This office action is in response to remarks filed on 01/20/2026.
Claims 1-14, 18-24 and 26-34 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 1-2, 8-9, 13-14, 19-20, 24, 27 and 30 are amended. Claims 15-17 and 25 are canceled. Claims 31-34 are added.
Response to Amendments
Claims 1-2, 8-9, 13-14, 19-20, 24, 27 and 30 have been considered based on amendments.
Claims 31-34 have been added and considered.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, the originally filed specification fails to disclose "wherein the mapping correlates the at least one slot format ID with the uplink channel resource ID to identify at least one particular sub-slot or symbol in a slot usable for uplink (UL) transmissions on an uplink channel even in the absence of a slot format ID being transmitted to a user equipment (UE) in the wireless communication system." Applicant asserts that the amended subject matter is supported by paragraph [0083] among other portions. However, the examiner has not found support for this limitation in the specifications. Dependent claims 2-12 are rejected as depending from base independent claim.
Regarding claim 13, the originally filed specification fails to disclose "wherein the mapping correlates the at least one slot format ID with the uplink channel resource ID to identify at least one particular sub-slot or symbol in a slot usable for uplink (UL) transmissions on an uplink channel even in the absence of a slot format ID being transmitted to a user equipment (UE) in the wireless communication system." Applicant asserts that the amended subject matter is supported by paragraph [0083] among other portions. However, the examiner has not found support for this limitation in the specifications. Dependent claims 14 and 18-23 are rejected as depending from base independent claim.
Regarding claim 24, the originally filed specification fails to disclose "A method for wireless communication in a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication network, comprising: determining, in the absence of receiving a slot format identifier for a slot, at least one particular sub-slot or symbol in the slot usable by the UE for uplink (UL) transmissions on an uplink (UL) channel based on an uplink channel resource identifier (ID)" Applicant asserts that the amended subject matter is supported by paragraph [0083] among other portions. However, the examiner has not found support for this limitation in the specifications. Dependent claims 26-29 are rejected as depending from base independent claims.
Regarding claim 30, the originally filed specification fails to disclose "A user equipment (UE) operable in a wireless communication system, comprising: a wireless transceiver; a memory; and a processor communicatively coupled to the wireless transceiver and the memory, wherein the processor and the memory are configured to: determine, in the absence of receiving a slot format identifier for a slot, at least one particular sub-slot or symbol in the slot usable by the UE for uplink (UL) transmissions on an uplink (UL) channel based on an uplink channel resource identifier (ID)" Applicant asserts that the amended subject matter is supported by paragraph [0083] among other portions. However, the examiner has not found support for this limitation in the specifications.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 13, 24, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al (US20190349180A1) (hereinafter "Lu") in view of Park et al (WO2020032704A1) (hereinafter "Park").
Regarding claim 1, Lu discloses a method for wireless communication at a network node in a wireless communication network, comprising:
determining at least one slot format indicator (ID) that correlates to at least one slot format configuration ([0102] slot format combinations) utilized by the wireless communication network ([0367] In one embodiment, UE may expect that the SFI index (or indices) may indicate same slot format/slot configuration on overlapping slots. If the SFI index (or indies) indicate different slot configurations or slot formats in overlapping slots of the new/target active BWP, UE may drop the SFI index (or indices) received before BWP switching and apply SFI index (or indices) received on the new/target active BWP.), and where slot format configurations utilized by the wireless communication network change dynamically between a plurality of slot format configurations; and ([0374] Multiple DCI format 2_0 indicating different slot configuration or slot format for same slots may not only happen when UE switches its active BWP. When slot format or slot configuration indicated by SFI index(s) is longer than SFI monitoring period, multiple SFI indices may indicate different slot format/slot configuration for same slot. A similar procedure that UE may use is to match multiple slot formats or slot configurations for the same slots.)
mapping the at least one slot format ID to a respective uplink (UL) channel resource identifier (ID) ([0290] A SFI-index field value in a DCI format 2_0 indicates to a UE a slot format for each slot in a number of slots for each DL BWP or each UL BWP starting from a slot where the UE detects the DCI format 2_0. … A slot format is identified by a corresponding format index as provided in Table 11.1.1-1 where ‘D’ denotes a downlink symbol, ‘U’ denotes an uplink symbol, and ‘X’ denotes a flexible symbol.).
Lu fails to disclose a method, comprising: wherein the mapping correlates the at least one slot format ID with the UL channel resource ID to identify at least one particular sub-slot or symbol in a slot usable for uplink (UL) transmissions on an uplink channel even in the absence of a slot format ID being transmitted to a user equipment (UE) in the network.
However, Park discloses a method, comprising: wherein the mapping correlates the at least one slot format ID with the UL channel resource ID to identify at least one particular sub-slot or symbol in a slot usable for uplink (UL) transmissions on an uplink channel even in the absence of a slot format ID being transmitted to a user equipment (UE) in the network (Pg. 34-35: In addition, as an example, based on the above, NR SL-SSB transmission symbols may be stably transmitted and received without colliding with DL transmission (e.g. PDSCH, CSI-RS, etc.) on the NR Uu link. In this case, as an example, the network view may indicate that the slot format indicator (DL / FL / UL symbol structure indicator in the slot indicated through the common PDCCH scrambled with SFI-RNTI) corresponds to UL symbols based on the above description. Can be. Also, for example, in the case of TDD, at least one of “TDD UL-DL configurationCommon”, “TDD UL-DL configurationCommon2”, and “TDD UL-DL configurationDedicated” is provided to NR Uu terminals to indicate that they correspond to UL symbols. can do. In addition, although the above has described TDD and FDD / SUL with SFI, in the absence of SFI, the above-described signaling may be applied on the assumption that all slots consist of only UL symbols. In addition, as an example, even in the case of TDD, the SFI value may be applied and is not limited to the above-described embodiment.).
Lu and Park are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of configuring slots for feedback signaling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu with Park to create a method, comprising: wherein the mapping correlates the at least one slot format ID with the UL channel resource ID to identify at least one particular sub-slot or symbol in a slot usable for uplink (UL) transmissions on an uplink channel even in the absence of a slot format ID being transmitted to a user equipment (UE) in the network.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve the feedback performance of downlink data transmission.
Regarding claim 13, Lu discloses a network node in a wireless communication system, comprising:
a wireless transceiver ([0039] The communication device 300 may include an input device 302, an output device 304, a control circuit 306, a central processing unit (CPU) 308, a memory 310, a program code 312, and a transceiver 314.);
a memory; and ([0039] The communication device 300 may include an input device 302, an output device 304, a control circuit 306, a central processing unit (CPU) 308, a memory 310, a program code 312, and a transceiver 314.)
a processor communicatively coupled to the wireless transceiver and the memory, wherein the processor and the memory are configured to ([0039] The communication device 300 may include an input device 302, an output device 304, a control circuit 306, a central processing unit (CPU) 308, a memory 310, a program code 312, and a transceiver 314.):
determine at least one slot format indicator (ID) that correlates to at least one slot format configuration utilized by the wireless communication system and where slot format configurations utilized by the wireless communication system change dynamically between a plurality of slot format configurations; and ([0367] In one embodiment, UE may expect that the SFI index (or indices) may indicate same slot format/slot configuration on overlapping slots. If the SFI index (or indies) indicate different slot configurations or slot formats in overlapping slots of the new/target active BWP, UE may drop the SFI index (or indices) received before BWP switching and apply SFI index (or indices) received on the new/target active BWP. [0374] Multiple DCI format 2_0 indicating different slot configuration or slot format for same slots may not only happen when UE switches its active BWP. When slot format or slot configuration indicated by SFI index(s) is longer than SFI monitoring period, multiple SFI indices may indicate different slot format/slot configuration for same slot. A similar procedure that UE may use is to match multiple slot formats or slot configurations for the same slots.)
map the at least one slot format ID to a respective uplink (UL) channel resource identifier (ID) ([0290] A SFI-index field value in a DCI format 2_0 indicates to a UE a slot format for each slot in a number of slots for each DL BWP or each UL BWP starting from a slot where the UE detects the DCI format 2_0. … A slot format is identified by a corresponding format index as provided in Table 11.1.1-1 where ‘D’ denotes a downlink symbol, ‘U’ denotes an uplink symbol, and ‘X’ denotes a flexible symbol.).
Lu fails to disclose a network node in a wireless communication system, comprising: wherein the mapping correlates the at least one slot format ID with the uplink channel resource ID to identify at least one particular sub-slot or symbol in a slot usable for uplink (UL) transmissions on an uplink channel even in the absence of a slot format ID being transmitted to a user equipment (UE) in the wireless communication system.
However, Park discloses a network node in a wireless communication system, comprising: wherein the mapping correlates the at least one slot format ID with the uplink channel resource ID to identify at least one particular sub-slot or symbol in a slot usable for uplink (UL) transmissions on an uplink channel even in the absence of a slot format ID being transmitted to a user equipment (UE) in the wireless communication system. (Pg. 34-35: In addition, as an example, based on the above, NR SL-SSB transmission symbols may be stably transmitted and received without colliding with DL transmission (e.g. PDSCH, CSI-RS, etc.) on the NR Uu link. In this case, as an example, the network view may indicate that the slot format indicator (DL / FL / UL symbol structure indicator in the slot indicated through the common PDCCH scrambled with SFI-RNTI) corresponds to UL symbols based on the above description. Can be. Also, for example, in the case of TDD, at least one of “TDD UL-DL configurationCommon”, “TDD UL-DL configurationCommon2”, and “TDD UL-DL configurationDedicated” is provided to NR Uu terminals to indicate that they correspond to UL symbols. can do. In addition, although the above has described TDD and FDD / SUL with SFI, in the absence of SFI, the above-described signaling may be applied on the assumption that all slots consist of only UL symbols. In addition, as an example, even in the case of TDD, the SFI value may be applied and is not limited to the above-described embodiment.).
Lu and Park are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of configuring slots for feedback signaling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu with Park to create a network node in a wireless communication system, comprising: wherein the mapping correlates the at least one slot format ID with the uplink channel resource ID to identify at least one particular sub-slot or symbol in a slot usable for uplink (UL) transmissions on an uplink channel even in the absence of a slot format ID being transmitted to a user equipment (UE) in the wireless communication system.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve the feedback performance of downlink data transmission.
Regarding claim 24, Lu discloses a method for wireless communication at a network node in a wireless communication network, comprising:
determining, in the absence of receiving a slot format identifier for a slot, at least one particular sub-slot or symbol in the slot usable by the UE for uplink (UL) transmissions on an uplink (UL) channel based on an uplink channel resource identifier (ID), wherein the uplink channel resource ID correlates at least one slot format ID associated with a slot format configuration with the uplink channel resource ID; and ([0367] In one embodiment, UE may expect that the SFI index (or indices) may indicate same slot format/slot configuration on overlapping slots. If the SFI index (or indies) indicate different slot configurations or slot formats in overlapping slots of the new/target active BWP, UE may drop the SFI index (or indices) received before BWP switching and apply SFI index (or indices) received on the new/target active BWP. [0374] Multiple DCI format 2_0 indicating different slot configuration or slot format for same slots may not only happen when UE switches its active BWP. When slot format or slot configuration indicated by SFI index(s) is longer than SFI monitoring period, multiple SFI indices may indicate different slot format/slot configuration for same slot. A similar procedure that UE may use is to match multiple slot formats or slot configurations for the same slots.)
transmitting an uplink (UL) signal on the determined at least one particular sub- slot or symbol in the UL channel ([0273] The UE transmits PUSCH, PUCCH, PRACH, or SRS in the set of symbols of the slot if the UE receives a corresponding indication by a DCI format 0_0, DCI format 0_1, or DCI format 2_3.).
Regarding claim 30, Lu discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising:
a wireless transceiver ([0039] The communication device 300 may include an input device 302, an output device 304, a control circuit 306, a central processing unit (CPU) 308, a memory 310, a program code 312, and a transceiver 314.);
a memory; and ([0039] The communication device 300 may include an input device 302, an output device 304, a control circuit 306, a central processing unit (CPU) 308, a memory 310, a program code 312, and a transceiver 314.)
a processor communicatively coupled to the wireless transceiver and the memory, wherein the processor and the memory are configured to ([0039] The communication device 300 may include an input device 302, an output device 304, a control circuit 306, a central processing unit (CPU) 308, a memory 310, a program code 312, and a transceiver 314.):
determine, in the absence of receiving a slot format identifier for a slot, at least one particular sub-slot or symbol in the slot usable by the UE for uplink (UL) transmissions on an uplink (UL) channel based on an uplink channel resource identifier (ID), wherein the uplink channel resource ID is correlated to at least one slot format ID associated with a slot format configuration with the uplink channel resource ID; and ([0367] In one embodiment, UE may expect that the SFI index (or indices) may indicate same slot format/slot configuration on overlapping slots. If the SFI index (or indies) indicate different slot configurations or slot formats in overlapping slots of the new/target active BWP, UE may drop the SFI index (or indices) received before BWP switching and apply SFI index (or indices) received on the new/target active BWP. [0374] Multiple DCI format 2_0 indicating different slot configuration or slot format for same slots may not only happen when UE switches its active BWP. When slot format or slot configuration indicated by SFI index(s) is longer than SFI monitoring period, multiple SFI indices may indicate different slot format/slot configuration for same slot. A similar procedure that UE may use is to match multiple slot formats or slot configurations for the same slots.)
transmit an uplink signal on the determined at least one particular sub-slot or symbol in the UL channel ([0273] The UE transmits PUSCH, PUCCH, PRACH, or SRS in the set of symbols of the slot if the UE receives a corresponding indication by a DCI format 0_0, DCI format 0_1, or DCI format 2_3.).
Claims 2, 7, 11, 14, 18, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view of Park, as applied to claims 1, 13, 24, or 30 above, and further in view of Xu (US20200100286A1) (hereinafter "Xu").
Regarding claim 2, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the method, further comprising: communicating the mapping of the at least one slot format ID to the respective uplink channel resource ID to a user equipment (UE) in the network.
However, Xu discloses the method, further comprising: communicating the mapping of the at least one slot format ID to the respective uplink channel resource ID to a user equipment (UE) ([0252] wireless device) in the network ([0252] a base station may transmit DCI/control signaling via PDCCH ... a DCI may correspond to an RNTI. In an example, the wireless device may obtain an RNTI in response to completing the initial access (e.g., C-RNTI)).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Xu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of uplink/downlink synchronization.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Xu to create the method further comprising: communicating the mapping of the at least one slot format ID to the respective uplink channel resource ID to a user equipment (UE) in the network.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to determine the time and frequency synchronization between the transmitter and receiver with regards to HARQ-ACK.
Regarding claim 7, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the method, wherein the mapping of the at least one slot format ID to the respective uplink channel resource identifier (ID) is configured to enable a UE to identify the at least one particular symbol in the slot usable for transmissions on the uplink channel.
However, Xu discloses the method, wherein the mapping of the at least one slot format ID to the respective uplink channel resource identifier (ID) is configured to enable a UE to identify the at least one particular symbol in the slot usable for transmissions on the uplink channel ([0252] a base station may transmit DCI/control signaling via PDCCH … A DCI may comprise downlink and/or uplink scheduling information (e.g., resource allocation information, HARQ related parameters, MCS) … one or more timing information (e.g., TB transmission/reception timing, HARQ feedback timing, etc.), etc. In an example, a DCI may indicate an uplink grant comprising transmission parameters for one or more transport blocks ... In an example, the base station may transmit a DCI comprising slot format indicator (SFI) notifying a slot format. In an example, the base station may transmit a DCI comprising pre-emption indication notifying the PRB(s) and/or OFDM symbol(s) where a wireless device may assume no transmission is intended for the wireless device).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Xu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of uplink/downlink synchronization.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Xu to create the method, wherein the mapping of the at least one slot format ID to the respective uplink channel resource identifier (ID) is configured to enable a UE to identify the at least one particular symbol in the slot usable for transmissions on the uplink channel.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to determine the time and frequency synchronization between the transmitter and receiver with regards to HARQ-ACK.
Regarding claim 11, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the method, further comprising: mapping the at least one slot format ID to a plurality of respective uplink channel resource identifiers (IDs), wherein the mapping correlates the at least one slot format ID with the uplink channel resource IDs to identify respective particular sub-slots or symbols in a slot usable for uplink transmissions on a plurality of uplink channels.
However, Xu discloses the method, further comprising:
mapping the at least one slot format ID to a plurality of respective uplink channel resource identifiers (IDs), wherein the mapping correlates the at least one slot format ID with the uplink channel resource IDs to identify respective particular sub-slots or symbols in a slot usable for uplink transmissions on a plurality of uplink channels ([0252] a base station may transmit DCI/control signaling via PDCCH … A DCI may comprise downlink and/or uplink scheduling information (e.g., resource allocation information, HARQ related parameters, MCS) … one or more timing information (e.g., TB transmission/reception timing, HARQ feedback timing, etc.), etc. In an example, a DCI may indicate an uplink grant comprising transmission parameters for one or more transport blocks ... In an example, the base station may transmit a DCI comprising slot format indicator (SFI) notifying a slot format. In an example, the base station may transmit a DCI comprising pre-emption indication notifying the PRB(s) and/or OFDM symbol(s) where a wireless device may assume no transmission is intended for the wireless device).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Xu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of uplink/downlink synchronization.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Xu to create the method, further comprising: mapping the at least one slot format ID to a plurality of respective uplink channel resource identifiers (IDs), wherein the mapping correlates the at least one slot format ID with the uplink channel resource IDs to identify respective particular sub-slots or symbols in a slot usable for uplink transmissions on a plurality of uplink channels.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to determine the time and frequency synchronization between the transmitter and receiver with regards to HARQ-ACK.
Regarding claim 14, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the network node, wherein the processor and the memory are configured to: communicate the mapping of the at least one slot format ID to the respective uplink channel resource ID to the UE in the network.
However, Xu discloses the network node, wherein the processor and the memory are configured to:
communicate the mapping of the at least one slot format ID to the respective uplink channel resource ID to the UE in the network ([0252] a base station may transmit DCI/control signaling via PDCCH ... a DCI may correspond to an RNTI. In an example, the wireless device may obtain an RNTI in response to completing the initial access (e.g., C-RNTI)).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Xu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of uplink/downlink synchronization.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Xu to create the network node, wherein the processor and the memory are configured to: communicate the mapping of the at least one slot format ID to the respective uplink channel resource ID to the UE in the network.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to determine the time and frequency synchronization between the transmitter and receiver with regards to HARQ-ACK.
Regarding claim 18, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the network node, wherein the mapping of the at least one slot format ID to the respective uplink channel resource identifier (ID) is configured to enable a UE to identify the at least one particular symbol in the slot usable for transmissions on the uplink channel.
However, Xu discloses the network node, wherein the mapping of the at least one slot format ID to the respective uplink channel resource identifier (ID) is configured to enable a UE to identify the at least one particular symbol in the slot usable for transmissions on the uplink channel ([0252] a base station may transmit DCI/control signaling via PDCCH … A DCI may comprise downlink and/or uplink scheduling information (e.g., resource allocation information, HARQ related parameters, MCS) … one or more timing information (e.g., TB transmission/reception timing, HARQ feedback timing, etc.), etc. In an example, a DCI may indicate an uplink grant comprising transmission parameters for one or more transport blocks ... In an example, the base station may transmit a DCI comprising slot format indicator (SFI) notifying a slot format. In an example, the base station may transmit a DCI comprising pre-emption indication notifying the PRB(s) and/or OFDM symbol(s) where a wireless device may assume no transmission is intended for the wireless device).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Xu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of uplink/downlink synchronization.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Xu to create the network node, wherein the mapping of the at least one slot format ID to the respective uplink channel resource identifier (ID) is configured to enable a UE to identify the at least one particular symbol in the slot usable for transmissions on the uplink channel.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to determine the time and frequency synchronization between the transmitter and receiver with regards to HARQ-ACK.
Regarding claim 22, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the network node, wherein the processor and the memory are configured to map the at least one slot format ID to a plurality of respective uplink channel resource identifiers (IDs), wherein the mapping correlates the at least one slot format ID with the uplink channel resource IDs to identify respective particular sub-slots or symbols in a slot usable for uplink (UL) transmissions on a plurality of uplink channels.
However, Xu discloses the network node, wherein the processor and the memory are configured to map the at least one slot format ID to a plurality of respective uplink channel resource identifiers (IDs), wherein the mapping correlates the at least one slot format ID with the uplink channel resource IDs to identify respective particular sub-slots or symbols in a slot usable for uplink (UL) transmissions on a plurality of uplink channels ([0252] a base station may transmit DCI/control signaling via PDCCH … A DCI may comprise downlink and/or uplink scheduling information (e.g., resource allocation information, HARQ related parameters, MCS) … one or more timing information (e.g., TB transmission/reception timing, HARQ feedback timing, etc.), etc. In an example, a DCI may indicate an uplink grant comprising transmission parameters for one or more transport blocks ... In an example, the base station may transmit a DCI comprising slot format indicator (SFI) notifying a slot format. In an example, the base station may transmit a DCI comprising pre-emption indication notifying the PRB(s) and/or OFDM symbol(s) where a wireless device may assume no transmission is intended for the wireless device).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Xu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of uplink/downlink synchronization.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Xu to create the network node, wherein the processor and the memory are configured to map the at least one slot format ID to a plurality of respective uplink channel resource identifiers (IDs), wherein the mapping correlates the at least one slot format ID with the uplink channel resource IDs to identify respective particular sub-slots or symbols in a slot usable for uplink (UL) transmissions on a plurality of uplink channels.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to determine the time and frequency synchronization between the transmitter and receiver with regards to HARQ-ACK.
Claims 3-5, 12, 23, 26, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view of Park, as applied to claims 1, 13, 24, or 30 above, and further in view of Mu (US20220278779A1) (hereinafter "Mu").
Regarding claim 3, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the method, wherein the uplink channel comprises a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH).
However, Mu discloses the method, wherein the uplink channel comprises a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) ([0104] if the PUCCH resource of the sent HARQ-ACK is a PUCCH resource with an index 2, the index of the PUCCH resource corresponding to a format of the PUCCH resource (for example, format 1, format 2, etc.), a time-frequency position of the PUCCH resource, etc., then in sub-slots and slots, determination is based on the format and time-frequency position corresponding to the index 2).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Mu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of uplink/downlink synchronization.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Mu to create the method, wherein the uplink channel comprises a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH).
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to determine the time and frequency synchronization between the transmitter and receiver with regards to HARQ-ACK and the PUCCH.
Regarding claim 4, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the method, wherein the PUCCH is reserved for a feedback signal received from a UE.
However, Mu discloses the method, wherein the PUCCH is reserved for a feedback signal ([0104] HARQ-ACK) received from a UE ([0104] if the PUCCH resource of the sent HARQ-ACK is a PUCCH resource with an index 2, the index of the PUCCH resource corresponding to a format of the PUCCH resource (for example, format 1, format 2, etc.), a time-frequency position of the PUCCH resource, etc., then in sub-slots and slots, determination is based on the format and time-frequency position corresponding to the index 2).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Mu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of uplink/downlink synchronization.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Mu to create the method, wherein the PUCCH is reserved for a feedback signal received from a UE.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to determine the time and frequency synchronization between the transmitter and receiver by utilizing HARQ-ACK and the PUCCH.
Regarding claim 5, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the method, wherein the feedback signal comprises a semi-persistent scheduled (SPS) signal.
However, Mu discloses the method, wherein the feedback signal comprises a semi-persistent scheduled (SPS) signal ([0078] the parameter n1PUCCH-AN may indicate an identifier of the PUCCH used by the HARQ-ACK sent by the UE for the PDSCH of the SPS configuration, and the indicated identifiers are the same for sub-slots and slots).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Mu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of uplink/downlink synchronization.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Mu to create the method, wherein the feedback signal comprises a semi-persistent scheduled (SPS) signal.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce signaling overhead for time and frequency synchronization between the transmitter and receiver by utilizing HARQ-ACK and SPS.
Regarding claim 12, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the method, wherein each of the plurality of uplink channel resource identifiers (IDs) correspond to a respective semi-persistent scheduled downlink and uplink feedback transmission.
However, Mu discloses the method, wherein each of the plurality of uplink channel resource identifiers (IDs) correspond to a respective semi-persistent scheduled downlink and uplink feedback transmission ([0078] the parameter n1PUCCH-AN may indicate an identifier of the PUCCH used by the HARQ-ACK sent by the UE for the PDSCH of the SPS configuration, and the indicated identifiers are the same for sub-slots and slots).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Mu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of uplink/downlink synchronization.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Mu to create the method, wherein each of the plurality of uplink channel resource identifiers (IDs) correspond to a respective semi-persistent scheduled downlink and uplink feedback transmission.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce signaling overhead for time and frequency synchronization between the transmitter and receiver by utilizing HARQ-ACK and SPS.
Regarding claim 23, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the network node wherein each of the plurality of uplink channel resource identifiers (IDs) correspond to a respective semi-persistent scheduled downlink and uplink feedback transmission.
However, Mu discloses the network node wherein each of the plurality of uplink channel resource identifiers (IDs) correspond to a respective semi-persistent scheduled downlink and uplink feedback transmission ([0078] the parameter n1PUCCH-AN may indicate an identifier of the PUCCH used by the HARQ-ACK sent by the UE for the PDSCH of the SPS configuration, and the indicated identifiers are the same for sub-slots and slots).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Mu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of uplink/downlink synchronization.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Mu to create the network node wherein each of the plurality of uplink channel resource identifiers (IDs) correspond to a respective semi-persistent scheduled downlink and uplink feedback transmission.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce signaling overhead for time and frequency synchronization between the transmitter and receiver by utilizing HARQ-ACK and SPS.
Regarding claim 26, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the method, wherein the UL signal comprises a semi-persistent scheduled (SPS) feedback signal transmitted to a base station in the wireless communication network.
However, Mu discloses the method, wherein the UL signal comprises a semi-persistent scheduled (SPS) feedback signal transmitted to a base station in the wireless communication network ([0078] the parameter n1PUCCH-AN may indicate an identifier of the PUCCH used by the HARQ-ACK sent by the UE for the PDSCH of the SPS configuration, and the indicated identifiers are the same for sub-slots and slots).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Mu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of uplink/downlink synchronization.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Mu to create the method, wherein the UL signal comprises a semi-persistent scheduled (SPS) feedback signal transmitted to a base station in the wireless communication network.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce signaling overhead for time and frequency synchronization between the transmitter and receiver by utilizing HARQ-ACK and SPS.
Regarding claim 29, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the method further comprising: determining respective particular sub-slots or symbols in a slot usable for a plurality of uplink (UL) transmissions on the uplink channel based on a plurality of uplink channel resource IDs; wherein each of the plurality of uplink channel resource IDs correspond to a respective semi-persistent scheduled downlink and uplink feedback transmission.
However, Mu discloses the method further comprising:
determining respective particular sub-slots or symbols in a slot usable for a plurality of uplink (UL) transmissions on the uplink channel based on a plurality of uplink channel resource IDs ([0104] if the PUCCH resource of the sent HARQ-ACK is a PUCCH resource with an index 2, the index of the PUCCH resource corresponding to a format of the PUCCH resource (for example, format 1, format 2, etc.), a time-frequency position of the PUCCH resource, etc., then in sub-slots and slots, determination is based on the format and time-frequency position corresponding to the index 2);
wherein each of the plurality of uplink channel resource IDs correspond to a respective semi-persistent scheduled downlink and uplink feedback transmission ([0078] the parameter n1PUCCH-AN may indicate an identifier of the PUCCH used by the HARQ-ACK sent by the UE for the PDSCH of the SPS configuration, and the indicated identifiers are the same for sub-slots and slots).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Mu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of uplink/downlink synchronization.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Mu to create the method further comprising: determining respective particular sub-slots or symbols in a slot usable for a plurality of uplink (UL) transmissions on the uplink channel based on a plurality of uplink channel resource IDs; wherein each of the plurality of uplink channel resource IDs correspond to a respective semi-persistent scheduled downlink and uplink feedback transmission.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce signaling overhead for time and frequency synchronization between the transmitter and receiver by utilizing HARQ-ACK and SPS.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu, in view of Park as applied to claims 1, 13, 24, or 30 above, and in further view of Chen et al (US20200205151A1) (hereinafter "Chen").
Regarding claim 6, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the method further comprising: sending a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) to a UE; and wherein the feedback signal is an acknowledgement/non-acknowledgement (ACK/NACK) signal responsive to the HARQ.
However, Chen discloses the method further comprising:
sending a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) to a UE; and ([0049] an access point 105-a may acknowledge receipt of a transmission by providing ACK/NACK for the transmission through, for example, a HARQ scheme)
wherein the feedback signal is an acknowledgement/non-acknowledgement (ACK/NACK) signal responsive to the HARQ ([0092] the common UL portion 906 may include feedback information corresponding to the control portion 902. Non-limiting examples of feedback information may include an ACK signal, a NACK signal, a HARQ indicator).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Chen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques that help enable low latency communications between a user equipment and a base station with regards uplink design.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Chen to create the method further comprising: sending a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) to a UE; and wherein the feedback signal is an acknowledgement/non-acknowledgement (ACK/NACK) signal responsive to the HARQ.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to provide an indication to the base station on the status of transmission to the user equipment.
Claims 8-9, 19-20 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu, in view of Park as applied to claims 1, 13, 24, or 30 above, and in further view of Kim (US20180278380A1) (hereinafter "Kim").
Regarding claim 8, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the method, wherein the wireless communication network is operable with a dynamic time division duplex (TDD) configuration wherein multiple slot format configurations are utilized in the wireless communication network.
However, Kim discloses the method, wherein the wireless communication network is operable with a dynamic time division duplex (TDD) configuration wherein multiple slot format configurations are utilized in the wireless communication network ([0408] the UE may receive a slot format indicator (SFI) for providing notification of a specific TDD UL-DL slot format from the base station).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Kim are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of methods for transmitting and receiving an uplink control channel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Kim to create the method, wherein the wireless communication network is operable with a dynamic time division duplex (TDD) configuration wherein multiple slot format configurations are utilized in the wireless communication network.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to avoid transmission timing overlaps.
Regarding claim 9, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the method, further comprising: specifying one of a sub-slot or a symbol location in the uplink channel resource ID for the uplink channel resource correlating to the at least one slot format ID, and the specified sub-slot or symbol location changes for a first slot format configuration to a second slot format configuration.
However, Kim discloses the method, further comprising:
specifying one of a sub-slot or a symbol location in the uplink channel resource ID for the uplink channel resource correlating to the at least one slot format ID ([0203] The starting symbol index of the uplink control channel may correspond to a slot format), and the specified sub-slot or symbol location changes for a first slot format configuration to a second slot format configuration ([0010] SFIs for two or more different slots may be transmitted in the slot #n, one of the two or more different SFIs may indicate the format of the slot #(n+k), remaining SFIs of the two or more different SFIs may respectively indicate formats of slots prior to the slot #n, and the remaining SFIs may indicate formats of slots other than the slot #(n+k). [0011] The SFI may indicate a number of one or more symbols used for transmission of at least the UCI in the slot #(n+k).).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Kim are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of methods for transmitting and receiving an uplink control channel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Kim to create the method, further comprising: specifying one of a sub-slot or a symbol location in the uplink channel resource ID for the uplink channel resource correlating to the at least one slot format ID, and the specified sub-slot or symbol location changes for a first slot format configuration to a second slot format configuration.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to avoid transmission timing overlaps.
Regarding claim 19, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the network node, wherein the wireless communication system is operable with a dynamic time division duplex (TDD) configuration wherein multiple slot format configurations are utilized in the wireless communication system.
However, Kim discloses the network node, wherein the wireless communication system is operable with a dynamic time division duplex (TDD) configuration wherein multiple slot format configurations are utilized in the wireless communication system ([0408] the UE may receive a slot format indicator (SFI) for providing notification of a specific TDD UL-DL slot format from the base station).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Kim are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of methods for transmitting and receiving an uplink control channel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Kim to create network node, wherein the wireless communication system is operable with a dynamic time division duplex (TDD) configuration wherein multiple slot format configurations are utilized in the wireless communication system.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to avoid transmission timing overlaps.
Regarding claim 20, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the network node, wherein the processor and the memory are configured to specify one of a sub-slot or a symbol location in the uplink channel resource ID for the uplink channel resource correlating to the at least one slot format ID, and the specified sub-slot or symbol location changes for a first slot format configuration to a second slot format configuration.
However, Kim discloses the network node, wherein the processor and the memory are configured to specify one of a sub-slot or a symbol location in the uplink channel resource ID for the uplink channel resource correlating to the at least one slot format ID ([0203] The starting symbol index of the uplink control channel may correspond to a slot format) , and the specified sub-slot or symbol location changes for a first slot format configuration to a second slot format configuration ([0010] SFIs for two or more different slots may be transmitted in the slot #n, one of the two or more different SFIs may indicate the format of the slot #(n+k), remaining SFIs of the two or more different SFIs may respectively indicate formats of slots prior to the slot #n, and the remaining SFIs may indicate formats of slots other than the slot #(n+k). [0011] The SFI may indicate a number of one or more symbols used for transmission of at least the UCI in the slot #(n+k).).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Kim are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of methods for transmitting and receiving an uplink control channel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Kim to create the network node, wherein the processor and the memory are configured to specify one of a sub-slot or a symbol location in the uplink channel resource ID for the uplink channel resource correlating to the at least one slot format ID, and the specified sub-slot or symbol location changes for a first slot format configuration to a second slot format configuration.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to avoid transmission timing overlaps.
Regarding claim 27, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the method, wherein the wireless communication network is operable according to a dynamic time division duplex (TDD) configuration wherein multiple slot format configurations are utilized in the wireless communication network.
However, Kim discloses the method, wherein the wireless communication network is operable according to a dynamic time division duplex (TDD) configuration wherein multiple slot format configurations are utilized in the wireless communication network ([0408] the UE may receive a slot format indicator (SFI) for providing notification of a specific TDD UL-DL slot format from the base station).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Kim are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of methods for transmitting and receiving an uplink control channel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Kim to create the method, wherein the wireless communication network is operable according to a dynamic time division duplex (TDD) configuration wherein multiple slot format configurations are utilized in the wireless communication network.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to avoid transmission timing overlaps.
Claims 10, 21, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu, in view of Park as applied to claims 1, 13, 24, or 30 above, and in further view of Huang (US20200267597A1) (hereinafter "Huang").
Regarding claim 10, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the method further comprising: specifying one or more of intra-slot frequency hopping enable/disable, a starting physical resource block (PRB) number, or a second hopping PRB number in the uplink channel resource ID.
However, Huang discloses the method further comprising:
specifying one or more of intra-slot frequency hopping enable/disable, a starting physical resource block (PRB) number, or a second hopping PRB number in the uplink channel resource ID ([0136-0140] If a UE has dedicated PUCCH resource configuration, the UE is provided by higher layers with one or more PUCCH resources. A PUCCH resource includes … an index of the first PRB prior to frequency hopping or for no frequency hopping by startingPRB; an index of the first PRB after frequency hopping by secondHopPRB; an indication for intra-slot frequency hopping by intraSlotFrequencyHopping).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Huang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of methods for uplink channel slot allocation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Huang to create the method further comprising: specifying one or more of intra-slot frequency hopping enable/disable, a starting physical resource block (PRB) number, or a second hopping PRB number in the uplink channel resource ID.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to avoid transmission timing and frequency overlaps.
Regarding claim 21, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the network node wherein the processor and the memory are configured to specify one or more of intra-slot frequency hopping enable/disable, a starting physical resource block (PRB) number, or a second hopping PRB number in the uplink channel resource ID.
However, Huang discloses the network node wherein the processor and the memory are configured to specify one or more of intra-slot frequency hopping enable/disable, a starting physical resource block (PRB) number, or a second hopping PRB number in the uplink channel resource ID ([0136-0140] If a UE has dedicated PUCCH resource configuration, the UE is provided by higher layers with one or more PUCCH resources. A PUCCH resource includes … an index of the first PRB prior to frequency hopping or for no frequency hopping by startingPRB; an index of the first PRB after frequency hopping by secondHopPRB; an indication for intra-slot frequency hopping by intraSlotFrequencyHopping).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Huang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of methods for uplink channel slot allocation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Huang to create the network node wherein the processor and the memory are configured to specify one or more of intra-slot frequency hopping enable/disable, a starting physical resource block (PRB) number, or a second hopping PRB number in the uplink channel resource ID.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to avoid transmission timing and frequency overlaps.
Regarding claim 28, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the method, wherein the uplink channel resource ID includes one or more of intra-slot frequency hopping enable/disable, a starting physical resource block (PRB) number, or a second hopping PRB number.
However, Huang discloses the method, wherein the uplink channel resource ID includes one or more of intra-slot frequency hopping enable/disable, a starting physical resource block (PRB) number, or a second hopping PRB number ([0136-0140] If a UE has dedicated PUCCH resource configuration, the UE is provided by higher layers with one or more PUCCH resources. A PUCCH resource includes … an index of the first PRB prior to frequency hopping or for no frequency hopping by startingPRB; an index of the first PRB after frequency hopping by secondHopPRB; an indication for intra-slot frequency hopping by intraSlotFrequencyHopping).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Huang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of methods for uplink channel slot allocation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Huang to create the method, wherein the uplink channel resource ID includes one or more of intra-slot frequency hopping enable/disable, a starting physical resource block (PRB) number, or a second hopping PRB number.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to avoid transmission timing and frequency overlaps.
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu, in view of Park as applied to claims 1, 13, 24, or 30 above, and in further view of Yoshimura (WO2021020590A1) (hereinafter "Yoshimura").
Regarding claim 31, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the method, wherein the uplink channel resource identifier (ID) includes a field that encodes a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) to hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback timing indication specifying an uplink transmission location with sub-slot and/or per-symbol granularity in a feedback slot.
However, Yoshimura discloses the method, wherein the uplink channel resource identifier (ID) includes a field that encodes a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) to hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback timing indication specifying an uplink transmission location with sub-slot and/or per-symbol granularity in a feedback slot ([0143] The PDSCH-to-HARQ-feedback timing indicator field may be at least used to indicate the offset from a slot in which the last OFDM symbol of a PDSCH scheduled by the DCI format 1_0 is included to another slot in which the first OFDM symbol of a PUCCH triggered by the DCI format 1 0 is included. [0144] The PUCCH resource indicator field may be a field indicating an index of any one or more PUCCH resources included in the PUCCH resource set for a PUCCH transmission. The PUCCH resource set may include one or more PUCCH resources. The PUCCH resource indicator field may trigger PUCCH transmission with a PUCCH resource indicated at least based on the PUCCH resource indicator field.).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Yoshimura are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for HARQ scheduling arrangements.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Yoshimura to create the method, wherein the uplink channel resource identifier (ID) includes a field that encodes a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) to hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback timing indication specifying an uplink transmission location with sub-slot and/or per-symbol granularity in a feedback slot.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to indicate an amount of offset needed between symbols.
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu, in view of Park as applied to claims 1, 13, 24, or 30 above, and in further view of Xiong (US20150078224A1) (hereinafter "Xiong").
Regarding claim 32, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the method, wherein the feedback timing indication comprises an index N that identifies an Nth UL sub-slot or symbol in the feedback slot, N being selected from a configured range comprising 0-6 for two-symbol sub-slots.
However, Xiong discloses the method, wherein the feedback timing indication comprises an index N that identifies an Nth UL sub-slot or symbol in the feedback slot, N being selected from a configured range comprising 0-6 for two-symbol sub-slots ([0026] The PUSCH transmission bundle 208 may complete transmission at time 210. Once transmission of PUSCH transmission bundle 208 completes, the eNB that receives the PUSCH transmission bundle may need a period of time to process the PUSCH transmission bundle. Such a period of time is depicted by the time period between time 210 and time 212. In some embodiments, the time period between time 210 and time 212 may be a predefined period time to allow for scheduling of later transmissions. For example, in frequency division duplex (FDD) systems the predefined period of time may be four subframes and in time division duplex (TDD) systems the predefined period of time may be k1 where k1 is determined in accordance with Table 1, below. In other words, if time 210 corresponds with subframe 'n,' then time 212 may, in FDD systems, correspond with subframe n+4, and in TDD systems may correspond with n+k1.).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Xiong are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of methods for feedback timing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Xiong to create the method, wherein the feedback timing indication comprises an index N that identifies an Nth UL sub-slot or symbol in the feedback slot, N being selected from a configured range comprising 0-6 for two-symbol sub-slots.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to indicate an amount of offset needed between symbols.
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu, in view of Park as applied to claims 1, 13, 24, or 30 above, and in further view of Wang (WO2020032637A1) (hereinafter "Wang").
Regarding claim 33, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the method, further comprising, when the UL symbol indicated by feedback timing indication cannot bear HARQ feedback, scheduling the UE to transmit the feedback at an Nth available UL sub-slot or symbol, where N is configured by the network.
However, Wang discloses the method, further comprising, when the UL symbol indicated by feedback timing indication cannot bear HARQ feedback, scheduling the UE to transmit the feedback at an Nth available UL sub-slot or symbol, where N is configured by the network (Pg 33 :In particular, in the above example, K=1, i.e., only one repetition is supported, i.e., the base station schedules one TB. However, it may be allowed to start the uplink transmission on any sub-resource (e.g., one or more symbols, which may be predefined or configured by the base station). At this time, it is equivalent to configuring the transmission period P to be equal to one sub-resource, and of course, it is not necessary to configure the transmission period P. Specifically, the UE determines that the uplink transmission may be started in any sub-resource as configured by the base station (for example, the initial resource information), and the UE obtains the uplink scheduling according to the DCI or the RRC, starts uplink transmission on the latest sub-resource when the uplink data arrive, and repeats the transmission K times. The sub-resource is configured in the uplink scheduling and/or configured in the initial resource information.).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Wang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for uplink channel slot allocation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Wang to create the method, further comprising, when the UL symbol indicated by feedback timing indication cannot bear HARQ feedback, scheduling the UE to transmit the feedback at an Nth available UL sub-slot or symbol, where N is configured by the network.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have a default parameter to prevent transmission timing collisions.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu, in view of Park as applied to claims 1, 13, 24, or 30 above, and in further view of Baldemair (CN111201736A) (hereinafter "Baldemair").
Regarding claim 34, Lu, as modified by Park, fails to disclose the method, wherein the scheduling of the first or Nth available UL sub-slot or symbol is subject to a packet-expiration constraint for the feedback.
However, Baldemair discloses the method, wherein the scheduling of the first or Nth available UL sub-slot or symbol is subject to a packet-expiration constraint for the feedback (Pg. 4: In the case of transmitting dynamic scheduling, the PUCCH resource and the time the scheduling in the downlink allocation indication. the association between the PDSCH and PUCCH may be based in the scheduling DCI (AT) indicates a PUCCH resource (PR) and time. all the PDSCH HARQ feedback reports the scheduling DCI indicating the same PUCCH resource and time together in the same HARQ codebook. latest PDSCH may include limited by UE HARQ feedback the required processing time. FIG. 3 shows a HARQ feedback related to the example. in the example depicted, the UE can report on short PUCCH HARQ feedback in the same time slot. for a given PUCCH resource to be included in the HARQ codebook of the earliest PDSCH is a PDSCH scheduled after expiration of the time window of the last sending the same PUCCH resource.).
Lu, as modified by Park, and Baldemair are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of methods for sending hybrid automatic repeat request feedback.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Lu, as modified by Park, with Baldemair to create the method, wherein the scheduling of the first or Nth available UL sub-slot or symbol is subject to a packet-expiration constraint for the feedback.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to avoid transmission timing overlaps.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 13, 24, and associated dependent claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Andersson et al (US12089216B2) discloses a method for scheduling PUCCH transmissions that are longer than a subslot such that no different PUCCH transmissions overlap in time.
Boroujeni et al (WO2020167650A1) discloses a method for PUSCH transmission using identified available uplink symbol while avoiding unavailable resource block groups.
Islam et al (US20190089584A1) discloses methods for configuring slot formats with multiple switching points per slot.
/D LITTLE/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419