DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-8, 13-24, 29,31 and 32 are pending.
2. Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-8 and 13-24 in the reply filed on 11/14/25 is acknowledged.
Applicant traverse the Restriction Requirement on the grounds that the search of Groups I-III together would not constitute a serious search burden on the examiner and that search of the claims of Group I would provide useful information for the claims of Group II and Group III.
This is not found persuasive because the MPEP 803 (August 2001) states that “For purposes of the initial requirement, a serious burden on the examiner may be prima facie shown if the examiner shows by appropriate explanation either separate classification, separate status in the art, or a different field of search”. The Restriction Requirement enunciated in the previous Office Action meets this criteria and therefore establishes that serious burden is placed on the examiner by the examination of more than one Group. The Inventions are distinct for reasons elaborated in paragraphs 3-5 of the previous Office Action and above
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
3. Claims 29,31 and 32 are withdrawn from further consideration by the Examiner, 37 C.F.R. § 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions.
Claims 1-8, 13-24 read on a therapeutic cell that expresses a fusion protein are under consideration in the instant application.
5. Claim(s) 1-5, 13,14, 16-18,20-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as anticipated by US Patent Application 20160272718.
US Patent’ 718 teaches a therapeutic CAR-T cell expressing a fusion protein comprising antigen-binding domain, degradation domain comprising degron, wherein degron is RRRG transmembrane domain and a linker between the target-binding domain and degradation domain ( see entire document, paragraphs 003, 0034, ,0051, 0056, 0060 and 0061 in particular).
The reference teaching anticipates the claimed invention.
7. Claims 1,6, 7, 8, 15,19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable US Patent Application 20160272718 in view of US Patent Application 20220025341 and US Patent Application 20240018528
The teaching of US Patent 20160272718 has been discussed supra.
US Patent Application’718 does not explicitly teaches a fusion protein comprising degradation domain comprisng E3 ligaze-recruting domain or wherein target-binding domain is a synthetic leucine zipper.
US Patent Application’341 teaches a fusion protein comprising targeting domain and degradation domain comprisng E3 ligase-recruiting domain. US Patent Application’341 teaches a fusion protein can be used for targeting protein degradation ( see entire document, abstract and paragraphs 0011, 0015 in particular).
US Patent Application 528 teaches a fusion protein comprising leucine zipper domain and degradation domain. US Patent Application’528 teaches a fusion protein can be used for targeting protein degradation ( see entire document paragraphs 0017, 0018, 0036, 0069 in particular).
All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skill in the art could have combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention ( see KSR International Co v Teleflex Inc., 550U.S.-, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 2007).
Thus it would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a fusion protein taught by US Patent Application’718 with a a fusion protein comprising degradation domain comprisng E3 ligase-recruiting domain or a fusion protein comprising leucine zipper domain and degradation domain in a with a reasonable expectation of success because the prior art suggests each of said fusion proteins can be used for
From the teachings of the references, it was apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
9. The claims 1-5, 13,14, 16-18,20-24 are provisionally rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting of the claims of copending Application Nos. 18/835,327; 18/728067, 18/278379; 18/278,377;
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims of copending Application Nos. 18/835,327; 18/728067, 18/278379; 18/278,377 each recited a therapeutic cells expressing a fusing protein comprising target-binding domain and a degradation domain.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
10. No claim is allowed.
11. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Michail Belyavskyi whose telephone number is 571/272-0840. The examiner can normally be reached Monday through Friday from 9:00 AM to 5:30 PM. A message may be left on the examiner's voice mail service. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Daniel Kolker can be reached on 571/ 272-3181
The fax number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571/273-8300
/MICHAIL A BELYAVSKYI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1644