DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 - 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NA et al (US 2021/0136367, hereafter NA) in view of Wang et al (US 11,902,561, hereafter Wang).
As per claim 1, NA discloses a method performed by a video decoding apparatus for filtering a current frame after reconstruction, the method comprising:
reconstructing the current frame to generate a first reconstructed frame for the current frame (Figure 22; current picture and reference picture);
acquiring at least one reference frame that has been reconstructed prior to the first reconstructed frame (¶ 186);
by providing a deep learning-based detection model with an input data comprising the reference frame and the first reconstructed frame, generating a detection map that is associated with weights for weighted-average between samples in the first reconstructed frame and samples in the reference frame (¶ 186 and 187); and
weight-averaging the reference frame with the first reconstructed on the basis of the detection map to generate a second reconstructed frame for the current frame (¶ 186).
However, NA does not explicitly teach weighted-sum of samples spatially corresponding to each other within the first reconstructed frame and the reference frame.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches weighted-sum of samples spatially corresponding to each other within the first reconstructed frame and the reference frame (column 10 lines 56 – column 11 lines 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of NA in view of Wang. The advantage is optimizing video coding filtering.
As per claim 2, NA discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the acquiring of the reference frame includes selecting an Intra frame (I frame) as the reference frame when the intra frame is included in a reference picture list (¶ 260 and 296).
As per claim 3, NA discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the acquiring of the reference frame includes selecting, as the reference frame, a frame whose temporal layer is lowest among reference frame candidates included in the reference picture list, selecting, as the reference frame, a frame whose picture order count (POC) is closest to the current frame, or selecting, as the reference frame, a frame encoded with a smallest quantization parameter (¶ 168 – 172 and 296).
As per claim 4, NA discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the generating of the detection map includes generating a binary map in which the reference region is marked with a flag 1 and a remaining region not included in the reference region is marked with a flag 0 (¶ 161).
As per claim 5, NA discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the generating of the second reconstructed frame includes replacing pixels of the first reconstructed frame with pixels of the reference region when a binary flag of the detection map is 1, and maintaining a pixel value of the first reconstructed frame when the binary flag is not 1 (¶ 161).
As per claim 6, NA discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the generating of the second reconstructed frame includes replacing pixels of the first reconstructed frame with pixels of the reference region when a binary flag of the detection map is 1 and applying a preset function to the first reconstructed frame when the binary flag is not 1 (¶ 161).
As per claim 7, NA discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the generating of the detection map includes representing pixels of the reference region and remaining regions not included in the reference region with pixel values within a preset range, to generate a detection map on a pixel-by-pixel basis (¶ 161).
As per claim 8, NA discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the generating of the enhanced frame includes performing a weighted sum on the current frame and the reference frame on a pixel-by-pixel basis using pixel values on the detection map on a pixel-by-pixel basis to generate the enhanced frame (¶ 143 and 384).
As per claim 9, NA discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the generating of the enhanced frame includes performing a weighted sum on the current frame and the reference frame to which a preset function has been applied, respectively, on a pixel-by-pixel basis using pixel values on the detection map on a pixel-by-pixel basis to generate the enhanced frame (¶ 143 and 384).
As per claim 10, NA discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the generating of the detection map includes detecting a reference region of each of M (M is a natural number equal to or greater than 2) reference frames using the detection model M times when there are the M reference frames, and generating M corresponding detection maps (¶ 184 - 186).
As per claim 11, NA discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the generating of the enhanced frame includes performing a weighted sum on pixel values of reference regions having binary flags of 1 to replace pixels of the current frame when the M detection maps are binary maps, and maintains pixel values of the current frame when all binary flags of the M detection maps are 0 (¶ 163).
As per claim 12, NA discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the detection model is implemented as a convolutional neural network (CNN) model, the detection model receiving a concatenation of the current frame and the reference frame as an input and generating the detection map (¶ 147).
Regarding claim 13, arguments are analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, arguments are analogous to those presented for claim 4 are applicable for claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, arguments are analogous to those presented for claim 5 are applicable for claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, arguments are analogous to those presented for claim 6 are applicable for claim 16.
Regarding claim 17, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 17.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHIKAODILI E ANYIKIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487