RESPONSE TO APPLICANT’S AMENDMENT
1. Applicants amendment filed on 05/11/26 is acknowledged.
2. Claims 1-8, 18-24, 29,31 and 32 are pending.
3. Claims 29,31 and 32 stand withdrawn from further consideration by the Examiner, 37 C.F.R. § 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions.
Claims 1-8, 18-24 read on a therapeutic cell that expresses a fusion protein are under consideration in the instant application.
The following new ground of rejection is necessitated by the amendment filed on 05/11/26
5. Claims 1-8,18-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable US Patent Application 20160272718 in view of US Patent Application 20220025341 , US 20220098258 and 20110275146
US Patent’ 718 teaches a therapeutic CAR-T cell expressing a fusion protein comprising antigen-binding domain, degradation domain comprising degron, wherein degron is RRRG transmembrane domain and a linker between the target-binding domain and degradation domain ( see entire document, paragraphs 003, 0034, ,0051, 0056, 0060 and 0061 in particular).
US Patent Application’718 does not explicitly teaches a fusion protein comprising degradation domain comprisng E3 ligaze-recruting domain or wherein target-binding domain is a synthetic leucine zipper.
US Patent Application’341 teaches a fusion protein comprising targeting domain and degradation domain comprisng E3 ligase-recruiting domain. US Patent Application’341 teaches a fusion protein can be used for targeting protein degradation ( see entire document, abstract and paragraphs 0011, 0015 in particular).
US Patent Application 258 teaches a fusion protein comprising leucine zipper domain and degradation domain. US Patent Application’258 teaches a fusion protein can be used for targeting protein degradation ( see entire document paragraphs 0006, 0081, 0180 in particular).
US Patent Application 146 teaches a fusion protein comprising leucine zipper domain and degradation domain. US Patent Application’146 teaches a fusion protein can be used for targeting protein degradation ( see entire document paragraphs 0121, 0124, 0259 in particular).
All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skill in the art could have combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention ( see KSR International Co v Teleflex Inc., 550U.S.-, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 2007).
Thus it would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a fusion protein taught by US Patent Application’718 with a a fusion protein comprising degradation domain comprisng E3 ligase-recruiting domain or a fusion protein comprising leucine zipper domain and degradation domain in a with a reasonable expectation of success because the prior art suggests each of said fusion proteins can be used for degradation of the target protein
From the teachings of the references, it was apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
7. The claims 1-8,18-24 stand provisionally rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting of the claims of copending Application Nos. 18/835,327; 18/728067, 18/278379; 18/278,377;
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims of copending Application Nos. 18/835,327; 18/728067, 18/278379; 18/278,377 each recited a therapeutic cells expressing a fusing protein comprising target-binding domain and a degradation domain.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
It is noted that Applicant requested that said rejection be hold in abeyance until patentable subject matter is identified.
8. No claim is allowed.
9. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609(B)(2)(i). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
10. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Michail Belyavskyi whose telephone number is 571/272-0840. The examiner can normally be reached Monday through Friday from 9:00 AM to 5:30 PM. A message may be left on the examiner's voice mail service. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Daniel Kolker can be reached on 571/ 272-3181
The fax number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571/273-8300
/MICHAIL A BELYAVSKYI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1644