DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10, recites a singular mesh (“the mesh”) that is integrally fixed to a first opening yet also rotatably coupled to a second opening. This renders the claim indefinite, as it is unclear how the singular mesh can be coupled to the first and the second opening simultaneously. Figures 9-10 of the Instant Specification show a structure with two meshes, 320a and 320b, such that one of the meshes is rotatably coupled.
For examination purposes, it is assumed that Claim 10 recites a structure similar to that shown in Figures 9-10, where one mesh is integrally fixed to a first opening and a second mesh is rotatably coupled to a second opening.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, 9, 11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (CN 112310552, as read via English equivalent, US2022/0140432).
As to Claim 1, Chen et al. discloses a battery pack, comprising:
at least one battery module (see e.g. battery pack P, comprising battery modules P30, [0052], Fig. 1);
a pack case accommodating the at least one battery module (see e.g. housing P20, [0052] and Fig 1); and
at least one anti-fire vent positioned on a gas venting path configured to guide gas generated from the at least one battery module to flow out of the pack case (see e.g. explosion -proof valve P10, which communicates with the interior of housing P20 and thereby considered to be on a gas flow path and configured to guide gas out of the pack case. See [0055] and Fig. 1),
wherein the at least one anti-fire vent includes:
a temperature reducing tunnel made of metal (see e.g. flame arresting disk 112, made from stainless steel, [0060] and Figs. 4-5); and
a mesh configured to cover at least one of an entrance or an exit of the temperature reducing tunnel (see e.g. second filter structure 4, which is a mesh structure, [0069] and Fig. 5).
As to Claim 3, Chen et al. discloses the battery pack according to claim 1, wherein the temperature reducing tunnel includes a plurality of gas movement passages extended in a lattice structure (see e.g. the channels 112a in flame arresting disk 112, [0059] and Fig. 7).
As to Claim 6, Chen et al. discloses the battery pack according to claim 1, wherein the at least one anti-fire vent is detachably attached to a case hole in a wall of the pack case, the case hole forming an exit of the gas venting path (see e.g. Figs. 1-2 and [0052], which states that component 1 of the anti-fire vent P10 is configured to connect to a case hole in housing P20. While the case hole is not shown explicitly in the figures, it must be there or P10 would not be able to function as an explosion-proof valve. Further, paras [0047] and [0049] state that this connection may be a detachable connection).
As to Claim 9, Chen et al. discloses the battery pack according to claim 1, wherein the anti-fire vent further includes an outer frame with a hollow structure (see e.g. flame arresting disk housing 113, [0061] and Fig. 5), and wherein the temperature reducing tunnel is interference fit in the outer frame (that is, the flame arresting disk 112 is fastened inside the flame arresting disk housing 113 via fastening flanges 113a/113b, see e.g. [0061] and Fig. 5).
As to Claim 11, Chen et al. discloses the battery pack according to claim 9, wherein the outer frame is fixed and coupled to an inside of the pack case (see e.g. flame arresting disk housing 113, which is fastened to main body 12, which is fastened to the outer pack case, [0057]-[0058] and Figs. 2 and 5).
As to Claim 14, Chen et al. discloses an energy storage system comprising the battery pack according to claim 1 (see e.g. battery pack P, [0052], Fig. 1).
Ground II Rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6-9, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakabayashi et al. (US 2022/0069409) in view of Chen et al. (CN 112310552, as read via English equivalent, US2022/0140432).
As to Claim 1, Wakabayashi et al. discloses a battery pack, comprising: at least one battery module (see e.g. battery cell 1, [0027], Fig. 4); a pack case accommodating the at least one battery module (see e.g. case 2, [0032] and Fig. 4); and at least one anti-fire vent positioned on a gas venting path configured to guide gas generated from the at least one battery module to flow out of the pack case (see e.g. porous plate 5, which is configured to allow discharged gas to flow out of the module, [0034] and Fig. 4).
Wakabayashi et al.’s anti-fire vent does not comprise a temperature reducing tunnel made of metal; and a mesh configured to cover at least one of an entrance or an exit of the temperature reducing tunnel.
Chen et al., also working on the problem of venting structures for a battery pack, teaches a pack case accommodating at least one battery module (see e.g. housing P20, Chen et al.: [0052] and Fig 1); and
at least one anti-fire vent positioned on a gas venting path configured to guide gas generated from the at least one battery module to flow out of the pack case (see e.g. explosion -proof valve P10, which communicates with the interior of housing P20 and thereby considered to be on a gas flow path and configured to guide gas out of the pack case. See Chen et al.: [0055] and Fig. 1),
wherein the at least one anti-fire vent includes:
a temperature reducing tunnel made of metal (see e.g. flame arresting disk 112, made from stainless steel, Chen et al.: [0060] and Figs. 4-5); and
a mesh configured to cover at least one of an entrance or an exit of the temperature reducing tunnel (see e.g. second filter structure 4, which is a mesh structure, Chen et al.: [0069] and Fig. 5).
Chen et al.’s anti-fire vent performs the same function of Wakabayashi et al.’s anti-fire vent, i.e., it guides venting gas out of the pack case (see e.g. Chen et al.: [0056]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to replace the anti-fire vent of Wakabayashi et al. with the anti-fire vent taught by Chen et al., because Chen et al. teaches that this anti-fire vent performs the same function as Wakabayashi et al.’s anti-fire vent.
As to Claim 3, Wakabayashi et al. in view of Chen et al. discloses the battery pack according to claim 1, wherein the temperature reducing tunnel includes a plurality of gas movement passages extended in a lattice structure (see e.g. the channels 112a in flame arresting disk 112, Chen et al.: [0059] and Fig. 7).
As to Claim 4, Wakabayashi et al. in view of Chen et al. discloses the battery pack according to claim 3, including a mesh (see e.g. second filter structure 4, Chem: [0069] and Fig. 5) and a plurality of gas movement passages (see e.g. channels 112a, of flame arresting disk 112, Chen et al.: [0059] and Fig. 7).
Chen et al. does not explicitly teach that each hole of the mesh of Wakabayashi et al. in view of Chen et al. is smaller than a cross-sectional size of each of the plurality of gas movement passages.
However, Chen et al. teaches that the function of the mesh is to filter small solid particles that could block the gas movement passages (see e.g. Chen et al.: [0014]). It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to design the mesh hole of Wakabayashi et al. in view of Chen et al. to be smaller than the gas movement passages, in order to allow the mesh holes to block small particulates that might block the gas movement passages, as suggested by Chen et al..
As to Claim 6, Wakabayashi et al. in view of Chen et al. discloses the battery pack according to claim 1, wherein the at least one anti-fire vent is detachably attached to a case hole in a wall of the pack case, the case hole forming an exit of the gas venting path (see e.g. Chen et al.: Figs. 1-2 and [0052], which states that component 1 of the anti-fire vent P10 is configured to connect to a case hole in housing P20. While the case hole is not shown explicitly in the figures, it must be there or P10 would not be able to function as an explosion-proof valve. Further, Chen et al.: paras [0047] and [0049] state that this connection may be a detachable connection).
As to Claim 7, Wakabayashi et al. in view of Chen et al. teaches the battery pack according to claim 1, wherein the at least one anti-fire vent is a plurality of anti-fire vents and the plurality of the anti-fire vents is arranged at a predetermined interval along the gas venting path inside the pack case (see e.g. the embodiment in Wakabayashi et al.: Fig. 8, showing two porous plates 5, inside pack case 2 which can reasonably be described as being arranged at a predetermined interval along the gas venting path).
As to Claim 8, Wakabayashi et al. in view of Chen et al. teaches the battery pack according to claim 7, wherein the at least one battery module is a plurality of battery modules (see e.g. cells 1, Wakabayashi et al.: Fig. 8), and
wherein the plurality of anti-fire vents is disposed on the gas venting path between any one battery module and an immediately adjacent battery module of the plurality of battery modules (see e.g. Wakabayashi et al.: Fig. 8, showing anti-fire vents 5 that can reasonably be said to be disposed on the gas venting path and disposed laterally between any one battery module and an immediately adjacent battery module. Compare with Fig. 5 of the Instant Application).
As to Claim 9, Wakabayashi et al. in view of Chen et al. teaches the battery pack according to claim 1, wherein the anti-fire vent further includes an outer frame with a hollow structure (see e.g. flame arresting disk housing 113, Chen et al.: [0061] and Fig. 5), and wherein the temperature reducing tunnel is interference fit in the outer frame (that is, the flame arresting disk 112 is fastened inside the flame arresting disk housing 113 via fastening flanges 113a/113b, see e.g. Chen et al.: [0061] and Fig. 5).
As to Claim 11, Wakabayashi et al. in view of Chen et al. teaches the battery pack according to claim 9, wherein the outer frame is fixed and coupled to an inside of the pack case (see e.g. flame arresting disk housing 113, which is fastened to main body 12, which is fastened to the outer pack case, Chen et al.: [0057]-[0058] and Figs. 2 and 5).
As to Claim 14, Wakabayashi et al. in view of Chen et al. teaches an energy storage system comprising the battery pack according to claim 1 (see e.g. battery pack 100, Wakabayashi et al.: [0027] and Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakabayashi et al. (US 2022/0069409) in view of Chen et al. (CN 112310552, as read via English equivalent, US2022/0140432) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jeong et al. (KR 20170090261, as read via machine translation).
As to Claim 2, Wakabayashi et al. in view of Chen et al. discloses the battery pack according to claim 1, wherein the mesh includes an entrance mesh (see e.g. second filter structure 4, Chen et al.: Fig. 4) and an exit membrane (see e.g. air-permeable membrane 2, Chen et al.: [0054] and Fig. 4) to cover the entrance and the exit of the temperature reducing tunnel, respectively.
Chen et al. does not explicitly teach that the air-permeable exit membrane of Wakabayashi et al. in view of Chen et al. is a mesh structure.
Jeong et al., also working on the problem of venting systems, teaches a venting system for a battery module in which a mesh is used to filter particles (see e.g. mesh-structured filter 210, Jeong: [0037] and Fig. 2).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to replace the air-permeable membrane of Wakabayashi et al. in view of Chen et al. with the mesh structure taught by Jeong et al., because Jeong et al. teaches a mesh structure that performs the same intended particle-filtering function as the air-permeable membrane.
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakabayashi et al. (US 2022/0069409) in view of Chen et al. (CN 112310552, as read via English equivalent, US2022/0140432) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Gondoh et al. (US 2021/0066690).
As to Claim 5, Wakabayashi et al. in view of Chen et al. discloses the battery pack according to claim 3, including a plurality of gas movement passages (see e.g. channels 112a, of flame arresting disk 112, Chen et al.: [0059] and Fig. 7).
Wakabayashi et al. in view of Chen et al. does not disclose a battery pack in which each gas movement passage of the plurality of gas movement passages includes a plurality of partitions, and wherein the plurality of partitions includes upper partitions extending obliquely from a ceiling surface of each of the plurality of gas movement passages and spaced apart from each other, and lower partitions alternately disposed with the upper partitions and extending obliquely from a bottom surface of each of the plurality of gas movement passages.
Gondoh et al., also working on the problem of venting structures for battery packs, teaches a gas movement passage (see e.g. guide tube 30, Gondoh et al.: [0034] and Fig. 3) that includes a plurality of partitions, and wherein the plurality of partitions includes upper partitions extending obliquely from a ceiling surface of each of the plurality of gas movement passages and spaced apart from each other, and lower partitions alternately disposed with the upper partitions and extending obliquely from a bottom surface of each of the plurality of gas movement passages (see e.g. first exhaust guide components 36a, which read on the claimed upper partitions and second guide components 36b, which read of the lower partitions, Gondoh et al.: [0038] and Fig. 3). Gondoh et al. further teaches that these upper and lower partitions collect particles, which can cause ignition, from the exhaust gas traveling through the passage (see e.g. Gondoh et al.: [0003], [0062]) and decrease the temperature and pressure of gas flowing through the exhaust passage (see e.g. Gondoh et al.: [0004], [0066]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gas movement passages of Wakabayashi et al. in view of Chen et al. by adding a plurality of partitions, wherein the plurality of partitions includes upper partitions extending obliquely from a ceiling surface of each of the plurality of gas movement passages and spaced apart from each other, and lower partitions alternately disposed with the upper partitions and extending obliquely from a bottom surface of each of the plurality of gas movement passages in the manner taught by Gondoh. Said artisan would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to collect particles, which can cause ignition, from the exhaust gas traveling through the passage, and to decrease the temperature and pressure of gas flowing through the exhaust passage, as taught by Gondoh et al..
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakabayashi et al. (US 2022/0069409) in view of Chen et al. (CN 112310552, as read via English equivalent, US2022/0140432) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Jeong et al. (KR 20170090261, as read via machine translation).
As to Claim 10, Wakabayashi et al. in view of Chen et al. teaches the battery pack according to claim 9, wherein the outer frame has two openings, at a first side and a second side of the outer frame, respectively (see e.g. flame arresting disk housing 113, which has openings on either side, Chen et al.: Fig. 5), and wherein a membrane is integrally fixed and coupled to a first opening of the two openings (see e.g. air permeable membrane 2, which is welded and can thereby reasonably be considered to be integrally fixed and coupled to the disk housing, Chen et al.: [0054] and Fig. 5).
Wakabayashi et al. in view of Chen et al. further teaches a second mesh coupled to the second opening that is rotatably coupled to a second opening of the two openings (see e.g. second filter structure 4, which is movably disposed within the channel and thereby can reasonably be said to be rotatbly coupled to the opening, Chen et al.: [0070] and Fig. 5. See also the rejection of Claim 10 under 35 USC § 112(b) above).
Chen et al. does not explicitly teach that Chen et al.’s air-permeable exit membrane is a mesh.
Jeong et al., also working on the problem of venting systems, teaches a venting system for a battery module in which a mesh is used to filter particles (see e.g. mesh-structured filter 210, Jeong: [0037] and Fig. 2).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to replace the air-permeable membrane of Wakabayashi et al. in view of Chen et al. with the mesh structure taught by Jeong et al., because Jeong et al. teaches a mesh structure that performs the same intended particle-filtering function as the air-permeable membrane.
Claim(s) 12-13 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakabayashi et al. (US 2022/0069409) in view of Chen et al. (CN 112310552, as read via English equivalent, US2022/0140432) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kimura et al. (WO 2020027299, as read via English equivalent, US 2021/0249710).
As to Claim 12, Wakabayashi et al. in view of Chen et al. teaches the battery pack according to claim 1, wherein the at least one battery module includes a plurality of battery modules arranged consecutively (see e.g. battery cells 1, Wakabayashi et al.: Fig. 1).
Wakabayashi et al. in view of Chen et al. does not teach a battery pack that further comprises a heat transfer suppressor between immediately adjacent battery modules of the plurality of battery modules to suppress heat transfer between the immediately adjacent battery modules.
Kimura et al. teaches a heat transfer suppressor that is positioned immediately adjacent to a battery module (see e.g. cooling plate 1 positioned adjacent to case 7 which houses a battery, Kimura et al.: [0045], [0086], and Fig. 1). Kimura et al. further teaches that this heat transfer suppressor allows for cooling of battery cells in contact with the heat transfer suppressor (see e.g. Kimura et al.: [0046]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the instantly claimed invention modify the battery pack of Wakabayashi et al. in view of Chen et al. by adding the heat transfer suppressor taught by Kimura et al. between immediately adjacent battery modules. Said artisan would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to allow for cooling of the battery modules, as taught by Kimura et al..
As to Claim 13, Wakabayashi et al. in view of Chen et al. and Kimura et al. teaches the battery pack according to claim 12, wherein the heat transfer suppressor includes a first thermal insulation pad (see e.g. resin plate 2, Kimura et al.: [0045] and Fig. 1) and a first thermally conductive sheet made of a metal (see e.g. metal plate 3, Kimura et al.: [0045] and Fig. 1) stacked in that order between the immediately adjacent battery modules.
Wakabayashi et al. in view of Chen et al. and Kimura et al. does not teach that the first thermally conductive sheet and the second thermally conductive sheet are in surface contact with an upper surface of the pack case.
Further, Wakabayashi et al. in view of Chen et al. and Kimura et al. does not teach a second thermal insulation pad, a second thermally conductive sheet made of a metal and a third thermal insulation pad.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention would have appreciated that the heat transfer suppressor would need to be attached to a surface in order to be secured in place. Further, said artisan would have recognized that the upper surface of the pack case would be the closest surface to attach the heat transfer suppressor to. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to attach the heat transfer suppressor of Wakabayashi et al. in view of Chen et al. and Kimura et al. to the upper surface of the pack case such that the first thermally conductive sheet and the second thermally conductive sheet are in surface contact with an upper surface of the pack case.
Further regarding claim 13, one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to duplicate the components already taught by Kimura et al. and add an additional second thermal insulation pad, second thermally conductive sheet, and a third thermal insulation pad between immediately adjacent battery modules to the battery pack of Wakabayashi et al. in view of Chen et al. and Kimura et al.. Said artisan would have been motivated to make such an addition in order to further increase the amount of cooling provided by Kimura et al.’s heat transfer suppressor.
As to Claim 15, Wakabayashi et al. in view of Chen et al. teaches the battery pack according to claim 1, wherein the at least one battery module includes a first battery module and a second battery module (see e.g. battery cells 1, Fig. 8), wherein the pack case has a first side wall and a second side wall spaced from the first side wall in a first direction, wherein the at least one anti-fire vent includes a first anti-fire vent contacting the first side wall and a second anti-fire vent contacting the second side wall (see e.g. Fig. 8 and Illustration 1 below).
Illustration 1: Reproduction with annotation of Fig. 8 of Wakabayashi et al..
Wakabayashi et al. in view of Chen et al. does not teach a heat transfer suppressor that extends between the first battery module and the second battery module from the first anti-fire vent to the second anti-fire vent.
Kimura et al. teaches a heat transfer suppressor that is positioned immediately adjacent to a battery module (see e.g. cooling plate 1 positioned adjacent to case 7 which houses a battery, Kimura et al.: [0045], [0086], and Fig. 1). Kimura et al. further teaches that this heat transfer suppressor allows for cooling of battery cells in contact with the heat transfer suppressor (see e.g. Kimura et al.: [0046]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the instantly claimed invention modify the battery pack of Wakabayashi et al. in view of Chen et al. by adding the heat transfer suppressor taught by Kimura et al. extending between the first battery module and the second battery module from the first anti-fire vent to the second anti-fire vent. Said artisan would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to allow for cooling of the battery modules, as taught by Kimura et al..
As to Claim 16, Wakabayashi et al. in view of Chen et al. and Kimura et al. teaches the battery pack according to claim 15, wherein the heat transfer suppressor comprises at least one thermal insulation pad (see e.g. resin plate 2, Kimura et al.: [0045] and Fig. 1) and at least one thermally conductive sheet made of a metal (see e.g. metal plate 3, Kimura et al.: [0045] and Fig. 1).
As to Claim 17, Wakabayashi et al. in view of Chen et al. and Kimura et al. teaches the battery pack according to claim 15.
Wakabayashi et al. in view of Chen et al. and Kimura et al. does not teach a battery pack in which the at least one anti-fire vent further includes a third anti-fire vent between the second battery module and a first end wall of the pack case, the third anti-fire vent contacting the first side wall and the first end wall.
However, modifying the battery pack of Wakabayashi et al. in view of Chen et al. and Kimura et al. such that the at least one anti-fire vent further includes a third anti-fire vent between the second battery module and a first end wall of the pack case, the third anti-fire vent contacting the first side wall and the first end wall would represent a duplication and rearrangement of parts that would fail to patentably distinguish the operation of the instantly-claimed battery back from the battery pack structure taught by Wakabayashi et al. in view of Chen et al. and Kimura et al. (see MPEP § 2144.04 VI B. “Duplication of Parts” and VI C. “Rearrangement of Parts”). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the battery pack of Wakabayashi et al. in view of Chen et al. and Kimura et al. in the manner recited above because it would be a functional equivalent to the battery pack taught by Wakabayashi et al. in view of Chen et al. and Kimura et al..
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Modena et al. (US 2016/0346720) discloses a similar anti-fire vent with opening and exit meshes.
/A.M.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1723
/TONG GUO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723