DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8-16, 19, 21, 23 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nesvadba et al. (GB 2281910).
Regarding claims 1 and 12-16: Nesvadba et al. teach a thermoplastic resin composition comprising a thermoplastic resin and compounds 101-112 that meet claimed General formula (1) (Examples; Table 1). Nesvadba et al. teach illustrative examples of thermoplastic resins (page 31). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a cycloolefin, such as cyclopentene or norbornene from the list of illustrative examples of Nesvadba et al. as the organic material (page 31). The optimum molecular weight can be determined through routine experimentation. The claimed range is broad, and is not critical.
Regarding claims 2-3: Nesvadba et al. teach the claimed antioxidant (page 37-40).
Regarding claim 4: Nesvadba et al. teach 0.01 to 10% (page 43). The subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, since it has been held that choosing the overlapping portion, of the range taught in the prior art and the range claimed by the applicant, has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549, In re Geisler 43 USPQ2d 1365 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (CCPA 1976) and MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 6: Nesvadba et al. teach 0.0005 to 2 wt% of the compound (page 36). The subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, since it has been held that choosing the overlapping portion, of the range taught in the prior art and the range claimed by the applicant, has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549, In re Geisler 43 USPQ2d 1365 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (CCPA 1976) and MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claims 8-11 and 25: Since the composition is the same as claimed, it will possess the claimed property. The courts have stated that a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655, (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430, (CCPA 1977). "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established." Further, if it is the applicant's position that this would not be the case, evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant's position.
Regarding claim 19: Nesvadba et al. teach a catalyst deactivator (page 42).
Regarding claim 21: Nesvadba et al. teach a mold release agent (page 43).
Regarding claim 23: Since the compound is the same as claimed, it will possess the claimed property. The courts have stated that a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655, (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430, (CCPA 1977). "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established." Further, if it is the applicant's position that this would not be the case, evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant's position.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-16, 19, 21, 23 and 25 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-21 of copending Application No. 18/702031. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant has made the argument that the structure of the copending application requires formula 1-1. This is not persuasive because that structure is within the options of the structure of the instant claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/JOHN E USELDING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763