DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group IV, claims 31-38 in the reply filed on 11/14/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 31-33 and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di (CN 108281582 A, hereinafter Di, cited by applicant).
Re Claim 31. Di teaches an electrical power storage device (Fig. 1) comprising:
a container (item 1) including a cell compartment (inside of item 1), the container having a base (bottom of item 1), a first wall (left wall of item 1) extending from the base, and a second wall (right wall of item 1) extending from the base; and
a hold down assembly apron (item 3) coupled to the first and second walls, wherein the hold down assembly apron is positioned on the walls at a height between 15% and 85% of a total height of the first and second walls (Fig. 1).
Di fails to specifically teach that the hold down assembly apron is integrally molded with the container.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the invention of Di to integrally mold the hold down assembly with the container, to shorten the manufacturing process of the container.
The court affirmed the rejection holding, among other reasons, "that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice." See MPEP 2144.04, V, B.
Re Claim 32. Di teaches wherein the hold down assembly apron includes a first apron portion (left item 3) and a second apron portion (right item 3)to be used as part of the hold down assembly apron for holding down the container, the first apron portion and the second apron portion being disposed on the first wall and the second wall, respectively (Fig. 1).
Re Claim 33. Di teaches wherein the first apron portion includes a first apron, and the second apron portion includes a second apron (Fig. 1).
Re Claim 38. Di teaches wherein the electrical power storage device is a lithium-ion battery (title).
Claim(s) 34-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di as applied to claim 31 above, and further in view of Ando et al. (EP 3287307 A1, hereinafter Ando).
Re Claim 34. Di further teaches wherein the hold down assembly apron includes a canopy portion (Fig. 1, item 3), but fails to specifically teach a support portion.
The invention of Ando encompasses electric device mounting structure. Ando teaches that the hold down assembly (Fig. 4 & 5, item 16) apron includes a canopy portion (items 25-28) and a support portion (item 23).
In view of Ando, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the invention of Di to employ a support portion, since Ando teaches the advantage of using it, which is to allow deformation while rigidity for supporting the case (para. 19).
Re Claim 35. The combination teaches wherein the canopy portion includes battery clamp mounting tabs (Di, Fig. 1, outer vertical wall of item 3).
Re Claim 36. The combination teaches wherein the support portion includes fins (Ando, Fig. 4, item 23) to support the canopy portion.
Claim(s) 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di as applied to claim 31 above, and further in view of Varatharajah et al. (WO 2018/140776 A1, hereinafter Varatharajah).
Di fails to specifically teach that the electrical power storage device is a lead acid battery.
The invention of Varatharajah encompasses battery housing. Varatharajah teaches that the electrical power storage device is a lead acid battery (para. 3).
In view of Varatharajah, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the invention of Di to employ a lead acid battery, since using a lead acid battery in place of lithium ion battery would be simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. See MPEP 2143.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood from the texts. Only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out to emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, however, each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
/KEVIN E YOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735
12/10/2025