches all the particulars of the claim except wherein the transmission reception reference point changes based on a parameter, wherein the parameter is selected from the group consisting of, a carrier frequency of the radio signal, direction of the beam and/or a power scaling over the at least one antenna(s) when the processor circuit uses a spatial filter, an antenna mode when the at least one antenna(s) comprises a multi-mode antenna and a total output transmit power.. However, Nory teaches in an analogous art wherein the transmission reception reference point changes based on a parameter, wherein the parameter is selected from the group consisting of, a carrier frequency of the radio signal, direction of the beam and/or a power scaling over the at least one antenna(s) when the processor circuit uses a spatial filter, an antenna mode when the at least one antenna(s) comprises a multi-mode antenna and a total output transmit power. (P[0016], spatial filter; transmit power, P[0142], beam direction ). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to wherein the transmission reception reference point changes based on a parameter, wherein the parameter is selected from the group consisting of, a carrier frequency of the radio signal, direction of the beam and/or a power scaling over the at least one antenna(s) when the processor circuit uses a spatial filter, an antenna mode when the at least one antenna(s) comprises a multi-mode antenna and a total output transmit power.in order to have improved precision.
Igura in view of Nora did not teach specifically wherein the transmission reception reference point changes based on a parameter, wherein the parameter is selected from the group consisting of, a carrier frequency of the radio signal, direction of the beam and/or a power scaling over the at least one antenna(s) when the processor circuit uses a spatial filter, an antenna mode when the at least one antenna(s) comprises a multi-mode antenna and a total output transmit power. However, Wilson teaches in an analogous art wherein the transmission reception reference point changes based on a parameter, wherein the parameter is selected from the group consisting of, a carrier frequency of the radio signal, direction of the beam and/or a power scaling over the at least one antenna(s) when the processor circuit uses an antenna mode when the at least one antenna(s) comprises a multi-mode antenna and a total output transmit power. (P[0034], carrier frequency; P[0040], beam direction; transmit power). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to wherein the transmission reception reference point changes based on a parameter, wherein the parameter is selected from the group consisting of, a carrier frequency of the radio signal, direction of the beam and/or a power scaling over the at least one antenna(s) when the processor circuit uses a spatial filter, an antenna mode when the at least one antenna(s) comprises a multi-mode antenna and a total output transmit power.in order to have improved precision.
Claim(s)10-11, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Igura et al. (hereinafter Igura)(US 2017/0115375) in view of Edge et al. (hereinafter Edge)(US 2019/0041487).
Regarding claim 10, Igura teaches all the particulars of the claim except wherein the processor circuit is arranged to signal a capability, wherein the capability comprises computation of transmission reception reference point for the at least one antenna(s). However, Edge teaches in an analogous art wherein the processor circuit is arranged to signal a capability, wherein the capability comprises computation of transmission reception reference point for the at least one antenna(s)P[0069], reference point capability). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the processor circuit is arranged to signal a capability, wherein the capability comprises computation of transmission reception reference point for the at least one antenna(s) in order to have improved precision.
Regarding claim 11, Edge teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to signal the capability based on, to a certain event, like the apparatus accessing the communication network, a deviation of a new transmission reception reference point from a current transmission reception reference point, or a positioning measurement request(P[0069], capabilities request message).
Regarding claim 17, Edge teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the transmission reception reference point is signaled in a control message or in an over the top channel connected to a database(Fig. 3, LPP message).
Claim(s)13-14, 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Igura et al. (hereinafter Igura)(US 2017/0115375) in view of Edge et al. (hereinafter Edge)(US 2019/0041487) and Tiirola et al. (hereinafter Tiirola)(US 2023/0208485).
Regarding claim 13, Igura in view of Edge teaches all the particulars of the claim except. wherein the processor circuit is arranged to signal the transmission reception reference point with respect to a set of operating conditions, an operating frequency, a fixed beam direction and a polarization. However, Tiirola teaches in an analogous art wherein the processor circuit is arranged to signal the transmission reception reference point with respect to a set of operating conditions, an operating frequency, a fixed beam direction and a polarization (P[0059], Beam squint refers to change in the beam direction as a function of operating frequency, polarization and orientation). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to wherein the processor circuit is arranged to signal the transmission reception reference point with respect to a set of operating conditions, an operating frequency, a fixed beam direction and a polarization in order to have improved accuracy.
Regarding claim 14, Igura in view of Edge teaches all the particulars of the claim except wherein the processor circuit is arranged is to signal the transmission reception reference point with respect to current operating conditions. However, Tiirola teaches in an analogous art wherein the processor circuit is arranged is to signal the transmission reception reference point with respect to current operating conditions(P[0076, 0086], trigger condition). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention wherein the processor circuit is arranged is to signal the transmission reception reference point with respect to current operating conditions in order to have improved precision.
Regarding claim 15, Edge teaches the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the processor circuit is arranged is to signal the transmission reception reference point as an absolute position or as position relative to a transmission reception reference point(P[0036], absolute location)
Regarding claim 16, Igura in view of Edge teaches all the particulars of the claim except wherein the processor circuit is arranged to signal the transmission reception reference point with respect to operating conditions, wherein the operation conditions comprise at least one of a frequency of operation, a current beam direction and a current polarization. However, Tiirola teaches in an analogous art wherein the processor circuit is arranged to signal the transmission reception reference point with respect to operating conditions, wherein the operation conditions comprise at least one of a frequency of operation, a current beam direction (P[0059], Beam squint refers to change in the beam direction as a function of operating frequency, polarization and orientation). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to wherein the processor circuit is arranged to signal the transmission reception reference point with respect to operating conditions, wherein current operation conditions comprise at least one of a frequency of operation, a current beam direction and a current polarization.in order to have improved accuracy.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Igura et al. (hereinafter Igura)(US 2017/0115375) in view of Micolopoulos et al. (hereinafter Micol)(US 2023/0209495).
Regarding claim 18, Igura teaches all the particulars of the claim except wherein the transmission reception reference point is stored in at least one of a database associated with a core entity, at least one radio access network entity(s), and an at least one user device(s).However, Michalopoulos teaches in an analogous art wherein the transmission reception reference point is stored in at least one of a database associated with a core entity, at least one radio access network entity(s), and an at least one user device(s)(P[0175], LMF provides the candidate beams information). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to wherein the transmission reception reference point is stored in at least one of a database associated with a core entity, at least one radio access network entity(s), and an at least one user device(s)in order to have improved accuracy.
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Igura et al. (hereinafter Igura)(US 2017/0115375) in view of Schmidt et al. (hereinafter Schmidt)(US 9686694).
Regarding claim 19, Igura teaches all the particulars of the claim except wherein the transmission reception reference point and the transmission and reception delay information are provided as Transmission and Reception Reference Information. However, Schmidt teaches in an analogous art wherein the transmission reception reference point and the transmission and reception delay information are provided as Transmission and Reception Reference Information(claim 13). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention wherein the transmission reception reference point and the transmission and reception delay information are provided as Transmission and Reception Reference Information in order to have improved accuracy.
Regarding claim 20, Igura teaches all the particulars of the claim except wherein the transmission and reception delay information comprises delay information about a transceiver circuit delay, a transceiver array boundary, a radio distributed network, a physical antenna array, and information on the way the transmission and reception delay information were determined, wherein the determination comprises a Tx/Rx transmission reception reference point, a Tx/Rx antenna connector, a Tx/Rx antenna, and a Tx/Rx Transceiver Array Boundary connector. However, Schmidt teaches in an analogous art wherein the transmission and reception delay information comprises delay information about a transceiver circuit delay, a transceiver array boundary, a radio distributed network, a physical antenna array, and information on the way the transmission and reception delay information were determined, wherein the determination comprises a Tx/Rx transmission reception reference point, a Tx/Rx antenna connector, a Tx/Rx antenna, and a Tx/Rx Transceiver Array Boundary connector(claim 13; directional reception antenna array; directional transmission antenna array; timing offset (delay) information). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention wherein the transmission and reception delay information comprises delay information about a transceiver circuit delay, a transceiver array boundary, a radio distributed network, a physical antenna array, and information on the way the transmission and reception delay information were determined, wherein the determination comprises a Tx/Rx transmission reception reference point, a Tx/Rx antenna connector, a Tx/Rx antenna, and a Tx/Rx Transceiver Array Boundary connector in order to have improved accuracy.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Igura et al. (hereinafter Igura)(US 2017/0115375) in view of Wu et al. (hereinafter Wu)(US 2022/0015154).
Regarding claim 22, Igura teaches all the particulars of the claim except wherein R>XD2λ or R>XD3λ wherein λ wavelength of the transmitted or received signal, wherein R is the minimum range for determining a transmission and reception delay, wherein D the distance separating the first and second transmission reception reference point, wherein X a scaling factor in the range between 0.01 and 3.. However, Wu teaches in an analogous art wherein R>XD2λ or R>XD3λ wherein λ wavelength of the transmitted or received signal, wherein R is the minimum range for determining a transmission and reception delay, wherein D the distance separating the first and second transmission reception reference point, wherein X a scaling factor in the range between 0.01 and 3(P[0087], transmission delay; speed of light and distance relation for uplink adjustment). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to wherein R>XD2λ or R>XD3λ wherein λ wavelength of the transmitted or received signal, wherein R is the minimum range for determining a transmission and reception delay, wherein D the distance separating the first and second transmission reception reference point, wherein X a scaling factor in the range between 0.01 and 3in order to have improved precision.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Igura et al. (hereinafter Igura)(US 2017/0115375) in view of He et al. (hereinafter He)(EP 3002978).
Regarding claim 23, Igura teaches all the particulars of the claim except wherein, the loopback delay measurement from the first transmit transmission reception reference point to the second receive transmission reception reference point does not use a Tx-RX spatial filter pair for determining the loopback delay within the range of R. However, Guan teaches in an analogous art wherein, the loopback delay measurement from the first transmit transmission reception reference point to the second receive transmission reception reference point does not use a Tx-RX spatial filter pair for determining the loopback delay within the range of R. (P[0031], according to delay; adjusted based on distance). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to wherein, the loopback delay measurement from the first transmit transmission reception reference point to the second receive transmission reception reference point does not use a Tx-RX spatial filter pair for determining the loopback delay within the range of R.in order to have improved accuracy.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Igura et al. (hereinafter Igura)(US 2017/0115375) in view of Tsai et al. (hereinafter Tsai)(US 2020/0107352).
Regarding claim 24, Igura teaches all the particulars of the claim except wherein the transmission and reception delay information reports delays associated with spatial filters used for a transmission and/or reception of uplink or downlink positioning reference signals, wherein the reported delays are selected based on the at least one Tx spatial filters used to transmit at least one of the positioning reference signals and/or on the at least one Rx spatial filters used to perform a measurement on the positioning reference signals. However, Tsai teaches in an analogous art wherein the transmission and reception delay information reports delays associated with spatial filters used for a transmission and/or reception of uplink or downlink reference signals, wherein the reported delays are selected based on the at least one Tx spatial filters used to transmit at least one of the reference signals and/or on the at least one Rx spatial filters used to perform a measurement on the reference signals(P[0037, 0045], UE determines the subset of RSs with qood qualities; spatial filters with delays in the QCl indication). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to wherein the transmission and reception delay delay information reports delays associated with spatial filters used for a transmission and/or reception of uplink or downlink positioning reference signals, wherein the reported delays are selected based on the at least one Tx spatial filters used to transmit at least one of the positioning reference signals and/or on the at least one Rx spatial filters used to perform a measurement on the positioning reference signals in order to have improved precision.
Claim(s) 26-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Igura et al. (hereinafter Igura)(US 2017/0115375) in view of Zhou et al. (hereinafter Zhou)(EP 4161133 A).
Regarding claim 26, Igura teaches all the particulars of the claim except wherein the transmission and reception delay is indicated from the group consisting of signaling the actual transmission and reception delay associated with a reference signal or signaling a transmission and reception delay indication. However, Zhou teaches in an analogous art wherein the transmission and reception delay is indicated from the group consisting of signaling the actual transmission and reception delay associated with a reference signal or signaling a transmission and reception delay indication (abstract; identifiers associated with RRUs; grouping on the basis of time delay ). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to wherein the transmission and reception delay is indicated from the group consisting of signaling the actual transmission and reception delay associated with a reference signal or signaling a transmission and reception delay indication in order to have improved accuracy.
Regarding claim 27, Zhou teaches the apparatus of claim 26, wherein the transmission and reception delay is indicated using at least one transmission and reception delay identifiers, wherein each transmission and reception delay identifier represents the transmission and reception delay associated with a reference signal, and/or a measurement(abstract; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 28, Zhou teaches the apparatus of claim 27, wherein the transmission and reception delay is indicated using the same transmission and reception delay identifier when the transmission and reception delay of at least two reference signals or measurements have the same transmission and reception delay or each of the at least two reference signals or measurements have transmission and reception delay that are within a predefined range(abstract; identifiers of the plurality of RRUs determine the time delay; including forward and reverse time delay; Fig. 1).
.Regarding claim 29. The apparatus of claim 27, wherein further comprising a user equipment, wherein each transmission and reception delay identifier indicates the transmission and reception delay used for the reception or measurement of at least one of downlink positioning reference signals when using a downlink positioning method, wherein each transmission and reception delay identifier indicates the transmission and reception delay used for the transmission or measurement of at least one of uplink positioning reference signals when using an uplink positioning method(abstract; identifiers of the plurality of RRUs determine the time delay; including forward and reverse time delay; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 30, Zhou teaches the apparatus, further comprising a transmission/reception point, wherein each transmission and reception delay identifier indicates the transmission and reception delay used for the transmission or measurement of at least one of downlink positioning reference signals, when using a downlink positioning method, wherein each transmission and reception delay identifier indicates the transmission and reception delay used for the reception or measurement of at least one of uplink positioning reference signals when using an uplink positioning method(abstract; identifiers of the plurality of RRUs determine the time delay; including forwar and reverse time delay; Fig. 1).
. Regarding claim 31, Igura in view of Zhou teaches the apparatus of claim 27, wherein further comprising a user equipment or a transmission/reception point, wherein each transmission and reception delay identifier indicates the transmission and reception delay used for the reception of at least one of downlink positioning reference signals and the transmission of at least one uplink positioning reference signals when using both a downlink positioning method and an uplink positioning method(abstract; forward(downlink) and reverse(uplink) time delay; Fig. 1).
.
Regarding claim 32, Zhou teaches the apparatus of claim 30, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to receive the at least one transmission and reception delay identifiers from a location management functions(item S13, Fig. 2; prestored correspondence relationship among RRU identities and forward reverse time delays)..
Regarding claim 33, Zhou teaches the apparatus of claim 29 wherein the uplink positioning or the downlink positioning comprises measurements at a first location and at a second location, wherein an indication comprises one transmission and reception delay identifier for uplink transmission and one transmission and reception delay identifier for the downlink reception, or one transmission and reception delay identifier for the downlink transmission and one transmission and reception delay identifier for the uplink reception(item S13, Fig. 2; prestored correspondence relationship among RRU identities and forward reverse time delays)..
Claim(s) 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Igura et al. (hereinafter Igura)(US 2017/0115375) in view of Kumar et al. (hereinafter Kumar)(US 2020/0145977).
Regarding claim 35, Igura teaches all the particulars of the claim except wherein the transmission and reception delay information indicates if the transmission and reception delay for the uplink positioning reference signals and/or for the downlink measurements of the downlink positioning reference signals on a first frequency part and a second frequency part are the same or are within a predefined range of transmission and reception delay when transmission and reception delay TRD information is provided by a network entity. However, Kumar teaches in an analogous art wherein the transmission and reception delay information indicates if the transmission and reception delay for the uplink positioning reference signals and/or for the downlink measurements of the downlink positioning reference signals on a first frequency part and a second frequency part are the same or are within a predefined range of transmission and reception delay when transmission and reception delay TRD information is provided by a network entity(P[0147], first band and second band; also beam indices; PRS signals).wherein the transmission and reception delay information indicates if the transmission and reception delay for the uplink positioning reference signals and/or for the downlink measurements of the downlink positioning reference signals on a first frequency part and a second frequency part are the same or are within a predefined range of transmission and reception delay when transmission and reception delay TRD information is provided by a network entity in order to have improved efficiency.
Regarding claim 37, Kumar teaches the apparatus of claim 35, wherein the transmission and reception delay information comprises band indices of the different frequency parts(P[0147], first band and second band; also beam indices; PRS signals)..
Regarding claim 37, Igura teaches all the particulars of the claim except. a user equipment, wherein the user equipment is arranged to simultaneously receive at least one positioning reference signals on a first frequency part and on a second frequency part; and wherein the user equipment is arranged to receive at least one transmission and reception delay at the transmission/reception point for the downlink positioning reference signals on the first frequency part and on the second frequency part, wherein the user equipment uses the at least one transmission and reception delay to process a time of arrival or a direction arrival estimation of the downlink positioning reference signals from the first frequency part and second frequency part. However, Kumar teaches in an analogous art a user equipment, wherein the user equipment is arranged to simultaneously receive at least one positioning reference signals on a first frequency part and on a second frequency part; and wherein the user equipment is arranged to receive at least one transmission and reception delay at the transmission/reception point for the downlink positioning reference signals on the first frequency part and on the second frequency part, wherein the user equipment uses the at least one transmission and reception delay to process a time of arrival or a direction arrival estimation of the downlink positioning reference signals from the first frequency part and second frequency part. (P[0053-0054], delay in obtaining PRS measurements of downlink positioning reference signals; P[0147]; PRS measured at the same time (simultaneously); spatially different in angular domain; first band and second band(first frequency part and second frequency part; RSTD measurement). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have user equipment, wherein the user equipment is arranged to simultaneously receive at least one positioning reference signals on a first frequency part and on a second frequency part; and wherein the user equipment is arranged to receive at least one transmission and reception delay at the transmission/reception point for the downlink positioning reference signals on the first frequency part and on the second frequency part, wherein the user equipment uses the at least one transmission and reception delay to process a time of arrival or a direction arrival estimation of the downlink positioning reference signals from the first frequency part and second frequency part.in order to have improved accuracy.
Claim(s) 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Igura et al. (hereinafter Igura)(US 2017/0115375) in view of Alexey et al. (hereinafter Alexey)(US 2022/0110085).
Regarding claim 38, Igura teaches all the particulars of the claim excep. wherein the first entity is arranged to transmit at least one reference signals at different time instants using a plurality of different transmission filters, wherein the first entity is arranged to provide the transmission and reception delay information for each transmission filter, wherein each transmission and reception delay information is associated with a timestamp, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to receive at least one measurement report(s), wherein the at least one measurement report(s) comprises measurements of the at least one reference signal(s) transmitted by the first entity, wherein the at least one measurement report(s) comprises time information about the time instants of the measurements of the reference signals, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to map the transmission and reception delay information received from the first entity to the at least one measurement reports received from the at least one second entity(s) using the timestamps associated with the transmission and reception delay information and the time information. However, Alexey teaches in an analogous art wherein the first entity is arranged to transmit at least one reference signals at different time instants using a plurality of different transmission filters, wherein the first entity is arranged to provide the transmission and reception delay information for each transmission filter, wherein each transmission and reception delay information is associated with a timestamp, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to receive at least one measurement report(s), wherein the at least one measurement report(s) comprises measurements of the at least one reference signal(s) transmitted by the first entity, wherein the at least one measurement report(s) comprises time information about the time instants of the measurements of the reference signals, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to map the transmission and reception delay information received from the first entity to the at least one measurement reports received from the at least one second entity(s) using the timestamps associated with the transmission and reception delay information and the time information(P[0048], PRS signals are sent by network entities ; UE is used to measure and sending measurement report; parameters of the signal includes delay information; timestamp information).Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the first entity is arranged to transmit at least one reference signals at different time instants using a plurality of different transmission filters, wherein the first entity is arranged to provide the transmission and reception delay information for each transmission filter, wherein each transmission and reception delay information is associated with a timestamp, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to receive at least one measurement report(s), wherein the at least one measurement report(s) comprises measurements of the at least one reference signal(s) transmitted by the first entity, wherein the at least one measurement report(s) comprises time information about the time instants of the measurements of the reference signals, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to map the transmission and reception delay information received from the first entity to the at least one measurement reports received from the at least one second entity(s) using the timestamps associated with the transmission and reception delay information and the time information in order to have improved efficiency.
Claim(s) 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Igura et al. (hereinafter Igura)(US 2017/0115375) in view of Xiao et al. (hereinafter Xiao)(US 2022/0353832).
Regarding claim 39, Igura teaches all the particulars of the claim except. wherein the first entity, is arranged to receive at least one reference signals at different time instants using a plurality of different reception filters, wherein the first entity is arranged to provide the transmission and reception delay information for each reception filter used, wherein each transmission and reception delay information is associated with a timestamp, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to receive from the first entity at least one measurement report(s), wherein the at least one measurement report(s) comprise measurements of the at least one reference signals received by the first entity, wherein the at least one measurement reports comprises time information about the time instants of the measurements of the reference signals, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to map the transmission and reception delay information received from the first entity to the at least one measurement reports received from the at least one second entity(s) using the timestamps associated with the transmission and reception delay information and the time information. However, Xiao teaches in an analogous art wherein the first entity, is arranged to receive at least one reference signals at different time instants using a plurality of different reception filters, wherein the first entity is arranged to provide the transmission and reception delay information for each reception filter used, wherein each transmission and reception delay information is associated with a timestamp, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to receive from the first entity at least one measurement report(s), wherein the at least one measurement report(s) comprise measurements of the at least one reference signals received by the first entity, wherein the at least one measurement reports comprises time information about the time instants of the measurements of the reference signals, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to map the transmission and reception delay information received from the first entity to the at least one measurement reports received from the at least one second entity(s) using the timestamps associated with the transmission and reception delay information and the time information (P[0009], spatial filter; P[0010], measurement timestamp; reference signal transmission points; P[0050], beam information of the reference signal transmission and reception e.g., spatial filters; spatial filter information include co-location information; abstract time offset or delay with measurements ). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to wherein the first entity, is arranged to receive at least one reference signals at different time instants using a plurality of different reception filters, wherein the first entity is arranged to provide the transmission and reception delay information for each reception filter used, wherein each transmission and reception delay information is associated with a timestamp, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to receive from the first entity at least one measurement report(s), wherein the at least one measurement report(s) comprise measurements of the at least one reference signals received by the first entity, wherein the at least one measurement reports comprises time information about the time instants of the measurements of the reference signals, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to map the transmission and reception delay information received from the first entity to the at least one measurement reports received from the at least one second entity(s) using the timestamps associated with the transmission and reception delay information and the time information in order to have improved accuracy.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/8/2025 have been fully considered.
Pointing out the typo in the office action for Igura is appreciated. The Igura reference is shown in PTO-892.
Igura teaches an apparatus comprising: a processor circuit(wireless apparatus has processor 11; P[0085]); and a memory circuit, wherein the memory comprises instructions executable by the processor circuit, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to determine a position of a first entity in a communication network using at least one position measurement(s)(Fig. 7,position estimation result also P[0063], positional relation is estimated),
wherein the at least one position measurement(s) are between a position of the first entity (item 101 transmission means; also Fig. 3))and a position of at least one second entity(s)(item 102, reception means), wherein each of the first entity and at least one second entity(s) comprise at least one antenna(s)(antennas in Fig. 3; also Fig. 3),
wherein the at least at least one antenna(s) are arranged to transmit and/or receive a radio signal for the position measurement,
wherein the processor circuit is arranged to determine the position of the first entity using a transmission reception reference point of the radio signal at the at least one antenna(s) of the first entity and/or the at least one antenna(s) of the at least one second entities(Fig. 3, position of transmission means), and
wherein the processor circuit is arranged to determine the position of the first entity using transmission and reception delay information(fig. 3, item 103 between the transmission and reception means; transmission and reception delay information), wherein the transmission and reception delay information comprises information on the signal delay between the transmission reception reference point and a baseband circuit(base band unit 105 in Fig. 3; delay time between transmission and reception means in Fig. 3).
Regarding applicant’s argument with respect to claim 3, Examiner respectfully submits
Igura teaches an apparatus comprising(P[0085]): a processor circuit; a memory circuit, wherein the memory comprises instructions executable by the processor circuit; and at least one antenna(s)(Fig. 1), wherein the processor circuit is arranged to transmit a transmission reception
wherein the transmission reception reference point and the transmission and reception delay information is used for a position determining process(position estimation means; Fig. 5; also P[0061]),
wherein the transmission and reception delay information comprises information on signal delay between the transmission reception reference point and a baseband circuit(P[0010], delay time reception means; loop path looping back an RF signal).
Igura considered time delay information for the path 103 within the device in Fig. 3 (that is between the transmission and reception means in relation to the baseband processor item 105) while calculating the position based on the distance information.
Applicant argues that Igura is silent with regard to a transmission reception reference point at a transmitter that is communicated to a position determining receiver.
Examiner respectfully disagrees, Igura further teaches in Fig. 5, item 10(position estimation means) connected to a receiver and transmission reception reference point is the antenna near to a transmission means (item 1 in Fig, 5). Also teaches in Fig. 4 and in P[0052], thye RF transmission means outputs a timing pulse signal and is input to an RF signal reception means by looping back. The reception means is in communication with the distance estimation means of the processor as shown in Fig.1.
Applicant argues that nowhere in the cited text does Igura disclose transmission reception reference point that is used to determine a position of either or Igura’s transmitter or receiver.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Igura further teaches in P[0063], as follows.
[0063] Next, an estimation method of a relative position will be described. As illustrated in FIG. 7, the position estimation is performed in three main stages: a delay-time measurement stage, a data collection stage, and a data analysis stage. In the delay-time measurement stage, timing pulse signals are successively transmitted from the respective wireless device u, and a time difference between the respective received timing pulse signals, that is, a delay time is measured. In the data collection stage, measured time difference data are collected at one wireless device such as u.sub.0. In the data analysis stage, propagation times of radio waves between the respective wireless devices are calculated from collected time difference data, distances between the respective wireless devices are obtained from the propagation times, and a positional relation is estimated.
Igura teaches position estimation by taking into account internal delay between transmission and reception points(also From Fig. 4) and also the external delay in order to obtain precise estimation of the propagation delay.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUTHUSWAMY G MANOHARAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647