This office action is in response to remarks filed on 05/20/2026.
Claims 1-14, 18-24, and 26-34 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 7, 9, 14, 18, 20, 33, and 34 are amended. Claims 15-17 and 25 are canceled.
Response to Amendments
Claims 7, 9, 14, 18, 20, 33, and 34 have been considered based on amendments.
Claims 1, 13, 24 and 30 have been re-considered based on remarks.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/20/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 13, 24, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al (US20190349180A1) (hereinafter "Lu") in view of Park et al (WO2020032704A1) (hereinafter "Park").
Regarding claim 1, Lu discloses a method for wireless communication at a network node in a wireless communication network, comprising:
determining at least one slot format indicator (ID) that correlates to at least one slot format configuration ([0102] slot format combinations) utilized by the wireless communication network ([0367] In one embodiment, UE may expect that the SFI index (or indices) may indicate same slot format/slot configuration on overlapping slots. If the SFI index (or indies) indicate different slot configurations or slot formats in overlapping slots of the new/target active BWP, UE may drop the SFI index (or indices) received before BWP switching and apply SFI index (or indices) received on the new/target active BWP.), and where slot format configurations utilized by the wireless communication network change dynamically between a plurality of slot format configurations; and ([0374] Multiple DCI format 2_0 indicating different slot configuration or slot format for same slots may not only happen when UE switches its active BWP. When slot format or slot configuration indicated by SFI index(s) is longer than SFI monitoring period, multiple SFI indices may indicate different slot format/slot configuration for same slot. A similar procedure that UE may use is to match multiple slot formats or slot configurations for the same slots.)
mapping the at least one slot format ID to a respective uplink (UL) channel resource identifier (ID) ([0290] A SFI-index field value in a DCI format 2_0 indicates to a UE a slot format for each slot in a number of slots for each DL BWP or each UL BWP starting from a slot where the UE detects the DCI format 2_0. … A slot format is identified by a corresponding format index as provided in Table 11.1.1-1 where ‘D’ denotes a downlink symbol, ‘U’ denotes an uplink symbol, and ‘X’ denotes a flexible symbol.).
Lu fails to disclose a method, comprising: wherein the mapping correlates the at least one slot format ID with the UL channel resource ID to identify at least one particular sub-slot or symbol in a slot usable for uplink (UL) transmissions on an uplink channel even in the absence of a slot format ID being transmitted to a user equipment (UE) in the network.
However, Park discloses a method, comprising: wherein the mapping correlates the at least one slot format ID with the UL channel resource ID to identify at least one particular sub-slot or symbol in a slot usable for uplink (UL) transmissions on an uplink channel even in the absence of a slot format ID being transmitted to a user equipment (UE) in the network (Pg. 34-35: In addition, as an example, based on the above, NR SL-SSB transmission symbols may be stably transmitted and received without colliding with DL transmission (e.g. PDSCH, CSI-RS, etc.) on the NR Uu link. In this case, as an example, the network view may indicate that the slot format indicator (DL / FL / UL symbol structure indicator in the slot indicated through the common PDCCH scrambled with SFI-RNTI) corresponds to UL symbols based on the above description. Can be. Also, for example, in the case of TDD, at least one of “TDD UL-DL configurationCommon”, “TDD UL-DL configurationCommon2”, and “TDD UL-DL configurationDedicated” is provided to NR Uu terminals to indicate that they correspond to UL symbols. can do. In addition, although the above has described TDD and FDD / SUL with SFI, in the absence of SFI, the above-described signaling may be applied on the assumption that all slots consist of only UL symbols. In addition, as an example, even in the case of TDD, the SFI value may be applied and is not limited to the above-described embodiment.).
Lu and Park are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of configuring slots for feedback signaling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu with Park to create a method, comprising: wherein the mapping correlates the at least one slot format ID with the UL channel resource ID to identify at least one particular sub-slot or symbol in a slot usable for uplink (UL) transmissions on an uplink channel even in the absence of a slot format ID being transmitted to a user equipment (UE) in the network.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve the feedback performance of downlink data transmission.
Regarding claim 13, Lu discloses a network node in a wireless communication system, comprising:
a wireless transceiver ([0039] The communication device 300 may include an input device 302, an output device 304, a control circuit 306, a central processing unit (CPU) 308, a memory 310, a program code 312, and a transceiver 314.);
a memory; and ([0039] The communication device 300 may include an input device 302, an output device 304, a control circuit 306, a central processing unit (CPU) 308, a memory 310, a program code 312, and a transceiver 314.)
a processor communicatively coupled to the wireless transceiver and the memory, wherein the processor and the memory are configured to ([0039] The communication device 300 may include an input device 302, an output device 304, a control circuit 306, a central processing unit (CPU) 308, a memory 310, a program code 312, and a transceiver 314.):
determine at least one slot format indicator (ID) that correlates to at least one slot format configuration utilized by the wireless communication system and where slot format configurations utilized by the wireless communication system change dynamically between a plurality of slot format configurations; and ([0367] In one embodiment, UE may expect that the SFI index (or indices) may indicate same slot format/slot configuration on overlapping slots. If the SFI index (or indies) indicate different slot configurations or slot formats in overlapping slots of the new/target active BWP, UE may drop the SFI index (or indices) received before BWP switching and apply SFI index (or indices) received on the new/target active BWP. [0374] Multiple DCI format 2_0 indicating different slot configuration or slot format for same slots may not only happen when UE switches its active BWP. When slot format or slot configuration indicated by SFI index(s) is longer than SFI monitoring period, multiple SFI indices may indicate different slot format/slot configuration for same slot. A similar procedure that UE may use is to match multiple slot formats or slot configurations for the same slots.)
map the at least one slot format ID to a respective uplink (UL) channel resource identifier (ID) ([0290] A SFI-index field value in a DCI format 2_0 indicates to a UE a slot format for each slot in a number of slots for each DL BWP or each UL BWP starting from a slot where the UE detects the DCI format 2_0. … A slot format is identified by a corresponding format index as provided in Table 11.1.1-1 where ‘D’ denotes a downlink symbol, ‘U’ denotes an uplink symbol, and ‘X’ denotes a flexible symbol.).
Lu fails to disclose a network node in a wireless communication system, comprising: wherein the mapping correlates the at least one slot format ID with the uplink channel resource ID to identify at least one particular sub-slot or symbol in a slot usable for uplink (UL) transmissions on an uplink channel even in the absence of a slot format ID being transmitted to a user equipment (UE) in the wireless communication system.
However, Park discloses a network node in a wireless communication system, comprising: wherein the mapping correlates the at least one slot format ID with the uplink channel resource ID to identify at least one particular sub-slot or symbol in a slot usable for uplink (UL) transmissions on an uplink channel even in the absence of a slot format ID being transmitted to a user equipment (UE) in the wireless communication system. (Pg. 34-35: In addition, as an example, based on the above, NR SL-SSB transmission symbols may be stably transmitted and received without colliding with DL transmission (e.g. PDSCH, CSI-RS, etc.) on the NR Uu link. In this case, as an example, the network view may indicate that the slot format indicator (DL / FL / UL symbol structure indicator in the slot indicated through the common PDCCH scrambled with SFI-RNTI) corresponds to UL symbols based on the above description. Can be. Also, for example, in the case of TDD, at least one of “TDD UL-DL configurationCommon”, “TDD UL-DL configurationCommon2”, and “TDD UL-DL configurationDedicated” is provided to NR Uu terminals to indicate that they correspond to UL symbols. can do. In addition, although the above has described TDD and FDD / SUL with SFI, in the absence of SFI, the above-described signaling may be applied on the assumption that all slots consist of only UL symbols. In addition, as an example, even in the case of TDD, the SFI value may be applied and is not limited to the above-described embodiment.).
Lu and Park are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of configuring slots for feedback signaling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu with Park to create a network node in a wireless communication system, comprising: wherein the mapping correlates the at least one slot format ID with the uplink channel resource ID to identify at least one particular sub-slot or symbol in a slot usable for uplink (UL) transmissions on an uplink channel even in the absence of a slot format ID being transmitted to a user equipment (UE) in the wireless communication system.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve the feedback performance of downlink data transmission.
Regarding claim 24, Lu discloses a method for wireless communication at a network node in a wireless communication network, comprising:
determining, in the absence of receiving a slot format identifier for a slot, at least one particular sub-slot or symbol in the slot usable by the UE for uplink (UL) transmissions on an uplink (UL) channel based on an uplink channel resource identifier (ID), wherein the uplink channel resource ID correlates at least one slot format ID associated with a slot format configuration with the uplink channel resource ID; and ([0367] In one embodiment, UE may expect that the SFI index (or indices) may indicate same slot format/slot configuration on overlapping slots. If the SFI index (or indies) indicate different slot configurations or slot formats in overlapping slots of the new/target active BWP, UE may drop the SFI index (or indices) received before BWP switching and apply SFI index (or indices) received on the new/target active BWP. [0374] Multiple DCI format 2_0 indicating different slot configuration or slot format for same slots may not only happen when UE switches its active BWP. When slot format or slot configuration indicated by SFI index(s) is longer than SFI monitoring period, multiple SFI indices may indicate different slot format/slot configuration for same slot. A similar procedure that UE may use is to match multiple slot formats or slot configurations for the same slots.)
transmitting an uplink (UL) signal on the determined at least one particular sub- slot or symbol in the UL channel ([0273] The UE transmits PUSCH, PUCCH, PRACH, or SRS in the set of symbols of the slot if the UE receives a corresponding indication by a DCI format 0_0, DCI format 0_1, or DCI format 2_3.).
Regarding claim 30, Lu discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising:
a wireless transceiver ([0039] The communication device 300 may include an input device 302, an output device 304, a control circuit 306, a central processing unit (CPU) 308, a memory 310, a program code 312, and a transceiver 314.);
a memory; and ([0039] The communication device 300 may include an input device 302, an output device 304, a control circuit 306, a central processing unit (CPU) 308, a memory 310, a program code 312, and a transceiver 314.)
a processor communicatively coupled to the wireless transceiver and the memory, wherein the processor and the memory are configured to ([0039] The communication device 300 may include an input device 302, an output device 304, a control circuit 306, a central processing unit (CPU) 308, a memory 310, a program code 312, and a transceiver 314.):
determine, in the absence of receiving a slot format identifier for a slot, at least one particular sub-slot or symbol in the slot usable by the UE for uplink (UL) transmissions on an uplink (UL) channel based on an uplink channel resource identifier (ID), wherein the uplink channel resource ID is correlated to at least one slot format ID associated with a slot format configuration with the uplink channel resource ID; and ([0367] In one embodiment, UE may expect that the SFI index (or indices) may indicate same slot format/slot configuration on overlapping slots. If the SFI index (or indies) indicate different slot configurations or slot formats in overlapping slots of the new/target active BWP, UE may drop the SFI index (or indices) received before BWP switching and apply SFI index (or indices) received on the new/target active BWP. [0374] Multiple DCI format 2_0 indicating different slot configuration or slot format for same slots may not only happen when UE switches its active BWP. When slot format or slot configuration indicated by SFI index(s) is longer than SFI monitoring period, multiple SFI indices may indicate different slot format/slot configuration for same slot. A similar procedure that UE may use is to match multiple slot formats or slot configurations for the same slots.)
transmit an uplink signal on the determined at least one particular sub-slot or symbol in the UL channel ([0273] The UE transmits PUSCH, PUCCH, PRACH, or SRS in the set of symbols of the slot if the UE receives a corresponding indication by a DCI format 0_0, DCI format 0_1, or DCI format 2_3.).
Claims 2, 7, 11, 14, 18, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view of Park, as applied to claims 1, 13, 24, or 30 above, and further in view of Xu (US20200100286A1) (hereinafter "Xu").
Regarding claim 2, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the method, further comprising: communicating the mapping of the at least one slot format ID to the respective uplink channel resource ID to a user equipment (UE) in the network.
However, Xu discloses the method, further comprising: communicating the mapping of the at least one slot format ID to the respective uplink channel resource ID to a user equipment (UE) ([0252] wireless device) in the network ([0252] a base station may transmit DCI/control signaling via PDCCH ... a DCI may correspond to an RNTI. In an example, the wireless device may obtain an RNTI in response to completing the initial access (e.g., C-RNTI)).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Xu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of uplink/downlink synchronization.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Xu to create the method further comprising: communicating the mapping of the at least one slot format ID to the respective uplink channel resource ID to a user equipment (UE) in the network.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to determine the time and frequency synchronization between the transmitter and receiver with regards to HARQ-ACK.
Regarding claim 7, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the method, wherein the mapping of the at least one slot format ID to the respective uplink channel resource identifier (ID) is configured to enable a UE to identify the at least one particular sub-slot or symbol in the slot usable for transmissions on the uplink channel.
However, Xu discloses the method, wherein the mapping of the at least one slot format ID to the respective uplink channel resource identifier (ID) is configured to enable a UE to identify the at least one particular sub-slot or symbol in the slot usable for transmissions on the uplink channel ([0252] a base station may transmit DCI/control signaling via PDCCH … A DCI may comprise downlink and/or uplink scheduling information (e.g., resource allocation information, HARQ related parameters, MCS) … one or more timing information (e.g., TB transmission/reception timing, HARQ feedback timing, etc.), etc. In an example, a DCI may indicate an uplink grant comprising transmission parameters for one or more transport blocks ... In an example, the base station may transmit a DCI comprising slot format indicator (SFI) notifying a slot format. In an example, the base station may transmit a DCI comprising pre-emption indication notifying the PRB(s) and/or OFDM symbol(s) where a wireless device may assume no transmission is intended for the wireless device).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Xu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of uplink/downlink synchronization.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Xu to create the method, wherein the mapping of the at least one slot format ID to the respective uplink channel resource identifier (ID) is configured to enable a UE to identify the at least one particular sub-slot or symbol in the slot usable for transmissions on the uplink channel.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to determine the time and frequency synchronization between the transmitter and receiver with regards to HARQ-ACK.
Regarding claim 11, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the method, further comprising: mapping the at least one slot format ID to a plurality of respective uplink channel resource identifiers (IDs), wherein the mapping correlates the at least one slot format ID with the uplink channel resource IDs to identify respective particular sub-slots or symbols in a slot usable for uplink transmissions on a plurality of uplink channels.
However, Xu discloses the method, further comprising:
mapping the at least one slot format ID to a plurality of respective uplink channel resource identifiers (IDs), wherein the mapping correlates the at least one slot format ID with the uplink channel resource IDs to identify respective particular sub-slots or symbols in a slot usable for uplink transmissions on a plurality of uplink channels ([0252] a base station may transmit DCI/control signaling via PDCCH … A DCI may comprise downlink and/or uplink scheduling information (e.g., resource allocation information, HARQ related parameters, MCS) … one or more timing information (e.g., TB transmission/reception timing, HARQ feedback timing, etc.), etc. In an example, a DCI may indicate an uplink grant comprising transmission parameters for one or more transport blocks ... In an example, the base station may transmit a DCI comprising slot format indicator (SFI) notifying a slot format. In an example, the base station may transmit a DCI comprising pre-emption indication notifying the PRB(s) and/or OFDM symbol(s) where a wireless device may assume no transmission is intended for the wireless device).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Xu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of uplink/downlink synchronization.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Xu to create the method, further comprising: mapping the at least one slot format ID to a plurality of respective uplink channel resource identifiers (IDs), wherein the mapping correlates the at least one slot format ID with the uplink channel resource IDs to identify respective particular sub-slots or symbols in a slot usable for uplink transmissions on a plurality of uplink channels.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to determine the time and frequency synchronization between the transmitter and receiver with regards to HARQ-ACK.
Regarding claim 14, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the network node, wherein the processor and the memory are configured to: communicate the mapping of the at least one slot format ID to the respective uplink channel resource ID to the UE in the wireless communication system.
However, Xu discloses the network node, wherein the processor and the memory are configured to:
communicate the mapping of the at least one slot format ID to the respective uplink channel resource ID to the UE in the wireless communication system ([0252] a base station may transmit DCI/control signaling via PDCCH ... a DCI may correspond to an RNTI. In an example, the wireless device may obtain an RNTI in response to completing the initial access (e.g., C-RNTI)).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Xu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of uplink/downlink synchronization.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Xu to create the network node, wherein the processor and the memory are configured to: communicate the mapping of the at least one slot format ID to the respective uplink channel resource ID to the UE in the wireless communication system.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to determine the time and frequency synchronization between the transmitter and receiver with regards to HARQ-ACK.
Regarding claim 18, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the network node, wherein the mapping of the at least one slot format ID to the respective uplink channel resource identifier (ID) is configured to enable a UE to identify the at least one particular sub-slot or symbol in the slot usable for transmissions on the uplink channel.
However, Xu discloses the network node, wherein the mapping of the at least one slot format ID to the respective uplink channel resource identifier (ID) is configured to enable a UE to identify the at least one particular sub-slot or symbol in the slot usable for transmissions on the uplink channel ([0252] a base station may transmit DCI/control signaling via PDCCH … A DCI may comprise downlink and/or uplink scheduling information (e.g., resource allocation information, HARQ related parameters, MCS) … one or more timing information (e.g., TB transmission/reception timing, HARQ feedback timing, etc.), etc. In an example, a DCI may indicate an uplink grant comprising transmission parameters for one or more transport blocks ... In an example, the base station may transmit a DCI comprising slot format indicator (SFI) notifying a slot format. In an example, the base station may transmit a DCI comprising pre-emption indication notifying the PRB(s) and/or OFDM symbol(s) where a wireless device may assume no transmission is intended for the wireless device).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Xu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of uplink/downlink synchronization.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Xu to create the network node, wherein the mapping of the at least one slot format ID to the respective uplink channel resource identifier (ID) is configured to enable a UE to identify the at least one particular sub-slot or symbol in the slot usable for transmissions on the uplink channel.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to determine the time and frequency synchronization between the transmitter and receiver with regards to HARQ-ACK.
Regarding claim 22, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the network node, wherein the processor and the memory are configured to map the at least one slot format ID to a plurality of respective uplink channel resource identifiers (IDs), wherein the mapping correlates the at least one slot format ID with the uplink channel resource IDs to identify respective particular sub-slots or symbols in a slot usable for uplink (UL) transmissions on a plurality of uplink channels.
However, Xu discloses the network node, wherein the processor and the memory are configured to map the at least one slot format ID to a plurality of respective uplink channel resource identifiers (IDs), wherein the mapping correlates the at least one slot format ID with the uplink channel resource IDs to identify respective particular sub-slots or symbols in a slot usable for uplink (UL) transmissions on a plurality of uplink channels ([0252] a base station may transmit DCI/control signaling via PDCCH … A DCI may comprise downlink and/or uplink scheduling information (e.g., resource allocation information, HARQ related parameters, MCS) … one or more timing information (e.g., TB transmission/reception timing, HARQ feedback timing, etc.), etc. In an example, a DCI may indicate an uplink grant comprising transmission parameters for one or more transport blocks ... In an example, the base station may transmit a DCI comprising slot format indicator (SFI) notifying a slot format. In an example, the base station may transmit a DCI comprising pre-emption indication notifying the PRB(s) and/or OFDM symbol(s) where a wireless device may assume no transmission is intended for the wireless device).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Xu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of uplink/downlink synchronization.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Xu to create the network node, wherein the processor and the memory are configured to map the at least one slot format ID to a plurality of respective uplink channel resource identifiers (IDs), wherein the mapping correlates the at least one slot format ID with the uplink channel resource IDs to identify respective particular sub-slots or symbols in a slot usable for uplink (UL) transmissions on a plurality of uplink channels.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to determine the time and frequency synchronization between the transmitter and receiver with regards to HARQ-ACK.
Claims 3-5, 12, 23, 26, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view of Park, as applied to claims 1, 13, 24, or 30 above, and further in view of Mu (US20220278779A1) (hereinafter "Mu").
Regarding claim 3, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the method, wherein the uplink channel comprises a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH).
However, Mu discloses the method, wherein the uplink channel comprises a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) ([0104] if the PUCCH resource of the sent HARQ-ACK is a PUCCH resource with an index 2, the index of the PUCCH resource corresponding to a format of the PUCCH resource (for example, format 1, format 2, etc.), a time-frequency position of the PUCCH resource, etc., then in sub-slots and slots, determination is based on the format and time-frequency position corresponding to the index 2).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Mu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of uplink/downlink synchronization.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Mu to create the method, wherein the uplink channel comprises a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH).
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to determine the time and frequency synchronization between the transmitter and receiver with regards to HARQ-ACK and the PUCCH.
Regarding claim 4, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the method, wherein the PUCCH is reserved for a feedback signal received from a UE.
However, Mu discloses the method, wherein the PUCCH is reserved for a feedback signal ([0104] HARQ-ACK) received from a UE ([0104] if the PUCCH resource of the sent HARQ-ACK is a PUCCH resource with an index 2, the index of the PUCCH resource corresponding to a format of the PUCCH resource (for example, format 1, format 2, etc.), a time-frequency position of the PUCCH resource, etc., then in sub-slots and slots, determination is based on the format and time-frequency position corresponding to the index 2).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Mu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of uplink/downlink synchronization.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Mu to create the method, wherein the PUCCH is reserved for a feedback signal received from a UE.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to determine the time and frequency synchronization between the transmitter and receiver by utilizing HARQ-ACK and the PUCCH.
Regarding claim 5, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the method, wherein the feedback signal comprises a semi-persistent scheduled (SPS) signal.
However, Mu discloses the method, wherein the feedback signal comprises a semi-persistent scheduled (SPS) signal ([0078] the parameter n1PUCCH-AN may indicate an identifier of the PUCCH used by the HARQ-ACK sent by the UE for the PDSCH of the SPS configuration, and the indicated identifiers are the same for sub-slots and slots).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Mu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of uplink/downlink synchronization.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Mu to create the method, wherein the feedback signal comprises a semi-persistent scheduled (SPS) signal.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce signaling overhead for time and frequency synchronization between the transmitter and receiver by utilizing HARQ-ACK and SPS.
Regarding claim 12, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the method, wherein each of the plurality of uplink channel resource identifiers (IDs) correspond to a respective semi-persistent scheduled downlink and uplink feedback transmission.
However, Mu discloses the method, wherein each of the plurality of uplink channel resource identifiers (IDs) correspond to a respective semi-persistent scheduled downlink and uplink feedback transmission ([0078] the parameter n1PUCCH-AN may indicate an identifier of the PUCCH used by the HARQ-ACK sent by the UE for the PDSCH of the SPS configuration, and the indicated identifiers are the same for sub-slots and slots).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Mu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of uplink/downlink synchronization.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Mu to create the method, wherein each of the plurality of uplink channel resource identifiers (IDs) correspond to a respective semi-persistent scheduled downlink and uplink feedback transmission.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce signaling overhead for time and frequency synchronization between the transmitter and receiver by utilizing HARQ-ACK and SPS.
Regarding claim 23, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the network node wherein each of the plurality of uplink channel resource identifiers (IDs) correspond to a respective semi-persistent scheduled downlink and uplink feedback transmission.
However, Mu discloses the network node wherein each of the plurality of uplink channel resource identifiers (IDs) correspond to a respective semi-persistent scheduled downlink and uplink feedback transmission ([0078] the parameter n1PUCCH-AN may indicate an identifier of the PUCCH used by the HARQ-ACK sent by the UE for the PDSCH of the SPS configuration, and the indicated identifiers are the same for sub-slots and slots).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Mu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of uplink/downlink synchronization.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Mu to create the network node wherein each of the plurality of uplink channel resource identifiers (IDs) correspond to a respective semi-persistent scheduled downlink and uplink feedback transmission.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce signaling overhead for time and frequency synchronization between the transmitter and receiver by utilizing HARQ-ACK and SPS.
Regarding claim 26, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the method, wherein the UL signal comprises a semi-persistent scheduled (SPS) feedback signal transmitted to a base station in the wireless communication network.
However, Mu discloses the method, wherein the UL signal comprises a semi-persistent scheduled (SPS) feedback signal transmitted to a base station in the wireless communication network ([0078] the parameter n1PUCCH-AN may indicate an identifier of the PUCCH used by the HARQ-ACK sent by the UE for the PDSCH of the SPS configuration, and the indicated identifiers are the same for sub-slots and slots).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Mu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of uplink/downlink synchronization.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Mu to create the method, wherein the UL signal comprises a semi-persistent scheduled (SPS) feedback signal transmitted to a base station in the wireless communication network.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce signaling overhead for time and frequency synchronization between the transmitter and receiver by utilizing HARQ-ACK and SPS.
Regarding claim 29, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the method further comprising: determining respective particular sub-slots or symbols in a slot usable for a plurality of uplink (UL) transmissions on the uplink channel based on a plurality of uplink channel resource IDs; wherein each of the plurality of uplink channel resource IDs correspond to a respective semi-persistent scheduled downlink and uplink feedback transmission.
However, Mu discloses the method further comprising:
determining respective particular sub-slots or symbols in a slot usable for a plurality of uplink (UL) transmissions on the uplink channel based on a plurality of uplink channel resource IDs ([0104] if the PUCCH resource of the sent HARQ-ACK is a PUCCH resource with an index 2, the index of the PUCCH resource corresponding to a format of the PUCCH resource (for example, format 1, format 2, etc.), a time-frequency position of the PUCCH resource, etc., then in sub-slots and slots, determination is based on the format and time-frequency position corresponding to the index 2);
wherein each of the plurality of uplink channel resource IDs correspond to a respective semi-persistent scheduled downlink and uplink feedback transmission ([0078] the parameter n1PUCCH-AN may indicate an identifier of the PUCCH used by the HARQ-ACK sent by the UE for the PDSCH of the SPS configuration, and the indicated identifiers are the same for sub-slots and slots).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Mu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of uplink/downlink synchronization.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Mu to create the method further comprising: determining respective particular sub-slots or symbols in a slot usable for a plurality of uplink (UL) transmissions on the uplink channel based on a plurality of uplink channel resource IDs; wherein each of the plurality of uplink channel resource IDs correspond to a respective semi-persistent scheduled downlink and uplink feedback transmission.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce signaling overhead for time and frequency synchronization between the transmitter and receiver by utilizing HARQ-ACK and SPS.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu, in view of Park as applied to claims 1, 13, 24, or 30 above, and in further view of Chen et al (US20200205151A1) (hereinafter "Chen").
Regarding claim 6, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the method further comprising: sending a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) to a UE; and wherein the feedback signal is an acknowledgement/non-acknowledgement (ACK/NACK) signal responsive to the HARQ.
However, Chen discloses the method further comprising:
sending a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) to a UE; and ([0049] an access point 105-a may acknowledge receipt of a transmission by providing ACK/NACK for the transmission through, for example, a HARQ scheme)
wherein the feedback signal is an acknowledgement/non-acknowledgement (ACK/NACK) signal responsive to the HARQ ([0092] the common UL portion 906 may include feedback information corresponding to the control portion 902. Non-limiting examples of feedback information may include an ACK signal, a NACK signal, a HARQ indicator).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Chen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques that help enable low latency communications between a user equipment and a base station with regards uplink design.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Chen to create the method further comprising: sending a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) to a UE; and wherein the feedback signal is an acknowledgement/non-acknowledgement (ACK/NACK) signal responsive to the HARQ.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to provide an indication to the base station on the status of transmission to the user equipment.
Claims 8-9, 19-20 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu, in view of Park as applied to claims 1, 13, 24, or 30 above, and in further view of Kim (US20180278380A1) (hereinafter "Kim").
Regarding claim 8, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the method, wherein the wireless communication network is operable with a dynamic time division duplex (TDD) configuration wherein multiple slot format configurations are utilized in the wireless communication network.
However, Kim discloses the method, wherein the wireless communication network is operable with a dynamic time division duplex (TDD) configuration wherein multiple slot format configurations are utilized in the wireless communication network ([0408] the UE may receive a slot format indicator (SFI) for providing notification of a specific TDD UL-DL slot format from the base station).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Kim are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of methods for transmitting and receiving an uplink control channel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Kim to create the method, wherein the wireless communication network is operable with a dynamic time division duplex (TDD) configuration wherein multiple slot format configurations are utilized in the wireless communication network.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to avoid transmission timing overlaps.
Regarding claim 9, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the method, further comprising: specifying one of a sub-slot or a symbol location in the uplink channel resource ID for the uplink channel resource correlating to the at least one slot format ID, and the specified sub-slot or symbol location changes from a first slot format configuration to a second slot format configuration.
However, Kim discloses the method, further comprising:
specifying one of a sub-slot or a symbol location in the uplink channel resource ID for the uplink channel resource correlating to the at least one slot format ID ([0203] The starting symbol index of the uplink control channel may correspond to a slot format), and the specified sub-slot or symbol location changes from a first slot format configuration to a second slot format configuration ([0010] SFIs for two or more different slots may be transmitted in the slot #n, one of the two or more different SFIs may indicate the format of the slot #(n+k), remaining SFIs of the two or more different SFIs may respectively indicate formats of slots prior to the slot #n, and the remaining SFIs may indicate formats of slots other than the slot #(n+k). [0011] The SFI may indicate a number of one or more symbols used for transmission of at least the UCI in the slot #(n+k).).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Kim are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of methods for transmitting and receiving an uplink control channel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Kim to create the method, further comprising: specifying one of a sub-slot or a symbol location in the uplink channel resource ID for the uplink channel resource correlating to the at least one slot format ID, and the specified sub-slot or symbol location changes from a first slot format configuration to a second slot format configuration.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to avoid transmission timing overlaps.
Regarding claim 19, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the network node, wherein the wireless communication system is operable with a dynamic time division duplex (TDD) configuration wherein multiple slot format configurations are utilized in the wireless communication system.
However, Kim discloses the network node, wherein the wireless communication system is operable with a dynamic time division duplex (TDD) configuration wherein multiple slot format configurations are utilized in the wireless communication system ([0408] the UE may receive a slot format indicator (SFI) for providing notification of a specific TDD UL-DL slot format from the base station).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Kim are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of methods for transmitting and receiving an uplink control channel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Kim to create network node, wherein the wireless communication system is operable with a dynamic time division duplex (TDD) configuration wherein multiple slot format configurations are utilized in the wireless communication system.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to avoid transmission timing overlaps.
Regarding claim 20, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the network node, wherein the processor and the memory are configured to specify one of a sub-slot or a symbol location in the uplink channel resource ID for the uplink channel resource correlating to the at least one slot format ID, and the specified sub-slot or symbol location changes from a first slot format configuration to a second slot format configuration.
However, Kim discloses the network node, wherein the processor and the memory are configured to specify one of a sub-slot or a symbol location in the uplink channel resource ID for the uplink channel resource correlating to the at least one slot format ID ([0203] The starting symbol index of the uplink control channel may correspond to a slot format) , and the specified sub-slot or symbol location changes from a first slot format configuration to a second slot format configuration ([0010] SFIs for two or more different slots may be transmitted in the slot #n, one of the two or more different SFIs may indicate the format of the slot #(n+k), remaining SFIs of the two or more different SFIs may respectively indicate formats of slots prior to the slot #n, and the remaining SFIs may indicate formats of slots other than the slot #(n+k). [0011] The SFI may indicate a number of one or more symbols used for transmission of at least the UCI in the slot #(n+k).).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Kim are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of methods for transmitting and receiving an uplink control channel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Kim to create the network node, wherein the processor and the memory are configured to specify one of a sub-slot or a symbol location in the uplink channel resource ID for the uplink channel resource correlating to the at least one slot format ID, and the specified sub-slot or symbol location changes from a first slot format configuration to a second slot format configuration.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to avoid transmission timing overlaps.
Regarding claim 27, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the method, wherein the wireless communication network is operable according to a dynamic time division duplex (TDD) configuration wherein multiple slot format configurations are utilized in the wireless communication network.
However, Kim discloses the method, wherein the wireless communication network is operable according to a dynamic time division duplex (TDD) configuration wherein multiple slot format configurations are utilized in the wireless communication network ([0408] the UE may receive a slot format indicator (SFI) for providing notification of a specific TDD UL-DL slot format from the base station).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Kim are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of methods for transmitting and receiving an uplink control channel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Kim to create the method, wherein the wireless communication network is operable according to a dynamic time division duplex (TDD) configuration wherein multiple slot format configurations are utilized in the wireless communication network.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to avoid transmission timing overlaps.
Claims 10, 21, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu, in view of Park as applied to claims 1, 13, 24, or 30 above, and in further view of Huang (US20200267597A1) (hereinafter "Huang").
Regarding claim 10, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the method further comprising: specifying one or more of intra-slot frequency hopping enable/disable, a starting physical resource block (PRB) number, or a second hopping PRB number in the uplink channel resource ID.
However, Huang discloses the method further comprising:
specifying one or more of intra-slot frequency hopping enable/disable, a starting physical resource block (PRB) number, or a second hopping PRB number in the uplink channel resource ID ([0136-0140] If a UE has dedicated PUCCH resource configuration, the UE is provided by higher layers with one or more PUCCH resources. A PUCCH resource includes … an index of the first PRB prior to frequency hopping or for no frequency hopping by startingPRB; an index of the first PRB after frequency hopping by secondHopPRB; an indication for intra-slot frequency hopping by intraSlotFrequencyHopping).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Huang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of methods for uplink channel slot allocation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Huang to create the method further comprising: specifying one or more of intra-slot frequency hopping enable/disable, a starting physical resource block (PRB) number, or a second hopping PRB number in the uplink channel resource ID.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to avoid transmission timing and frequency overlaps.
Regarding claim 21, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the network node wherein the processor and the memory are configured to specify one or more of intra-slot frequency hopping enable/disable, a starting physical resource block (PRB) number, or a second hopping PRB number in the uplink channel resource ID.
However, Huang discloses the network node wherein the processor and the memory are configured to specify one or more of intra-slot frequency hopping enable/disable, a starting physical resource block (PRB) number, or a second hopping PRB number in the uplink channel resource ID ([0136-0140] If a UE has dedicated PUCCH resource configuration, the UE is provided by higher layers with one or more PUCCH resources. A PUCCH resource includes … an index of the first PRB prior to frequency hopping or for no frequency hopping by startingPRB; an index of the first PRB after frequency hopping by secondHopPRB; an indication for intra-slot frequency hopping by intraSlotFrequencyHopping).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Huang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of methods for uplink channel slot allocation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Huang to create the network node wherein the processor and the memory are configured to specify one or more of intra-slot frequency hopping enable/disable, a starting physical resource block (PRB) number, or a second hopping PRB number in the uplink channel resource ID.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to avoid transmission timing and frequency overlaps.
Regarding claim 28, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the method, wherein the uplink channel resource ID includes one or more of intra-slot frequency hopping enable/disable, a starting physical resource block (PRB) number, or a second hopping PRB number.
However, Huang discloses the method, wherein the uplink channel resource ID includes one or more of intra-slot frequency hopping enable/disable, a starting physical resource block (PRB) number, or a second hopping PRB number ([0136-0140] If a UE has dedicated PUCCH resource configuration, the UE is provided by higher layers with one or more PUCCH resources. A PUCCH resource includes … an index of the first PRB prior to frequency hopping or for no frequency hopping by startingPRB; an index of the first PRB after frequency hopping by secondHopPRB; an indication for intra-slot frequency hopping by intraSlotFrequencyHopping).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Huang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of methods for uplink channel slot allocation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Huang to create the method, wherein the uplink channel resource ID includes one or more of intra-slot frequency hopping enable/disable, a starting physical resource block (PRB) number, or a second hopping PRB number.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to avoid transmission timing and frequency overlaps.
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu, in view of Park as applied to claims 1, 13, 24, or 30 above, and in further view of Yoshimura (WO2021020590A1) (hereinafter "Yoshimura").
Regarding claim 31, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the method, wherein the uplink channel resource identifier (ID) includes a field that encodes a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) to hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback timing indication specifying an uplink transmission location with sub-slot and/or per-symbol granularity in a feedback slot.
However, Yoshimura discloses the method, wherein the uplink channel resource identifier (ID) includes a field that encodes a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) to hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback timing indication specifying an uplink transmission location with sub-slot and/or per-symbol granularity in a feedback slot ([0143] The PDSCH-to-HARQ-feedback timing indicator field may be at least used to indicate the offset from a slot in which the last OFDM symbol of a PDSCH scheduled by the DCI format 1_0 is included to another slot in which the first OFDM symbol of a PUCCH triggered by the DCI format 1 0 is included. [0144] The PUCCH resource indicator field may be a field indicating an index of any one or more PUCCH resources included in the PUCCH resource set for a PUCCH transmission. The PUCCH resource set may include one or more PUCCH resources. The PUCCH resource indicator field may trigger PUCCH transmission with a PUCCH resource indicated at least based on the PUCCH resource indicator field.).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Yoshimura are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for HARQ scheduling arrangements.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Yoshimura to create the method, wherein the uplink channel resource identifier (ID) includes a field that encodes a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) to hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback timing indication specifying an uplink transmission location with sub-slot and/or per-symbol granularity in a feedback slot.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to indicate an amount of offset needed between symbols.
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu, in view of Park as applied to claims 1, 13, 24, or 30 above, and in further view of Xiong (US20150078224A1) (hereinafter "Xiong").
Regarding claim 32, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the method, wherein the feedback timing indication comprises an index N that identifies an Nth UL sub-slot or symbol in the feedback slot, N being selected from a configured range comprising 0-6 for two-symbol sub-slots.
However, Xiong discloses the method, wherein the feedback timing indication comprises an index N that identifies an Nth UL sub-slot or symbol in the feedback slot, N being selected from a configured range comprising 0-6 for two-symbol sub-slots ([0026] The PUSCH transmission bundle 208 may complete transmission at time 210. Once transmission of PUSCH transmission bundle 208 completes, the eNB that receives the PUSCH transmission bundle may need a period of time to process the PUSCH transmission bundle. Such a period of time is depicted by the time period between time 210 and time 212. In some embodiments, the time period between time 210 and time 212 may be a predefined period time to allow for scheduling of later transmissions. For example, in frequency division duplex (FDD) systems the predefined period of time may be four subframes and in time division duplex (TDD) systems the predefined period of time may be k1 where k1 is determined in accordance with Table 1, below. In other words, if time 210 corresponds with subframe 'n,' then time 212 may, in FDD systems, correspond with subframe n+4, and in TDD systems may correspond with n+k1.).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Xiong are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of methods for feedback timing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Xiong to create the method, wherein the feedback timing indication comprises an index N that identifies an Nth UL sub-slot or symbol in the feedback slot, N being selected from a configured range comprising 0-6 for two-symbol sub-slots.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to indicate an amount of offset needed between symbols.
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu, in view of Park as applied to claims 1, 13, 24, or 30 above, and in further view of Wang (WO2020032637A1) (hereinafter "Wang").
Regarding claim 33, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the method, further comprising, when a UL symbol indicated by the feedback timing indication cannot bear HARQ feedback, scheduling the UE to transmit the feedback at an Nth available UL sub-slot or symbol, where N is configured by the network.
However, Wang discloses the method, further comprising, when a UL symbol indicated by the feedback timing indication cannot bear HARQ feedback, scheduling the UE to transmit the feedback at an Nth available UL sub-slot or symbol, where N is configured by the network (Pg 33 :In particular, in the above example, K=1, i.e., only one repetition is supported, i.e., the base station schedules one TB. However, it may be allowed to start the uplink transmission on any sub-resource (e.g., one or more symbols, which may be predefined or configured by the base station). At this time, it is equivalent to configuring the transmission period P to be equal to one sub-resource, and of course, it is not necessary to configure the transmission period P. Specifically, the UE determines that the uplink transmission may be started in any sub-resource as configured by the base station (for example, the initial resource information), and the UE obtains the uplink scheduling according to the DCI or the RRC, starts uplink transmission on the latest sub-resource when the uplink data arrive, and repeats the transmission K times. The sub-resource is configured in the uplink scheduling and/or configured in the initial resource information.).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Wang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for uplink channel slot allocation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Wang to create the method, further comprising, when a UL symbol indicated by the feedback timing indication cannot bear HARQ feedback, scheduling the UE to transmit the feedback at an Nth available UL sub-slot or symbol, where N is configured by the network.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have a default parameter to prevent transmission timing collisions.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu, in view of Park as applied to claims 1, 13, 24, or 30 above, and in further view of Baldemair (CN111201736A) (hereinafter "Baldemair").
Regarding claim 34, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the method, wherein scheduling of a first or the Nth available UL sub-slot or symbol is subject to a packet-expiration constraint for the feedback.
However, Baldemair discloses the method, wherein scheduling of a first or the Nth available UL sub-slot or symbol is subject to a packet-expiration constraint for the feedback (Pg. 4: In the case of transmitting dynamic scheduling, the PUCCH resource and the time the scheduling in the downlink allocation indication. the association between the PDSCH and PUCCH may be based in the scheduling DCI (AT) indicates a PUCCH resource (PR) and time. all the PDSCH HARQ feedback reports the scheduling DCI indicating the same PUCCH resource and time together in the same HARQ codebook. latest PDSCH may include limited by UE HARQ feedback the required processing time. FIG. 3 shows a HARQ feedback related to the example. in the example depicted, the UE can report on short PUCCH HARQ feedback in the same time slot. for a given PUCCH resource to be included in the HARQ codebook of the earliest PDSCH is a PDSCH scheduled after expiration of the time window of the last sending the same PUCCH resource.).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Baldemair are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of methods for sending hybrid automatic repeat request feedback.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Baldemair to create the method, wherein scheduling of a first or the Nth available UL sub-slot or symbol is subject to a packet-expiration constraint for the feedback.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to avoid transmission timing overlaps.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 8-9 of Applicant's remarks, Applicant submits argument that "Paragraph [0095] of the as-filed specification explicitly contemplates terminal behavior when specific format information is missing: "The DL-DataToUL-ACK-rl6 value can also indicate the order of the available UL sub-slot ( or symbol) in the feedback slot, if the feedback slot configuration is not known." As-Filed Specification, paragraph [0095]. The specification uses "not known" in the context of the UE not having received the configuration information from the UE's perspective, a configuration that is "not known" and a configuration that was never transmitted are functionally equivalent because in both cases the UE must operate without that information. From a technical standpoint, the specification's use of "not known" necessarily encompasses the scenario where no SFI was transmitted to the UE-because if no SFI is transmitted, the configuration is necessarily "not known" to the UE. The claim language "absence of a slot format ID being transmitted" describes one specific cause of the configuration being "not known," and the specification's broader disclosure of handling the "not known" state inherently includes this specific scenario as a subset. This disclosure demonstrates that the inventors possessed a fallback mechanism for resource determination that functions specifically when the UE lacks a transmitted slot format ID."
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Examiner does not give the claim element "even in the absence of a slot format ID being transmitted to a user equipment (UE) in the network" patentable weight. It is unclear as to the meaning of "even in the absence." The phrase does not clarify whether the slot format ID is optional or mandatory. Broadly interpreted, the claim does not preclude the mapping of a slot format ID to uplink channel resource ID to determine usable uplink resources in the event that a slot format ID has been transmitted to a UE. Thus, the "even in the absence of a slot format ID being transmitted to a user equipment (UE) in the network" limitation is not a requirement of the claim. Moreover, paragraph [0095] of the specification only states a particular value (DLDataToUL-ACK-r16) can indicate the order of the available UL sub-slot (or symbol) in the feedback slot, if the feedback slot configuration is not known. However, the paragraph does not state that the slot format ID is not communicated. An unknown slot configuration does not necessarily equate with a slot format ID that is not transmitted. The claim is explicit in stating the absence of a slot format ID being transmitted to a UE; the specification does not provide this level of specificity. Furthermore, paragraph [0095] does not show mapping a slot format ID to uplink channel resource ID.
On pages 8-9 of remarks, Applicant argues "The specification establishes a structural correlation where the resource ID itself provides the format information. Paragraph [0083] states that "when the UE receives the resource ID for the uplink channel, the UE is apprised of the particular slot format and also what UL resources may be used for transmission on the PUCCH." As-Filed Specification, paragraph [0083]. Because the resource ID "apprises" the UE of the format, a separate, dynamic slot format ID (SFI) is not a functional prerequisite. The mapping described in paragraph [0083] defines a system where the resource ID serves as a proxy-a vehicle for format information-obviating the need for per-slot SFI signaling. While the Examiner focused on paragraph [0083] and noted that the verbatim phrase "in the absence of" does not appear there, the paragraph describes a structural correlation between the resource ID and the slot format that obviates the need for a separate, dynamic slot format ID transmission. This disclosure demonstrates the inventors' possession of a mapping mechanism that enables UL resource identification independently of dynamic SFI transmission."
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant appears to equate the resource ID with the slot format ID. However, there is no indication from paragraph [0083] that the resource ID and the slot format ID are the same. The cited passage states that the UE determines the slot format from the resource ID. The claim is explicit in reciting mapping the slot format ID to the resource ID. Paragraph [0083] does not mention mapping the slot format ID to the resource ID, and the claim does not recite the transmission of a resource ID.
On pages 9-10 of remarks, Applicant further argues "Paragraph [0084] confirms that "a PUCCH resource indicator (also referred to herein as PUCCH Resource ID or PRI) is provided for or correlated to each slot format configuration, which may be designated or identified by a slot format ID by the network. This correlation allows the UE to select which UL symbol is available for transmitting feedback (e.g., ACK/NACK) on the PUCCH for the particular slot format configuration to avoid collision." As-Filed Specification, paragraph [0084]. This correlation is established via higher-layer (RRC) signaling, which is semi-static and persists across slots. This is technically distinct from dynamic, slot-specific SFI signaling via DCI format 2_0. Possession of the semi-static mapping inherently covers its application in any slot where the dynamic signaling is absent. The UE uses the persistent, pre-established correlation to identify available UL symbols even when no dynamic SFI is transmitted for a specific slot. This disclosure demonstrates the inventors' possession of a pre-configured correlation that operates across slots regardless of whether dynamic SFI signaling is present. Taken together, these disclosures describe a pre-established mapping that enables UL resource identification without requiring real-time SFI transmission. Paragraphs [0083]-[0084] and [0095] collectively and unambiguously convey that the inventors possessed the concept of determining usable UL resources based on a pre-configured uplink channel resource ID even when a slot format ID has not been transmitted to the UE. This is precisely the concept recited by claims 1 and 13 ("even in the absence of a slot format ID being transmitted to a user equipment") and claims 24 and 30 ("in the absence of receiving a slot format identifier for a slot").
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The cited portion states that a UE may determine a slot format ID based on a resource ID. Similar to the previously cited paragraphs by the Applicant, there is notably no mention of mapping a slot format ID to an uplink channel resource ID as specifically recited in the claims. Taken together, paragraphs [0083]-[0084] and [0095] would not allow one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize possession of the mapping of a slot format ID to an uplink channel resource ID to determine usable uplink resources even when a slot format ID has not been transmitted to a UE. Based on remarks above, Examiner maintains rejection of claims 1-30 based on 35 USC 112(a).
On pages 10-11 of Applicant's remarks, Applicant submits argument that "… Lu merely teaches that an SFI-index field value identifies which symbols within a slot are designated as UL, DL, or flexible. This is not the same as "mapping the at least one slot format ID to a respective uplink (UL) channel resource identifier (ID)" as recited by claim 1. Claim 1 requires correlating two distinct identifiers-a slot format ID and an uplink channel resource ID (e.g., a PUCCH Resource ID)-such that the mapping between them identifies particular sub-slots or symbols usable for UL transmissions. As described in the specification, this uplink channel resource ID (e.g., n1PUCCH-AN) is a distinct pointer to a cluster of physical parameters-including starting PRBs, frequency hopping flags, PUCCH format, and specific symbol offsets (e.g., DL-Data-To-ULACK). See As-Filed Specification, paragraphs [0085], [0092]-[0093]. In the claimed invention, the Resource ID is not merely a destination for UL transmissions; it is an informational proxy-a vehicle that "apprises" the UE of the format in which it must operate. Neither Lu nor Park suggests that a resource indicator (e.g., a PUCCH index) can carry the internal logic of a slot format configuration. Lu's slot format table merely labels symbols within a slot as 'D,' 'U,' or 'X'; it does not teach a mapping from a slot format ID to a separate uplink channel resource identifier containing physical resource parameters such as PRB indices, frequency hopping configurations, and symbol offsets. Lu's SFI table contains no information regarding starting PRBs, frequency hopping enable/disable, or PDSCH-to-HARQ feedback timing indices. Because Lu lacks these physical resource components, it cannot suggest mapping a format ID to an identifier that contains them. One cannot 'map' a slot format ID to a resource identifier when the Examiner treats the slot format itself as the resource identifier-these are distinct concepts in the claimed invention. The Examiner conflates the identification of uplink symbols within a slot format with the distinct concept of an uplink channel resource identifier that is mapped to a slot format ID."
The Examiner respectfully disagrees, noting that the Applicant's specification allow uplink channel resource ID to be broadly interpreted as a resource's relative position. Paragraphs [0083-0085] show a resource ID for the uplink channel may be a PUCCH Resource ID. The PUCCH Resource ID may be configured as "n1PUCCH-AN.'' The resource ID n1PUCCH-AN may be configured with a downlink data to uplink ACK, which can be indicated per symbol (e.g. DL-Data-To-ULACK = 7th sub-slot (sub-slot of 2 symbols)).
[0083] Accordingly, the present disclosure provides a mapping or correlation between a particular slot format (or slot format identifier (ID)) and a resource ID for the uplink channel (e.g., PUCCH).
[0084] In a particular example, a PUCCH resource indicator (also referred to herein as PUCCH Resource ID or PRI is provided for or correlated to each slot format configuration, which may be designated or identified by a slot format ID by the network.
[0085] In a further example, the PUCCH Resource ID may be configured to include a PUCCH format with all of its particular parameters. For example, a PUCCH Resource ID may be configured as "n1PUCCH-AN'' where AN denotes ACK/NACK. The resource ID n1PUCCH-AN may be configured with a PUCCH Resource ID parameter (e.g., PUCCH Resource ID 2) and a downlink data to uplink ACK (e.g., dlDataToUL-ACK) for a slot format (e.g., Slot Format 33). Further parameters include a starting physical resource block PRB (e.g., PRB #10), a flag or indication of whether intra--slot frequency hopping is enabled or not (e.g., intraSlotFrequencyHopping:'disabled'), the second hop PRB when there is frequency hopping (e.g., secondHopPRB:none, format 0), and a downlink to uplink ACK indication of a slot or sub-slot (e.g., DL-Data-To-ULACK = 7th sub-slot (sub-slot of 2 symbols)). For a higher granularity, the DL-Data-To-ULACK (or PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback) indication can be indicated per symbol; e.g. for a symbol of the 28 symbols in a sub-slot or mini-slot having two slots of 14 symbols.
Lu [0290] discloses a SFI-index indicates to a UE a slot format for each slot, and a slot format is identified by a corresponding format index as provided in Table 11.1.1-1 where ‘D’ denotes a downlink symbol, ‘U’ denotes an uplink symbol, and ‘X’ denotes a flexible symbol. Thus, the symbol may be identified by its positioning within the slot. The SFI index (slot format ID) indicates the uplink channel resource position (uplink channel resource ID) based on the slot format/slot configuration.
On pages 11-12 of remarks, Applicant further argues, "Park's teaching is fundamentally different from the claimed invention. Park describes a blanket default assumption: when SFI is absent, all slots are simply assumed to consist entirely of UL symbols. This "all-UL assumption" eliminates the need for any mapping or resource identification mechanism entirely-if every symbol in a slot is assumed to be UL, there is no need to identify which particular sub-slot or symbol is usable for UL transmissions. This is the opposite of the claimed invention, which maintains granular resource identification through a pre-established mapping even when dynamic SFI signaling is absent. Claim 1 requires a preestablished mapping between slot format IDs and uplink channel resource IDs that enables identification of specific UL resources even without dynamic SFI transmission. Park's approach of assuming all symbols are UL does not involve any mapping, any uplink channel resource identifier, or any identification of particular sub-slots or symbols-it simply treats everything as UL. One skilled in the art would not look to Park's "assume everything is UL" approach to teach a mapping that identifies particular sub-slots or symbols, because Park's teaching renders such a mapping unnecessary. The claimed invention, by contrast, maintains specificity even when dynamic SFI signaling is absent, using the pre-established mapping to identify particular sub-slots or symbols (e.g., the 7th two-symbol sub-slot) for UL transmission. Accordingly, Park fails to teach or suggest the claimed pre-established mapping between slot format IDs and uplink channel resource IDs that enables identification of specific UL resources in the absence of dynamic SFI transmission. Accordingly, the combination of Lu and Park fails to teach or suggest "mapping the at least one slot format ID to a respective uplink (UL) channel resource identifier (ID), wherein the mapping correlates the at least one slot format ID with the UL channel resource ID to identify at least one particular sub-slot or symbol in a slot usable for uplink (UL) transmissions on an uplink channel even in the absence of a slot format ID being transmitted to a user equipment (UE) in the network" as recited by claim 1. Claim 13 recites corresponding limitations and is patentable for the same reasons."
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Examiner submits the previous arguments regarding the requirement of the absence of a slot format ID. Additionally, the Examiner notes Park identifies at least one particular sub-slot or symbol to be usable for uplink transmission when slot format ID is absent. In particular, Park identifies all slots to be usable for uplink in the absence of a slot format ID.
Examiner submits the same rationales above to demonstrate that Lu and Park disclose the limitation of "wherein the mapping correlates the at least one slot format ID with the UL channel resource ID to identify at least one particular sub-slot or symbol in a slot usable for uplink (UL) transmissions on an uplink channel."
On pages 12-13 of remarks, Applicant further argues, "For claims 24 and 30, the Examiner maps the "determining, in the absence of receiving a slot format identifier for a slot" limitation to Lu at paragraphs [0367] and [0374]. These paragraphs discuss how a UE handles conflicting SFI indices during BWP switching and how multiple SFI indices may indicate different slot formats for the same slot. However, handling conflicting SFI indices is fundamentally different from operating "in the absence of receiving a slot format identifier for a slot" as recited by claim 24. Lu's cited paragraphs describe a UE that has received multiple, conflicting SFI indices and must resolve the conflict-not a UE that determines usable UL sub-slots or symbols without having received any slot format identifier at all. Claim 24 recites that the UE determines UL resources "based on an uplink channel resource identifier (ID), wherein the uplink channel resource ID correlates at least one slot format ID associated with a slot format configuration with the uplink channel resource ID." Lu does not teach an uplink channel resource ID that is correlated to slot format IDs and that enables the UE to determine UL resources in the absence of receiving an SFI. The Office Action rejection of claims 24 and 30 relies on the combination of Lu and Park, similar to the rejection of claims 1 and 13. As discussed in Section B above, Park teaches that "in the absence of SFI, the above-described signaling may be applied on the assumption that all slots consist of only UL symbols." This is a blanket default assumption in a V2X sidelink context. Park's "all-UL" assumption does not teach a UE "determining" specific UL sub-slots or symbols "based on an uplink channel resource identifier (ID), wherein the uplink channel resource ID correlates at least one slot format ID associated with a slot format configuration," as recited by claims 24 and 30. Park's blanket assumption that all symbols are UL eliminates the need for any correlation between an uplink channel resource ID and slot format IDs-which is the opposite of what claims 24 and 30 require. Claims 24 and 30 require the UE to use a preestablished correlation between the uplink channel resource ID and slot format IDs to determine specific UL resources; Park's approach simply assumes everything is UL, obviating any need for such a correlation. Accordingly, the combination of Lu and Park fails to teach the limitations of claims 24 and 30."
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Examiner submits the previous arguments regarding the requirement of the absence of a slot format ID, and the disclosure the limitation of "wherein the mapping correlates the at least one slot format ID with the UL channel resource ID to identify at least one particular sub-slot or symbol in a slot usable for uplink (UL) transmissions on an uplink channel."
Therefore, Lu and Park disclose the broadest reasonable interpretation of "mapping the at least one slot format ID to a respective uplink (UL) channel resource identifier (ID), wherein the mapping correlates the at least one slot format ID with the UL channel resource ID to identify at least one particular sub-slot or symbol in a slot usable for uplink (UL) transmissions on an uplink channel even in the absence of a slot format ID being transmitted to a user equipment (UE) in the network." Based on remarks above, Examiner maintains rejection of claims 1, 13, 24, 30 and associated dependent claims based on 35 USC 103.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D LITTLE/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419