DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-11, 13, 15-17, and 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kennedy et al (US20210381823A1; hereinafter referred to as Kennedy) in view of Gorenberg et al (US20050171443A1; hereinafter referred to as Gorenberg).
Regarding Claim 1, Kennedy discloses an optomechanical sensor system for use with a patient (“an optical palpation device for evaluating a mechanical property of a sample material” [Abstract], ) the optomechanical sensor system comprising:
a patient-worn surface displacement system comprising (“The reflective skin is geometrically altered in response to pressure applied by an entity touching the reflective skin, the geometrical alteration causing localized changes in the surface normal of the skin and associated localized changes in the amount of light reflected from the reflective skin” [0005], “the sensing layer is provided in the form of a lens and the optical palpation device may be arranged for positioning at an eye of a patient and for determining variations in pressure and/or stiffness of the eye.” [0030]):
a deformable surface configured to be positioned against the patient (“a sensing layer positioned at the sensing portion of the body and having a sensing surface positioned for direct or indirect contact with a surface area of the sample material, the sensing layer being deformable and having an optically detectable marker or pattern” [0032]),
and a plurality of marks on or in or reflected off of the deformable surface(“the sensing layer being deformable and having an optically detectable marker or pattern” [0032]),
the plurality of marks being configured to reflect or emit electromagnetic radiation (EMR) or light (“the deformation-dependent optical property may relate to a wavelengths range of the light that is transmitted at least through a portion of the sensing layer” [0012], “detect light reflected or transmitted from the marker or pattern” [0037], visible light falls under electromagnetic radiation therefore the markers of Kennedy reflect EMR);
the optomechanical sensor system (“there is provided an optical palpation device for evaluating a mechanical property of a sample material” [0005]) further comprising:
an actuator configured to apply a pressure to hold at least a portion of the surface displacement system against the patient such that movement causes corresponding movement of the deformable surface together with the plurality of marks (“a pressure is applied through both the sensing layer and at least a portion of the surface area of the sample material, the sensing layer is deformed and because of the predetermined deformation-dependent optical property of the sensing layer the mechanical property of the sample material is measurable by detecting the light that transmitted through at least a portion of the sensing layer.” [0009], “The detectable marker or pattern may be intrinsic to the sensing layer.” [0036], “The mechanical property may be elasticity and the detected light may be indicative of a distribution of stress and/or deformation across the sensing layer in response to the applied pressure, the distribution of stress and/or deformation being associated with the mechanical property of the sample material.” [0046]);
an imaging system configured to visualize the plurality of marks as they move with the movement of the deformable surface (“The processor may comprise a graphic processing unit (GPU) and use GPU algorithm to accelerate the processing in order to acquire real-time images of the sensing layer and real-time images including features indicative of a distribution of stress and/or deformation across the sensing layer caused by the applied pressure.” [0055], “The optical system 500 allows performing a light-field imaging of the deformable incompressible sensing layer 106, wherein an image can be formed, the image being indicative of a depth-distribution of elements of deformation within the sensing layer 106.” [0135])
the plurality of marks being configured to be visualized by the imaging system as they move with the movement of the deformable surface (“The processor may comprise a graphic processing unit (GPU) and use GPU algorithm to accelerate the processing in order to acquire real-time images of the sensing layer and real-time images including features indicative of a distribution of stress and/or deformation across the sensing layer caused by the applied pressure.” [0055] “The optical system 500 allows performing a light-field imaging of the deformable incompressible sensing layer 106, wherein an image can be formed, the image being indicative of a depth-distribution of elements of deformation within the sensing layer 106.” [0135]);
and a computer system coupled to the imaging system, the computer system comprising a processor and a memory, the memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor (“a processor coupled to the optical palpation device and configured to receive a signal indicative of information associated with the light detected by the light detector; wherein the information can be used to obtain a measure of the mechanical property of the sample material.” [0050], “The processor may be provided in the form of a computer, such as a desktop computer, a mobile phone or any other mobile devices, such as a tablet or any other suitable form.” [0053], computers inherently contain memory storage), cause the computer system to:
receive, from the imaging system, a plurality of images including the plurality of marks (“The optical system 500 allows performing a light-field imaging of the deformable incompressible sensing layer 106, wherein an image can be formed, the image being indicative of a depth-distribution of elements of deformation within the sensing layer 106.” [0135], “The detectable marker or pattern may be intrinsic to the sensing layer.” [0036]),
determine a movement of the marks based on the received plurality of images (“applying a pressure through both the sensing layer and at least a portion of a respective surface area of the sample material such that the sensing layer is compressed and (ii) either simultaneously detecting light transmitted through, or reflected from, at least a portion of the sensing layer for each of the plurality of surfaces areas of the sample material, or sequentially detecting light during movement of the device across the sample material; and detecting a movement or change in coordinates of the sensing layer or the device relative to the sample material.” [0072-0073]),
and determine a parameter value to be associated with the patient based at least on the determined movement of the marks and on a plurality of values indicative of different pressures in the surface displacement system, wherein the parameter value is determined by analyzing the plurality of values relative to the determined movement at the different pressures in the surface displacement system (“the optical palpation device comprises a camera and a motion detector for detecting a position or motion of the sensing layer or the device relative to the sample material, the method comprising: providing a motion detector for detecting a position of the sensing layer or the device relative to the sample material when the device is moved or scanned relative to a surface of the sample material; wherein the step of applying a pressure through both the sensing layer and at least a portion of the surface area of the sample material comprises applying varying different pressures through both the sensing layer and at least a portion of the sample material, comprising moving a portion of the optical palpation device with the sensing layer relative to the material sample to apply the varying different pressures; wherein the step of detecting light transmitted or reflected from at least a portion of the sensing layer is conducted using the camera and while the varying different pressures are applied such that images are detected for a sequence of pressures; wherein the mechanical property, such as stress, of the sample material can be determined from the change in optical property of the sensing layer detected with the images recorded for the sequence of pressures; and wherein strain of the material sample can be determined from a determined movement of the probe relative to the material sample, the movement being determined using the provided motion detector; whereby a non-linear mechanical property of the material sample can be determined.” [0009]).
Kennedy does not specifically disclose the deformable surface being adjacent to a superficial artery thereof; an actuator applying pressure to the superficial artery; and the determined parameter being a cardiopulmonary parameter.
However; in the similar field of patient parameter monitoring, Gorenberg teaches a non-invasive apparatus for measuring cardiac mechanical performance of a patient, the apparatus comprising a pressure applying element mountable on a limb of the patient [Abstract].
Gorenberg also teaches the deformable surface being adjacent to a superficial artery thereof (“the velocity of the propagation of the flow of blood is calculated by a fit of a theoretical curve to the combined data of plurality of sensors, each detecting deformation changes within corresponding segment or segments of the inflatable cuff.” [0062], “providing sensor coupled to the pressure applying element, sensing mechanical changes corresponding to volumetric changes in the artery” [0067], “the analyzer are incorporated in a device worn by the patient on the wrist in the shape of a bracelet 402, secured to the wrist by a strap. The bracelet contains an inflatable or mechanical device for applying a gradually reducing pressure and a sensor comprising piezoelectric elements, as in the case of the previous embodiment.” [0125]);
an actuator applying pressure to the superficial artery (“providing a pressure applying element mountable on a limb of the patient for applying pressure enough to make a longitudinal segment of an artery” [0066]);
and the determined parameter being a cardiopulmonary parameter (“the method further comprises measuring blood pressure of the patient.” [0073]).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kennedy as outlined above with the deformable surface being adjacent to a superficial artery thereof; an actuator applying pressure to the superficial artery; and the determined parameter being a cardiopulmonary parameter as taught by Gorenberg, because it allows for the periodical or continuous monitoring of the hearts mechanical performance [0022].
Regarding Claim 3, Kennedy discloses all limitations noted above except that the actuator is selected from the group consisting of a piston configured to be moved to adjust the pressure on the deformable surface, an inflatable bladder, an adjustable strap, a chamber coupled to an air pump, and a combination thereof.
However; in the similar field of patient parameter monitoring, Gorenberg teaches that the actuator is selected from the group consisting of a piston configured to be moved to adjust the pressure on the deformable surface, an inflatable bladder, an adjustable strap, a chamber coupled to an air pump, and a combination thereof (“the pressure applying element is coupled to a bracelet having a diameter which is automatically adjustable” [0040], “the bracelet consists of a strap and wherein bracelet's diameter may be increased or decreased by turning a screw operated by a motor to which the strap is attached” [0041])
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kennedy as outlined above with the actuator is selected from the group consisting of a piston configured to be moved to adjust the pressure on the deformable surface, an inflatable bladder, an adjustable strap, a chamber coupled to an air pump, and a combination thereof as taught by Gorenberg, because it allows for the periodical or continuous monitoring of the hearts mechanical performance [0022].
Regarding Claim 4, Kennedy discloses all limitations noted above except that the superficial artery comprises a radial artery.
However; in the similar field of patient parameter monitoring, Gorenberg teaches that the superficial artery comprises a radial artery (“the wrist apparatus shown in FIG. 4 it is sufficient to focus the pressure on a small area adjacent to the radial artery, although it is also possible to use a device applying circumferential pressure.” [0157]).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kennedy as outlined above with the superficial artery comprises a radial artery as taught by Gorenberg, because it allows for the periodical or continuous monitoring of the hearts mechanical performance [0022].
Regarding Claim 5, Kennedy discloses all limitations noted above except that the cardiopulmonary parameter is selected from the group consisting of a heart rate, a blood pressure, a respiratory rate, and a combination thereof.
However; in the similar field of patient parameter monitoring, Gorenberg teaches that the cardiopulmonary parameter is selected from the group consisting of a heart rate, a blood pressure, a respiratory rate, and a combination thereof (“the method further comprises measuring blood pressure of the patient.” [0073]).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kennedy as outlined above with the cardiopulmonary parameter being selected from the group consisting of a heart rate, a blood pressure, a respiratory rate, and a combination thereof as taught by Gorenberg, because it allows for the periodical or continuous monitoring of the hearts mechanical performance [0022].
Regarding Claim 6, Kennedy in view of Gorenberg further discloses further comprising: a mirror system configured to cause the imaging system to visualize the plurality of marks at an oblique angle (“The micro lenses 502 are positioned at a distance din from the main lens 506 and a position fx from the light detector 604… the lateral location and angle of each light ray 510 transmitted through the sensing layer 106 can be detected by the light detector 504 by means of the micro lenses 502.” [0135]).
Regarding Claim 7, Kennedy in view of Gorenberg further discloses a housing containing the patient-worn surface displacement system and the imaging system (“an optical palpation device…comprising: a body having a sensing portion a sensing layer positioned at the sensing portion of the body and having a sensing surface positioned for direct or indirect contact with a surface area of the sample material, the sensing layer being deformable and having an optically detectable marker or pattern; and an optical system capable of providing information that can be used to determine a movement of the marker or pattern relative to the optical system and upon deformation of the sensing layer” [0032-0034], see Figure 1 for the housing 101, optical system 108 and sensing layer 110).
Regarding Claim 8, Kennedy in view of Gorenberg further discloses that the imaging system is separate from the patient-worn surface displacement system (“an optical palpation device…comprising: a body having a sensing portion a sensing layer positioned at the sensing portion of the body and having a sensing surface positioned for direct or indirect contact with a surface area of the sample material, the sensing layer being deformable and having an optically detectable marker or pattern; and an optical system capable of providing information that can be used to determine a movement of the marker or pattern relative to the optical system and upon deformation of the sensing layer” [0032-0034], see Figure 1 for the housing 101, optical system 108 and sensing layer 110).
Regarding Claim 9, Kennedy in view of Gorenberg further discloses that the plurality of marks comprises optically visible marks (“having an optically detectable marker or pattern” [0034]).
Regarding Claim 10, Kennedy in view of Gorenberg further discloses that the plurality of marks comprises fluorescent marks (“The markers may also comprise fluorescent particles or photoluminescent particles.” [0043]).
Regarding Claim 11, Kennedy in view of Gorenberg further discloses further comprising at least one translucent or transparent layer arranged between the imaging system and the plurality of marks (“a deformable sensing layer comprising a transparent silicone material” [0099], “the deformable sensing layer comprises a silicone material and may have air cavities distributed throughout such that the sensing layer has a predetermined opacity” [0013], silicone based elastomeric gels used for medical settings is known in the art see M. Zare, E. R. Ghomi, P. D. Venkatraman, and S. Ramakrishna, “Silicone‐based biomaterials for biomedical applications: Antimicrobial strategies and 3D printing technologies,” Journal of Applied Polymer Science, vol. 138, no. 38, May 2021, doi: 10.1002).
Regarding Claim 13, Kennedy discloses a method of monitoring a parameter of a patient using an optomechanical sensor system, (“an optical palpation device for evaluating a mechanical property of a sample material” [Abstract]) the , the optomechanical sensor system comprising :
a surface displacement system having a deformable surface (“a sensing layer positioned at the sensing portion of the body and having a sensing surface positioned for direct or indirect contact with a surface area of the sample material, the sensing layer being deformable and having an optically detectable marker or pattern” [0032]),
and an actuator configured to apply an adjustable pressure to hold the surface displacement system against the patient (“wherein the step of applying a pressure through both the sensing layer and at least a portion of the surface area of the sample material comprises applying varying different pressures through both the sensing layer and at least a portion of the sample material.” [0009], “The optical palpation device 100 is arranged such that, when the sensing surface 110 of the sensing layer 106 is in contact with the surface area 112 of the sample material 114 and a pressure is applied across both the sensing layer 106 and at least a portion of the surface area 112 of the sample material 114, the sensing layer 106 is compressed and the predetermined compression-dependent optical property of the sensing layer 106 influences the light within the sensing layer 106 such that the light detected by the camera 108 is a measure for the mechanical property of the sample material 114.” [0105], “there is shown an illustration 200 of how a load applied at different pressure levels influences the light within the sensing layer 106.” [0107]), the method comprising the steps of:
affixing the surface displacement system adjacent to a patient (“The reflective skin is geometrically altered in response to pressure applied by an entity touching the reflective skin, the geometrical alteration causing localized changes in the surface normal of the skin and associated localized changes in the amount of light reflected from the reflective skin” [0005], “the sensing layer is provided in the form of a lens and the optical palpation device may be arranged for positioning at an eye of a patient and for determining variations in pressure and/or stiffness of the eye.” [0030])
causing the actuator to apply the adjustable pressure to hold the surface displacement system against the patient such that movement causes corresponding movement of the deformable surface together with a plurality of marks that are on or in or reflected off of the deformable surface and are configured to reflect or emit electromagnetic radiation (EMR) or light (“a pressure is applied through both the sensing layer and at least a portion of the surface area of the sample material, the sensing layer is deformed and because of the predetermined deformation-dependent optical property of the sensing layer the mechanical property of the sample material is measurable by detecting the light that transmitted through at least a portion of the sensing layer.” [0009], “The detectable marker or pattern may be intrinsic to the sensing layer.” [0036], “the deformation-dependent optical property may relate to a wavelengths range of the light that is transmitted at least through a portion of the sensing layer” [0012], “detect light reflected or transmitted from the marker or pattern” [0037], visible light falls under electromagnetic radiation therefore the markers of Kennedy reflect EMR);
illuminating, via an illumination source, the plurality of marks to aid in visualization thereof as they move with the movement of the deformable surface (“In addition, a light source (not shown) may be provided within the body 102 for directing light into the sensing layer. The camera 108 within the body 102 is then configured to capture light transmitted by the sensing layer 106 in response to receiving the light from the light source.” [0123], “The optical system 500 allows performing a light-field imaging of the deformable incompressible sensing layer 106, wherein an image can be formed, the image being indicative of a depth-distribution of elements of deformation within the sensing layer 106.” [0135], “The detectable marker or pattern may be intrinsic to the sensing layer.” [0036], “a deformable sensing layer comprising a transparent silicone material” [0099])
capturing, via an imaging system configured to visualize the plurality of marks (“The optical system 500 allows performing a light-field imaging of the deformable incompressible sensing layer 106, wherein an image can be formed, the image being indicative of a depth-distribution of elements of deformation within the sensing layer 106.” [0135]; “a deformable sensing layer comprising a transparent silicone material” [0099])
determining, via a computer system, a movement of the plurality of marks based on the received plurality of images (“a processor coupled to the optical palpation device and configured to receive a signal indicative of information associated with the light detected by the light detector; wherein the information can be used to obtain a measure of the mechanical property of the sample material.” [0050], “The processor may be provided in the form of a computer, such as a desktop computer, a mobile phone or any other mobile devices, such as a tablet or any other suitable form.” [0053], “applying a pressure through both the sensing layer and at least a portion of a respective surface area of the sample material such that the sensing layer is compressed and (ii) either simultaneously detecting light transmitted through, or reflected from, at least a portion of the sensing layer for each of the plurality of surfaces areas of the sample material, or sequentially detecting light during movement of the device across the sample material; and detecting a movement or change in coordinates of the sensing layer or the device relative to the sample material.” [0072-0073]),
and determining, via the computer system, a parameter value to be associated with the patient based at least on the determined movement of the plurality of marks and on a plurality of values indicative of different pressures in the surface displacement system, wherein the cardiopulmonary parameter value is determined by analyzing the plurality of values relative to the determined movement at the different pressures in the surface displacement system (“the sensing layer is deformed and because of the predetermined deformation-dependent optical property of the sensing layer the mechanical property of the sample material is measurable by detecting the light that transmitted through at least a portion of the sensing layer.” [0009], “the optical palpation device comprises a camera and a motion detector for detecting a position or motion of the sensing layer or the device relative to the sample material, the method comprising: providing a motion detector for detecting a position of the sensing layer or the device relative to the sample material when the device is moved or scanned relative to a surface of the sample material; wherein the step of applying a pressure through both the sensing layer and at least a portion of the surface area of the sample material comprises applying varying different pressures through both the sensing layer and at least a portion of the sample material, comprising moving a portion of the optical palpation device with the sensing layer relative to the material sample to apply the varying different pressures; wherein the step of detecting light transmitted or reflected from at least a portion of the sensing layer is conducted using the camera and while the varying different pressures are applied such that images are detected for a sequence of pressures; wherein the mechanical property, such as stress, of the sample material can be determined from the change in optical property of the sensing layer detected with the images recorded for the sequence of pressures; and wherein strain of the material sample can be determined from a determined movement of the probe relative to the material sample, the movement being determined using the provided motion detector; whereby a non-linear mechanical property of the material sample can be determined.” [0009]).
Kennedy does not specifically disclose the deformable surface being adjacent to a superficial artery thereof; an actuator applying pressure to the superficial artery; and the determined parameter being a cardiopulmonary parameter.
However; in the similar field of patient parameter monitoring, Gorenberg teaches a non-invasive apparatus for measuring cardiac mechanical performance of a patient, the apparatus comprising a pressure applying element mountable on a limb of the patient [Abstract].
Gorenberg also teaches the deformable surface being adjacent to a superficial artery thereof (“the velocity of the propagation of the flow of blood is calculated by a fit of a theoretical curve to the combined data of plurality of sensors, each detecting deformation changes within corresponding segment or segments of the inflatable cuff.” [0062], “providing sensor coupled to the pressure applying element, sensing mechanical changes corresponding to volumetric changes in the artery” [0067], “the analyzer are incorporated in a device worn by the patient on the wrist in the shape of a bracelet 402, secured to the wrist by a strap. The bracelet contains an inflatable or mechanical device for applying a gradually reducing pressure and a sensor comprising piezoelectric elements, as in the case of the previous embodiment.” [0125]);
an actuator applying pressure to the superficial artery (“providing a pressure applying element mountable on a limb of the patient for applying pressure enough to make a longitudinal segment of an artery” [0066]);
and the determined parameter being a cardiopulmonary parameter (“the method further comprises measuring blood pressure of the patient.” [0073]).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kennedy as outlined above with the deformable surface being adjacent to a superficial artery thereof; an actuator applying pressure to the superficial artery; and the determined parameter being a cardiopulmonary parameter as taught by Gorenberg, because it allows for the periodical or continuous monitoring of the hearts mechanical performance [0022].
Regarding Claim 15, Kennedy discloses all limitations noted above except that the actuator is selected from the group consisting of a piston configured to be moved to adjust the pressure on the deformable surface, an inflatable bladder, an adjustable strap, a chamber coupled to an air pump, and a combination thereof.
However; in the similar field of patient parameter monitoring, Gorenberg teaches that the actuator is selected from the group consisting of a piston configured to be moved to adjust the pressure on the deformable surface, an inflatable bladder, an adjustable strap, a chamber coupled to an air pump, and a combination thereof (“the pressure applying element is coupled to a bracelet having a diameter which is automatically adjustable” [0040], “the bracelet consists of a strap and wherein bracelet's diameter may be increased or decreased by turning a screw operated by a motor to which the strap is attached” [0041])
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kennedy as outlined above with the actuator is selected from the group consisting of a piston configured to be moved to adjust the pressure on the deformable surface, an inflatable bladder, an adjustable strap, a chamber coupled to an air pump, and a combination thereof as taught by Gorenberg, because it allows for the periodical or continuous monitoring of the hearts mechanical performance [0022].
Regarding Claim 16, Kennedy discloses all limitations noted above except that the superficial artery comprises a radial artery.
However; in the similar field of patient parameter monitoring, Gorenberg teaches that the superficial artery comprises a radial artery (“the wrist apparatus shown in FIG. 4 it is sufficient to focus the pressure on a small area adjacent to the radial artery, although it is also possible to use a device applying circumferential pressure.” [0157]).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kennedy as outlined above with the superficial artery comprises a radial artery as taught by Gorenberg, because it allows for the periodical or continuous monitoring of the hearts mechanical performance [0022].
Regarding Claim 17, Kennedy discloses all limitations noted above except that the cardiopulmonary parameter is selected from the group consisting of a heart rate, a blood pressure, a respiratory rate, and a combination thereof.
However; in the similar field of patient parameter monitoring, Gorenberg teaches that the cardiopulmonary parameter is selected from the group consisting of a heart rate, a blood pressure, a respiratory rate, and a combination thereof (“the method further comprises measuring blood pressure of the patient.” [0073]).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kennedy as outlined above with the cardiopulmonary parameter being selected from the group consisting of a heart rate, a blood pressure, a respiratory rate, and a combination thereof as taught by Gorenberg, because it allows for the periodical or continuous monitoring of the hearts mechanical performance [0022].
Regarding Claim 25, Kennedy discloses that the at least one translucent or transparent layer is a clear layer that is part of a balloon or an elastomeric gel (“the deformable sensing layer comprises a silicone material and may have air cavities distributed throughout such that the sensing layer has a predetermined opacity.” [0013], “The sensing layer may be positioned outside of, and/or attached to, a balloon of the balloon catheter” [0027]).
Regarding Claim 26, Kennedy discloses further comprising at least one translucent or transparent layer arranged between the imaging system and the plurality of marks (“the deformable sensing layer comprises a silicone material and may have air cavities distributed throughout such that the sensing layer has a predetermined opacity.” [0013], “The sensing layer may be positioned outside of, and/or attached to, a balloon of the balloon catheter” [0027], “a sensing layer positioned at the sensing portion of the body and having a sensing surface positioned for direct or indirect contact with a surface area of the sample material, the sensing layer being deformable and having an optically detectable marker or pattern” [0032]).
Regarding Claim 27, Kennedy discloses further comprising an illumination source configured to illuminate the plurality of marks to aid in visualization of the plurality of marks through the at least one translucent or transparent layer as the plurality of marks move with the movement of the deformable surface. (“The sensing layer may be positioned outside of, and/or attached to, a balloon of the balloon catheter” [0027], “a light source (not shown) may be provided within the body 102 for directing light into the sensing layer. The camera 108 within the body 102 is then configured to capture light transmitted by the sensing layer 106 in response to receiving the light from the light source.” [0123]).
Regarding Claim 28, Kennedy discloses that the plurality of marks are reflected off of the deformable surface (“a sensing layer positioned at the sensing portion of the body and having a sensing surface positioned for direct or indirect contact with a surface area of the sample material, the sensing layer being deformable and having an optically detectable marker or pattern” [0032], “the optical system comprises at least two spaced apart light detector components positioned to detect light reflected or transmitted from the marker or pattern” [0037]).
Claims 2 & 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kennedy in view of Gorenberg as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Adelson (US20090315989A1)
Regarding Claim 2, Kennedy in view of Gorenberg further discloses that the deformable surface is comprisied of a silicone material (“the deformable sensing layer comprises a silicone material and may have air cavities distributed throughout such that the sensing layer has a predetermined opacity” [0013])
Kennedy in view of Gorenberg does not specifically disclose that the deformable surface is selected from the group consisting of an elastomeric gel, a fluid-filled balloon, a membrane, and a combination thereof.
However, in the similar field of tactile sensors, Adelson teaches a tactile sensor that includes a photosensing structure, a volume of elastomer capable of transmitting an image, and a reflective skin covering the volume of elastomer [Abstract]. The reflective skin is illuminated through the volume of elastomer by one or more light sources, and has particles that reflect light incident on the reflective skin from within the volume of elastomer [Abstract].
Adelson also teaches that the deformable surface is selected from the group consisting of an elastomeric gel, a fluid-filled balloon, a membrane, and a combination thereof (“Pressure can be applied to the skin by a rigid object or a non-rigid object. In the case of a non-rigid object, such as a fingertip, both the object and the skin will deform… the elastomer are made of very soft gel-like materials” [0027], “The clear elastomer can be composed of a wide range of materials including but not limited to silicone” [0021],
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kennedy and Gorenberg as outlined above with the deformable surface being selected from the group consisting of an elastomeric gel, a fluid-filled balloon, a membrane, and a combination thereof as taught by Adelson, because it leads to devices that are more sensitive to pressure patterns [0023].
Regarding Claim 14, Kennedy in view of Gorenberg further discloses that the deformable surface is comprisied of a silicone material (“the deformable sensing layer comprises a silicone material and may have air cavities distributed throughout such that the sensing layer has a predetermined opacity” [0013])
Kennedy in view of Gorenberg does not specifically disclose that the deformable surface is selected from the group consisting of an elastomeric gel, a fluid-filled balloon, a membrane, and a combination thereof.
However, in the similar field of tactile sensors, Adelson teaches a tactile sensor that includes a photosensing structure, a volume of elastomer capable of transmitting an image, and a reflective skin covering the volume of elastomer [Abstract]. The reflective skin is illuminated through the volume of elastomer by one or more light sources, and has particles that reflect light incident on the reflective skin from within the volume of elastomer [Abstract].
Adelson also teaches that the deformable surface is selected from the group consisting of an elastomeric gel, a fluid-filled balloon, a membrane, and a combination thereof (“Pressure can be applied to the skin by a rigid object or a non-rigid object. In the case of a non-rigid object, such as a fingertip, both the object and the skin will deform… the elastomer are made of very soft gel-like materials” [0027], “The clear elastomer can be composed of a wide range of materials including but not limited to silicone” [0021],
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kennedy and Gorenberg as outlined above with the deformable surface being selected from the group consisting of an elastomeric gel, a fluid-filled balloon, a membrane, and a combination thereof as taught by Adelson, because it leads to devices that are more sensitive to pressure patterns [0023].
Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kennedy in view of Gorenberg as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Jeung et al (US20140267773A1; hereinafter referred to as Jeung)
Regarding Claim 21, Kennedy in view of Gorenberg discloses an illumination source configured to illuminate the plurality of marks to aid in visualization of the plurality of marks (“a light source (not shown) may be provided within the body 102 for directing light into the sensing layer. The camera 108 within the body 102 is then configured to capture light transmitted by the sensing layer 106 in response to receiving the light from the light source.” [Kennedy 0123]).
Kennedy in view of Gorenberg does not specifically disclose that the illumination source produces a short wave light to illuminate the plurality of marks to reduce artifacts caused by reflections or scattered light.
However; in the similar field of illuminated optical markers, Jeung teaches a marker system that includes a marker coupled to a light source configured to emit reflected light for detection by a camera [Abstract].
Jeung also teaches that the illumination source produces a short wave light to illuminate the plurality of marks to reduce artifacts caused by reflections or scattered light (“The marker block 202 includes a plurality of markers 208. Each marker 208 is configured to emit light. In the illustrated embodiments, each marker 208 includes a LED configured for emitting light. In some embodiments, each LED is configured to emit infrared light. In other embodiments, each LED is configured to emit visible light. In further embodiments, each LED may be configured to emit ultraviolet (UV) light. Also, in other embodiments, each LED may be configured for emitting light in different spectrums.” [0153], “the marker block may be used in an imaging procedure without causing metal artifacts in images” [0191]).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kennedy and Gorenberg as outlined above with the illumination source producing a short wave light to illuminate the plurality of marks to reduce artifacts caused by reflections or scattered light as taught by Jeung, because this configuration allows the camera to detect the markers accurately. [0172].
Regarding Claim 22, Kennedy & Gorenberg discloses all limitations noted above except that the short wave light is a blue light, a violet light, an ultraviolet light, or short wave infrared, the system further comprising an imaging filter adjacent to the imaging system, the imaging filter being configured to permit the short wave light to pass through the imaging filter to the imaging system while blocking at least one EMR spectrum other than the short wave light from being received by the imaging system.
However; in the similar field of illuminated optical markers, Jeung teaches the short wave light is a blue light, a violet light, an ultraviolet light, or infrared (“The marker block 202 includes a plurality of markers 208. Each marker 208 is configured to emit light. In the illustrated embodiments, each marker 208 includes a LED configured for emitting light. In some embodiments, each LED is configured to emit infrared light. In other embodiments, each LED is configured to emit visible light. In further embodiments, each LED may be configured to emit ultraviolet (UV) light. Also, in other embodiments, each LED may be configured for emitting light in different spectrums.” [0153]),
the system further comprising an imaging filter adjacent to the imaging system, the imaging filter being configured to permit the short wave light to pass through the imaging filter to the imaging system while blocking at least one EMR spectrum other than the short wave light from being received by the imaging system (“the filter(s) may be configured to reduce light being imaged by the camera to a bandwidth anywhere within a range of 10 nm to 100 nm. Also, in some embodiments, the filter system 209 may include a narrow bandpass filter centered around the LED wavelength. For example, in some cases, the filter may have a passband of 10 nm, or any of other values. This ensures that only the LED emittance is visible in the camera image” [0157]).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kennedy and Gorenberg as outlined above with the short wave light being a blue light, a violet light, an ultraviolet light, or infrared, the system further comprising an imaging filter adjacent to the imaging system, the imaging filter being configured to permit the short wave light to pass through the imaging filter to the imaging system while blocking at least one EMR spectrum other than the short wave light from being received by the imaging system as taught by Jeung, because this configuration allows the camera to detect the markers accurately. [0172].
Regarding Claim 23, Kennedy further discloses the plurality of marks include a fluorescent pigment (“The markers may also comprise fluorescent particles or photoluminescent particles.” [0043]).
Claims 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kennedy in view of Gorenberg as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Narasimhan et al (US20170360306A1; hereinafter referred to as Narasimhan)
Regarding Claim 24, Kennedy and Gorenberg discloses all limitations noted above except that the actuator is a piston controlled by the computer system and operatively coupled to cause the deformable surface to apply a pressure to hold the surface displacement system against at least the superficial artery
However, in the similar field of monitoring a patient through pressure sensors, Narasimhan teaches methods and devices configured to non-invasively engage the skin on the wrist of the user for directly sensing an absolute blood pressure from the cardiovascular system of the user [0013]
Narasimhan also teaches that the actuator is a piston controlled by the computer system and operatively coupled to cause the deformable surface to apply a pressure to hold the surface displacement system against at least the superficial artery (“the pressure actuators may be individually actuated so as to urge a single pressure sensor against the wrist at a time. The actuators may be a linear solenoid piston.” [0015], “The target artery 4 may be the radial artery of the user” [0008])
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kennedy and Gorenberg as outlined above with the actuator is a piston controlled by the computer system and operatively coupled to cause the deformable surface to apply a pressure to hold the surface displacement system against at least the superficial artery as taught by Narasimhan, because the pressure actuators may be individually actuated so as to urge a single pressure sensor against the wrist at a time [0015].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the U.S.C. 103 rejection of Claim 1 the applicant argues the following:
Kennedy fails to disclose the deformable surface being adjacent to a superficial artery thereof, an actuator applying pressure to the superficial artery, and the determined parameter being a cardiopulmonary parameter. OA at 7. Furthermore, Gorenberg fails to mention analyzing different pressures and correlating them to movements in a surface displacement system (or vice versa). Kennedy proposes to look at displacement only but is silent about movements or displacements at different pressures in a surface displacement system in the same way that the Application does.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
However, It is noted that the combination of Kennedy and Gorenberg together teaches the deformable surface being adjacent to a superficial artery thereof, an actuator applying pressure to the superficial artery, and the determined parameter being a cardiopulmonary parameter (“the velocity of the propagation of the flow of blood is calculated by a fit of a theoretical curve to the combined data of plurality of sensors, each detecting deformation changes within corresponding segment or segments of the inflatable cuff.” [0062], “providing sensor coupled to the pressure applying element, sensing mechanical changes corresponding to volumetric changes in the artery” [0067], “the analyzer are incorporated in a device worn by the patient on the wrist in the shape of a bracelet 402, secured to the wrist by a strap. The bracelet contains an inflatable or mechanical device for applying a gradually reducing pressure and a sensor comprising piezoelectric elements, as in the case of the previous embodiment.” [0125], “providing a pressure applying element mountable on a limb of the patient for applying pressure enough to make a longitudinal segment of an artery” [0066], “the method further comprises measuring blood pressure of the patient.” [0073]).
It is also noted that Kennedy teaches analyzing different pressures and correlating them to movements in a surface displacement system (“the optical palpation device comprises a camera and a motion detector for detecting a position or motion of the sensing layer or the device relative to the sample material, the method comprising: providing a motion detector for detecting a position of the sensing layer or the device relative to the sample material when the device is moved or scanned relative to a surface of the sample material; wherein the step of applying a pressure through both the sensing layer and at least a portion of the surface area of the sample material comprises applying varying different pressures through both the sensing layer and at least a portion of the sample material, comprising moving a portion of the optical palpation device with the sensing layer relative to the material sample to apply the varying different pressures; wherein the step of detecting light transmitted or reflected from at least a portion of the sensing layer is conducted using the camera and while the varying different pressures are applied such that images are detected for a sequence of pressures; wherein the mechanical property, such as stress, of the sample material can be determined from the change in optical property of the sensing layer detected with the images recorded for the sequence of pressures; and wherein strain of the material sample can be determined from a determined movement of the probe relative to the material sample, the movement being determined using the provided motion detector; whereby a non-linear mechanical property of the material sample can be determined.” [0009])
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure (US 20190365258 A1, US 20160287103 A1, US 20140253717 A1, US 20090315989 A1).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to STEVEN MALDONADO whose telephone number is 703-756-1421. The examiner can normally be reached 8:00 am-4:00 pm PST M-Th Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Christopher Koharski can be reached on (571) 272-7230. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Steven Maldonado/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/CHRISTOPHER KOHARSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3797