Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 24, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that claim 13 is allegedly patentable because Xi allegedly does not disclose “receiving second signaling, after a BWP switch, where the second signal indicates whether to apply previously received configuration information to third signaling on the BWP.” (See Applicant’s arguments on page 9, lines 3-5) However, the examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s arguments. Xi discloses, for example in paragraph [0152], that TCI field in DCI indicates which beam the WTRU will use for subsequent PDSCH reception, based on the current active BWP of the WTRU. When the WTRU switches active BWP dynamically by DCI-based switching, the corresponding beam may [or may not] change correspondingly; and in paragraph [0154], TCI state used for default BWP or old BWP before BWP switching may be used for a new BWP until reconfiguration/re-activation. Accordingly, after using a TCI state used for default BWP or old BWP for a period of time, a UE may receive reconfiguration/re-activation, after which a new TCI state may be used for subsequent PDSCH reception.
Applicant further asserts that claim 16 is allegedly patentable because Xi and Zhou allegedly do not disclose “to determine that the set of QCL RSs fails to comprise the first QCL RS.” (See Applicant’s arguments on page 10, lines 14-15) However, the examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s arguments. Xi discloses, for example in Figs. 10, 11, that TCI states 0 and 1 do not comprise the RSs in each other’s RS sets; and in paragraph [0130], that for activation or triggering of aperiodic SRS, DCI may include resource set activation, UL beam indication; and in paragraph [0153], each TCI state may explicitly indicate the RS ID in one RS set for a BWP, a default TCI state may be defined; and in paragraph [0157], WTRU may receive a TCI field indicating a TCI state that does not comprise a beam for the current active BWP. Accordingly, a determination may be made that DCI has activated a resource set that may include a TCI field indicating a different TCI state than a default TCI state for a BWP, and that the different TCI state does not comprise a beam associated with the set of beams associated with the default TCI state for the BWP.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-17, 21-27 and 29-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xi et al. (US 2021/0159966) in view of Zhou et al. (US 2023/0337253).
Regarding claim 13, Xi discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (Xi, Figs. 1A, 1B), comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and operable (Xi, Fig. 1B; transceiver, memory, processor) to cause the UE to:
receive first signaling comprising configuration information indicating at least one reference signal (RS) associated with a first bandwidth part (BWP) (Xi, Fig. 8, SRS configuration; Figs. 10, 11; paragraph [0111], WTRU configured with DL beams for PDCCH, PDSCH reception. each DL is associated with DL RSs such as SSB, SS/PNCH block, CSI-RS, SRS. DL RSs may be configured and transmitted per BWP; paragraph [0112], WTRU may be configured through RRC, MAC-CE, DCI; paragraph [0149], WTRU configured with multiple beams across multiple BWPs, configurations include beam indications for BWPs. for beam indication, a TCI table may be configured; paragraph [0115], SRS-SpatialRelationsInfo may be set to a CSI-RS resource or SS/PBCH resource, configured by higher layer parameter; paragraph [0153], each TCI state may explicitly indicate the RS ID in one RS set for a BWP; a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that CSI-RS and SSB are QCL-RSs);
switch from the first BWP to a second BWP (Xi, paragraph [0112], active BWP may change dynamically; paragraph [0152], when WTRU switches active BWP dynamically, the corresponding beam for the target BWP may [or may not] change correspondingly);
receive, after switching from the first BWP to the second BWP, second signaling that indicates whether to apply the configuration information for the second BWP, wherein the second signaling is different from the first signaling (Xi, Fig. 8, SRS triggering; Figs. 9, 10, 11, paragraph [0126], aperiodic SRS resource may be activated or triggered by DCI where flag information indicates if the WTRU performs beam sweeping; paragraph [0127], if the SRS triggering message does not include beam information, the WTRU may follow the SRS configuration, SRS-SpatialRelationInfo; paragraph [0130], for activation or triggering of SRS, DCI may include resource set activation, DCI field may be used to indicate which SRS is triggered; paragraph [0151], differential beam indication may be configured by RRC; paragraph [0152], TCI field in DCI indicates which beam the WTRU will use for subsequent PDSCH reception, based on the current active BWP of the WTRU. When the WTRU switches active BWP dynamically by DCI-based switching, the corresponding beam may [or may not] change correspondingly; paragraph [0154], TCI state used for default BWP or old BWP before BWP switching may be used for a new BWP until reconfiguration/re-activation; paragraph [0155], WTRU receives the assignment for beam indication in the DCI; paragraph [0156], WTRU receives TCI states and identifies the proper beam to use for subsequent PDSCH reception for BWP1, BWP2, BWP3; paragraph [0157], WTRU receives TCI field indicating whether TCI state comprises beams for the current active BWP);
apply, based at least in part on the configuration information and the second signaling, the at least one RS to third signaling on the second BWP (Xi, paragraph [0111], WTRU configured with DL beams for PDCCH, PDSCH reception. each DL is associated with DL RSs such as SSB, SS/PNCH block, CSI-RS, SRS. DL RSs may be configured and transmitted per BWP; paragraph [0149], WTRU configured with multiple beams across multiple BWPs, configurations include beam indications for BWPs. for beam indication, a TCI table may be configured; paragraph [0152], TCI field in DCI indicates which beam the WTRU will use for subsequent PDSCH reception, based on the current active BWP of the WTRU; paragraph [0153], each TCI state may explicitly indicate the RS ID in one RS set for a BWP; paragraph [0154], TCI state used for default BWP or old BWP before BWP switching may be used for on a new BWP; paragraph [0156], WTRU receives TCI states and identifies the proper beam to use for subsequent PDSCH reception for BWP1, BWP2, BWP3; paragraph [0157], WTRU receives TCI field indicating whether TCI state comprises beams for the current active BWP).
Xi does not explicitly disclose receive first signaling comprising configuration information indicating at least one quasi co- location (QCL) reference signal (RS) associated with a first bandwidth part (BWP); and apply, based at least in part on the configuration information and the second signaling, the at least one QCL RS to third signaling on the second BWP.
Zhou discloses receive first signaling comprising configuration information indicating at least one quasi co- location (QCL) reference signal (RS) associated with a first bandwidth part (BWP) (Zhou, paragraph [0041], TCI states provide QCL reference signals; paragraph [0077], RRC layer may provide configuration; paragraph [0083], beam indication may be based on a configuration and downlink signaling of TCI states, TCI state may include a resource set of RS and information about CSI-RS or SSB in the resource set for QCL; paragraph [0089], base station sends to UE configuration information of TCI states, DCI message may include TCI states; paragraph [0090], UE can be provided, for each BWP, a set q0 of CSI-RS indexes for failure detection and a set q1 of CSI-RS or SSB indexes for candidate beams on the BWP, RS indexes in RS sets are indicated by TCI state, the set q0 includes RS indexes with QCL-TypeD configuration for the TCI state; a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that CSI-RS and SSB are QCL-RSs);
apply, based at least in part on the configuration information and the second signaling, the at least one QCL RS to third signaling on the second BWP (Zhou, paragraph [0089], configuration may indicate that PDCCH candidate may be enabled to be monitored with two of the TCI states; paragraph [0090], RS indexes in the RS sets indicated by TCI-state for the CORESETs used for monitoring PDCCH).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to indicate association between a bandwidth part (BWP) and Quasi CoLocation RS’s, in the invention of Xi. The motivation to combine the references would have been to inform the recipient device of Reference Signal’s that are Quasi CoLocated in respective BWPs, having the same spatial relation.
Regarding claim 14, Xi in view of Zhou discloses the UE of claim 13, wherein the UE applies the at least one QCL RS based at least in part on the second signaling activating the configuration information (Xi, Fig. 8, SRS triggering; Figs. 9, 10, 11, paragraph [0126], aperiodic SRS resource may be activated or triggered by DCI where flag information indicates if the WTRU performs beam sweeping; paragraph [0127], if the SRS triggering message does not include beam information, the WTRU may follow the SRS configuration, SRS-SpatialRelationInfo; paragraph [0130], for activation or triggering of SRS, DCI may include resource set activation, DCI field may be used to indicate which SRS is triggered; paragraph [0151], differential beam indication may be configured by RRC; paragraph [0152], TCI field in DCI indicates which beam the WTRU will use for subsequent PDSCH reception, based on the current active BWP of the WTRU. When the WTRU switches active BWP dynamically by DCI-based switching, the corresponding beam may [or may not] change correspondingly; paragraph [0154], TCI state used for default BWP or old BWP before BWP switching may be used for a new BWP until reconfiguration/re-activation; paragraph [0155], WTRU receives the assignment for beam indication in the DCI; paragraph [0156], WTRU receives TCI states and identifies the proper beam to use for subsequent PDSCH reception for BWP1, BWP2, BWP3; paragraph [0157], WTRU receives TCI field indicating whether TCI state comprises beams for the current active BWP).
Regarding claim 15, Xi in view of Zhou discloses the UE of claim 13, wherein the first signaling is associated with at least one of: a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH); a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH); a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH); or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH); or the PDCCH, the PDSCH, the PUCCH and the PUSCH (Xi, paragraph [0153], TCI state for PDSCH, PDCCH; paragraph [0202], TCI states for PUCCH, PUSCH).
Regarding claim 16, Xi discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (Xi, Fig. 1B), comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and operable (Xi, Fig. 1B; transceiver, memory, processor) to cause the UE to:
receive first signaling indicating an association between a bandwidth part (BWP) and a set of reference signals (RSs) (Xi, Fig. 8, receiving SRS Configuration; Figs. 10, 11, 13; paragraph [0111], WTRU configured with DL beams for PDCCH, PDSCH reception. each DL beam is associated with DL RSs such as SSB, SS/PNCH block, CSI-RS, SRS. DL RSs may be configured and transmitted per BWP; paragraph [0140] and [0185]-[0189], SRS-SpatialRelationInfo included in SRS configuration which indicates resources for a set of RSs; paragraph [0149], WTRU configured with multiple beams across multiple BWPs, configurations include beam indications for BWPs. for beam indication, a TCI table may be configured; paragraph [0153], each TCI state may explicitly indicate the RS ID in one RS set for a BWP. a default TCI state may be predefined; paragraph [0158], default TCI state configured for multiple BWPs may be TCI sate 0 in Fig. 11);
receive second signaling indicating a first RS associated with the BWP (Xi, Fig. 8, SRS Triggering; Figs. 9, 10, 11, 13, paragraph [0130], for activation or triggering of aperiodic SRS, DCI may include resource set activation, UL beam indication; paragraph [0155], WTRU receives the assignment for beam indication in the DCI; paragraph [0156], WTRU receives TCI states and identifies the proper beam to use for subsequent PDSCH reception for BWP1, BWP2, BWP3; paragraph [0157], WTRU receives TCI field indicating whether TCI state comprises beams for the current active BWP), wherein the second signaling is different from the first signaling (Xi, Fig. 8, the SRS configuration is different from the SRS triggering); and
determine that the set of RSs fails to comprise the first RS (Xi, Figs. 10, 11, TCI states 0 and 1 do not comprise the RSs in each other’s RS sets; paragraph [0152], when WTRU switches active BWP dynamically by DCI-based switching and corresponding beam may change correspondingly; paragraph [0153], each TCI state may explicitly indicate the RS ID in one RS set for a BWP, a default TCI state may be defined; paragraph [0154], TCI state used for default BWP or old BWP before BWP switching may be used for a new BWP until reconfiguration/re-activation; paragraph [0156], WTRU identifies the proper beam for BWP; paragraph [0157], WTRU receives a TCI field indicating a TCI state that does not comprise a beam for the current active BWP; paragraph [0158], default TCI state configured for multiple BWPs may be TCI sate 0 in Fig. 11 [the set of RSs for default TCI 0 in Fig. 11 does not include the RS for BWP 3 in Fig. 11]);
determine, in response to the set of RSs failing to comprise the first RS (Xi, Figs. 10, 11, TCI states 0 and 1 do not comprise the RSs in each other’s RS sets), a second QCL RS associated with the BWP, wherein the set of RSs comprises the second RS, and wherein the first QCL RS and the second RS are different (Xi, Figs. 10, 11, 13, BWP1 associated with CRI#0 for TCI state 0 and CRI#2 for TCI state 1, BWP2 associated with SSB#3 for TCI state 0 and CRI#4 for TCI state 1, paragraph [0149], WTRU configured with multiple beams across multiple BWPs, configurations include beam indications for BWPs. for beam indication, a TCI table may be configured; paragraph [0152], when WTRU switches active BWP dynamically by DCI-based switching and corresponding beam may change correspondingly; paragraph [0153], each TCI state may explicitly indicate the RS ID in one RS set for a BWP, a default TCI state may be defined; paragraph [0154], TCI state used for default BWP or old BWP before BWP switching may be used for on a new BWP until reconfiguration/re-activation); and
perform the wireless communication with a network equipment (NE) based at least in part on the second RS (Xi, paragraph [0156], WTRU receives TCI states and identifies the proper beam to use for subsequent PDSCH reception for BWP1, BWP2, BWP3).
Xi teaches the set of RSs including the first and second RSs, as discussed above. Xi does not explicitly disclose that signaling indicating an association between a bandwidth part (BWP) and a set of quasi co-location (QCL) reference signals (RSs), receive second signaling indicating a first QCL RS associated with the BWP, and perform the wireless communication with a network equipment (NE) based at least in part on the second QCL RS.
Zhou discloses receive first signaling indicating an association between a bandwidth part (BWP) and a set of quasi co-location (QCL) reference signals (RSs) (Zhou, paragraph [0041], TCI states provide QCL reference signals; paragraph [0077], RRC layer may provide configuration; paragraph [0083], beam indication may be based on a configuration and downlink signaling of TCI states, TCI state may include a resource set of RS and information about CSI-RS or SSB in the resource set for QCL; paragraph [0089], base station sends to UE configuration information of TCI states, DCI message may include TCI states; paragraph [0090], UE can be provided, for each BWP, a set q0 of CSI-RS indexes for failure detection and a set q1 of CSI-RS or SSB indexes for candidate beams on the BWP, RS indexes in RS sets are indicated by TCI state, the set q0 includes RS indexes with QCL-TypeD configuration for the TCI state; a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that CSI-RS and SSB are QCL-RSs);
perform the wireless communication with a network equipment (NE) based at least in part on the second QCL RS (Zhou, paragraph [0089], configuration may indicate that PDCCH candidate may be enabled to be monitored with two of the TCI states; paragraph [0090], RS indexes in the RS sets indicated by TCI-state for the CORESETs used for monitoring PDCCH).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to indicate association between a bandwidth part (BWP) and Quasi CoLocation RS’s, in the invention of Xi. The motivation to combine the references would have been to inform the recipient device of Reference Signal’s that are Quasi CoLocated in respective BWPs, having the same spatial relation.
Regarding claim 17, Xi in view of Zhou discloses the UE of claim 16, wherein the first signaling comprises at least one of broadcast signaling and radio resource control (RRC) signaling (Xi, paragraph [0151], TCI configured by RRC).
Regarding claim 21, Xi in view of Zhou discloses the UE of claim 16, wherein to determine the second QCL RS, the at least one processor is operable to cause the UE to determine an index of the second QCL RS in the set of QCL RSs, wherein the index is closest to an additional index of the first QCL RS (Xi, paragraph [0135], SRS resources configured with the same values of SRS-SpatialRelationInfo).
Regarding claim 22, Xi in view of Zhou discloses the UE of claim 16, wherein the BWP is at least one of a first active downlink BWP for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring, a second active downlink BWP for physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception, or an active uplink BWP for physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission (Xi, paragraph [0153], TCI state for PDSCH, PDCCH; paragraph [0202], TCI states for PUCCH, PUSCH).
Regarding claim 23, Xi in view of Zhou discloses the UE of claim 16, wherein the first QCL RS is indicated by downlink control information (DCI) (Xi, paragraph [0151], differential beam indication may be configured by RRC; paragraph [0152], when WTRU switches active BWP dynamically by DCI-based switching and corresponding beam may change correspondingly; paragraph [0155], WTRU receives the assignment for beam indication in the DCI).
Regarding claim 24, Xi in view of Zhou discloses the UE of claim 16, wherein the first QCL RS is based at least in part on one or more QCL parameters used for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) QCL indication of a control resource set (CORESET) with a lowest index (Xi, paragraph [0158], default TCI state for PDCCH QCL indication of the lowest CORESET-ID).
Regarding claim 25, Xi in view of Zhou discloses the UE of claim 16, wherein the first QCL RS is based at least in part on an activated transmission configuration indication (TCI) state with a lowest index applicable to physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (Xi, paragraph [0153], default TCI state with lowest ID for PDSCH reception).
Regarding claim 26, Xi in view of Zhou discloses the UE of claim 16, wherein the first QCL RS is associated with a dedicated physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource with a lowest index (Xi, paragraph [0199], PUCCH resource with lowest ID).
Regarding claim 27, Xi in view of Zhou discloses the UE of claim 16, wherein the second QCL RS is at least one of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) QCL RS, a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) QCL RS, a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) QCL RS, or a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) QCL RS (Xi, paragraph [0153], TCI state for PDSCH, PDCCH; paragraph [0202], TCI states for PUCCH, PUSCH).
Regarding claim 29, Xi discloses a network equipment (NE) for wireless communication (Xi, Figs. 1A, 1B), comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and operable (Xi, Fig. 1B; transceiver, memory, processor) to cause the UE to:
transmit first signaling comprising configuration information indicating at least one reference signal (RS) associated with a first bandwidth part (BWP) (Xi, Fig. 8, SRS configuration; Figs. 10, 11; paragraph [0111], WTRU configured with DL beams for PDCCH, PDSCH reception. each DL is associated with DL RSs such as SSB, SS/PNCH block, CSI-RS, SRS. DL RSs may be configured and transmitted per BWP; paragraph [0112], WTRU may be configured through RRC, MAC-CE, DCI; paragraph [0149], WTRU configured with multiple beams across multiple BWPs, configurations include beam indications for BWPs. for beam indication, a TCI table may be configured; paragraph [0115], SRS-SpatialRelationsInfo may be set to a CSI-RS resource or SS/PBCH resource, configured by higher layer parameter; paragraph [0153], each TCI state may explicitly indicate the RS ID in one RS set for a BWP; a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that CSI-RS and SSB are QCL-RSs);
switch from the first BWP to a second BWP (Xi, paragraph [0112], active BWP may change dynamically; paragraph [0152], when WTRU switches active BWP dynamically, the corresponding beam for the target BWP may [or may not] change correspondingly);
transmit, after switching from the first BWP to the second BWP, second signaling that indicates whether a User Equipment (UE) is to apply the configuration information for the second BWP, wherein the second signaling is different from the first signaling (Xi, Fig. 8, SRS triggering; Figs. 9, 10, 11, paragraph [0126], aperiodic SRS resource may be activated or triggered by DCI where flag information indicates if the WTRU performs beam sweeping; paragraph [0127], if the SRS triggering message does not include beam information, the WTRU may follow the SRS configuration, SRS-SpatialRelationInfo; paragraph [0130], for activation or triggering of SRS, DCI may include resource set activation, DCI field may be used to indicate which SRS is triggered; paragraph [0151], differential beam indication may be configured by RRC; paragraph [0152], TCI field in DCI indicates which beam the WTRU will use for subsequent PDSCH reception, based on the current active BWP of the WTRU. When the WTRU switches active BWP dynamically by DCI-based switching, the corresponding beam may [or may not] change correspondingly; paragraph [0154], TCI state used for default BWP or old BWP before BWP switching may be used for a new BWP until reconfiguration/re-activation; paragraph [0155], WTRU receives the assignment for beam indication in the DCI; paragraph [0156], WTRU receives TCI states and identifies the proper beam to use for subsequent PDSCH reception for BWP1, BWP2, BWP3; paragraph [0157], WTRU receives TCI field indicating whether TCI state comprises beams for the current active BWP).
Xi teaches the set of RSs including the first and second RSs, as discussed above. Xi does not explicitly disclose receive first signaling comprising configuration information indicating at least one quasi co- location (QCL) reference signal (RS) associated with a first bandwidth part (BWP).
Zhou discloses transmit first signaling comprising configuration information indicating at least one quasi co- location (QCL) reference signal (RS) associated with a first bandwidth part (BWP) (Zhou, paragraph [0041], TCI states provide QCL reference signals; paragraph [0077], RRC layer may provide configuration; paragraph [0083], beam indication may be based on a configuration and downlink signaling of TCI states, TCI state may include a resource set of RS and information about CSI-RS or SSB in the resource set for QCL; paragraph [0089], base station sends to UE configuration information of TCI states, DCI message may include TCI states; paragraph [0090], UE can be provided, for each BWP, a set q0 of CSI-RS indexes for failure detection and a set q1 of CSI-RS or SSB indexes for candidate beams on the BWP, RS indexes in RS sets are indicated by TCI state, the set q0 includes RS indexes with QCL-TypeD configuration for the TCI state; a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that CSI-RS and SSB are QCL-RSs).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to indicate association between a bandwidth part (BWP) and Quasi CoLocation RS’s, in the invention of Xi. The motivation to combine the references would have been to inform the recipient device of Reference Signal’s that are Quasi CoLocated in respective BWPs, having the same spatial relation.
Claim 30 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 14.
Claim 31 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 15.
Regarding claim 32, Xi discloses a network equipment (NE) for wireless communication (Xi, Fig. 1B), comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and operable (Xi, Fig. 1B; transceiver, memory, processor) to cause the UE to:
transmit first signaling indicating an association between a bandwidth part (BWP) and a set of reference signals (RSs) (Xi, Fig. 8, receiving SRS Configuration; Figs. 10, 11, 13; paragraph [0111], WTRU configured with DL beams for PDCCH, PDSCH reception. each DL beam is associated with DL RSs such as SSB, SS/PNCH block, CSI-RS, SRS. DL RSs may be configured and transmitted per BWP; paragraph [0140] and [0185]-[0189], SRS-SpatialRelationInfo included in SRS configuration which indicates resources for a set of RSs; paragraph [0149], WTRU configured with multiple beams across multiple BWPs, configurations include beam indications for BWPs. for beam indication, a TCI table may be configured; paragraph [0153], each TCI state may explicitly indicate the RS ID in one RS set for a BWP. a default TCI state may be predefined; paragraph [0158], default TCI state configured for multiple BWPs may be TCI sate 0 in Fig. 11);
transmit second signaling indicating a first RS associated with the BWP (Xi, Fig. 8, SRS Triggering; Figs. 9, 10, 11, 13, paragraph [0130], for activation or triggering of aperiodic SRS, DCI may include resource set activation, UL beam indication; paragraph [0155], WTRU receives the assignment for beam indication in the DCI; paragraph [0156], WTRU receives TCI states and identifies the proper beam to use for subsequent PDSCH reception for BWP1, BWP2, BWP3; paragraph [0157], WTRU receives TCI field indicating whether TCI state comprises beams for the current active BWP), wherein the second signaling is different from the first signaling (Xi, Fig. 8, the SRS configuration is different from the SRS triggering); and
perform, in response to the set of RSs failing to comprise the first RS (Xi, Figs. 10, 11, TCI states 0 and 1 do not comprise the RSs in each other’s RS sets; paragraph [0152], when WTRU switches active BWP dynamically by DCI-based switching and corresponding beam may change correspondingly; paragraph [0154], TCI state used for default BWP or old BWP before BWP switching may be used for a new BWP until reconfiguration/re-activation; paragraph [0156], WTRU identifies the proper beam for BWP; paragraph [0157], WTRU receives a TCI field indicating a TCI state that does not comprise a beam for the current active BWP; paragraph [0158], default TCI state configured for multiple BWPs may be TCI sate 0 in Fig. 11 [the set of RSs for default TCI 0 in Fig. 11 does not include the RS for BWP 3 in Fig. 11]), the wireless communication with a user equipment (UE) based at least in part on a second RS associated with the BWP, wherein the second QCL RS is based at least in part on the first QCL RS, wherein the set of RSs comprises the second RS, and wherein the first QCL RS and the second RS are different (Xi, Figs. 10, 11, 13, BWP1 associated with CRI#0 for TCI state 0 and CRI#2 for TCI state 1, BWP2 associated with SSB#3 for TCI state 0 and CRI#4 for TCI state 1, paragraph [0149], WTRU configured with multiple beams across multiple BWPs, configurations include beam indications for BWPs. for beam indication, a TCI table may be configured; paragraph [0152], when WTRU switches active BWP dynamically by DCI-based switching and corresponding beam may change correspondingly; paragraph [0153], each TCI state may explicitly indicate the RS ID in one RS set for a BWP; paragraph [0154], TCI state used for default BWP or old BWP before BWP switching may be used for on a new BWP until reconfiguration/re-activation).
Xi teaches the set of RSs including the first and second RSs, as discussed above. Xi does not explicitly disclose that signaling indicating an association between a bandwidth part (BWP) and a set of quasi co-location (QCL) reference signals (RSs), transmit second signaling indicating a first QCL RS associated with the BWP, and perform the wireless communication with a user equipment (UE) based at least in part on the second QCL RS.
Zhou discloses transmit first signaling indicating an association between a bandwidth part (BWP) and a set of quasi co-location (QCL) reference signals (RSs) (Zhou, paragraph [0041], TCI states provide QCL reference signals; paragraph [0077], RRC layer may provide configuration; paragraph [0083], beam indication may be based on a configuration and downlink signaling of TCI states, TCI state may include a resource set of RS and information about CSI-RS or SSB in the resource set for QCL; paragraph [0089], base station sends to UE configuration information of TCI states, DCI message may include TCI states; paragraph [0090], UE can be provided, for each BWP, a set q0 of CSI-RS indexes for failure detection and a set q1 of CSI-RS or SSB indexes for candidate beams on the BWP, RS indexes in RS sets are indicated by TCI state, the set q0 includes RS indexes with QCL-TypeD configuration for the TCI state; a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that CSI-RS and SSB are QCL-RSs);
perform the wireless communication with a user equipment (UE) based at least in part on the second QCL RS (Zhou, paragraph [0089], configuration may indicate that PDCCH candidate may be enabled to be monitored with two of the TCI states; paragraph [0090], RS indexes in the RS sets indicated by TCI-state for the CORESETs used for monitoring PDCCH).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to indicate association between a bandwidth part (BWP) and Quasi CoLocation RS’s, in the invention of Xi. The motivation to combine the references would have been to inform the recipient device of Reference Signal’s that are Quasi CoLocated in respective BWPs, having the same spatial relation.
Claim 33 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 17.
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xi et al. (US 2021/0159966) in view of Zhou et al. (US 2023/0337253), and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2020/0153500).
Regarding claim 28, Zhou in view of Xi discloses the UE of claim 16. Zhou does not explicitly disclose, but Kim discloses wherein the NE is non-terrestrial (Kim, paragraph [0215]-[0217], QCL applied with satellite base stations).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to perform the wireless communication with a non-terrestrial network equipment (NE) based at least in part on the second QCL RS, in the invention of Zhou. The motivation to combine the references would have been to communicate using satellites where terrestrial base station communication is not possible.
Claim(s) 19 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xi et al. (US 2021/0159966) in view of Zhou et al. (US 2023/0337253), and further in view of Moon et al. (US 2017/0202014).
Regarding claim 19, Xi in view of Zhou discloses the UE of claim 16, wherein to determine the second QCL RS, the at least one processor is operable to cause the UE.
Xi in view of Zhou does not explicitly disclose, but Moon discloses determine an index of the second QCL RS in the set of QCL RSs based at least in part on an additional index of the first QCL RS modulo a numerical quantity of QCL RSs in the set of QCL RSs (Moon, paragraph [0298], taking a modulo operation on the corresponding component CSI-RS configuration index with the number of component CSI-RS configurations).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to determine a second QCL RS by taking an index of the first QCL RS modulo a QCL RS number of a first QCL RS set, in the invention of Xi in view of Zhou. The motivation to combine the references would have been to select a new index in accordance with commonly used procedures.
Claim 34 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 19.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jung et al. (US 20190261244) discloses the UE may not be able to identify any suitable beam from at least one candidate beam set of at least one current active BWP. In such an embodiment, the UE may switch to a default DL BWP and may search for a new suitable beam from a candidate beam set of a default DL BWP.
Zhou et al. (US 20230155753) discloses a TCI and/or QCL of a CORESET of the lowest CORESET ID or an active PDSCH TCI ID may be simultaneously updated by one MAC CE for multiple component carriers in a downlink component carrier list. The UE may determine an updated default uplink beam and/or PL RS for multiple component carriers in an uplink component carrier list based at least in part on a QCL-TypeD reference signal of an updated TCI and/or QCL of a CORESET of the lowest CORESET ID or an active PDSCH TCI ID for one component carrier.
/A.L.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/
Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413