Claim Objection
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 4, the limitation of “a size of said at least one fourth signal line in said first direction is larger than a size of said at least two third signal lines in said first direction” is unclear language. It is not clear what is meant by size, is it the length or the width/breadth or thickness. Appropriate correction is needed.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
In claim 1, “the orthographic projection of said at least one second signal line on the substrate covers an orthographic projection of at least two first signal lines on the substrate; or, at least one set of second traces comprises a plurality of third signal lines and at least one fourth signal line, an orthographic projection of said at least one fourth signal line on the substrate covers an orthographic projection of at least two third signal lines on the substrate”
In claim 3, “wherein said at least one second signal line is located on a side of said at least two first signal lines away from said substrate” (the drawings do not shown with respect to the substrate as claimed).
In claim 4, “a size of said at least one fourth signal line in said first direction is larger than a size of said at least two third signal lines in said first direction”.
In claim 5, “wherein said at least one fourth signal line is located on a side of said at least two third signal lines away from said substrate”.
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 14-18 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ah (US 20220165836 A1, cited by Applicant) in view of Shin (EP 3716338 A2, cited by Applicant)
Regarding claim 1, Ah teaches a transparent display panel 100 (Fig.1), comprising: a substrate 111 (Fig.1-3), a plurality of repeating units (the entire sections that are repeated in and around pixels P1,P2) arranged in an array on said substrate, wherein, a repeating unit comprises a non-transmissive region (pixels P1 and P2) and a plurality of transmissive sub-regions (regions external to P1,P2 and the central portion indicated by TA), adjacent transmissive sub-regions are spaced apart by a non-transmissive region,
said non-transmissive region comprises at least one pixel unit (unit pixels UP1) and N sets of first traces SL1 (first signal line portion [0048]-[0052]) extending in a first direction and M sets of second traces SL2 (second signal line portion SL2 in [0048]) extending in a second direction electrically connected to said at least one pixel unit , said first direction intersects said second direction, both N and M are positive integers, and N and M are not both greater than 1 (such as SL1-1 of SL1 maybe just one in [0064]-[0065]; also see [0050] For example, the first signal line portion SL1 may include a sensing scan line, also further, it is optional for SL1 to be single or multiple lines such as disclosed in [0051]; therefore it is a design choice in the number of wiring lines in the first and second traces)
Ah teaches: SLI has scan lines SSL1 and SSL2 and initialization line AND SL2 has a pixel power line and a common power line.
Furthermore, Ah teaches overlapping of portions of SL1 and SL2 in for example Fig.3 and Fig.4; but does not teach orthographic projections/major portions of SL1 and SL2 overlap (also see objection to Drawings above) such that:
at least one set of first traces comprises a plurality of first signal lines and at least one second signal line, an orthographic projection of said at least one second signal line on the substrate covers an orthographic projection of at least two first signal lines on the substrate;
or
at least one set of second traces comprises a plurality of third signal lines and at least one fourth signal line, an orthographic projection of said at least one fourth signal line on the substrate covers an orthographic projection of at least two third signal lines on the substrate (see Objection to Drawings above).
Shin teaches larger portions of Orthographic projections of Scan lines SLi-1, power line PL2, initialization power line, are overlapped (Fig.13A-13B; Fig.9-12) and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to form overlapped wiring lines, as disclosed in Shin, in the device of Ah in order to save space.
Regarding claim 2, Ah in view of Shin teaches a transparent display panel, wherein a size of said at least one second signal line in said second direction is larger than a size of said at least two first signal lines in said second direction (from the teachings in:
[0056];[0058] and claim 10.The transparent display device of claim 1, wherein a width of the first signal line is narrower than that of the second signal line and also disclosed in Ah: The first signal line SL1 extended in the first direction may have a width smaller or narrower than that of the second signal line SL2 extended in the second direction in Ah;
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use a narrower size of first signal lines in order to increase the transmissive area ([0058]).
Regarding claim 3, Ah in view of Shin teaches a transparent display panel, wherein said at least one second signal line is located on a side of said at least two first signal lines away from said substrate (see Objection to Drawings above; especially with respect to the substrate, as claimed is not shown in the Drawings).
Regarding claim 4, Ah in view of Shin teaches a transparent display panel, wherein a size of said at least one fourth signal line in said first direction is larger than a size of said at least two third signal lines in said first direction (see Objection to Claims and Drawings above).
Regarding claim 5, Ah in view of Shin teaches a transparent display panel, wherein said at least one fourth signal line is located on a side of said at least two third signal lines away from said substrate (see Objection to Drawings above).
Regarding claim 6, Ah in view of Shin teaches a transparent display panel, wherein said at least one second signal line or said at least one fourth signal line is a power supply line ([0054]/ [0059] in Ah: Although not shown in FIG. 4, the second signal line portion SL2 may further include at least one of a pixel power line, a common power line, or a reference line).
Regarding claim 7, with the various design options provided by Ah (wiring lines SL1 and SL2 in [0048]-[0059]) in Ah in view of Shin wherein multiple design options are provided and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to form the wiring lines in the device of Ah in view of Shin wherein both N and M are 1; in order to optimize the space management.
Regarding claim 8, Ah in view of Shin teaches a transparent display panel, wherein a set of first traces comprise a plurality of first signal lines, and a set of second traces comprise a plurality of third signal lines and at least one fourth signal line (from [0055] in Ah: signal line group including a plurality of lines); said at least one fourth signal line comprises a first power supply line and a second power supply line (pixel and common power lines in [0055] in Ah), and an orthographic projection of at least one of said first power supply line and said second power supply line on said substrate covers an orthographic projection of said plurality of third signal lines on said substrate (from the teachings of Shin, see rejection in claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 9, Ah in view of Shin teaches a transparent display panel,, wherein said plurality of first signal lines of said set of first traces comprise a scan line, a light emitting control line, a first power connection line, and a second power connection line, said first power connection line is electrically connected to said first power supply line, and said second power connection line is electrically connected to said second power supply line ([0059] in Ah and scan line, light emission control line, pixel power line, common power line, sensing scan lines corresponding to the power lines and emitting control line in the claim).
Regarding claim 14, Ah in view of Shin teaches a transparent display panel, wherein said plurality of third signal lines comprises at least a plurality of data lines (DL1 and DL2 in at least Fig.4 of Ah) electrically connected to said at least one pixel unit (square section SP1, SP2, SP3; [0050] in Ah).
Regarding claim 15, Ah in view of Shin teaches a transparent display panel, wherein an orthographic projection of said second power supply line (PL1 and PL2 in Fig.10B of Shin) on said substrate overlaps with an orthographic projection of said at least one pixel unit (PXA in Shin) on said substrate, and said first power supply line is located on a side of said second power supply line away from said pixel unit.
Regarding claim 16, Ah in view of Shin teaches a transparent display panel, wherein said at least one pixel unit comprises a plurality of sub-pixels emitting different colors (see in Shin:
Transistors, a capacitor, and an emission element for emitting light of a first color may be disposed in the first pixel region PXA1. In an embodiment, the first color may be red, but the inventive concept is not limited to this example.
Transistors, a capacitor, and an emission element for emitting light of a second color may be disposed in the second pixel region PXA2. In an embodiment, the second color may be blue, but the inventive concept is not limited to this example.
Transistors, a capacitor, and an emission element for emitting light of a third color may be provided in the third pixel region PXA3. In an embodiment, the third color may be green, but the inventive concept is not limited to this example.
each sub-pixel comprises a light emitting element and a pixel circuit electrically connected to said light emitting element, a first electrode AE (in Shin) of said light emitting element (LD in Shin) is electrically connected to said pixel circuit via an anode pad, a second electrode CE of said light emitting element is electrically connected to a cathode pad, and said cathode pad and said second power supply line are an integrated structure (Fig.11)
(see in Shin: In an embodiment, the display module may further include a fourth circuit insulating layer disposed on the third metal pattern and the plurality of third lines, an anode electrode disposed on the fourth circuit insulating layer, an emission layer disposed on the anode electrode, and a cathode electrode disposed on the emission layer
AND
The first electrode of the first transistor T1 may be coupled to the first power ELVDD through the fifth transistor T5, and the second electrode of the first transistor T1 may be coupled to an anode electrode of the emission element LD through the sixth transistor T6. In the present specification, the first transistor T1 may be referred to as "a driving transistor").
Regarding claim 17, Ah in view of Shin teaches a transparent display panel, wherein a first voltage signal provided by said first power supply line is greater than a second voltage signal provided by said second power supply line, wherein the first and second voltage is drawn to the intended use and a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations.
Regarding claim 18, Ah in view of Shin teaches a transparent display panel, wherein said repeating unit is a quadrilateral (see 4 quadrant segments below).
Regarding claim 21, Ah in view of Shin teaches a transparent display panel, wherein said at least one pixel unit comprises a plurality of sub-pixels emitting different colors, each sub-pixel comprises a light emitting element and a pixel circuit electrically connected to said light emitting element, and an orthographic projection of the light emitting element of said sub-pixel on said substrate overlaps with an orthographic projection of the electrically connected pixel circuit on said substrate (claim 6 of Ah; [0021],[0022],[0136]-[0138],[0168]).
Regarding claim 22, Ah in view of Shin teaches a display apparatus, comprising the transparent display panel (Title of Ah).
Claims 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ah (US 20220165836 A1, cited by Applicant) in view of Shin (EP 3716338 A2, cited by Applicant) and further in view of Hwang (US 20170345877 A1)
Regarding claim 10, Ah in view of Shin teaches the invention set forth in claim 8 above, but is silent regarding a shift-scan circuit, wherein an orthographic projection of said at least one fourth signal line on said substrate overlaps with an orthographic projection of said shift-scan circuit on said substrate.
Hwang teaches a shift-scan circuit ([0067] and Fig.1) wherein it discloses:
As shown in FIG. 2, the scan driver 200 may include a plurality of scan shift registers 220 and a plurality of clock signal lines CLK connected to the plurality of scan shift registers 220. In an embodiment, the plurality of clock signal lines CLK may be disposed to overlap the scan shift registers 220. When the plurality of clock signal lines CLK are disposed to overlap the plurality of scan shift registers 220, the bezel area of the display device 1000 may be reduced.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to form the shift can circuits, as disclosed in Hwang, in the device of Ah in view of Shin in order to reduce the area of the device (see in Hwang: the bezel area of the display device 1000 may be reduced).
Regarding claim 19, Ah in view of Shin teaches: said non-transmissive region comprises two pixel units (EA1, EA3 in Fig.5 of Ah), a set of first traces and two sets of second traces (DL1,DL2 in Fig.11), a set of first traces comprise a plurality of first signal lines, a first signal line comprises a first line segment (EML1 in Fig.11 of Ah) extending in said first direction and a second line segment (EML2) extending in said second direction that are connected sequentially,
each of two sets of second traces comprises a plurality of third traces and at least one fourth trace, an orthographic projection of said at least one fourth trace on said substrate overlaps with an orthographic projection of second line segments of said plurality of first signal lines (from the teachings of Shin) on said substrate but does not teach and said two-pixel units are arranged in said first direction and are misaligned.
Hwang teaches non-transmissive region comprises two pixel units (Fig.3), two pixel units are arranged in said first direction and are misaligned (pixels SP1 in the horizontal direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to form the misaligned pixels, as disclosed in Hwang, in the device of Ah in view of Shin in order to minimize crosstalk ([0118] in Hwang).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ah (US 20220165836 A1, cited by Applicant) in view of Shin (EP 3716338 A2, cited by Applicant) and Hwang (US 20170345877 A1) and further in view of Kwon (US 20210320228 A1)
Regarding claim 11, Ah in view of Shin teaches the invention set forth in claim 8 above, but is silent regarding the non-transmissive region of said repeating unit comprises three pixel units arranged sequentially in said first direction, said set of second traces are adjacent to a second pixel unit.
Kwon teaches a display device where in a repeating unit comprises three pixel units arranged sequentially in said first direction, said set of second traces are adjacent to a second pixel unit (pixels DA in Fig.1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to form the arrangement disclosed in Kwon, in the device of Ah in view of Shin and Hwang, in order to achieve higher transmittance and aperture ratio ([0053]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ah (US 20220165836 A1, cited by Applicant) in view of Shin (EP 3716338 A2, cited by Applicant) and further in view of Du (WO 2022057528 A1)
Regarding claim 12, Ah in view of Shin teaches a transparent display panel, wherein a set of first traces comprise a plurality of first signal lines (SL1 in Ah and [0049]) and at least one second signal line; a set of second traces comprise a plurality of third signal lines; said at least one second signal line SL2 comprises a first power supply line and a second power supply line (pixel power and common power-wherein said plurality of first signal lines comprise at least one scan line ([0059] in Ah) and at least one light emitting control line that are electrically connected to said at least one pixel unit ([0059] in Ah) .
Ah in view of Shin does not teach: an orthographic projection of at least one of said first power supply line and said second power supply line on said substrate covers an orthographic projection of at least two first signal lines on said substrate. However, the claimed feature is well-known in the art.
Du teaches a display device wherein an orthographic projection of at least one of said first power supply line and said second power supply line on said substrate covers an orthographic projection of at least two first signal lines on said substrate (see in Du: The orthographic projections of the first power supply voltage line and the first signal line of the driving circuit on the board surface of the base substrate overlap) and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use the arrangement as disclosed in Du, in the device of Ah in view of Shin in order to reduce the overall device size (see in background technique of Du).
Other art
US 20210183983 A1:
Contact Information
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Fatima Farokhrooz whose telephone number is (571)-272-6043. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday- Friday, 9 am - 5 pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, James Greece can be reached on (571) 270-3711. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http;//pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/Fatima N Farokhrooz/
Examiner, Art Unit 2875