DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
This office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 30 January 2026:
Claims 1-11 and 13-14 are pending
Claims 1-5 are withdrawn
Claim 6 and 9 are amended
Claim 12 is cancelled
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendments to the claims filed 30 January 2026 have been acknowledged. The drawing objection is withdrawn due to amendments of the drawings.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 30 January 2026, with respect to the rejection of Claim 6 under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant has amended Claim 6 to clarify that the claimed system requires both the aerosol generating stick and cartridge must be used in combination within the system. Examiner agrees with the Applicant that Lee does not disclose the cartridge and aerosol generating stick being used in combination and therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Selby et al (Publication No. US20230058955A1).
Applicant's arguments filed 30 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On Pages 9-11 of Applicant’s Remarks, Applicant reiterates arguments regarding that Arnold is entirely silent as to the specific amounts of menthol and VG when applied to a hybrid-type system which, according to the Applicant, requires a very specific range than that of non-hybrid systems within the prior art. Applicant emphasizes that due to Arnold’s disclosure belonging to a different technical field there would be no motivation to address challenges that arise in the hybrid-type system and as such optimization would not be simple or straightforward. Applicant does not provide any specific evidence that such optimizations would not be simple or straightforward.
Examiner respectfully disagrees, noting Applicant’s prior arguments and disclosed specifications primarily discusses the difficulty of mixing VG, menthol and PG in quantities such that the components are dissolvable and aerosolisable, wherein one of the primary factors to the miscibility of the components are the component characteristics and device/system operating temperatures.
In this regard, one ordinarily skilled in the art would be aware of the mixing properties and characteristics of VG, PG and menthol at different temperatures; these properties and characteristics would be well within considerations of one ordinarily skilled in the art to ensure that the resulting liquid composition will be capable of being vaporized by the aerosol generating device/system in which the liquid is being used in.
Therefore, since Arnold explicitly discloses a liquid composition for an aerosol-generating system comprising VG, PG and menthol with quantities that overlap with the ranges disclosed by the Applicant, one ordinarily skilled in the art would be motivated to routinely optimize the quantities of VG and menthol within the ranges disclosed by Arnold, such that the liquid aerosol-generating material will be usable in an aerosolizing device at its specific operating temperature, and reasonably expect to yield a liquid composition matching that claimed by the Applicant unless Applicant can provide evidence of the contrary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7, 9-11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selby et al (Publication No. US20230058955A1) in view of Han et al (Publication No. KR20180111460A, see provided English translation) and Arnold (Publication No. US20170112182A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Selby discloses an aerosol generating system ([0032-0033]; ECIG System) comprising:
an aerosol generating stick (Fig. 1; [0040]; HNB Stick 120);
the aerosol generating stick (120) comprising a tobacco medium portion and a filter portion ([0034-0036, 0040]; discloses that the system utilizes standard HNB components, wherein the HNB stick typically comprises an aerosol-generating material such as tobacco and a filter).
an aerosol generating device (100/800) (see Figs. 1, 8; the aerosol generating device in Figures 1 and 8 are considered equivalent as they accept similar HNB stick components);
wherein the aerosol generating device (100/800) comprises an aerosol generating stick accommodating groove (see Fig. 8; [0052]; Chamber 823);
and a heater configured to heat the aerosol generating stick (120) ([0052]; discloses that there is at least one heating element disposed about the HNB stick to heat said stick);
wherein the aerosol generating stick (120) is inserted in the aerosol generating stick accommodating groove (823) (Figs. 1, 8; [0052]);
wherein the aerosol generating stick (120) and cartridge (110) are used in combination ([Abstract, 0040, 0052); the disclosed device is a hybrid system that incorporates/combines both the HNB stick 120 and ECIG pod 110 components);
and a cartridge (ECIG Pod 110) comprising a liquid storage (i.e., liquid reservoir) comprising an aerosol generating material (i.e., liquid nicotine) (Fig. 1; [0032-0033, 0040]);
and further comprising an atomizer configured to generate an aerosol (i.e., vapor) from the aerosol generating material (i.e., liquid aerosol generating material) ([0033, 0039-0040]; discloses that ECIG Pods typically comprise an atomizer component);
wherein the aerosol generating material comprises menthol, a flavoring agent, propylene glycol (PG), and vegetable glycerin (VG) ([0032, 0038-0039]; discloses that the liquid aerosol generating material can contain flavors, wherein menthol is specifically mentioned as one flavor that can be potentially present in said liquid);
Selby does not disclose the following:
the aerosol generating stick comprising a plug located on an end of the aerosol-generating stick opposite to the filter portion;
wherein a content of the menthol in the aerosol generating material is 0.9 wt% to 4.0 wt% and a content of the VG is 80 wt% to 59 wt%
Regarding (I), Han, directed to a cigarette (i.e., aerosol-generating stick) used in an aerosol-generating device, discloses said cigarette comprises a tobacco rod (820) (i.e., tobacco medium), filter portion/segment (Third filter segment 840) and a plug (First filter segment 810) located on the end of the cigarette opposite to the filter portion (see Fig. 4; [0012-0013; 0018-0019]; filter segment is shown to be a solid cylindrical component, considered equivalent to a plug).The tobacco rod/medium is wrapped by a second wrapper (860) and first filter/plug which prevents liquid substances generated from the cigarette from leaking out (Fig. 4; [0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the aerosol-generating stick (i.e., cigarette) disclosed by Lee to include a filter/plug on a cigarette/stick end opposite to the filter portion as disclosed by Han, as both are directed to a cigarette heated by an aerosol generating system, where Han teaches the advantage of using a filter/plug opposite to the filter portion to prevent liquid substances generated from the cigarette from leaking out (Fig. 4; [0019]); this also involves applying a known teaching of adding another filter portion/plug to a similar cigarette product to yield predictable results.
Regarding (II), Arnold further discloses that the amount of menthol in the vaping composition (i.e., aerosol generating material) can range from 0 wt% to about 40 wt% ([0063]; disclosed range is for a flavoring agent which menthol is considered as one; disclosed range overlaps with the claimed range of 1.8 wt% to 3.6 wt%);
and a content of VG (i.e., glycerin) ranges from 0 wt% to about 99 wt% ([0053, 0064]; disclosed glycerin range is for disclosed range overlaps with the claimed range of 60 wt% to 70 wt%)
The claimed ranges for menthol (i.e., flavoring agent) and VG overlap with the range disclosed by Arnold and are therefore considered prima facie obvious (See MPEP § 2144.05.I).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to create an aerosol-generating material/liquid (i.e., nicotine solution) to have a content of menthol and VG within the overlapping claimed ranges disclosed by Arnold, with a reasonable expectation that the resulting aerosol-generating material/liquid will be capable of being utilized in an aerosol-generating system to be heated and generate aerosols.
Regarding Claim 7, Selby further discloses the aerosol generating device (100/800) further comprises a battery ([0032-0034; batteries are a common component in ECIG systems).
Selby does not explicitly disclose that the aerosol generating device (100/800) comprises a controller and a detector. However, it should be noted that Selby does disclose other embodiments of the hybrid ECIG system that utilizes similar HNB and ECIG Pod components, wherein said components operate in conjunction with a microphone sensor (i.e., detector) and controller for detecting user draw and operating heating elements [0062, 0065].
Therefore, one ordinarily skilled in the art would make the obvious modification to add the detector/sensor and controller from Selby’s other embodiments to the device disclosed in Figures 1 and 8 to predictably result in said device embodiments having the capability of detecting user draw and operating the heating elements of the system.
Regarding Claim 9, Han further discloses plug is a cellulose acetate filter (Fig. 4; [0100]).
Regarding Claim 10, Selby further discloses the aerosol generating system (ECIG system) is a heat-not-burn type [0002-0004].
Regarding Claim 11, Arnold further discloses flavoring agent comprises at least one selected from a group consisting of mint, tobacco flavor, fruit flavor component, and coffee ([0063]; discloses that flavors/flavoring agents can be derived from mint, tobacco, fruit and coffee).
Regarding Claim 13, Arnold further discloses that the amount of flavoring agent in the vaping composition (i.e., aerosol generating material) can range from 0 wt% to about 40 wt% ([0063]; disclosed flavoring agent range overlaps with the claimed range of 10 wt% or less).
The claimed range for menthol (i.e., flavoring agent) overlap with the range disclosed by Arnold and are therefore considered prima facie obvious (See MPEP § 2144.05.I). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to create an aerosol-generating material/liquid (i.e., nicotine solution) to have a content of flavoring agent within the overlapping claimed range disclosed by Arnold, with a reasonable expectation that the resulting aerosol-generating material/liquid will be capable of being utilized in an aerosol-generating system to be heated and generate aerosols.
Regarding Claim 14, Selby further discloses the atomizer comprises a liquid delivery means (i.e., wick) for absorbing the aerosol generating material ([0032-0033]; discloses that a wick is a common component in ECIG pods for conveying liquid to the vaporzing chamber, heating element, or atomizer to generate aerosols/vapor);
and a heater (i.e., heating element) configured to generate the aerosol (i.e., vapors) ([0032-0033, 0052]; the ECIG pod comprises a heating element for generating aerosol/vapor from the aerosol generating liquid conveyed by the wick).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selby et al (Publication No. US20230058955A1) in view of Han et al (Publication No. KR20180111460A, see provided English translation) and Arnold (Publication No. US20170112182A1) as applied to Claim 6 above, and further in view of Newman et al (Publication No. US20050172976A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Modified Selby does not disclose the tobacco medium portion (81) comprises a carrier for carrying the flavoring agent.
However, Newman, directed to an electrically heated cigarette (i.e., aerosol-generating stick), discloses the cigarette (23) comprises a filter tipping (62) (i.e., filter section) and a tobacco rod (60) (i.e., tobacco medium portion) made of tobacco mats and plugs (Figs. 1-2; [0031-0032]). Flavoring agents such as menthol, mint, linool, chocolate, or licorice is applied to the tobacco mat and/or plug using a host molecule inclusion complex such as cyclodextrin (i.e., carrier), which protects the flavoring from exposure to undesired substances in the cigarette and minimizing migration of the flavoring until the flavoring is released via heating [0065-0076].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the tobacco medium portion disclosed by Modified Selby to include a carrier as disclosed by Newman, as both are directed to an aerosol-generating stick (i.e., cigarette) heated by an aerosol-generating/smoking system, where Newman teaches the advantage of using a host molecule inclusion complex carrier to protect the flavoring from exposure to undesired substances in the cigarette, and minimizing migration of the flavoring until the flavoring is released via heating [0065-0076].
Conclusion
/V.P./Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755