DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lintinen et al. (WO 2019/081819).
Considering Claims 10, 13, and 15: Lintinen et al. teaches a process comprising providing a lignin is dissolved form; functionalizing the lignin by reacting the lignin with formaldehyde (16:31-17:5); providing the functionalized lignin into a mixture of water, tetrahydrofuran, and ethanol (17:7-10:15); removing part of the organic solvent (12:6-11); and heat-curing the dispersion to form stable crosslinked particles (12:19-25). The particles as functionalized with aldehyde groups (17:27-28).
Lintinen et al. teaches the distillation as occurring over several stages (19:19-27), where the first stage reads on the removal of part of the organic solvent, and the additional phases reading on heat curing the lignin particles. The dispersion contains 13 weight percent of tetrahydrofuran, 11 weight percent of ethanol. The first distillation stage removes a majority of the tetrahydrofuran with lesser amounts of ethanol (Example 3). Thus, the partial removal of the solvent removes at least 6.5 weight percent of tetrahydrofuran (i.e. the majority) and some of the ethanol. The total amount of solvent removed is between 6.5% by weight and 24% by weight (the total amount of solvent in the dispersion), each weight percent being calculated as a percentage of the total mass of the dispersion.
Considering Claim 11: Lintinen et al. teaches the lignin as being kraft lignin/recovered from lignocellulose in an alkaline medium (Example 1).
Considering Claim 12: Lintinen et al. teaches providing the lignin in a dissolved form in an alkaline aqueous solution (16:31-17:5).
Considering Claim 14: Lintinen et al. teaches the concentration of water as being 76% of the solvents (Example 1).
Considering Claim 16: Lintinen et al. teaches the lignin content as being 2.8 weight percent and the amount of the organic solvent as being 24 weight percent, which is greater than 60% of the weight of the lignin particles (Example 1 and 3). Lintinen et al. teaches the recovery of the solvents by evaporation at room temperature (Example 2).
Considering Claim 17: The second stage of heating occurs at 76ºC in Lintinen et al. (Example 3).
Considering Claim 18: Lintinen et al. teaches drying the particles by spray drying (14:1-7).
Considering Claim 19: Lintinen et al. teaches preparing an adhesive from the composition (16:20-21).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-9 and 20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Considering Claim 1: The prior art of record does not teach or suggest the claimed aqueous dispersion, where the lignin has at least 90% of the reactive groups of the lignin have reacted to form covalent bridges between lignin particles. The closest prior art is Lintinen et al. (WO 2019/081819), discussed in the previous action.
Lintinen et al. teaches an aqueous dispersion (1:5-7) of aldehyde functionalized (17:27-28) spherical colloid lignin (8:6-7), where the spherical particles are homogeneous (11:11-13) and crosslinked (17:19-25). Lintinen et al. does not teach the degree of crosslinking, and the curing conditions are distinct from the curing conditions of the original specification that result in the fully crosslinked particles. There is no reasonable expectation that the process of Lintinen et al. would necessarily result in the fully crosslinked lignin particles as defined in the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 6, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, because:
The applicant’s argument that Lintinen et al. does not teach the partial removal as comprising removing 5 to 30% by weight of the one or more organic solvents calculated from the mass of the dispersion is not persuasive. Lintinen et al. teaches the distillation as occurring over several stages (19:19-27), where the first stage reads on the removal of part of the organic solvent, and the additional phases reading on heat curing the lignin particles. The dispersion contains 13 weight percent of tetrahydrofuran, 11 weight percent of ethanol. The first distillation stage removes a majority of the tetrahydrofuran with lesser amounts of ethanol (Example 3). Thus, the partial removal of the solvent removes at least 6.5 weight percent of tetrahydrofuran (i.e. the majority) and some of the ethanol. The total amount of solvent removed is between 6.5% by weight and 24% by weight (the total amount of solvent in the dispersion), each weight percent being calculated as a percentage of the total mass of the dispersion.
Correspondence
/LIAM J HEINCER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767