DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-4, 6, 8-16, 19, 21, 23 and 25 in the reply filed on 11/12/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 27 and 30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/16/2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the x- and y- axes in figures 1-3 are not legible. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-16, 19, 21, 23 and 25 are objected to because of the following informalities: a period must be added to the end of claims 1 and 15. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-16, 19, 21, 23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In formula (1) of claim 1, R1~R5 and R6~R9 are indefinite. The remainder of the claim provides definitions for R1-R5 and R6-R9, but there is no explanation of the use of the tilde, ~.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The antecedent basis of “the substituent” is unclear. There are up to nine different, optionally substituted alkyl groups in claim 1.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1, being a thermoplastic resin composition, already requires a thermoplastic resin. Therefore, the limitation “further comprising a thermoplastic resin” is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8-15, 19, 23 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tokuda et al. (JP 2003-301098A).
Regarding claims 1-4, 6, and 12-14: Tokuda et al. teach a thermoplastic resin composition comprising a polycarbonate, 500 ppm of 5,7-di-t-butyl-3-(3,4-dimethylphenyl)-3H benzofuran-2-one, and 500 ppm of bis(2,4-di cumyl phenyl)pentaerythritol diphosphate (phosphite-based antioxidant) [0073; Examples; Table 1]. 5,7-di-t-butyl-3-(3,4-dimethylphenyl)-3H benzofuran-2-one has the following structure:
.
Regarding claims 8-11: Since the composition is the same as claimed, it will possess the claimed properties. The courts have stated that a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655, (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430, (CCPA 1977). "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established." Further, if it is the applicant's position that this would not be the case, evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant's position.
Regarding claim 15: the limitation “which comprises a structural unit (B)…” is being interpreted to further limit only the polyester carbonate resin, and not to be further limiting the polycarbonate or polyester resin. Tokuda et al. teach a polycarbonate resin [Examples].
Regarding claim 19: Tokuda et al. teach adding a catalyst deactivator [0078; Examples].
Regarding claim 23: Since the compound of Takuda et al. is the same as claimed, and disclosed in the instant application, it will possess the claimed peaks at diffraction angles. The courts have stated that a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655, (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430, (CCPA 1977). "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established." Further, if it is the applicant's position that this would not be the case, evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant's position.
Regarding claim 25: The composition of Takuda et al. is capable of functioning in the claimed capacity [0073; Examples; Table 1].
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8-16, 19, 21, 23 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kato et al. (2010/0048855) as evidenced by Mar’in et al. (Polymer Degradation and Stability 78 (2002) 263-267).
Regarding claims 1-4, 6, 12-16, 19 and 21: Kato et al. teach a thermoplastic resin comprising polycarbonate prepared from 9,9-bis-(4-(2-hydroxyethoxy)phenyl)fluorene and bisphenol A with a Mw of 49,600, 200 ppm HP-136, 500 ppm of phosphite-based antioxidant ADK STAB PEP-36, a catalyst deactivator (anti-catalyst), and a mold release agent (glycerin monostearate) [0063; Example 1; Tables 1-3]. HP-136 has the following structure, as evidenced by Mar’in et al. (page 264):
.
Regarding claims 8-11: Since the composition is the same as claimed, it will possess the claimed properties. The courts have stated that a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655, (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430, (CCPA 1977). "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established." Further, if it is the applicant's position that this would not be the case, evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant's position.
Regarding claim 23: Since the compound of Kato et al. is the same as claimed, and disclosed in the instant application, it will possess the claimed peaks at diffraction angles. The courts have stated that a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655, (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430, (CCPA 1977). "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established." Further, if it is the applicant's position that this would not be the case, evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant's position.
Regarding claim 25: The composition of Kato et al. is capable of functioning in the claimed capacity [Examples; Table 1].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokuda et al. (JP 2003-301098A) as applied to claim 1 above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a mold release agent as taught by Tokuda et al. [0059-0062] to the polycarbonate resin composition to improve the releasability of the composition.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-16, 19, 21, 23 and 25 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of copending Application No. 18/702031. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Contact Information
/JOHN E USELDING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763