Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-17, 21-27 and 29-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2023/0337253) in view of Xi et al. (US 2021/0159966).
Regarding claim 13, Zhou discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (Zhou, Figs. 3, 4), comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and operable (Zhou, Fig. 4; transceiver, memory, processor) to cause the UE to:
receive first signaling indicating at least one quasi co- location (QCL) reference signal (RS) associated with a first bandwidth part (BWP) (Zhou, paragraph [0077], RRC layer may provide configuration; paragraph [0083], TCI state may include a resource set of RS and information about CSI-RS or SSB in the resource set for QCL; paragraph [0089], base station sends to UE configuration information of TCI states, DCI message may include TCI states; paragraph [0090], UE can be provided, for each BWP, a set q0 of CSI-RS indexes for failure detection and a set q1 of CSI-RS or SSB indexes for candidate beams on the BWP, RS indexes in RS sets are indicated by TCI state, the set q0 includes RS indexes with QCL-TypeD configuration for the TCI state; a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that CSI-RS and SSB are QCL-RSs);
receive second signaling indicating to apply the at least one QCL RS associated with the first BWP to signaling associated with the second BWP, wherein the second signaling is different from the first signaling (Zhou, paragraph [0041], CORESET can be activated with a single active TCI state; paragraph [0059], active BWP; paragraph [0083], TCI state may include a resource set of RS and information about CSI-RS or SSB in the resource set for QCL; paragraph [0089], base station sends to UE configuration information of TCI states, DCI message may include TCI states; paragraph [0090], UE can be provided, for each BWP, a set q0 of CSI-RS indexes for failure detection and a set q1 of CSI-RS or SSB indexes for candidate beams on the BWP, RS indexes in RS sets are indicated by TCI state, the set q0 includes RS indexes with QCL-TypeD configuration for the TCI state; a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that CSI-RS and SSB are QCL-RSs);
apply, based at least in part on the first signaling and the second signaling, the at least one QCL RS associated with the first BWP to the signaling associated with the second BWP (Zhou, paragraph [0089], configuration may indicate that PDCCH candidate may be enabled to be monitored with two of the TCI states; paragraph [0090], RS indexes in the RS sets indicated by TCI-state for the CORESETs used for monitoring PDCCH).
Zhou does not explicitly disclose switch from the first BWP to a second BWP.
Xi discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (Xi, Figs. 1A, 1B), comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and operable (Xi, Fig. 1B; transceiver, memory, processor) to cause the UE to:
receive first signaling indicating at least one quasi co- location (QCL) reference signal (RS) associated with a first bandwidth part (BWP) (Xi, Fig. 10; paragraph [0111], WTRU configured with DL beams for PDCCH, PDSCH reception. each DL is associated with DL RSs such as SSB, SS/PNCH block, CSI-RS, SRS. DL RSs may be configured and transmitted per BWP; paragraph [0112], TWRU may be configured through RRC, MAC-CE, DCI; paragraph [0149], WTRU configured with multiple beams across multiple BWPs, configurations include beam indications for BWPs. for beam indication, a TCI table may be configured; paragraph [0153], each TCI state may explicitly indicate the RS ID in one RS set for a BWP; a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that CSI-RS and SSB are QCL-RSs);
switch from the first BWP to a second BWP (Xi, paragraph [0112], active BWP may change dynamically; paragraph [0152], when WTRU switches active BWP dynamically, the corresponding beam for the target BWP may change correspondingly);
receive second signaling indicating to apply the at least one QCL RS associated with the first BWP to signaling associated with the second BWP, wherein the second signaling is different from the first signaling (Xi, Figs. 8, 9, 11, paragraph [0130], for activation or triggering of SRS, DCI may include resource set activation. UL beam indication; paragraph [0151], differential beam indication may be configured by RRC; paragraph [0152], when WTRU switches active BWP dynamically by DCI-based switching and corresponding beam may [or may not] change correspondingly; paragraph [0154], TCI state used for default BWP or old BWP before BWP switching may be used for a new BWP until reconfiguration/re-activation; paragraph [0155], WTRU receives the assignment for beam indication in the DCI; paragraph [0156], WTRY receives TCI states and identifies the proper beam to use for subsequent PDSC reception for BWP1, BWP2, BWP3; paragraph [0157], WTRU receives TCI field indicating whether TCI state comprises beams for the current active BWP);
apply, based at least in part on the first signaling and the second signaling, the at least one QCL RS associated with the first BWP to the signaling associated with the second BWP (Xi, paragraph [0111], WTRU configured with DL beams for PDCCH, PDSCH reception. each DL is associated with DL RSs such as SSB, SS/PNCH block, CSI-RS, SRS. DL RSs may be configured and transmitted per BWP; paragraph [0149], WTRU configured with multiple beams across multiple BWPs, configurations include beam indications for BWPs. for beam indication, a TCI table may be configured; paragraph [0153], each TCI state may explicitly indicate the RS ID in one RS set for a BWP; paragraph [0154], TCI state used for default BWP or old BWP before BWP switching may be used for on a new BWP; paragraph [0156], WTRY receives TCI states and identifies the proper beam to use for subsequent PDSC reception for BWP1, BWP2, BWP3; paragraph [0157], WTRU receives TCI field indicating whether TCI state comprises beams for the current active BWP).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to switch BWPs via DCI or RRC signaling, in the invention of Zhou. The motivation to combine the references would have been to inform the recipient device of the new configuration information.
Regarding claim 14, Zhou in view of Xi discloses the UE of claim 13, wherein the first signaling comprises configuration information, and wherein the UE applies the at least one QCL RS based at least in part on the second signaling activating the configuration information associated with the at least one QCL RS (Zhou, paragraph [0059], single BWP for a carrier may be active, communication may be restricted to one or more BWPs; paragraph [0089], base station sends to UE configuration information of TCI states; paragraph [0090], UE is provided, for each BWP, a set q0 of CSI-RS indexes for failure detection and a set q1 of CSI-RS or SSB indexes for candidate beams on the BWP) (Xi, Fig. 10; paragraph [0111], WTRU configured with DL beams for PDCCH, PDSCH reception. each DL is associated with DL RSs such as SSB, SS/PNCH block, CSI-RS, SRS. DL RSs may be configured and transmitted per BWP; paragraph [0149], WTRU configured with multiple beams across multiple BWPs, configurations include beam indications for BWPs. for beam indication, a TCI table may be configured; paragraph [0153], each TCI state may explicitly indicate the RS ID in one RS set for a BWP; a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that CSI-RS and SSB are QCL-RSs).
Regarding claim 15, Zhou in view of Xi discloses the UE of claim 13, wherein the first signaling is associated with at least one of: a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH); a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH); a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH); or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH);
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for the configuration information to be associated with PDCCH, PDSCH, PUCCH and PUSCH, in the invention of Zhou. The motivation to combine the references would have been to inform the recipient device of the configuration information for receiving PDCCH, PDSCH, PUCCH and PUSCH.
Regarding claim 16, Zhou discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (Zhou, Fig. 4), comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and operable (Zhou, Fig. 4; transceiver, memory, processor) to cause the UE to:
receive first signaling indicating an association between a bandwidth part (BWP) and a set of quasi co-location (QCL) reference signals (RSs) (Zhou, paragraph [0089], base station sends to UE configuration information of TCI states; paragraph [0090], UE can be provided, for each BWP, a set q0 of CSI-RS indexes for failure detection and a set q1 of CSI-RS or SSB indexes for candidate beams on the BWP, RS indexes in RS sets are indicated by TCI state, the set q0 includes RS indexes with QCL-TypeD configuration for the TCI state; a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that CSI-RS and SSB are QCL-RSs);
receive second signaling indicating whether to apply the at least one QCL RS associated with the first BWP to signaling associated with the second BWP, wherein the second signaling is different from the first signaling (Zhou, paragraph [0041], CORESET can be activated with a single active TCI state; paragraph [0059], active BWP; paragraph [0089], base station sends to UE configuration information of TCI states; paragraph [0090], UE can be provided, for each BWP, a set q0 of CSI-RS indexes for failure detection and a set q1 of CSI-RS or SSB indexes for candidate beams on the BWP, RS indexes in RS sets are indicated by TCI state, the set q0 includes RS indexes with QCL-TypeD configuration for the TCI state; a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that CSI-RS and SSB are QCL-RSs);
determine a second QCL RS associated with the BWP based at least in part on the first QCL RS and the set of QCL RSs failing to comprise the first QCL RS, wherein the set of QCL RSs comprises the second QCL RS, and wherein the first QCL RS and the second QCL RS are different (Zhou, paragraph [0041], CORESET can be activated with a single active TCI state; paragraph [0059], active BWP; paragraph [0089], base station sends to UE configuration information of TCI states, configuration may indicate that PDCCH candidate may be enabled to be monitored with two of the TCI states; paragraph [0090], UE can be provided, for each BWP, a set q0 of CSI-RS indexes for failure detection and a set q1 of CSI-RS or SSB indexes for candidate beams on the BWP, RS indexes in RS sets are indicated by TCI state; if the UE is not provided q0 for a BWP, the UE determines the set q0 to include CSI-RS resource configuration indexes with same values as the RS indexes in the RS sets indicated by TCI state); and
perform the wireless communication with a network equipment (NE) based at least in part on the second QCL RS (Zhou, paragraph [0089], configuration may indicate that PDCCH candidate may be enabled to be monitored with two of the TCI states; paragraph [0090], RS indexes in the RS sets indicated by TCI-state for the CORESETs used for monitoring PDCCH).
Although Zhou discloses all of the claim limitations, the Examiner includes the Xi references, which more explicitly discloses the second configuration information indicating a first QCL RS associated with the BWP.
Xi discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (Xi, Fig. 1B), comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and operable (Xi, Fig. 1B; transceiver, memory, processor) to cause the UE to:
receive first signaling indicating an association between a bandwidth part (BWP) and a set of quasi co-location (QCL) reference signals (RSs) (Xi, Fig. 10; paragraph [0111], WTRU configured with DL beams for PDCCH, PDSCH reception. each DL is associated with DL RSs such as SSB, SS/PNCH block, CSI-RS, SRS. DL RSs may be configured and transmitted per BWP; paragraph [0149], WTRU configured with multiple beams across multiple BWPs, configurations include beam indications for BWPs. for beam indication, a TCI table may be configured; paragraph [0153], each TCI state may explicitly indicate the RS ID in one RS set for a BWP; a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that CSI-RS and SSB are QCL-RSs);
receive second signaling indicating whether to apply the at least one QCL RS associated with the first BWP to signaling associated with the second BWP, wherein the second signaling is different from the first signaling (Xi, Figs. 8, 9, 11, paragraph [0130], for activation or triggering of SRS, DCI may include resource set activation. UL beam indication; paragraph [0151], differential beam indication may be configured by RRC; paragraph [0152], when WTRU switches active BWP dynamically by DCI-based switching and corresponding beam may [or may not] change correspondingly; paragraph [0154], TCI state used for default BWP or old BWP before BWP switching may be used for a new BWP until reconfiguration/re-activation; paragraph [0155], WTRU receives the assignment for beam indication in the DCI; paragraph [0156], WTRY receives TCI states and identifies the proper beam to use for subsequent PDSC reception for BWP1, BWP2, BWP3; paragraph [0157], WTRU receives TCI field indicating whether TCI state comprises beams for the current active BWP); and
determine a second QCL RS associated with the BWP based at least in part on the first QCL RS and the set of QCL RSs failing to comprise the first QCL RS, wherein the set of QCL RSs comprises the second QCL RS, and wherein the first QCL RS and the second QCL RS are different BWP (Xi, paragraph [0111], WTRU configured with DL beams for PDCCH, PDSCH reception. each DL is associated with DL RSs such as SSB, SS/PNCH block, CSI-RS, SRS. DL RSs may be configured and transmitted per BWP; paragraph [0149], WTRU configured with multiple beams across multiple BWPs, configurations include beam indications for BWPs. for beam indication, a TCI table may be configured; paragraph [0152], when WTRU switches active BWP dynamically by DCI-based switching and corresponding beam may change correspondingly; paragraph [0153], each TCI state may explicitly indicate the RS ID in one RS set for a BWP; paragraph [0154], TCI state used for default BWP or old BWP before BWP switching may be used for on a new BWP); and
perform the wireless communication with a network equipment (NE) based at least in part on the second QCL RS (Xi, paragraph [0111], WTRU configured with DL beams for PDCCH, PDSCH reception. each DL is associated with DL RSs such as SSB, SS/PNCH block, CSI-RS, SRS. DL RSs may be configured and transmitted per BWP; paragraph [0149], WTRU configured with multiple beams across multiple BWPs, configurations include beam indications for BWPs. for beam indication, a TCI table may be configured; paragraph [0153], each TCI state may explicitly indicate the RS ID in one RS set for a BWP; paragraph [0154], TCI state used for default BWP or old BWP before BWP switching may be used for on a new BWP; paragraph [0156], WTRY receives TCI states and identifies the proper beam to use for subsequent PDSC reception for BWP1, BWP2, BWP3; paragraph [0157], WTRU receives TCI field indicating whether TCI state comprises beams for the current active BWP).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to switch BWPs via DCI or RRC signaling, in the invention of Zhou. The motivation to combine the references would have been to inform the recipient device of the new configuration information.
Regarding claim 17, Zhou in view of Xi discloses the UE of claim 16, wherein the first signaling comprises at least one of broadcast signaling and radio resource control (RRC) signaling (Zhou, paragraph [0151], differential beam indication may be configured by RRC) (Xi, paragraph [0151], TCI configured by RRC).
Regarding claim 21, Zhou in view of Xi discloses the UE of claim 16, wherein to determine the second QCL RS, the at least one processor is operable to cause the UE to determine an index of the second QCL RS in the set of QCL RSs, wherein the index is closest to an additional index of the first QCL RS (Zhou, paragraph [0090], UE is provided, for each BWP, a set q0 of CSI-RS indexes for failure detection and a set q1 of CSI-RS or SSB indexes for candidate beams on the BWP; paragraph [0094], UE may set the first beam failure detection reference signal resource set to include CSI-RS indexes having the same values of reference signal indexes in the reference signal set indicated as the first TCI state).
Regarding claim 22, Zhou discloses the UE of claim 16, wherein the BWP is at least one of a first active downlink BWP for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring, a second active downlink BWP for physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception, or an active uplink BWP for physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission (Zhou, paragraph [0059], active BWPs; paragraph [0005], monitoring PDCCH) (Xi, paragraph [0153], TCI state for PDSCH, PDCCH; paragraph [0202], TCI states for PUCCH, PUSCH).
Regarding claim 23, Zhou discloses the UE of claim 16, wherein the first QCL RS is indicated by downlink control information (DCI) (Zhou, paragraph [0088], DCI includes TCI states) (Xi, paragraph [0151], differential beam indication may be configured by RRC; paragraph [0152], when WTRU switches active BWP dynamically by DCI-based switching and corresponding beam may change correspondingly; paragraph [0155], WTRU receives the assignment for beam indication in the DCI).
Regarding claim 24, Zhou in view of Xi discloses the UE of claim 16, wherein the first QCL RS is based at least in part on one or more QCL parameters used for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) QCL indication of a control resource set (CORESET) with a lowest index (Xi, paragraph [0158], default TCI state for PDCCH QCL indication of the lowest CORESET-ID).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use a default of a control resource set (CORESET) with a lowest index, in the invention of Zhou. The motivation to combine the references would have been to select a default index in accordance with commonly used procedures.
Regarding claim 25, Zhou in view of Xi discloses the UE of claim 16, wherein the first QCL RS is based at least in part on an activated transmission configuration indication (TCI) state with a lowest index applicable to physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (Xi, paragraph [0153], default TCI state with lowest ID for PDSCH reception).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use a default of a TCI state with a lowest index, in the invention of Zhou. The motivation to combine the references would have been to select a default index in accordance with commonly used procedures.
Regarding claim 26, Zhou in view of Xi discloses the UE of claim 16, wherein the first QCL RS is associated with a dedicated physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource with a lowest index (Xi, paragraph [0199], PUCCH resource with lowest ID).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use a PUCCH resource with a lowest index, in the invention of Zhou. The motivation to combine the references would have been to select a default index in accordance with commonly used procedures.
Regarding claim 27, Zhou discloses the UE of claim 16, wherein the second QCL RS is at least one of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) QCL RS, a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) QCL RS, a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) QCL RS, or a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) QCL RS (Zhou, paragraph [0059], active BWPs; paragraph [0005], monitoring PDCCH) (Xi, paragraph [0153], TCI state for PDSCH, PDCCH; paragraph [0202], TCI states for PUCCH, PUSCH).
Claims 29-33 are rejected under substantially the same rationale as claims 13-17, respectively.
Claim(s) 19 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2023/0337253) in view of Xi et al. (US 2021/0159966), and further in view of Moon et al. (US 2017/0202014).
Regarding claim 19, Zhou in view of Xi discloses the UE of claim 16, wherein to determine the second QCL RS, the at least one processor is operable to cause the UE.
Zhou does not explicitly disclose, but Moon discloses determine an index of the second QCL RS in the set of QCL RSs based at least in part on an additional index of the first QCL RS modulo a numerical quantity of QCL RSs in the set of QCL RSs (Moon, paragraph [0298], taking a modulo operation on the corresponding component CSI-RS configuration index with the number of component CSI-RS configurations).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to determine a second QCL RS by taking an index of the first QCL RS modulo a QCL RS number of a first QCL RS set, in the invention of Zhou. The motivation to combine the references would have been to select a new index in accordance with commonly used procedures.
Claim 34 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 19.
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2023/0337253) in view of Xi et al. (US 2021/0159966), and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2020/0153500).
Regarding claim 28, Zhou in view of Xi discloses the UE of claim 16. Zhou does not explicitly disclose, but Kim discloses wherein the NE is non-terrestrial (Kim, paragraph [0215]-[0217], QCL applied with satellite base stations).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to perform the wireless communication with a non-terrestrial network equipment (NE) based at least in part on the second QCL RS, in the invention of Zhou. The motivation to combine the references would have been to communicate using satellites where terrestrial base station communication is not possible.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 18, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that the claims are allegedly patentable because Zhou and Xi allegedly do not disclose second signaling indicating whether to apply the at least one QCL RS associated with the first BWP to signaling associated with the second BWP, wherein the second signaling is different from the first signaling. However, this is incorrect. There are multiple different disclosers in Zhou and Xi which read on that claim limitation.
Firstly, as discussed in the claim rejections above, both Zhou and Xi disclose that TCI states that indicate an association between QCL-RSs and BWPs may be configured by RRC signaling and/or configured dynamically by DCI signaling. Additionally, both Zhou and Xi disclose that multiple different BWPs may be associated with a same QCL-RS(s). Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, would have understood that DCI signaling occurs on a plurality of occasions. Accordingly, a first instance of TCI table configuration via either RRC signaling or DCI signaling may be interpreted as a the claimed first signaling. Then, a second instance of TCI table [re]configuration via DCI signaling may be interpreted as the claimed second signaling. Accordingly, after a BWP switch, DCI signaling which configures a same TCI state associated with a newly activated BWP to a same TCI state that was associated with a prior activated BWP, would read on the claimed second signaling indicating whether to apply the at least one QCL RS associated with the first BWP to signaling associated with the second BWP, wherein the second signaling is different from the first signaling.
Secondly, both Zhou and Xi disclose that a BWP part switch/activation itself may be signaled a via DCI signaling and/or MAC-CE signaling. Accordingly, a prior first instance of TCI table configuration via either RRC signaling or DCI signaling may be interpreted as a the claimed first signaling, in which multiple different BWPs may be associated with a same QCL-RS(s). Then, even if a new TCI state configuration is not signaled after a BWP switch, when a BWP switch/activation is signaled a via DCI signaling and/or MAC-CE signaling, the new/second BWP indication would, itself, indicate whether a same QCL-RS(s) signal is associated with it, based on the previously configured TCI states. Accordingly, the new/second BWP indication, itself, would read on the claimed second signaling indicating whether to apply the at least one QCL RS associated with the first BWP to signaling associated with the second BWP, wherein the second signaling is different from the first signaling.
Thirdly, as discussed above, both Zhou and Xi disclose that TCI states that indicate an association between QCL-RSs and BWPs may be configured by RRC signaling and/or configured dynamically by DCI signaling. Within each signaled TCI state configuration, the association between a TCI state and each BWP may be separately indicated (see, for example, Xi, Fig. 10). Accordingly, within each signaled TCI state configuration, the indication of an association between a TCI state and a first BWP may be interpreted as different signaling than the indication of an association between the TCI state and a second BWP. Accordingly, the indication of an association between a TCI state and the second BWP, would read on the claimed second signaling indicating whether to apply the at least one QCL RS associated with the first BWP to signaling associated with the second BWP, wherein the second signaling is different from the first signaling.
Further, the Examiner notes that paragraphs [0094]-[0095] of Applicant’s published Specification explicitly disclose that the disclosed/claimed [second] signaling indicating whether to apply the configuration, received in step 503, is similar to legacy technologies.
Conclusion
/ALAN L LINDENBAUM/Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419