DETAILED ACTION
Respond to Amendment
This action is in response to the application filed on ----1/26/2026 for application 18/020,688. Claim 10, 12 – 13, 15 – 18 are pending and have been examined.
Claim rejection under 101 and 112 section has been withdrawn in light of the amendment.
Claim interpretation has been withdrawn in light of the applicants remarks.
Claim 10, 18 are amended.
Claim 11, 14 are canceled.
Respond to Argument
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10, 12 – 13, 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al., (hereinafter Wang), “A Reinforcement Learning Based Approach for Automated Lane Change Maneuvers” in view of Chen et al., (hereinafter Chen), US20180188039.
Claim 10. Wang teaches: A device for training a reinforcement learning agent to control an autonomous system including an automated motor vehicle (sec. I, “autonomous vehicles”, “The focus of the paper is to demonstrate the application of Reinforcement Learning on finding an optimal driving policy”), the device comprising:
An electronic control unit (sec. III “In a typical RL problem, the goal is to find an optimal policy”; the system is to perform data processing. A processor (electronic control unit) is inherent) configured to:
detect an environment of the autonomous system based on signals received from a plurality of sensors disposed on the automated motor vehicle (sec. III, “sensor inputs … the RL agent can take in hundreds or even millions of features as inputs”; i.e., use sensor to detect its environment);
recognize at least one object comparable to the autonomous system in the environment of the autonomous system (sec. III, “the driving environment involves the interaction with other vehicles (at least one object comparable to the autonomous system)”);
detect a behavior of the at least one object comparable to the autonomous system (sec. III, “other vehicles whose behaviors may be cooperative or adversarial”);
train the reinforcement learning agent in accordance with the detected behavior of the at least one object comparable to the autonomous system to produce a trained reinforcement learning agent (refer to the mapping above & fig. 3, Wang demonstrate the use of reinforcement learning to train an agent based on the detected behavior of the comparable objects);
control operation of the automated motor vehicle based on the trained reinforcement learning agent (sec. V, “the RL agent … output a reference guidance for a traditional optimization-based controller to issue a quick and reliable control command to the vehicle”).
Wang does not explicitly teach:
transform a representation of the at least one object comparable to the autonomous system in the environment of the autonomous system by performing a coordinate transformation in which the representation of the at least one object comparable to the autonomous system in a coordinate system is placed at a position of the autonomous system such that the representation of the at least one object comparable to the autonomous system corresponds to a possible representation of the autonomous system
Chen, in the same field of endeavor, explicitly teach:
transform a representation of the at least one object comparable to the autonomous system in the environment of the autonomous system by performing a coordinate transformation in which the representation of the at least one object comparable to the autonomous system in a coordinate system is placed at a position of the autonomous system such that the representation of the at least one object comparable to the autonomous system corresponds to a possible representation of the autonomous system (Chen, fig. 9A-B, 0095 – 0098, “vehicle coordinate system illustrated in FIG. 9A such that the positive direction of the X-axis is forward facing direction of the vehicle, the positive direction of the Y-axis is to the left of the vehicle when facing forward, and the positive direction of the Z-axis is upward.”, “LIDAR coordinate system illustrated in FIG. 9B such that the positive direction of the X-axis is to the left of the vehicle when facing forward, the positive direction of the Y-axis is in the forward direction of the vehicle, and the positive direction of the Z-axis is upward.”, “determines the coordinate transform M12c to map the LIDAR coordinate system to the vehicle coordinate system”, “performing the transformation Pcar =Tl2c * Plidar”; i.e., the object detected by sensor/Lidar are to be coordinate-transformed to align with the vehicle coordinate before it is processed for the control of the vehicle)
Wang and Chen both teach system for controlling autonomous vehicles and are analogous. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable likelihood of success to further include the processing details that combine sensor data and map data for the control of the vehicle taught by Chen in the system of Wang to achieve the claimed teaching. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have motivated to make this modification to accommodate sensors of different setup (Chen, 0095 – 0098).
Claim 12. Wang teaches all the limitation of Claim 10. Wang further teach: the device is further configured to: train the reinforcement learning in accordance with: the detected behavior of the at least one object comparable to the autonomous system (sec. III, “a joint approach, a RL/ML module can be taken as a mediator component between a perception module and a traditional MPC module, as to take the perception outcome as input and output a reference guidance for the MPC controller”; sec. 3.2, “the decision-making module will issue a command to alter or abort the maneuver”; i.e., the reinforcement training take account the detected behavior of other vehicle); and
a reward function for controlling the autonomous system (sec. 3.3.3, “As the longitudinal module and the gap selection module have taken into account the safety concerns, smoothness and efficiency are considered by the lateral controller through the reward function.”).
Claim 13. Wang teaches all the limitation of Claim 10. Wang further teach: the device is further configured to: detect a state of the at least one object comparable to the autonomous system; detect an action of the at least one object comparable to the autonomous system, which changes the state of the at least one object comparable to the autonomous system; detect a resulting state of the at least one object comparable to the autonomous system, which is caused by the action of the at least one object comparable to the autonomous system (sec. 3.2, “a time-continuous car-following model for the simulation of highway and urban traffic. It describes the dynamics of relevant vehicles”; i.e., the training data are time series of data. In the case described in sec. I, “drive at high speed by passing a slow vehicle in front”, the distance to the front vehicle at T1 is the state, the speed of the front vehicle is the action and the distance to the front vehicle at T2 is the resulting state ); and
train the reinforcement learning agent in accordance with: the state of the at least one object comparable to the autonomous system, the action of the at least one object comparable to the autonomous system, the resulting state of the at least one object comparable to the autonomous system, and a reward function for controlling the autonomous system (refer to the mapping above and Claim 12, the system uses the time series data and a reward function to train the agent).
Claim 15. Wang teaches all the limitation of Claim 10. Wang further teach: the device is further configured to: recognize at least two objects comparable to the autonomous system in the environment of the autonomous system; detect the behavior of each of the at least two objects comparable to the autonomous system; and train the reinforcement learning agent in accordance with the respective detected behavior of the at least two objects comparable to the autonomous system (fig. 3 & sec. 3.2, “it may see two leading vehicles in the ego lane and the target lane during the transition … ego-vehicle to adjust its longitudinal acceleration by balancing between its two leaders, if observed, on its ego lane and the target lane. The smaller value will be used to weaken the potential discontinuity in vehicle acceleration incurred from lane change initiation.”; i.e., the model involve observation/detection of multiple vehicles. The training is based on the collective information from such scenario).
Claim 18. Claim 18 is the corresponding method of Claim 10. Claim 18 is rejected with same reason.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al., (hereinafter Wang), “A Reinforcement Learning Based Approach for Automated Lane Change Maneuvers” in view of Chen et al., (hereinafter Chen), US20180188039 as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Katare et al., (hereinafter Katare) “Autonomous Embedded System Enabled 3-D Object Detector: (with Point Cloud and Camera)”.
Claim 16. Wang and Chen combination teaches all the limitation of Claim 15. The combination does not explicitly teach the device is further configured to: train the reinforcement learning agent simultaneously in accordance with the respective detected behavior of the at least two objects comparable to the autonomous system.
Katare, in the same field of endeavor, explicitly teach:
train the reinforcement learning agent simultaneously in accordance with the respective detected behavior of the at least two objects comparable to the autonomous system (fig. 1, & “Deep learning based … object detection involves drawing of bounding boxes”; sec. III, “the outputs are bounding boxes on the segmented objects with variables: center, size and yaw angle (cx, cy, cz, l, w, h, ϴ)” the model is trained to detect attributes of multiple objects/vehicles simultaneously).
Wang (in view of Chen) and Katare both teach image detection for vehicles and are analogous. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable likelihood of success to further include the multi-objects simultaneous detection taught by Katare in the system of Wang (in view of Chen) to achieve the claimed teaching. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have motivated to make this modification for its high performance (Katare sec. I).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al., (hereinafter Wang), “A Reinforcement Learning Based Approach for Automated Lane Change Maneuvers” in view of Chen et al., (hereinafter Chen), US20180188039 as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Rosebrock, “YOLO object detection with OpenCV”.
Claim 17. Wang and Chen combination teaches all the limitation of Claim 15. The combination does not explicitly teach the device is further configured to: fuse a representation of the at least two objects comparable to the autonomous system in the environment of the autonomous system using a permutation-invariant or using a permutation-equivariant mapping into a common representation; and train the reinforcement learning agent in accordance with the common representation.
Rosebrock, in the same field of endeavor, explicitly teach:
fuse a representation of the at least two objects comparable to the autonomous system in the environment of the autonomous system using a permutation-invariant or using a permutation-equivariant mapping into a common representation; and train the reinforcement learning agent in accordance with the common representation (Rosebrock, page 14 – 15, The detected objects are appended/added (fused) into a list with same format of x, y, width, height, confidence, classID (common representation). The for loop goes through the detected list one by one, thus permutation-equivariant mapping/appending into the list).
Wang (in view of Chen) and Rosebrock both teach object detection for multi objects and are analogous. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable likelihood of success to further include the output format of the detected results taught by Rosebrock in the system of Wang (in view of Chen) to achieve the claimed teaching. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have motivated to make this modification so the following process can easily read and work on the data (Rosebrock, page 16 – 17, use simple for loop to get all the detected objects in the list).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHIEN MING CHOU/Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/ANSHUL SOOD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667