DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng (US 20140140287 A1) in view of Li et al. (US 20210127256 A1).
Regarding 1, Cheng teaches a terminal device (Figs. 2-3, UE/UE 201/UE300), comprising:
at least one card slot and a baseband processing chip connected to the at least one card slot (Fig. 3 and Par. 27); the baseband processing chip comprises a controlling module (Fig. 3, SIM proxy 322 and Par. 27), at least two communication protocol processing modules (Fig. 3, Modems 323-324), a resource managing module (Par. 27, RFS 325 controls shared RF resource), (Fig. 3, USIM is very well-known in the wireless communication for stores IMSI which uniquely identifies a subscriber to the network (for evidence see Targali US 20190268759 A1); the controlling module is configured to control selection and switching of at least two network modes (Fig. 6); the respective communication protocol processing modules are respectively configured to perform camping on network for their corresponding network modes (Figs. 4-5); the resource managing module is configured to manage resources (Fig. 3 and Par. 27, control (manage) the shared RF resource); the radio frequency module is configured to process radio frequency signals respectively corresponding to the at least two network modes (Par. 28, two RATS).
However, Cheng lacks on the teaching of the resources as taught above is the resources of a baseband processing module and a radio frequency module.
Li teaches the resource scheduling module allocates baseband resources of the baseband processing module and radio frequency resources of frequency processing module to both the cards based on the service authorization (Fig 2 and Pars. 118-119).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the above teaching as taught by Li into Cheng to prevent miss call or is disconnected from a network.
Regarding claim 10, apparatus of claim 10 is performed by the apparatus of claim 1. They recite same scope of limitations. Applicant is kindly advised to refer to rejection of claim 1.
Claims 2-7 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng (US 20140140287 A1) in view of Li et al. (US 20210127256) and Bennett (US 20100029273 A1).
Regarding claim 2, the modified Cheng teaches previous claim. The modified Cheng further teaches the terminal device according to claim 1, wherein the controlling module is specifically configured to: control communication protocol processing modules respectively corresponding to the at least two network mode to perform activation processing and/or deactivation processing on the network mode according to an operating mode (Figs. 6-7)
However, the modified Cheng lacks on the teaching the control of the switching (activate/deactivate) of the at least two network mode as taught above is controlled/selected by a user.
Bennett teaches such feature (Figs. 7-8 and Pars. 54-56).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the above teaching as taught by Bennett into the modified Cheng to give the user the flexibility of switching the cellular phone between different networks.
Regarding claim 3, the modified Cheng teaches previous claim. The modified Cheng further teaches the terminal device according to claim 2, wherein the at least two network mode comprises a first network mode and a second network mode, and the controlling module is specifically configured to:
or send an activation request to communication protocol processing modules respectively corresponding to the first network mode and the second network mode respectively in case of that the operating mode is dual-mode dual-standby under the first network mode and the second network mode (Figs. 2-3 and Par. 28);
Regarding claim 4, the modified Cheng teaches previous claim. The modified Cheng further teaches the terminal device according to claim 3, wherein in case of that the operating mode is dual-mode dual-standby under the first network mode and the second network mode, the controlling module is specifically configured to: send an activation request for circuit switching domain to the communication protocol processing module corresponding to the first network mode (Figs. 6-7, activate/attach (i.e. request activate/attach)); send an activation request for data exchange domain to the communication protocol processing module corresponding to the second network mode (Figs. 6-7, activate/attach (i.e. request activate/attach)).
5 (NOTE: claim 5 is not considered as it has not been given patentable weight since its features (operating mode is that the first network mode is in priority) were not positively recited in independent claim 3)
(NOTE: claim 7 is depends on claim 5 and therefore, it is not considered for the same reason as claim 5).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Cheng teaches previous claim. The modified Cheng further teaches the terminal device according to claim 4, wherein then the operating mode is that the first network mode is in priority (Fig. 10 and Par. 40), the controlling module is further configured to: determine whether it is required for performing network searching on the second network mode according to a network condition of the first network mode (Fig. 10 and Par. 40 & note that it is obvious the switching between networks is based on network searching according to a network condition (see Fig. 8 of Bennett); based on the determination that is required for performing network searching on the second network mode, send a network searching request to the communication protocol processing module corresponding to the second network mode (See Fig. 8 of Bennett); determine whether to switch from the first network mode to the second network mode according to a network searching result of the communication protocol processing module corresponding to the second network mode, the network searching result comprises a network condition of the second network mode (Fig. 10 and Par. 40); based on the determination that to switch from the first network mode to the second network mode, send the deactivation request to the communication protocol processing module corresponding to the first network mode, and send the activation request to the communication protocol processing module corresponding to the second network mode (Fig. 10 and Par. 40).
Regarding claim 11, apparatus of claim 11 is performed by the apparatus of claims 2-3. They recite same scope of limitations. Applicant is kindly advised to refer to rejection of claims 2-3.
Regarding claim 12, apparatus of claim 12 is performed by the apparatus of claim 6. They recite same scope of limitations. Applicant is kindly advised to refer to rejection of claim 6.
Claims 8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng (US 20140140287 A1) in view of Li et al. (US 20210127256) and in further view of Wen et al. (US 20180152937 A1).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Cheng teaches previous claim.
However, the modified Cheng lacks on the teaching of claim 8.
Wen teaches the terminal device (Fig. 1) according to claim 2, wherein the communication protocol processing module is further configured to: send a resource usage request to the resource managing module (Fig. 8, S801), wherein the resource usage request comprises: resource usage reason, usage time information (Pars. 105, 108, type of the first communications service (resource usage reason) , time period (usage time information)); the resource managing module is configured to return a resource acquisition result to the communication protocol processing module (Fig. 8, S804) according to a resource usage situation (Fig. 8, S802) and a priority of the resource usage reason when a resource acquisition request sent by the communication protocol processing module is received (Fig. 8, S803).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the above teaching as taught by Wen into the modified Cheng to properly allocated resource according to a priority of a type of a communications service.
Regarding claim 13, apparatus of claim 13 is performed by the apparatus of claim 8. They recite same scope of limitations. Applicant is kindly advised to refer to rejection of claim 8.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng (US 20140140287 A1) in view of Li et al. (US 20210127256) and in further view of Shu et al. (US 20220053285 A1).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Cheng teaches previous claim.
However, the modified Cheng lacks on the teaching of the terminal device according to claim 1, wherein the at least two network modes comprise: a Narrow Band Internet of Things (NB-IoT) mode, and other cellular mobile communication network modes other than the NB-IoT mode.
Shu teaches such feature (Pars. 192-194).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the above teaching as taught by Shu into the modified Cheng to implement low cost and low power consumption on the device while increase the efficiency of the technology.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Na US 20200280901 A1 [0027] Specifically, the switching step may include switching the data transmission path from the first network to the second network by transmitting a packet making a request for activating the second network.
Heo et al. US 20130244656 A1
[0057] In response to either the SR information or Random Access procedure, the eNodeB schedules uplink physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) resource. The UE 122 transmits Activation/Deactivation request MAC CE signaling (block 610). In response to such request signaling, the eNodeB sends an Activation/Deactivation MAC CE signaling instructing the UE 122 to deactivate a particular SCell or PCell operating in the LTE frequency band that cannot co-exist with the 2G/3G frequency band to be used for the 2G/3G voice call. The Activation/Deactivation MAC CE signaling is received by the UE 122, at a block 612. Thus, the Activation/Deactivation request MAC CE signaling is sent by the UE 122 sooner than it otherwise would be--triggered by the SR information on the PUCCH or Random Access procedure--in order to prevent delay in start of the voice call on the 2G/3G network. The UE 122 can request the deactivation of the PCell in the Activation/Deactivation request MAC CE signaling.
Lee et al. US 20200137755 A1
Chauhan et al. US 20210006963 A1
Wu US 20180041981 A1
Zhou et al. US 20180077655 A1 - a modem corresponding to the first SIM card is a first modem, and a modem corresponding to the second SIM card is a second modem; [0089]
Wu et al. (US 20170303290 A1)
Li et al. US 20220191682 A1
Shen US 20180376442 A1 (ONE SIM. TWO MODEMS)
Zhang et al. US 20220312538 A1
Zhu et al. US 20150304989 A1
Belghoul et al. US 20180227960 A1
/Cindy Trandai/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648
10/17/2025