Remarks
This Office Action fully acknowledges Applicant’s remarks filed on 02/10/2026. Claim 1 is pending. Claims 2 and 3 are canceled.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character 126 is disclosed as being the injection port, but points to a different structure in Fig. 6.
In addition, reference number 128 shown in Fig. 6 is not described in the specification.
1. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korean Patent No. KR101874548 to Shin (Shin ‘548) (cited by applicant) in view of Korean Patent Application Publication KR20190008584 to Shin (Shin ‘584) (cited by applicant, Korean Patent Application Publication No. KR101897979 to Shin (Shin '979) (cited by applicant) and Korean Patent Application Publication No. KR101864187 to Whi (cited by applicant).
Shin ‘548 teaches a centrifugal separation kit that includes a first container (“centrifugal separation container”) 1 in which a sample placed inside for concentration and separation by components of the sample according to density at the time of centrifugation using a centrifuge.
Shin ‘548 teaches a component recovery container (“decanting container”) 2 that is mounted on one side of first container 1 and separates and stores components flowing out of a centrifugal separation container 1 that is close to horizontal due to centrifugal force during centrifugation; and a plotter (“floater”) 13 that is provided inside a first container 1 and moves along the length direction of the first container 1 so as to be located at the boundary of each component based on the density of each component of the sample to be centrifuged. The plotter 13 prevents mixing of the precipitated component and the floating component with each other through the boundary of each component of the sample concentrated and separated by component ([0029]-[0036] and Figs. 1-3a).
The first container 1 includes a first container cover 12 into which a sample can be injected. [0033]
Shin ‘548 does not teach an insert cover that limits movement of the plotter 13.
Shin ‘584 teaches a centrifuge container.
In Fig. 3 Shin ‘584 shows a structure identified by reference number 22 which corresponds to applicant’s insert cover. (Fig. 3) Note also, in the translation, page 4, 3rd full paragraph, that the guide tube portion limits the range of motion of the plotter.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify Shin ‘548 to include the structure shown in Fig. 3 of Shin ‘584 to limit the movement of the plotter 13 based on the volume of the sample being centrifuged.
Shin ‘548 teaches an injection part 122 and a discharge port 121 on the cover of the first container, but does not teach a vent portion on the cover of the first container.
Shin ‘548 teaches a vent port 222 on the lid 22 of the second container for purposes of venting air in conjunction with the transfer (injection and extraction) of a sample.
Shin ‘584 teaches an injection port 23 and a vent port 25 on a centrifuge container. (Fig. 2)
It would have been obvious to include a vent port on the cover of the first container together with the injection port 122 for purposes of venting air in connection with injecting a sample into the first container.
In Fig. 3a Shin ‘548 illustrates the use of a lid 22 that has a flange that extend over the top of container 2 which is received in a groove, having a stepped portion and a seal “p” (“packing ring”) in the groove formed by the stepped portion.
An annotated Fig. 3a is provided as follows:
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Packing Ring)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Stepped Portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Grove)][AltContent: textbox (Flange)]
Shin ‘979 teaches a centrifuge container that, as shown in Fig. 31, includes a flange portion 12 on the lid that is provided with a first hook 123 protruding from the top of the rim for easy assembly with the container lid 2 and firmly assembling the container lid 2 and a protruding frame 124 that is fitted to the inside of the second projection of the container lid 2 to be described later is protruded upward. [0041]
A first packing ring 125 and a second packing ring 126 are provided at the upper end to prevent any leakage of the sample by blocking the gap between the container body 1 and the container lid 2. [0042]
The container lid 2 is assembled on the container main body 1 so as to close the upper end of the opening of the cylindrical body 11 while injecting the sample into the chamber 111 and injecting the sample centrifuged in the chamber 111. The first hook 123 is formed to have a circular plate-like structure capable of covering the flange portion 12 of the container body 1. A second projection 22 for receiving the pawl body 124 is formed from a portion corresponding to the above pawl body 124. [0043]
Whi teaches a cap for a container in which a flange portion 18 forming a first fitting groove 18a is connected between the outer wall body 17 and the outer wall body 17 along the upper outer periphery thereof, and the inner wall portion 23 of the plug 20 is inserted into the first fitting groove 18a so that the inner wall portion 23 and the outer peripheral surface of the outer wall body 17 or the inner surface of the flange portion 18 The side surfaces can be hooked to each other. (Fig. 2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Shin ‘548 in view of Shin 584 to include one or more seals (“packing rings”) flange structures, stepped portions, coupling grooves, hook structures and seal receiving grooves as taught by Shin ‘548, Shin ‘584, Shin ‘979 and Whi between the container and cover of Shin ‘548, as a matter using conventional structures to seal a cover onto a container. Providing the structures on the container or cover would have been an obvious arrangement/rearrangement of parts as a matter of choice. (MPEP 2122.04(VI)(C))
Shin ‘584 includes a decanting container body 2, having a cover 22 with a discharge port 221 and a vent port 222. (Fig. 2)
Shin ‘584 teaches that the inlet chamber 211 is connected to the second chamber 21a and the inflow hole 211 for guiding the inflow of the components flowing through the second chamber body 21 to the second chamber body 21, and a portion thereof forms a gentle slope 211-1 so that the cell of the inflow component due to the drop impact is not destroyed. [0041] (Fig. 3b)
As shown in Fig. 3a Shin ‘584 teaches that the discharge part includes an upper flange having a certain shape and extending upwards from the centrifugal separation container cover body by a predetermined distance; a cover coupling stepped portion extending upwards from the upper flange and having a stepped portion formed therein; and a discharge part having a certain shape and formed within the cover coupling stepped portion, the inlet comprises: an inlet port settled in the cover coupling stepped portion of the discharge part and having the same guide surface as the discharge part.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Inlet port)][AltContent: textbox (Discharge Part)][AltContent: textbox (Cover Coupling Stepped Portion)][AltContent: textbox (Upper Flange)]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Shin ‘548 in view of Shin 584 to include one or more seals (“packing rings”.) flange structures, stepped portions, and hook structures as taught by Shin ‘548, Shin ‘584, Shin ‘979 and Whi between inlet discharge part and the decanting container body of Shin ‘548, as a matter using conventional structures to seal a cover onto a container. Providing the structures on with the container or cover would have been an obvious arrangement/rearrangement of parts as a matter of choice. (MPEP 2122.04(VI)(C))
As noted in Fig. 3a of Shin ‘548, the discharge part includes an inner surface that is continuous with a portion of the inner circumferential surface of the centrifugal separation surface.
As for claim 1 reciting a second packing ring disposed between the outer side of the cover coupling stepped portion and the coupling hook configured to seal the discharge part and the inlet. As noted above it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to include to include one or more seals (“packing rings”.) flange structures, stepped portions, and hook structures as taught by Shin ‘548, Shin ‘584, Shin ‘979 and Whi between inlet discharge part and the decanting container body of Shin ‘548, as a matter using conventional structures to seal a cover onto a container.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 12 of applicant’s response applicant argues that cited references fail to disclose or suggest the discharge part protruding upwards and configured to define a guide surface continuous with the inner circumferential surface of the centrifugal separation container body over a predetermined section and allow the sample to be decanted to the decanting container.
As noted above, in Fig. 3a of Shin ‘548, the discharge part includes an inner surface that is continuous with a portion of the inner circumferential surface of the centrifugal separation surface.
Also on page 12 of applicant’s response applicant argues that the cited references fail to disclose of suggest a first packing ring disposed between the centrifugal separation container body and the centrifugal separation container cover and configured to seal an interior of the centrifugal separation chamber, and the second packing ring is disposed between the outer side of the cover coupling stepped portion and the coupling hook and configured to seal the discharge part and the inlet, and a flange defined outwards from an upper part of the centrifugal separation container body, to which the centrifugal separation container cover is hooked, and on one side of which a fastening groove is defined.
As noted above the prior art references teach seals (“packing rings”) flange structures, stepped portions and hook structures for coupling and sealing covers onto containers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Shin ‘548 in view of Shin 584 to include one or more seals (“packing rings”.) flange structures, stepped portions, and hook structures as taught by Shin ‘548, Shin ‘584, Shin ‘979 and Whi between inlet discharge part and the decanting container body of Shin ‘548, as a matter using conventional structures to seal a cover onto a container. Providing the structures on with the container or cover would have been an obvious arrangement/rearrangement of parts as a matter of choice. (MPEP 2122.04(VI)(C))
Further on page 12 of applicant’s response applicant argues that none of the cited references disclose or suggest an insert cover mounted within the centrifugal separation container and configured to limit a movement distance of the floater moving along the longitudinal direction of the centrifugal separation container.
As noted above, In Fig. 3 Shin ‘584 shows a structure identified by reference number 22 which corresponds to applicant’s insert cover. (Fig. 3) Note also, in the translation, page 4, 3rd full paragraph, that the guide tube portion limits the range of motion of the plotter. Further Shin ‘584 teaches that the floater 3 is located at the boundary of the respective components based on the difference in density of each component during centrifugal separation.
On page 13 of applicant’s response applicant argues the differences between Shin ‘584 and Shin ‘979.
One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. (MPEP 2145(IV)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chinese Patent Application Publication No. CN106061612 to Yu teaches a centrifugal tube that has a hook 128 on the cover 118 for attaching the cover to tube 102 as shown in Fig. 4.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.S.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798