DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 9/2/2026 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because the office action issued from the Korean Patent Office was never submitted along with a translation into English. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
This Office action is responsive to amendments and remarks filed on 9/16/2026.
Claims 1, 15, 23 and 27 have been amended.
Claims 9, 22, and 34 are canceled.
Claims 1-8, 10-21, 23-33, and 35 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant amended the claims to include the limitation “a surface of the negative electrode layer which is directly connected with the negative terminal has a spiral shape.” The applicant then goes on to show how this limitation reads on the instant drawing. However, the term “directly connected” when applied to electrical connections is overly broad and can still be interpreted as a direct electrical connection which is explained in further detail under both the claim interpretation section and the rejection under 103 below.
Claim Interpretation
The term “directly connected” while being definite and therefore not a rejection under 112(b) when applied to electrical connections is overly broad and can be interpreted as a direct electrical connection. While it could also be interpreted as physically adjacent to or some other type of direct connection which is explained in further detail in the rejection under 103 detailed below it should also be noted that for the negative connection, the Fig-6C of LUNDSGAARD shows a current collector/conductor (22) strip, which is also a layer of the negative electrode, directly connected to the negative terminal .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-12, 14-21, 23-25, 27-33 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4879190 A, LUNDSGAARD in view of US 20200006718 A1, IMAI provided in the IDS dated 6/2/2026.
Regarding claim 1. LUNDSGAARD [col 3 lines 20-25] discloses an all-solid-state battery, called a cell (32) comprising:
[col 3 line 21] an electrode assembly including
[col 3 line 22] a laminate comprising
[col 3 line 24] a solid electrolyte layer called a polymer electrolyte, and
[col 3 lines 52-53] a negative electrode layer and
a positive electrode layer called “first and second cathode strips” (18, 20) stacked with the [col 3 line 24] solid electrolyte layer (14 and 16) interposed therebetween, and
[col 4 lines 26-27] an insulating member called a mandrel (35),
Figures 4, 5, and 6A and B depict the laminate being wound around the insulating member in such a manner that one surface of the negative electrode layer or the positive electrode layer is parallel to a central axis of the insulating member in a stacking direction thereof;
Figure 6 C depicts a negative terminal (52) called a flat negative electrode surface that is connected to the negative electrode layer; and
a positive terminal (46) called a cylindrical head, connected to the positive electrode layer, wherein
the negative terminal (52) is disposed on one surface of the electrode assembly in a central axis direction of the central axis of the insulating member, and
the positive terminal (46) is disposed on the other surface of the electrode assembly in the central axis direction.
LUNDSGAARD discloses a surface of the negative electrode layer (34’) is directly connected with the negative terminal (52) has a spiral shape as depicted in annotated figures 3 and 6C depicted below.
LUNDSGAARD does not disclose the solid electrolyte layer comprises a ceramic based solid electrolyte.
IMAI [title] discloses An All-Solid State Secondary Battery And Manufacturing Method Therefor where
IMAI [0068] discloses the solid electrolyte layer comprises a ceramic based solid electrolyte in form of various metal oxides. Particularly,
IMAI [0081] discloses the use of LLZO, NASICON and other ceramics.
IMAI [0028] further discloses “the all-solid state secondary battery of the present invention is capable of preventing the breakage (cracking) of the battery exterior body by effectively suppressing the expansion of the battery caused by the precipitated metal on the surface of the negative electrode collector. In addition, even in a case where cracks are generated, the propagation of the cracks can be prevented”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have used the ceramic material disclosed by IMAI in the solid-state battery disclosed by LUNDSGAARD in order to suppress the expansion of the battery and prevent breakage.
Regarding claim 2. Modified LUNDSGAARD discloses the all-solid-state battery of claim 1, wherein figure 6C depicts a shape of the electrode assembly in the central axis direction is circular.
Regarding claim 3. Modified LUNDSGAARD discloses the all-solid-state battery of claim 1, wherein figure 6C depicts in the annotated figure below
at least a portion of the negative electrode layer is led out to the one surface of the electrode assembly in the central axis direction, and
at least a portion of the positive electrode layer is led out to the other surface of the electrode assembly in the central axis direction.
Regarding claim 4. Modified LUNDSGAARD discloses the all-solid-state battery, called the cell (32), of claim 1, wherein included figures 3-6B depict that
the negative electrode layer (34’) includes a negative electrode current collector which is comprised of “A layer of conducting polymer (52) that is applied to form a flat negative electrode surface”, and this also meets the limitation of,
“a negative active material stacked with the negative electrode current collector interposed therebetween”, and
the positive electrode layer (33’) includes
a positive electrode current collector, called a cathode current conductor strip (24), and
a positive active material called the cell laminate (10) stacked with the positive electrode current collector (24) interposed therebetween.
Regarding claim 5. Modified LUNDSGAARD discloses the all-solid-state battery of claim 1, wherein figure 6B depicted above shows the laminate is disposed in such a manner that the negative electrode layer (34’) is in contact with the insulating member (35).
Regarding claim 6. Modified LUNDSGAARD discloses the all-solid-state battery of claim 1, wherein figure 6B depicted above shows the laminate is disposed in such a manner that the positive electrode layer called “first and second cathode strips” (18, 20) is in contact with the insulating member (35).
Regarding claim 7. Modified LUNDSGAARD discloses the all-solid-state battery of claim 1, wherein the laminate is disposed in such a manner that the solid electrolyte layer (14 and 16) is in contact with the insulating member (35).
Regarding claim 8. Modified LUNDSGAARD discloses the all-solid-state battery of claim 1, wherein the electrode assembly is provided with the solid electrolyte layer (14 and 16) disposed on an outermost portion thereof as shown in figures 1 and 2 depicted below.
Regarding claim 10. Modified LUNDSGAARD discloses the all-solid-state battery of claim 1, wherein a surface to which the positive electrode layer called “first and second cathode strips” (18, 20) and the positive terminal (46) called a cylindrical head are connected and has a spiral shape as depicted in figures 3 to 6C.
Regarding claim 11. Modified LUNDSGAARD discloses the all-solid-state battery of claim 1, wherein in the annotated figure 6C depicted below shows
a percentage of an average distance t between the positive electrode layer “first and second cathode strips” (18, 20) and the negative terminal (52), with respect to an average distance T between an interfacial surface of the electrode assembly in contact with the negative terminal and an interfacial surface of the electrode assembly in contact with the positive terminal, is in a range of 1% or more and 30% or less.
Regarding claim 12. Modified LUNDSGAARD discloses the all-solid-state battery of claim 1, wherein
a portion of the negative terminal is disposed on the one surface of the electrode assembly in the central axis direction,
and the other portion of the negative terminal is disposed extending on a surface of the electrode assembly, perpendicular to the central axis direction,
and a portion of the positive terminal is disposed on the other surface of the electrode assembly in the central axis direction,
and the other portion of the negative terminal is disposed extending on a surface of the electrode assembly perpendicular to the central axis direction.
Regarding claim 14. Modified LUNDSGAARD discloses the all-solid-state battery of claim 1, further comprising:
a case called a jacket (54) clearly depicted in annotated figure 6C, disposed to surround the electrode assembly in a first direction and a second direction, wherein
a direction perpendicular to the central axis direction is defined as the first direction and a direction perpendicular to the central axis direction and the first direction is defined as the second direction.
Regarding claim 15. LUNDSGAARD [col 3 lines 20-25] discloses an all-solid-state battery, called a cell (32) comprising:
[col 3 line 21] an electrode assembly including:
[col 3 line 22] a laminate comprising
[col 3 line 24] a solid electrolyte layer called a polymer electrolyte, and
a negative electrode layer and
a positive electrode layer called “first and second cathode strips” (18, 20) stacked with the [col 3 line 24] solid electrolyte layer (14 and 16) interposed therebetween, and
[col 4 lines 26-27] an insulating member called a mandrel (35), wherein
Figures 4, 5, and 6A and B depict the laminate is wound around the insulating member such that a surface of the negative electrode layer or the positive electrode layer in a stacking direction thereof is parallel to a central axis of the insulating member, and
Annotated figure 6C depicted below shows at least a portion of the negative electrode layer is exposed to one surface of the electrode assembly in a central axis direction of the central axis of the insulating member,
Annotated figure 6C depicted below shows at least a portion of the positive electrode layer is exposed to the other surface, opposite to the one surface, of the electrode assembly in the central axis direction.
LUNDSGAARD discloses a negative terminal (52) connected to the negative electrode layer (22) in the annotated figure depicted blow
LUNDSGAARD discloses a positive terminal or button (44) connected to the positive electrode layer or cathode conductor strip (24’) in the annotated figure depicted below
LUNDSGAARD discloses a surface of the negative electrode layer (34’) is directly connected with the negative terminal (52) has a spiral shape as depicted in annotated figures 3 and 6C depicted below.
LUNDSGAARD does not disclose the solid electrolyte layer comprises a ceramic based solid electrolyte.
IMAI [title] discloses An All-Solid State Secondary Battery And Manufacturing Method Therefor where
IMAI [0068] discloses the solid electrolyte layer comprises a ceramic based solid electrolyte in form of various metal oxides. Particularly,
IMAI [0081] discloses the use of LLZO, NASICON and other ceramics.
IMAI [0028] further discloses “the all-solid state secondary battery of the present invention is capable of preventing the breakage (cracking) of the battery exterior body by effectively suppressing the expansion of the battery caused by the precipitated metal on the surface of the negative electrode collector. In addition, even in a case where cracks are generated, the propagation of the cracks can be prevented”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have used the ceramic material disclosed by IMAI in the solid state battery disclosed by LUNDSGAARD in order to suppress the expansion of the battery and prevent breakage.
Regarding claim 16. Modified LUNDSGAARD discloses the all-solid-state battery of claim 15, wherein figure 3 depicts a shape of the electrode assembly in the central axis direction is circular.
Regarding claim 17. Modified LUNDSGAARD discloses the all-solid-state battery of claim 15, wherein included figures 3-6B depict that
the negative electrode layer (34’) includes
a negative electrode current collector which is comprised of “A layer of conducting polymer (52) that is applied to form a flat negative electrode surface”, and this also meets the limitation of,
“a negative active material stacked with the negative electrode current collector interposed therebetween”, and
the positive electrode layer (33’) includes
a positive electrode current collector, called a cathode current conductor strip (24), and
a positive active material called the cell laminate (10) stacked with the positive electrode current collector (24) interposed therebetween.
Regarding claim 18. Modified LUNDSGAARD discloses the all-solid-state battery of claim 15, wherein figure 6B depicted above shows the laminate is disposed in such a manner that the negative electrode layer (34’) is in contact with the insulating member (35).
Regarding claim 19. Modified LUNDSGAARD discloses the all-solid-state battery of claim 15, wherein figure 6B depicted above shows the laminate is disposed in such a manner that the positive electrode layer called “first and second cathode strips” (18, 20) is in contact with the insulating member (35).
Regarding claim 20. Modified LUNDSGAARD discloses the all-solid-state battery of claim 15, wherein the laminate is disposed in such a manner that the solid electrolyte layer (14 and 16) is in contact with the insulating member (35).
Regarding claim 21. Modified LUNDSGAARD discloses the all-solid-state battery of claim 15, wherein the electrode assembly is provided with the solid electrolyte layer (14 and 16) disposed on an outermost portion thereof as shown in figures 1 and 2 depicted below.
Regarding claim 23. Modified LUNDSGAARD discloses the all-solid-state battery of claim 15, further comprising
a surface to which the positive electrode layer called “first and second cathode strips” (18, 20) depicted in figure4 shown below and the positive terminal (46) (figure 6C) called a cylindrical head are connected has a spiral shape.
Regarding claim 24. Modified LUNDSGAARD discloses the all-solid-state battery of claim 23, wherein in the annotated figure 6C depicted below shows
a percentage of an average distance t between the negative electrode layer “first and second cathode strips” (18, 20) and the negative terminal (52), with respect to an average distance T between an interfacial surface of the electrode assembly in contact with the negative terminal and an interfacial surface of the electrode assembly in contact with the positive terminal, is in a range of 1% or more and 30% or less.
Regarding claim 25. Modified LUNDSGAARD discloses the all-solid-state battery of claim 23, wherein
a portion of the negative terminal is disposed on the one surface of the electrode assembly in the central axis direction,
and the other portion of the negative terminal is disposed extending on a surface of the electrode assembly, perpendicular to the central axis direction,
a portion of the positive terminal is disposed on the other surface of the electrode assembly in the central axis direction,
and the other portion of the negative terminal is disposed extending on a surface of the electrode assembly perpendicular to the central axis direction.
Regarding claim 27. LUNDSGAARD [col 3 lines 20-25] discloses the all-solid-state battery, called a cell (32) comprising:
[col 3 line 21] an electrode assembly including:
[col 3 line 22] a laminate comprising
[col 3 line 24] a solid electrolyte layer called a polymer electrolyte, and
[col 3 lines 52-53] a negative electrode layer and
a positive electrode layer called “first and second cathode strips” (18, 20) stacked with the [col 3 line 24] solid electrolyte layer (14 and 16) interposed therebetween, and
[col 3 line 21] an insulating member called a mandrel (35), wherein
Figures 4, 5, and 6A and B depict the laminate is wound around the insulating member such that a surface of the negative electrode layer or the positive electrode layer in a stacking direction thereof is parallel to a central axis of the insulating member,
Figure 6 C depicts a negative terminal (52) called a flat negative electrode surface that is connected to the negative electrode layer (34’); and
a positive terminal (46) called a cylindrical head, connected to the positive electrode layer, wherein
the negative electrode layer (34’) includes
a negative electrode current collector which is comprised of “A layer of conducting polymer (52) that is applied to form a flat negative electrode surface”, and this also meets the limitation of,
“a negative active material stacked with the negative electrode current collector interposed therebetween”, and wherein
the positive electrode layer (33’) includes
a positive electrode current collector, called a cathode current conductor strip (24), and
a positive active material called the cell laminate (10) stacked with the positive electrode current collector (24) interposed therebetween.
LUNDSGAARD discloses a surface of the negative electrode layer (34’) is directly connected with the negative terminal (52) has a spiral shape as depicted in annotated figures 3 and 6C depicted below.
LUNDSGAARD does not disclose the solid electrolyte layer comprises a ceramic based solid electrolyte.
IMAI [title] discloses An All-Solid State Secondary Battery And Manufacturing Method Therefor where
IMAI [0068] discloses the solid electrolyte layer comprises a ceramic based solid electrolyte in form of various metal oxides. Particularly,
IMAI [0081] discloses the use of LLZO, NASICON and other ceramics.
IMAI [0028] further discloses “the all-solid state secondary battery of the present invention is capable of preventing the breakage (cracking) of the battery exterior body by effectively suppressing the expansion of the battery caused by the precipitated metal on the surface of the negative electrode collector. In addition, even in a case where cracks are generated, the propagation of the cracks can be prevented”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have used the ceramic material disclosed by IMAI in the solid-state battery disclosed by LUNDSGAARD in order to suppress the expansion of the battery and prevent breakage.
Regarding claim 28. Modified LUNDSGAARD discloses the all-solid-state battery of claim 27, wherein figure 6C a shape of the electrode assembly in a central axis direction of the central axis of the insulating member is circular.
Regarding claim 29. Modified LUNDSGAARD discloses the all-solid-state battery of claim 27, wherein figure 6C depicts in the annotated figure below
at least a portion of the negative electrode layer is led out to one surface of the electrode assembly in a central axis direction of the central axis of the insulating member, and
at least a portion of the positive electrode layer is led out to the other surface of the electrode assembly in the central axis direction.
Regarding claim 30. Modified LUNDSGAARD discloses the all-solid-state battery of claim 27, wherein figure 6B depicted below shows the laminate is disposed in such a manner that the negative electrode layer (34’) is in contact with the insulating member (35).
Regarding claim 31. Modified LUNDSGAARD discloses the all-solid-state battery of claim 27, wherein figure 6B depicted above shows the laminate is disposed in such a manner that the positive electrode layer called “first and second cathode strips” (18, 20) is in contact with the insulating member (35).
Regarding claim 32. Modified LUNDSGAARD discloses the all-solid-state battery of claim 27, wherein the laminate is disposed in such a manner that the solid electrolyte layer(14 and 16) is in contact with the insulating member (35).
Regarding claim 33. Modified LUNDSGAARD discloses the all-solid-state battery of claim 27, wherein the electrode assembly is provided with the solid electrolyte layer (14 and 16) disposed on an outermost portion thereof as shown in figures 1 and 2 depicted below.
Regarding claim 35. Modified LUNDSGAARD discloses the all-solid-state battery of claim 27, wherein
a surface to which the positive electrode layer called “first and second cathode strips” (18, 20) and the positive terminal (46) called a cylindrical head are connected and has a spiral shape as also depicted in figures 3 to 6C.
Claims 13 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4879190 A, LUNDSGAARD in view of US 20200006718 A1, IMAI provided in the IDS dated 6/2/2026 as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of US 20040131934 A1, SUGNAUX et al.
Regarding claims 13 and 26. LUNDSGAARD modified by IMAI discloses the all-solid-state battery of claim 1 and 15.
Modified LUNDSGAARD discloses a mandrel comprised of nylon but does not disclose the insulating member includes an oxide, a nitride, or a compound thereof of a metal and/or non-metal compound.
SUGNAUX [title] discloses An Electrochemical Cell where
SUGNAUX [0058] discloses the insulating member includes an SiO2.
SUGNAUX [0058] also discloses that this “serves as a porous separator to prevent direct contact and short circuiting of the positive and negative electrodes said separator preferably being selected from an insulating ceramic material, more preferably Al2O3, SiO2, silanized silica, ZrO2, Ta2O5 or LiLa0.35Ti0.55O3.
[0059] The porous separator may additionally comprise a curable organic binder, preferably an organic binder of the type defined hereinabove."
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have used SiO2 or any of the disclosed ceramic materials as a porous separator and insulating material disclosed by SUGNAUX in order to prevent direct contact and the short circuiting of the positive and negative electrodes disclosed by modified LUNDSGAARD. These ceramics being well known in the art and widely used at the time of the effective filing date.
Conclusion
LAWRENCE LA RAIA III
Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/L.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727