DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement has been made of applicant’s claim for priority under 35 USC 119 (a-d). The certified copy has been filed on 02/08/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed 06/24/2025, 11/15/2023, 05/30/2023 and 05/03/2023 have been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the conductive path connecting the plurality must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 10 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that US 2017/162854 (to Sugiura) does not teach or suggest the special technical feature of a deformation element in the current collector of a solid-state thin film battery This is not found persuasive because Sugiura discloses a fuse portion (16, para 30) which is interpreted as a deformation element.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims Status.
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed on 10/10/2025. Claims 10-16 have been withdrawn from examination as being drawn to non-elected invention Claims 1-16 are now pending. Claims 1-9 are presented for examination. Applicant's arguments have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. In claim 9 it is not clear what structural limitation is actually claimed. Moreover limitation” a current collector” lucks of antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by US 2017/0162854 to Sugiura (Sugiura).
Regarding claim 1, Sugiura discloses a solid state (Abstract) thin film (para 56) battery comprising a plurality of solid state cells (Fig, 1) and a termination region (16, para 30 Fig. 1) each cell being connected to the termination region by a current collector (15, para 30); and wherein each current collector comprises a deformation element, the deformation element (16a) which can be thinner in width thickness or made from the different material than anode’s or cathode’s current collectors. Therefore, the deformation element of Sugiura is substantially similar t the deformation element of the instant Application as claimed (see instant claim 5) and, as such inherently fully capable to be to deform under a lower load than the rest of the current collector. MPEP 2112 V states that "once a reference teaching product appearing to be substantially identical is made the basis of a rejection, and the Examiner presents evidence or reasoning tending to show inherency, the burden shifts to the Applicant to show an unobvious difference."
Regarding claim 7, Sugiura discloses wherein he deformation element is located between the solid state cell and the termination region (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 8, Sugiura discloses wherein the termination region comprises a conductive path connecting the plurality of current collectors (Fig. 5, below)
Regarding claim 9, since Sugiura discloses a current collector used as the current collector in the solid film battery, limitations of claim 9 considered anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 2017/0162854 to Sugiura (Sugiura) in view of US 2015255827 to Matsushita (Matsushita)
Regarding claim 2, Sugiura discloses the invention as discussed above as applied to claim 1 and incorporated therein. Sugiura does not expressly disclose wherein the current collector comprises a current collecting layer on a substrate, the deformation element comprising a portion of the current collecting layer and a portion of the substrate.
Matsushita teaches all-solid-state thin-film battery (para 31) which includes a plurality of unit batteries arranged in stacking direction (Abstract), comprising a plurality of correct collectors with connection portions (121 b1 and 121 b2, Fig.1A, 1B), wherein the current collectors comprising a substrate and current collector film coated n the substrate. Therefore, a structural design comprising a ta current collector layer on the substrate is well known in the art. It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the current collector of Sugiura with the current collector layer on the substrate as taught by Matsushita, in order to increase volume energy density.
Regarding claim 6, modified Sugiura discloses a layer of insulating material is located on each current collector between the solid state cell and the termination region to separate the current collector from an adjacent current collector (Matsushita, protective film 15, para 51,54).
Claims 3-5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 2017/0162854 to Sugiura (Sugiura).
Regarding claim 3 and 4, modified Sugiura disclosed the invention as discussed above as applied to claim 2 and incorporated therein. Regarding limitations” wherein the deformation element comprises a plurality of through-holes formed in a region of the current collector” and “wherein the deformation element comprises a plurality of recesses formed in a region of the current collector” :Since the criticality of positioning recesses or through holes on the deformation element - a position claimed by Applicant is not supported by any showing of criticality of such placement in the instant specification, nor did Applicant stated that such placement serves any specific purpose or performs any specific function other that the function disclosed in modified Sugiura, it would have been obvious top those skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to place recesses or through holes on the deformation element as an obvious design choice, and as such it does not impact the patentability of claims 3 and 4.
Regarding claim 5, modified Sugiura discloses wherein the cross-sectional area of the deformation element is less than the cross- sectional area of the rest of the current collector ( para 30, Fig. 1A, 1B).
Conclusion
/Alexander Usyatinsky/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751