DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 02/17/2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to at least independent claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11, 13, 20, 22, 24 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Noda US 2014/0029117.
Regarding claim 11, Noda discloses an optical system, in at least figs.2, 3 and 5 and tables 1, 2 and 4, comprising:
first to fifth lenses (L1-L5) sequentially arranged along an optical axis from an object side to an image side (see figs.2, 3 and 5),
wherein each of the first to fifth lenses includes an object-side surface and an image-side surface (see figs.2, 3 and 5),
wherein an effective aperture on the image-side surface of the first lens is larger than an effective aperture on the object-side surface of the first lens (see figs.2, 3 and 5),
wherein a center thickness of the first lens is thinner than a center thickness of the second lens (see figs.2, 3 and 5),
wherein the object-side surface of the first lens has a negative (-) radius of curvature (see figs.2, 3 and 5),
wherein the image-side surface of the first lens has a convex shape (see figs.2, 3 and 5), and
wherein the image-side surface of the second lens has a concave shape (see figs.2, 3 and 5).
Regarding claim 13, Noda discloses the second lens has positive (+) refractive power (see figs.2, 3 and 5), wherein the object-side surface of the second lens has a convex shape (see figs.2, 3 and 5).
Regarding claim 20, Noda discloses the center thickness of the first lens is smaller than a center thickness of the third lens (L3), and thicker than center thicknesses of the fourth lens (L4) and the fifth lens (L5) (see tables 1 and 2),
Wherein the center thickness of the second lens (L2) is thicker than the center thickness of the third lens (see tables 1 and 2), and
wherein the image-side surface of the first lens has the largest effective aperture among the object-side surfaces and the image-side surfaces of the first to fifth lenses (see figs.2 and 3).
Regarding claim 22, Noda discloses the fourth lens and the fifth lens have a meniscus shape convex toward the object side (see figs.2 and 3).
Regarding claim 24, Noda discloses the image-side surface of the first lens has the largest effective aperture among object-side surfaces and image-side surfaces of the first to fifth lenses (see figs.2, 3 and 5).
Regarding claim 26, Noda discloses a center thickness of the first lens is TH_L1,
wherein a center thickness of the second lens is THL2, and wherein the first and second lenses satisfies the following Equation:
0.2 < TH_L1 / TH_L2 < 0.65 (see tables 1, 2 and 4).
Claim(s) 11, 13-15, and 21-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tamotsu JP 2009151046A (see document of 18020574_2025-11-07_JP_2009151046_A_M.pdf).
Regarding claim 11, Tamotsu discloses an optical system, in at least figs.1-7, comprising:
first to fifth lenses (L1-L5 of figs.3 and 7, or L1, L3, L4, L5 and L6 of figs.2-7) sequentially arranged along an optical axis from an object side to an image side (see figs.2-7),
wherein each of the first to fifth lenses includes an object-side surface and an image-side surface (see figs.2-7),
wherein an effective aperture on the image-side surface of the first lens is larger than an effective aperture on the object-side surface of the first lens (see figs.2-7),
wherein a center thickness of the first lens is thinner than a center thickness of the second lens (see figs.2-7),
wherein the object-side surface of the first lens has a negative (-) radius of curvature (see figs.2-7),
wherein the image-side surface of the first lens has a convex shape (see figs.2-7), and
wherein the image-side surface of the second lens has a concave shape (see figs.2-7).
Regarding claim 13, Tamotsu discloses the second lens has positive (+) refractive power (see figs.2-7), wherein the object-side surface of the second lens has a convex shape (see figs.2-7).
Regarding claim 14, Tamotsu discloses the center thickness of the first lens is smaller than a distance between the first lens (L1) and the second lens (L3) in a direction of the optical axis (see figs.2-7).
Regarding claim 15, Tamotsu discloses the center thickness of the second lens is thicker than a center thickness of each of the third lens (L4), the fourth lens (L5), and the fifth lens (L6) (see figs.2-7).
Regarding claim 21, Tamotsu discloses the third lens (L4) has a negative refractive power,
wherein the fourth lens (L5) has a positive refractive power, and
wherein the fifth lens (L6) has a positive refractive power.
Regarding claim 22, Tamotsu discloses the fourth lens and the fifth lens have a meniscus shape convex toward the object side (see figs.2-7).
Regarding claim 23, Tamotsu discloses the third to fifth lenses have a meniscus shape convex toward the object side (see figs.2-7).
Regarding claim 24, Tamotsu discloses the image-side surface of the first lens has the largest effective aperture among object-side surfaces and image-side surfaces of the first to fifth lenses (see figs.2-7).
Regarding claim 25, Tamotsu discloses a distance from the image side surface of the fifth lens (L5) to an image sensor in a direction of the optical axis is BFL, wherein 1/2 of a diagonal length of an effective region of the image sensor is ImgH, and wherein the optical system satisfies the following Equation:
2 < BFL / ImgH < 5 (see at least tables 6 and 7 teach 7.33/3.197=2.3).
Regarding claim 26, Tamotsu discloses a center thickness of the first lens is TH_L1,
wherein a center thickness of the second lens is THL2, and wherein the first and second lenses satisfies the following Equation:
0.2 < TH_L1 / TH_L2 < 0.65 (see tables 1-6).
Claim(s) 11, 12, 22 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamura US 20140104707.
Regarding claim 11, Nakamura discloses an optical system, in at least fig.15 comprising:
first to fifth lenses (see fig.15) sequentially arranged along an optical axis from an object side to an image side (see fig.15),
wherein each of the first to fifth lenses includes an object-side surface and an image-side surface (see fig.15),
wherein an effective aperture on the image-side surface of the first lens is larger than an effective aperture on the object-side surface of the first lens (see fig.15),
wherein a center thickness of the first lens is thinner than a center thickness of the second lens (see fig.15),
wherein the object-side surface of the first lens has a negative (-) radius of curvature (see fig.15),
wherein the image-side surface of the first lens has a convex shape (see fig.15), and
wherein the image-side surface of the second lens has a concave shape (see fig.15 and para.118).
Regarding claim 12, Nakamura discloses the first lens has positive (+) refractive power (see fig.15), and wherein the first lens has a meniscus shape convex in an image-side direction (see fig.15).
Regarding claim 22, Nakamura discloses the fourth lens and the fifth lens have a meniscus shape convex toward the object side (see fig.15).
Regarding claim 23, Nakamura discloses the third to fifth lenses have a meniscus shape convex toward the object side (see fig.15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noda US 2014/0029117 as applied to claim 11 above.
Regarding claim 25, Noda discloses a distance from the image side surface of the fifth lens to an image sensor in a direction of the optical axis is BFL, wherein 1/2 of a diagonal length of an effective region of the image sensor is ImgH, and wherein the optical system satisfies the following Equation: BFL / ImgH = 0.396.
Noda does not explicitly disclose 2 < BFL / ImgH < 5. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to 2 < BFL / ImgH < 5 through routine experimentation and optimization, in re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The Applicant has not disclosed that the range is for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected/significant result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another range. Indeed, it has been held that mere range limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have 2 < BFL / ImgH < 5 for the purpose of having high quality image.
Regarding claim 27, Noda discloses a distance from the object-side surface of the first lens to an image sensor in a direction of the optical axis is a total track length (TTL), wherein a distance from the image-side surface of the fifth lens to the image sensor in the direction of the optical axis is BFL, and wherein the optical system satisfies the following Equation: TTL/BFL=5.1964/0.884=5.878.
Noda does not explicitly disclose 1.5 <TTL/BFL<2.5. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to 1.5 <TTL/BFL<2.5 through routine experimentation and optimization, in re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The Applicant has not disclosed that the range is for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected/significant result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another range. Indeed, it has been held that mere range limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have 1.5 <TTL/BFL<2.5 for the purpose of having high quality image.
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noda US 2014/0029117 as applied to claim 20 above.
Regarding claim 30, Noda discloses a distance from the image-side surface of the fifth lens to an image sensor in a direction of the optical axis is BFL, wherein 1/2 of a diagonal length of an effective region of the image sensor is ImgH, wherein a distance from the object-side surface of the first lens to the image sensor in a direction of the optical axis is a total track length (TTL), and wherein the optical system satisfies the following Equations:
BFL / ImgH = 0.396
TTL/BFL=5.1964/0.884=5.878.
Noda does not explicitly disclose 2 < BFL / ImgH <5 and 1.5 <TTL/BFL<2.5. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to 2 < BFL / ImgH <5 and 1.5 <TTL/BFL<2.5 through routine experimentation and optimization, in re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The Applicant has not disclosed that the range is for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected/significant result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another range. Indeed, it has been held that mere range limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have 2 < BFL / ImgH <5 and 1.5 <TTL/BFL<2.5 for the purpose of having high quality image.
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamotsu JP 2009151046A as applied to claim 11.
Regarding claim 27, Tamotsu discloses a distance from the object-side surface of the first lens to an image sensor in a direction of the optical axis is a total track length (TTL), wherein a distance from the image-side surface of the fifth lens to the image sensor in the direction of the optical axis is BFL, and wherein the optical system satisfies the following Equation: TTL/BFL (see tables 1-6).
Tamotsu does not explicitly disclose 1.5 <TTL/BFL<2.5. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to 1.5 <TTL/BFL<2.5 through routine experimentation and optimization, in re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The Applicant has not disclosed that the range is for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected/significant result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another range. Indeed, it has been held that mere range limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have 1.5 <TTL/BFL<2.5 for the purpose of having high quality image.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-18, 28 and 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 16, the prior art of record (includes Tamotsu JP 2009151046A, Noda US 20140029117, Nakamura US 20140104707) does not disclose or suggest the claim limitations of “first lens has a positive (+) refractive power, wherein the object-side surface of the second lens has an effective aperture smaller than the effective aperture of the object-side surface of the first lens”, along with other claim limitations. Claims 17 and 18 are depended on claim 16 so they are allowable for the same reason.
Regarding claim 28, the prior art of record (includes Tamotsu JP 2009151046A, Noda US 20140029117, Nakamura US 20140104707) does not disclose or suggest the claim limitations of “the first lens has a positive (+) refractive power, and wherein the first lens has a meniscus shape convex toward the image side”, along with other claim limitations. Claim 29 is depended on claim 28 so it is allowable for the same reason.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIA X PAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871