DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I in the reply filed on 9/11/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 14 discloses “the winding” and will be interpreted as “the winding shell”. Line 23 discloses “the electrode material” and will be interpreted as “the negative electrode material. Lines 30-31 disclose “the electrode material” and will be interpreted as “the positive electrode material”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 8 discloses “the bottom” and will be interpreted as “the closed bottom”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 8 discloses “the metal disk” and will be interpreted as “the second metal disk”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashimoto et al. (US 2016/0181619) in view of Takahashi et al. (US 6,143,442) and further in view of Kirkman (US 2,830,110).
Regarding claim 1, Hashimoto et al. discloses in Figs 1-6, a lithium ion cell (ref 100, [0025]), comprising a housing (ref 300) comprising a metallic tubular housing part (ref 320) made of aluminum ([0028]) or an aluminum alloy ([0028]) with a terminal opening (at top of Fig 1 below, [0027]); a contact element (ref 340) that closes the terminal opening (at top of Fig 1, [0027]) of the tubular housing part (ref 320), the contact element (ref 340) comprising a metal disk ([0027]), and an electrode-separator assembly (ref 200) having an anode (ref 240), a cathode (ref 220), and a separator (refs 262, 264) with the sequence anode / separator / cathode (Fig 2, below, [0030]), wherein the electrode-separator assembly (ref 200) is in the form of a cylindrical winding (Fig 2, [0030]) with two terminal end faces (Fig 2), wherein the anode (ref 240) is ribbon-shaped (Fig 2) and comprises a ribbon-shaped anode current collector (ref 241) made of copper ([0035]), wherein the anode current collector (ref 241) comprises a first longitudinal edge (right side of ref 200, Fig 2) and a second longitudinal edge (left side of ref 200, Fig 2) and two ends (top and bottom of ref 200, Fig 2), wherein the anode current collector (ref 241) further comprises a strip-shaped main region (Fig 2, [0035]) loaded with a layer of negative electrode material (ref 243) and a free edge strip (ref 242) extending along the first longitudinal edge which is not loaded ([0035]) with the negative electrode material (ref 243), wherein the cathode (ref 220) is ribbon-shaped (Fig 2) and comprises a ribbon-shaped cathode current collector (ref 221) made of aluminum ([0031]), wherein the cathode current collector (ref 221) comprises a first longitudinal edge (right side of ref 200, Fig 2) and a second longitudinal edge (left side of ref 200, Fig 2) and two ends (top and bottom of ref 200, Fig 2), wherein the cathode current collector (ref 221) further comprises a strip-shaped main region (Fig 2, [0035]) loaded with a layer of positive electrode material (ref 223) and a free edge strip (ref 222) extending along the first longitudinal edge (left side ref 200, Fig 2) which is not loaded ([0031]) with the positive electrode material (ref 223), wherein the anode (ref 240) and the cathode (ref 220) are arranged within the electrode-separator assembly (ref 200) such that the first longitudinal edge (right side of ref 200, Fig 2) of the anode current collector (ref 241) protrudes (Fig 2) from one of the terminal end faces (Fig 2, depicts ref 241 protruding right/top), and the first longitudinal edge (left side of ref 200, Fig 2) of the cathode current collector (ref 221) protrudes (Fig 2) from the other of the terminal end faces (Fig 2, depicts ref 221 protruding left/bottom), wherein the metal disk ([0027]) comprises aluminum ([0028]) or an aluminum alloy ([0028]).
Hashimoto et al. does not explicitly disclose a contact sheet metal member, a metal pole pin and an insulator, wherein the metal disk has a circular edge and is arranged in the tubular housing part such that the circular edge abuts the inside of the tubular housing part along a circumferential contact zone, and wherein the edge of the metal disk is connected to the tubular housing by a circumferential weld seam, wherein the contact sheet metal member comprises nickel and has two sides, one side facing in the direction of the metal disk and the other side being in direct contact with a first respective longitudinal edge and is connected to the respective longitudinal edge by welding, the respective longitudinal edge being the first longitudinal edge of the anode current collector or the first longitudinal edge of the cathode current collector, wherein the pole pin is fixed to the contact sheet metal member and is led out of the housing of the cell through an opening in the metal disk, and wherein the insulator electrically insulates the pole pin and the contact metal member against the metal disk.
Takahashi et al. discloses in Figs 1-7, a battery (Abstract) including a tubular (C3/L63-64, end crimped, therefore tubular) pin (ref 4) comprising nickel (C3/L8-9) that is welded circumferentially (C3/L1-11) to a metal sheet member (refs 3, 3a). The metal sheet member (refs 3, 3a) has two sides (top and bottom surfaces, Figs 3A+B, below) and is welded circumferentially around (C3/L1-11) an entirety of a header structure (ref 5) at a top portion of a jelly roll (ref 8, where electrode sheets with current collector ends abut, Figs 2, 5-6). The pin (ref 4) structure is insulated (C2/L60-61, C3/L53-54) from the outer structure via an insulation sheet (refs 13, 14). This configuration enhances air-tightness / structural integrity and corrosion resistance of the battery (C3/L6-10, C5/L55—60).
Takahashi et al. and Hashimoto et al. are analogous since both deal in the same field of endeavor, namely, batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the metal sheet member and disk structure, tubular pin, and insulation, and welding as disclosed by Tahashi et al. into the covering structure of Hashimoto et al. to enhance overall battery air-tightness / structural integrity and impart corrosion resistance to ultimately enhance overall battery performance.
Hashimoto et al. also does not explicitly disclose a circular structure with a winding shell located, wherein the electrode-separator assembly is disposed in the winding shell and is axially aligned so that the winding shell abuts an inside of the tubular housing part.
Kirkman discloses in Figs 1-9, a cylindrical battery (Abstract) including electrode cells (depicted in Fig 8, below) disposed within an inner cylindrical casing (ref 40) which is subsequently placed in an outer casing (ref 47, Fig 8), abutting against (Fig 8) the outer casing (ref 47). The inner cylindrical casing envelops the cells and enhances the overall structural integrity of the battery structure (C5/L1-12).
Kirkman and Hashimoto et al. are analogous since both deal in the same field of endeavor, namely, batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the inner cylindrical casing (equivalent to the shell of the instant claim) into the structure of Hashimoto et al. to envelope the electrode assembly and enhance overall structural integrity of the battery structure.
Regarding claims 2-4, modified Hashimoto et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above but does not explicitly disclose the pole pin is tubular, coated with nickel, and welded to the contact sheet metal member.
Takahashi et al. discloses in Figs 1-7, a battery (Abstract) including a tubular (C3/L63-64, end crimped, therefore tubular) pin (ref 4) coated with nickel (C3/L8-9) that is welded (C3/L1-11) to a metal sheet member (ref 3). This configuration enhances air-tightness / structural integrity and corrosion resistance of the battery (C3/L6-10, C5/L55—60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the tubular pin coated with nickel and welded as disclosed by Tahashi et al. into the structure of Hashimoto et al. to enhance overall battery air-tightness / structural integrity and impart corrosion resistance to ultimately enhance overall battery performance.
Regarding claim 6, modified Hashimoto et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the tubular housing part (ref 320) is part of an aluminum housing cup ([0028], Fig 1 shows bottom surface of housing).
Claims 5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashimoto et al. (US 2016/0181619) in view of Takahashi et al. (US 6,143,442) and further in view of Kirkman (US 2,830,110) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Suzuki et al. (US 5,736,270).
Regarding claims 5, 7, 8 and 9, modified Hashimoto et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above but does not explicitly disclose the tubular housing part comprises a circular edge that is bent radially inward over the edge of the contact element, nor the tubular housing part has a second terminal circular opening, nor wherein the tubular housing part comprises a circular edge that is bent radially inward over the end of the closure element, nor the second respective longitudinal edge is welded to an aluminum contact sheet metal member that abuts directly against the second metal disk forming the bottom of the housing.
Suzuki et al. discloses in Figs 1-7, a cylindrical battery (ref 20) including a tubular housing (ref 2) having top and bottom circular openings (depicted in Fig 5) that are closed with top and bottom covers (refs 5, Fig 5). The tubular housing (ref 2) and end covers (refs 5) are formed of aluminum (C3/L10-11) and top and bottom portions of the tubular housing (ref 2) are bent radially inward (depicted in Fig 5) and welded to the covers (refs 5). This configuration enhances overall battery structural integrity and performance (C2/L10-12).
Suzuki et al. and Hashimoto et al. are analogous since both deal in the same field of endeavor, namely, batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the multiple covers (top end and bottom end) and tube structure formed of aluminum with bent radially inward top and bottom edges and welded disclosed by Suzuki et al. into the structure of Hashimoto et al. to enhance battery structural integrity and performance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Wyser (US 2009/0136831) discloses in Figs 1-3, a battery (ref 1) including an outer housing (ref 2) and an inner housing (ref 112) therein (Fig 1).
/KENNETH J DOUYETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725