DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges Applicant's amendment filed on October 24, 2025. Claims 1, 7, 8, 14, 15 and 20 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6, 8, 9, 13, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seok et al. (US 2019/0297575 A1).
1. Regarding claim 1, Seok teaches a wireless communication system comprising:
a user equipment comprising a receiver and a wake up radio (WUR), wherein the WUR comprises an at least one WUR processor and an at least one WUR memory, wherein the at least one WUR memory is configured to store computer program code (Paragraph [0011] MU WUR packet),
wherein the WUR is configured to receive, from an at least one cell station, a wake up signal (WUS) comprising a user frame and a system frame, wherein the user frame comprises a first preamble and a first data portion, and the system frame comprises a second preamble and a second data portion (Paragraph [0011] transmit packet legacy preamble followed by invalid wake-up signal along with preambles and wake-up signals destined to other STAs), and
wherein the at least one WUR processor is configured to access the at least one WUR memory and, by executing the computer program code stored therein
identify the WUS and activate the receiver (Paragraph [0011] transmit packet legacy preamble followed by invalid wake-up signal along with preambles and wake-up signals destined to other STAs).
2. Regarding claim 8, Seok teaches a method of generating a wake up signal (WUS) in a wireless communication system, the wireless communication system comprising a user equipment comprising a receiver and a wake up radio (WUR) (Paragraph [0011] MU WUR packet), the method performed by at least one processor and comprising:
receiving, by the WUR from an at least one cell station, a wake up signal (WUS) comprising a user frame and a system frame, wherein the user frame comprises a first preamble and a first data portion, and the system frame comprises a second preamble and a second data portion (Paragraph [0011] transmit packet legacy preamble followed by invalid wake-up signal along with preambles and wake-up signals destined to other STAs);
identifying, by the WUR, the WUS; and based on the identification of the WUS by the WUR, activating the receiver (Paragraph [0011] transmit packet legacy preamble followed by invalid wake-up signal along with preambles and wake-up signals destined to other STAs).
3. Regarding claim 15, Seok teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium having instructions stored therein (Figure 10 Paragraph [0063]), which when executed by a processor cause the processor to execute a method of generating a wake up signal (WUS), the method comprising:
receiving, by the WUR from an at least one cell station, a wake up signal (WUS) comprising a user frame and a system frame, wherein the user frame comprises a first preamble and a first data portion, and the system frame comprises a second preamble and a second data portion (Paragraph [0011] transmit packet legacy preamble followed by invalid wake-up signal along with preambles and wake-up signals destined to other STAs); Identifying, by the WUR, the WUS; and based on the identification of the WUS by the WUR, activating the receiver (Paragraph [0011] transmit packet legacy preamble followed by invalid wake-up signal along with preambles and wake-up signals destined to other STAs).
4. Regarding claims 2, 9, and 16, Seok teaches wherein the system frame comprises one or more of an information on a cell ID, an information on a duty cycle of the WUS, a synchronization signal, and an information on a coding rate of the user frame (Seok, Paragraphs [0037] and [0038] duty cycle).
5. Regarding claims 6 and 13, Seok teaches, wherein the WUS is comprised of one of a plurality of On-Off-Key (OOK) waveform symbols and a plurality of frequency shift key (FSK) waveform symbols (Paragraphs [0035] and [0052] OOK modulation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 7, 10, 14, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seok et al. (US 2019/0297575 A1) in view of Asterjadhi et al. (US 2019/0007901 A1).
6. Regarding claims 3, 10, and 17, Seok does not explicitly disclose wherein the user frame comprises an information on a portion of the WUS that should be disregarded by the WUR.
Asterjadhi teaches wherein the user frame comprises an information on a portion of the WUS that should be disregarded by the WUR (Paragraphs [0012], [0166], and [0256] portion of the WUR frame may be omitted).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the user frame comprises an information on a portion of the WUS that should be disregarded by the WUR as taught by Asterjadhi in the system of Seok for improved communicating with WUR devices see Paragraph [0005] of Asterjadhi.
7. Regarding claims 7, 14, and 20, Seok does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one WUR processor is further configured to access the at least one WUR memory and, by executing the computer program code stored therein, identify a second cell station in communication with the WUR, and based on the identification of the second cell station activate the conventional receiver.
Asterjadhi teaches wherein the at least one WUR processor is further configured to access the at least one WUR memory and, by executing the computer program code stored therein, identify a second cell station in communication with the WUR, and based on the identification of the second cell station activate the conventional receiver (Paragraph [0218] and [0240] paged ID).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the at least one WUR processor is further configured to access the at least one WUR memory and, by executing the computer program code stored therein, identify a second cell station in communication with the WUR, and based on the identification of the second cell station activate the conventional receiver as taught by Asterjadhi in the system of Seok for improved communicating with WUR devices see Paragraph [0005] of Asterjadhi.
Claims 4, 5, 11, 12, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seok et al. (US 2019/0297575 A1) in further view of Chu et al. (USPN 10,873,909 B1).
8. Regarding claims 4, 11, and 18, Seok does not explicitly disclose wherein a coding rate of the system frame is different than a coding rate of the user frame.
Chu teaches wherein a coding rate of the system frame is different than a coding rate of the user frame (col 14. Lines 47- 67 length different, higher coding rate).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein a coding rate of the system frame is different than a coding rate of the user frame as taught by Chu in the system of Seok for supporting different MCS see Chu col. 14 lines 41-61.
9. Regarding claims 5, 12, and 19, Seok teaches wherein
the first data portion comprises a control portion and a user data portion ((Paragraph [0011] transmit packet legacy preamble followed by invalid wake-up signal along with preambles and wake-up signals destined to other STAs).
Seok does not explicitly disclose
the control portion has a different coding rate than the user data portion, and
the control portion comprises an information on the coding rate of the user data portion.
Chu teaches the control portion has a different coding rate than the user data portion, and the control portion comprises an information on the coding rate of the user data portion (col 14. Lines 47- 67 length different, higher coding rate).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the control portion has a different coding rate than the user data portion, and the control portion comprises an information on the coding rate of the user data portion as taught by Chu in the system of Seok for supporting different MCS see Chu col. 14 lines 41-61.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DIANE L LO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466