DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-16, 18-20 are pending.
Claims 1 and 13 are amended.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments filed on 5/11/2026 have been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakano et al (US 20220302506; PCT filed on 12/18/2020, Foreign priority date 12/19/2020) in view of Kim et al (US 20190288267 A1), further in view of Tanaka et al (US 20220077501 A1).
Regarding Claim 1,
Nakano teaches a solid state battery laminate 500’ that has a body with 6 surfaces (Figure 2). The positive electrode layer 10A, the solid electrolyte layer 20, and the negative electrode layer 10B are provided. In the solid-state battery laminate 500′, the positive electrode terminal 30A and the negative electrode terminal 30B are provided so as to be in contact with two facing side surfaces (that is, the positive-electrode-side edge surface 500′A and the negative-electrode-side edge surface 500′B).
Nakano teaches that the positive electrode layer 10A has a structure in which a current is collected by the positive electrode current collector portion 12A provided on an edge surface 11A″1 of the positive electrode active material portion 11A. Nakano also teaches that the positive electrode collector portion is configured as a fired body containing a conductive material, an active material, solid electrolyte, binder, sintering aid (Paragraph 0070). The content of the active material in the current collector portion is usually 90 wt% or less (Paragraph 0071). Nakano also teaches that the electrode active material portion may contain a conductive material and is the same as the conductive material found in the collector portion (Paragraph 0061, and Paragraph 0067). The content of active material in the active material portion is usually 50 wt% or more (Paragraph 0051). Hence, the composition of the active material layer and the current collector layer is the same when active material is added to the mix within 50wt% to 90wt%. Notwithstanding Nakano’s current collecting layer, when the composition of the active material layer and current collecting layer is made the same, then the positive electrode layer of Nakano becomes an integrated layer formed of a mixture of a positive electrode active material and a conductive material. For that scenario, the positive electrode layer 10A does not include a separate current collector.
To further reinforce the examiner’s position, the examiner notes that applicant’s production method of their positive electrode layer is not limited (see line 48 of the instant specification). For example, a slurry may be prepared by mixing the active material, a conductive material, binder and the like which is then cast on a support. According to the present disclosure, the electrode layer may have a structure in which a separate current collector is not disposed as the materials are mixed to be disposed in a single layer. Turning to Nakano, Examiner notes that while Nakano teaches the slurry for the electrode portion to be deposited on the layer 20, and the current collector portion paste is deposited on the edge portion thereon, Nakano teaches that this structure is to form an electrode layer WITH an edge surface current collecting portion (paragraph 0114). The examiner contends that because the reference calls the parts of the layer(s), portions, these portions constitute the electrode layer. That said, the examiner thus concludes that the positive electrode layer of Nakano becomes an integrated layer.
In addition, the examiner further cites Kim which teaches an integrated unit electrode without a separate current collector. Kim teaches an integrated electrode that is realized without a collector, and in which the conductive material, binder is mixed with electrode mixture to form the electrode (Paragraphs 0021, 0022). Kim teaches an integrated unit electrode having conductivity (Paragraph 0011). Positive electrode active materials and conductive materials (Paragraph 0060, 0061) used in Kim show overlap with the materials in the instant specification. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention that Nakano’s electrode structure may be considered an integrated layer per the teachings of Kim for the purpose of realizing an electrode where a separate current collector is not needed.
In addition, Nakano teaches that the positive electrode layer 10A, is in contact with each of the positive electrode active material portion 11A” and the positive electrode terminal 30A. This is akin to the claimed feature of a positive electrode layer having atleast a portion led out to the first surface. Similar arrangement is shown for the negative electrode and terminal.
Nakano further teaches embodiment in Figure 6A wherein, the negative electrode current collector portion 12B may extend widely to the edge surfaces 500′C and 500′D to fill between the negative electrode active material portion 11B and the negative electrode terminal 30B (see FIG. 6A). When the negative electrode current collector portion 12B extends to the side surface (that is, the non-electrode-side edge surface 500′C and/or 500′D) on which the external terminal is not provided, an electrode extraction portion in which the external terminal is further provided also to the side surface can be formed (Paragraphs 0141 and 0142). This is akin to the positive and negative electrode terminal having a portion disposed to extend on the third and fourth surfaces of the claimed battery body.
Nakano does not specifically teach that the positive electrode terminal has a portion extending in the first direction to cover the positive electrode lead portion, and that the negative electrode terminal has a portion extending in the first direction to cover the negative electrode lead portion, and that the end of the positive and negative terminal are in contact with the positive and negative electrode lead portion respectively.
However, Tanaka shows in Figure 2 (annotated below) that there is a portion of electrode terminal that extends in the first direction and covers the electrode lead portion. Also, there is an end of the terminal which is in contact with the electrode lead portion. Tanaka shows a similar set up for other electrode as well. Tanaka also states that the positive electrode side external electrode (akin to a terminal) is connected to the positive electrode current collector layer (akin to a lead portion) on a first end surface 21, first side surface 23, and second side surface 24 (Paragraph 0030). This is seen in Figure 2 below. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the external terminal of Nakano in a fashion as shown by Tanaka in order to improve bondability between external electrodes and the positive or negative electrode layer (Paragraph 0008).
Regarding Claim 2,
Nakano teaches that the positive and negative electrode layers are T-shaped (Figure 6A, Element 10B).
Regarding Claim 3,
Nakano teaches that the positive and negative electrodes are connected to the positive and negative terminals and as seen in Figure 6A (annotated below by dashed circles), that the electrodes connect at the edge of surfaces akin to the claimed surfaces.
Regarding Claim 4,
Nakano teaches that when the negative electrode current collector portion 12B extends to the side surface (that is, the non-electrode-side edge surface 500′C and/or 500′D) on which the external terminal is not provided, an electrode extraction portion in which the external terminal is further provided also to the side surface can be formed. Therefore, the contact area between the current collecting portion and the external terminal can be increased. Therefore, it becomes easy to reduce the resistance, and the current collection efficiency can be further enhanced (Paragraph 0142). This is akin to the positive and negative electrode terminal covering an entirety of the lead portion.
Regarding Claim 5 and Claim 6,
Nakano teaches that the ratio of the current collector portion L1 to the electrode layer length L2 is 0.01 to 0.5 as shown in Figure 2.
L2 is akin to the average length of the battery body, and L1 is akin to the positive electrode lead portion. The range of 0.01 to 0.5 overlaps the claimed range of 10% to 50%. Nakano states that doing so would enhance the uniformity of electron transfer, and increase the energy density of the battery (Paragraph 0115). The range of 0.01 to 0.5 applies to positive and negative lead portions.
Regarding Claim 7,
Nakano teaches a solid state battery with positive and negative electrodes, each comprising an active material portion and an electrode current collector portion (a conductive layer) as stated in Paragraph 0008.
Regarding Claim 8,
Nakano teaches different configurations in which the active material and conductive material form an interface and overlap (Figure 7A to 7I).
Regarding Claim 9 and 10,
Nakano teaches that the positive and negative electrodes comprise current collector portion that contains a solid electrolyte (paragraph 0070).
Regarding Claim 11 and 12,
Nakano teaches that there is a plurality of positive electrode layers and negative electrode layers, and these layers are alternately stacked as shown in Figure 3, Figure 8.
Regarding Claim 13 and 14,
Nakano teaches a solid state battery laminate 500’ that has a body with 6 surfaces (Figure 2). The positive electrode layer 10A, the solid electrolyte layer 20, and the negative electrode layer 10B are provided. In the solid-state battery laminate 500′, the positive electrode terminal 30A and the negative electrode terminal 30B are provided so as to be in contact with two facing side surfaces (that is, the positive-electrode-side edge surface 500′A and the negative-electrode-side edge surface 500′B).
Nakano teaches that the positive electrode layer 10A has a structure in which a current is collected by the positive electrode current collector portion 12A provided on an edge surface 11A″1 of the positive electrode active material portion 11A. Nakano also teaches that the positive electrode collector portion is configured as a fired body containing a conductive material, an active material, solid electrolyte, binder, sintering aid (Paragraph 0070). The content of the active material in the current collector portion is usually 90 wt% or less (Paragraph 0071). Nakano also teaches that the electrode active material portion may contain a conductive material and is the same as the conductive material found in the collector portion (Paragraph 0061, and Paragraph 0067). The content of active material in the active material portion is usually 50 wt% or more (Paragraph 0051). Hence, the composition of the active material layer and the current collector layer is the same when active material is added to the mix within 50wt% to 90wt%. Notwithstanding Nakano’s current collecting layer, when the composition of the active material layer and current collecting layer is made the same, then the positive electrode layer of Nakano becomes an integrated layer formed of a mixture of a positive electrode active material and a conductive material. For that scenario, the positive electrode layer 10A does not include a separate current collector. Nakano teaches the same composition features for the negative electrode as well. This type of integrated electrode is further evidenced in Kim wherein the electrode is realized without a collector, and in which the conductive material, binder is mixed with electrode mixture to form the electrode (Paragraphs 0021, 0022). Kim teaches an integrated unit electrode having conductivity (Paragraph 0011). Positive electrode active materials and conductive materials (Paragraph 0060, 0061) used in Kim show overlap with the materials in the instant specification.
Nakano teaches in embodiment depicted by Figure 6B that the electrode layers are led out to one of the third or fourth surfaces of the battery as claimed, and that the electrode lead portion is led out to a corner of the battery body. The electrode terminal has atleast a portion on the surfaces of the battery such that it connects to the electrode lead portion.
Nakana does not specifically teach that the positive electrode terminal has a portion extending in the first direction to cover the positive electrode lead portion, and that the negative electrode terminal has a portion extending in the first direction to cover the negative electrode lead portion, and that the end of the positive and negative terminal are in contact with the positive and negative electrode lead portion respectively.
However, Tanaka shows in Figure 2 (annotated below) that there is a portion of electrode terminal that extends in the first direction and covers the electrode lead portion. Also, there is an end of the terminal which is in contact with the electrode lead portion. Tanaka shows a similar set up for other electrode as well. Tanaka also states that the positive electrode side external electrode (akin to a terminal) is connected to the positive electrode current collector layer (akin to a lead portion) on a first end surface 21, first side surface 23, and second side surface 24 (Paragraph 0030). This is seen in Figure 2 below. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the external terminal of Nakano in a fashion as shown by Tanaka in order to improve bondability between external electrodes and the positive or negative electrode layer (Paragraph 0008).
Regarding Claim 15,
Nakano teaches that for embodiment depicted in Figure 6B, if the negative electrode current collector portion 12B extends to the side surface (that is, the non-electrode-side edge surface 500′C and/or 500′D) on which the external terminal is not provided, an electrode extraction portion in which the external terminal is further provided also to the side surface can be formed. Therefore, the contact area between the current collecting portion and the external terminal can be increased. Therefore, it becomes easy to reduce the resistance, and the current collection efficiency can be further enhanced (paragraph 0142).
Regarding Claim 16,
Nakano teaches that the ratio of the current collector portion L1 to the electrode layer length L2 is 0.01 to 0.5 as shown in Figure 2.
L2 is akin to the average length of the battery body, and L1 is akin to the positive electrode lead portion. The range of 0.01 to 0.5 overlaps the claimed range of 10% to 50%. Nakano states that doing so would enhance the uniformity of electron transfer, and increase the energy density of the battery (Paragraph 0115). The range of 0.01 to 0.5 applies to positive and negative lead portions.
Regarding Claim 18,
Nakano teaches a solid state battery with positive and negative electrodes, each comprising an active material portion and an electrode current collector portion (a conductive layer) as stated in Paragraph 0008.
Regarding Claim 19,
Nakano teaches that the positive and negative electrodes comprise current collector portion that contains a solid electrolyte (paragraph 0070).
Regarding Claim 20,
Nakano teaches that there is a plurality of positive electrode layers and negative electrode layers, and these layers are alternately stacked as shown in Figure 3, Figure 8.
References of Interest
Iwaya et al (US 8778542-B2)
Kim et al (US 20230299424 A1)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues that Nakano does not disclose the limitations of Claim 1 as amended, and that the electrode terminal does not cover the negative electrode current collector portion on side edge surfaces. Examiner agrees with this argument, but has relied on the prior art reference of Tanaka to modify the terminal of Nakano in order to cover the portions of the electrode that are exposed on the side surfaces – see rejection of Claim 1 above.
Conclusion
/SUHANI JITENDRA PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 1783
/MARIA V EWALD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1783