FINAL REJECTION, FOURTH DETAILED ACTION
Status of Prosecution
The present application 18/020,820, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
The application was filed in the Office on February 10, 2023 and is a national stage application of PCT application PCT/CN2021/111660 (August 10, 2021) which claims priority of to Chinese patent application CN202010798452.4 with a filing date of August 10, 2020.
The Office mailed a first detailed action, non-final rejection on Oct. 1, 2025.
Applicant filed amendments with remarks and arguments on Dec. 31, 2025.
The Office mailed a second detailed action, final rejection on Jan. 26, 2026.
Applicant filed a request for continued examination amendments with remarks and arguments on April 27, 2026.
The Office mailed a third detailed action, non-final rejection on May 29, 2026.
Applicant filed amendments with remarks and arguments on August 31, 2026.
Claims 1-6, 8-9, 11-17 and 19-20 are pending and are all rejected in this rejection. Claims 1, 11 and 12 are independent claims. Claims 7. 10 and 18 are cancelled.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 4-6, 8-9, 11-12, 15-16 are rejected under 35 USC § 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (“Jiang”), Chinese Patent Application Publication CN109240637B published on January 18, 20191 in view of Kim et al. (“Kim ‘823”), United States Patent 2021/0255823 published on Aug. 19, 2021 in view of Ling et al. (“Ling”), Chinese Patent Application Publication CN110333841A published on October 15, 2019.
Claims 8-9 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 USC § 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang in view of Kim ‘823 in view of Ling and in further view of Kim et al. (“Kim”), United States Patent Application Publication 2011/0261267 published on Oct. 27, 2011.
Claims 2-3 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 USC § 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang in view of Kim ‘823 in view of Ling and in further view of VanBlon et al. (“VanBlon”), United States Patent Application Publication 2019/0079720 published on Mar. 14, 2019.
Claims 7, 10 and 18 are cancelled.
Response to Remarks and Arguments
Examiner thanks Applicant for the remarks and arguments.
The claims have been rejected newly with the application of Ling et al. (“Ling”), Chinese Patent Application Publication CN110333841A published on October 15, 2019 to address the newly amended feature, rendering the claim obvious and unpatentable.
The claims stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
-A.
Claims 1, 4-6, 8-9, 11-12, 15-16 are rejected under 35 USC § 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (“Jiang”), Chinese Patent Application Publication CN109240637B published on January 18, 20192 in view of Kim et al. (“Kim ‘823”), United States Patent 2021/0255823 published on Aug. 19, 2021 in view of Ling et al. (“Ling”), Chinese Patent Application Publication CN110333841A published on October 15, 2019.
As to Claim 1, Jiang teaches: A method for recommending a volume, comprising:
acquiring a feature corresponding to a playing operation for an audio and/or video file by a user, wherein the feature represents a playing habit of the user (Jiang: Fig. 1, p. 5, at step [102], the historical data of audio or video of a user’s consumption (i.e. feature) is analyzed to determine the target playback volume), and inputting the feature into a volume recommendation model of the user (Jiang: p. 5, at step [10212], the decision tree model is trained by using information from the historical data in the form of training data set); and
processing the feature by the volume recommendation model wherein the volume recommendation model is a machine learning model acquired by training based on a correspondence between a feature and a volume setting in historical audio and/or video playing behaviors of the user (Jiang: pp. 5-6, the model is trained based on the data from the training data set by for instance manually labeling a portion of the data to get a “most appropriate volume”);
playing the audio and/or video file at the volume recommended for the user (Jiang: par. 013, the device is controlled to play the volume at the recommended volume).
[AltContent: rect]
Jiang may not explicitly teach: wherein the feature comprises a feature of a playing device, wherein the feature of the playing device comprises a connection state of the playing device to an output device and a type of the playing device;
processing the feature by the volume recommendation model to output a volume recommended for the user.
Kim ‘823 teaches in general concepts related to controlling output based on priority of different devices (Kim ‘823: Abstract). Specifically, Kim ‘823 teaches that the audio volume may be adjusted based on the connection history of the devices (Kim ‘823: pars. 0035-37, the priority of the devices is determined based on the connection or playback history, which in turn determines the audio level to be played back).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the application to have modified the Jiang disclosures and teachings by implementing the volume level adjustment with the features as taught and suggested by Kim ‘823. Such a person would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success to allow for a better user experience for the user reducing cognitive burden with automatic volume adjustment.
Jiang and Kim ‘823 may not explicitly teach: to output a volume recommended for the user based on the connection state of the playing device to the output device and the type of the playing device.
Ling teaches in general concepts related to an audio output method uses an obtained current output mode of audio data (i.e. a connection state of a playing device) to adjust the volume (Ling: Abstract). Ling also teaches that different volume values are considered for different types of hardware devices (Ling: p. 5, “When the sound wave is formed, the sound effect that best matches this type of hardware device can be achieved, and the sound level of the audio processing module is greatly improved.”)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the application to have modified the Jiang-Kim ‘823 disclosures and teachings by implementing the volume level adjustment with consideration for the device type and mode as taught and suggested by Ling. Such a person would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success to allow for a better user experience for the user tailored to the specific audio experience of a device.
As to Claim 4, Jiang, Kim ‘823 and Ling teach the elements of claim 1.
Jiang further teaches: wherein before the inputting the feature into a pre-generated volume recommendation model, and processing the feature by the volume recommendation model to output a volume recommended for the user, the method further comprises:
acquiring a playing habit of the user for the audio and/or video file, wherein the playing habit comprises at least one of playing device information for the audio and/or video file and/or attribute information of the audio and/or video file (Jiang: p. 5, the volume profile of a song, that is the volume correlated with the volume range and the volume values are attributes of the audio file), and the playing habit further comprises playing scenario information and playing volume information of the audio and/or video file; and
generating the volume recommendation model of the user based on the playing habit through machine learning (Jiang: pp. 5-6, the model is trained based on the data from the training data set by for instance manually labeling a portion of the data to get a “most appropriate volume”).
As to Claim 5, Jiang, Kim ‘823 and Ling teach the elements of claim 4.
Jiang further teaches: wherein the generating the volume recommendation model of the user based on the playing habit through machine learning comprises: clustering information in the acquired playing habit of the user for the audio and/or video file, to acquire the volume recommendation model of the user.
As to Claim 6, Jiang, Kim ‘823 and Ling teach the elements of claim 4.
Jiang further teaches: wherein the generating the volume recommendation model of the user based on the playing habit through machine learning comprises: classifying information in the playing habit by using the playing volume information in the acquired playing habit of the user for the audio and/or video file as a target, to acquire the volume recommendation model of the user (Jiang: pp. 5-6, the model is trained based on the data from the training data set by for instance manually labeling a portion of the data to get a “most appropriate volume.” (i.e. a target)).
As to Claim 11, it is rejected by claim 1. Jiang further teaches a computer readable storage medium (Jiang: p.8, embodiment 6).
As to Claim 12, it is rejected by claim 1. Jiang further teaches a processor, and a program stored in the memory storage medium (Jiang: p.8, embodiment 5).
As to Claim 15, it is rejected by claim 4.
As to Claim 16, it is rejected by claim 5.
As to Claim 17, it is rejected by claim 6.
B.
Claims 8-9 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 USC § 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (“Jiang”), Chinese Patent Application Publication CN109240637B published on January 18, 2019 in view of Kim et al. (“Kim ‘823”), United States Patent 2021/0255823 published on Aug. 19, 2021 in view of Ling et al. (“Ling”), Chinese Patent Application Publication CN110333841A published on October 15, 2019 and in further view of Kim et al. (“Kim”), United States Patent Application Publication 2011/0261267 published on Oct. 27, 2011.
As to Claim 8, Jiang, Kim ‘823 and Ling teach the elements of claim 1.
Jiang, Kim ‘823 and Ling may not explicitly teach: wherein the playing audio and/or video file at the volume recommended for the user comprises: displaying the volume recommended for the user; and
playing the audio and/or video file at the volume in response to a confirmation operation on the volume.
Kim teaches in general concepts related controlling an electronic device for receiving electricity service charge information and controlling the device based on that information (Kim: Abstract). Specifically, Kim teaches that a user is prompted to confirm the change in a volume once a scenario of an electricity charge change is detected. (Kim: Fig. 15, pars. 0178-79, a user interface prompting the user [60c] to confirm the change in the volume at step [S330]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the application to have modified the Jiang-Kim ‘823-Ling disclosures and teachings by implementing the volume level adjustment as a user prompt as taught and suggested by Kim. Such a person would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success to allow for a better user experience for the user with confirmation before volume changes are made.
As to Claim 9, Jiang, Kim ‘823, Ling and Kim teach the elements of claim 8.
Jiang and Kim as combined further teaches: wherein after the displaying the volume recommended for the user, the method further comprises: adjusting the volume recommended for the user, to acquire an adjusted volume (Jiang: par. 013, the device is controlled to play the volume at the recommended volume);
and playing the audio and/or video file at the adjusted volume in response to a confirmation operation on the adjusted volume (Kim: Fig. 16, pars. 0178-79, a user interface prompting the user [60c] to confirm the change in the volume at step [S330]).
As to Claim 19, it is rejected by claim 8.
As to Claim 20, it is rejected by claim 9.
C.
Claims 2-3 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 USC § 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (“Jiang”), Chinese Patent Application Publication CN109240637B published on January 18, 2019 in view of Kim et al. (“Kim ‘823”), United States Patent 2021/0255823 published on Aug. 19, 2021 in view of Ling et al. (“Ling”), Chinese Patent Application Publication CN110333841A published on October 15, 2019 and in further view of VanBlon et al. (“VanBlon”), United States Patent Application Publication 2019/0079720 published on Mar. 14, 2019.
As to Claim 2, Jiang, Kim ‘823 and Ling teach the elements of claim 1.
Jiang, Kim ‘823 and Ling may not explicitly teach: wherein the feature comprises a playing scenario feature, and the playing scenario feature comprises a playing time and/or a playing location.
VanBlon teaches in general concepts related to dynamically changing sound settings of a device (VanBlon: Abstract). Specifically, VanBlon teaches that the contextual situation of a device may be considered including time and location to determine volume adjustments (VanBlon: par. 0047, the location, calendar events, ambient noise levels and time of day may be used for monitoring continuously).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the application to have modified the Jiang-Kim ‘823-Ling disclosures and teachings by considering context in the volume adjustment as taught and suggested by Kim. Such a person would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success to allow for a better user experience for the user with automated settings related to time and location to reduce the cognitive burden on the user (VanBlon: par. 0002).
As to Claim 3, Jiang, Kim ‘823, Ling and VanBlon teach the elements of claim 2.
Jiang, Kim ‘823, Ling and VanBlon further teach: wherein the feature further comprises an attribute feature of the audio and/or video file, and/or a feature of a playing device (Examiner’s note: the use of “and/or” here is under a broadest reasonable interpretation as the conjunctive.),
wherein the attribute feature of the audio and/or video file comprises volume information of the audio and/or video file (Jiang: p. 5, the volume profile of a song, that is the volume correlated with the volume range and the volume values are attributes of the audio file), and/or type information of the audio and/or video file; and
the feature of the playing device comprises a connection state of the playing device to an output device and/or a type of the playing device.
As to Claim 13, it is rejected by claim 2.
As to Claim 14, it is rejected by claim 3.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Prior art made of the record:
Li et al., US PG Pub 2017/0180558 (June 22, 2017) (describing media playback system context adjustment);
Charlton et al., US PG Pub 2020/0076388 (Mar. 5, 2020) (describing media playback system with maximum volume setting).
/JAMES T TSAI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2147
1 Citations for the foreign references are to the translated copies provided with this Action.
2 Citations for the foreign references are to the translated copies provided with this Action.