DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii (US 4575620 A) in view of Morgandi (US 20060138117 A1).
Regarding claim 1
Ishii discloses a cord-shaped heater (flexible heating wire, Fig 5, Col 1 lines 15-17) including one or a plurality of conductive wires (conductive wires 2, 2’, Col 2 lines 20-21) covered with an insulating film (both a thermally fusible insulative body layer 5 and outer insulative sheath 4 are construed to be the insulating film, Col 3 lines 5-11), wherein the insulating film at least includes an inner layer (5) formed on the conductive wires (2, 2’) and an outer layer (4) formed outside the inner layer (5) so that the outer layer is in contact with the inner layer (Fig 5 showing the outer layer 4 touches the inner layer 5).
Ishii is silent on the thermal decomposition temperature of a first material constituting the inner layer is lower than the melting temperature of a second material constituting the outer layer and lower than the thermal decomposition temperature of the second material.
However, Morgandi teaches a cord-shaped heater (12, Fig 1, dual element region 20 of the heating element 12 is illustrated in greater detail in Fig. 2, Para 0023, where heating element 12 is a cord-shaped heater) including one or a plurality of conductive wires (inner conductor 26, and a second, outer conductor 30, Para 0023 top) covered with an insulating film (inner layer 28, outer layer 32 of electrically insulating material),
wherein the thermal decomposition temperature of a first material constituting the inner layer (inner layer 28 of an electrically insulating material, Para 0023, thus this material is interpreted to be the 1ST material having a 1ST thermal decomposition temperature) is lower than the melting temperature of a second material constituting the outer layer (outer layer 32 of an electrically insulating material, Para 0023, thus this material is interpreted to be the 2ND material having a 2ND thermal decomposition temperature) and lower than the thermal decomposition temperature of the second material (melting point of the layer 28 of insulating material is lower than the melting point of the outer layer 32, such that in the event of a localized overheat condition, the inner layer 28 of electrically insulating material will melt before melting of the outer layer 32 of insulating material occurs, Para 0023 bottom,
this indicates that the 1ST material of the inner layer 28 has a lower melting and thermal decomposition temperatures than the 2ND material of the outer layer 32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to form the inner layer and outer layer in Ishii, such that the thermal decomposition temperature of a first material constituting the inner layer is lower than the melting temperature of a second material constituting the outer layer and lower than the thermal decomposition temperature of the second material, as suggested and taught by Morgandi, because Ishii also teaches that the inner layer 5 melted away to cause a short circuit when detecting an abnormal temperature rise (Col 3 lines 17-20) which is the same advantage taught by Morgandi in the event of a localized overheat condition, the inner layer 28 will melt, resulting in the formation of a short circuit between the first and second conductors (0023 bottom).
Regarding claim 5
Ishii in view of Morgandi discloses cord-shaped heater according to claim 1.
Ishii in view of Morgandi further discloses a sheet-shaped heater (Morgandi teaches an electric blanket being a sheet-shaped heater, Fig 1 [0015]), wherein the cord-shaped heater (heating element 12, [0023]) is arranged on a substrate (substrate being pad 10, [0021 top]).
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii in view of Morgandi, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kobayashi (US 20160050719 A1).
Regarding claim 2
Ishii in view of Morgandi discloses the cord-shaped heater according to claim 1.
Ishii in view of Morgandi is silent on wherein the second material constituting the outer layer is a thermosetting resin.
However, Kobayashi teaches a cord-shaped heater (heater body 20, Figs 5-6, Para 0055 top), having a first material constituting an inner layer (inner layer 21 interpreted to be made of a 1ST material) and a second material constituting the outer layer is a thermosetting resin (outer layer/jacket 28 is made of a 2ND material being a polyimide resin, Para 0036 top, which is the same or similar to the instant specification Para 0066 which describes that “the material of the outer layer is a polyimide resin, a polyamide imide resin or a silicone resin”,
Thus, the outer layer 28 made of a second material being a polyimide resin, taught by Kobayashi, is interpreted to be a thermosetting resin).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to form the second material constituting the outer layer in Ishii in view of Morgandi, to be a thermosetting resin being a polyimide resin, as suggested and taught by Kobayashi, because this material has excellent heat conductivity, heat resistance, and electrical insulation (Para 0036 top).
Regarding claim 3
Ishii in view of Morgandi discloses the cord-shaped heater according to claim 1.
Ishii in view of Morgandi is silent on wherein the first material constituting the inner layer generates a reducing gas when the first material is thermally decomposed.
However, Kobayashi teaches a cord-shaped heater (heater body 20, Figs 5-6, Para 0055 top), having a first material constituting the inner layer generates a reducing gas when the first material is thermally decomposed (inner layer/insulator 21 formed from a 1ST material made of polyester resins, polyurethane resins, Para 0057 top, which is the same or similar to the instant specification Para 0066 which describes that “the material of the inner layer is a polyurethane resin or a polyester resin”,
Thus, the inner layer 21 made of a 1ST material being polyester resins, polyurethane resins, taught by Kobayashi, would be capable of generating a reducing gas when the first material is thermally decomposed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to form the first material constituting the inner layer in Ishii in view of Morgandi, to be polyester resins or polyurethane resins, as suggested and taught by Kobayashi, such that the first material generates a reducing gas when the first material is thermally decomposed, because this material has high electrical insulation (Para 0057 top).
Regarding claim 4
Ishii in view of Morgandi discloses the cord-shaped heater according to claim 1.
Ishii in view of Morgandi is silent on wherein the first material constituting the inner layer is selected from the group consisting of a polyurethane resin and a polyester resin, and
the second material constituting the outer layer is selected from the group consisting of a polyimide resin, a polyamide imide resin and a silicone resin.
However, Kobayashi teaches a cord-shaped heater (heater body 20, Figs 5-6, Para 0055 top), having a first material constituting the inner layer is selected from the group consisting of a polyurethane resin and a polyester resin (inner layer/insulator 21 formed from a 1ST material made of polyester resins, polyurethane resins, Para 0057 top, which is the same or similar to the instant specification Para 0066 which describes that “the material of the inner layer is a polyurethane resin or a polyester resin”), and
a second material constituting the outer layer is a thermosetting resin (outer layer/jacket 28 is made of a 2ND material being a polyimide resin, Para 0036 top, which is the same or similar to the instant specification Para 0066 which describes that “the material of the outer layer is a polyimide resin, a polyamide imide resin or a silicone resin”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to form the first material constituting the inner layer in Ishii in view of Morgandi, to be polyester resins or polyurethane resins, as suggested and taught by Kobayashi, because this material has high electrical insulation (Para 0057 top), and
to form the second material constituting the outer layer in Morgandi, to be a thermosetting resin being a polyimide resin, as suggested and taught by Kobayashi, because this material has excellent heat conductivity, heat resistance, and electrical insulation (Para 0036 top).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 3-4, filed 06/02/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Specifically, applicant argues that in Ishiyama, the outer layer 9 and the inner layer 7 will melt because the outer layer 9 is heated, which is persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ishii, details above.
Conclusion
/Thuyhang N Nguyen/Examiner, Art Unit 3761