DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
PARAGRAPHS 44-47 AND 49:
Each instance of “501” should be amended to --511--, “502” should be amended to --512--, and “503” should be amended to --513--.
PARAGRAPH 50:
The term “503” should be amended to --513--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
CLAIM 13:
In line 6, replace “a further electrically conductive part” with --an electrically conductive further part--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13, 14, 17, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jefferies et al (2016/0137079).
In re Claim 13, Jefferies teaches a plug-in connection element for a plug-in connection, the plug-in connection element as seen in Figure 1A comprising: an electrically conductive first contact part (L1 of charging handle 150, paragraph 20) which is configured to form an electrically conductive connection with a complementary first contact part of a complementary plug-in connection element of the plug-in connection (L1 of power inlet of EV 200, paragraph 20); a further electrically conductive part (GROUND of charging handle 150); and a protective element (120) which is configured to reduce an electrical resistance between the first contact part and the further part as a temperature increases (paragraphs 22-23).
In re Claim 14, Jefferies teaches the further electrically conductive part comprises a reference part that is connected to a reference potential (the GROUND part in 150 is connected to ground (paragraph 22).
In re Claim 17, Jefferies teaches the further electrically conductive part comprises an electrically conductive second contact part that is configured to form an electrically conductive connection with a complementary second contact part (GROUND of power inlet of 200).
In re Claim 18, Jefferies teaches the protective element is configured to abruptly reduce the electrical resistance between the first contact part and the further part as soon as the temperature reaches or exceeds a predefined temperature threshold value (paragraphs 22-23).
Claim(s) 21, 22, and 24-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kramis et al (EP3330118 A1).
In re Claim 21, Kramis teaches a plug-in connection element for a plug-in connection, the plug-in connection element as seen in Figure 4 comprising: an electrically conductive first contact part (contact part of 71 in connector 2, paragraphs 46-47) which is configured to form an electrically conductive connection with a complementary first contact part (contact part of vehicle that connects with 71) of a complementary plug-in connection element (socket of vehicle) of the plug-in connection; a safety line (portion of line 60 running from 3 to 4 which is configured to form an electrically conductive connection with a complementary safety line (portion of line 60 from 4 to the vehicle) of the complementary plug-in connection element of the plug-in connection when the first contact part is electrically conductively connected to the complementary first contact part; and a protective element (4) which is configured to increase an electrical resistance between the safety line and the complementary safety line as a temperature increases (paragraphs 46-52).
In re Claim 22, Kramis teaches the protective element is configured to abruptly increase the electrical resistance between the safety line and the complementary safety line as soon as the temperature reaches or exceeds a predefined temperature threshold (paragraph 52).
In re Claim 24, Kramis teaches the protective element comprises a bimetal arranged between the safety line and the complementary safety line (paragraphs 49-50); and the bimetal of the protective element is configured to interrupt the electrically conductive connection between the safety line and the complementary safety line as soon as the temperature reaches or exceeds a predefined temperature threshold value (paragraph 52).
In re Claim 25, Kramis teaches the plug in connection element is configured for voltage higher than 300V and more than 1A (paragraph 12).
In re Claims 26 and 27, Kramis teaches that plug-in connection element is connected to charge the battery as electric store of the electric vehicle (paragraph 41), wherein as similarly taught by paragraphs 51-52 of the instant specification it is determined that the connection between the safety lines is broken (i.e., resistance becomes greater than a threshold) and the connection element is decoupled from the energy store as a result (paragraphs 52-53).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15, 16, 19, 20 and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In re Claims 15 and 16, Jefferies fails to teach that the ground connection in the connection handle/plug 150 surrounds the L1 portion in 150.
In re Claim 19, Jefferies describes the protective element as comprising an NTC thermistor R1 which has its resistance decrease as temperature increases. The thermistor is not considered configured to melt.
In re Claim 20, Jefferies teaches a thermistor R1 which is not a bimetal.
In re Claim 23, Kramis teaches the protective element is a bimetallic and is considered to bend not melt as a result of the temperature being exceeded.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER J CLARK/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838