DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 7-10, 12, 14, 15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baidya et al. U.S. PGPub 2020/0004921 (hereinafter “Baidya”).
Regarding claim 1, Baidya discloses a method for an augmented decision tree analysis in a machine learning algorithm (MLA) for a manufacturing system (e.g. ¶41), the method comprising: inputting data (e.g. test data) containing data acquired during operation (e.g. ¶36-37 and 41-44); amending the input data (e.g. update test data) with feature information (e.g. ¶36-37 and 41-44); and applying the input data in a decision tree analytics model with leaves, each of the leaves of the decision tree associated to a label giving information about an operational condition of the manufacturing system and branches of the decision tree that represent conjunctions of feature information that lead to a labeled state (e.g. ¶42, 52, 55, 83, 89, 93, 97, 103, 107, 116, 120 and 124), wherein there is at least one simulation model (e.g. forest model) that shows dependencies between the label and the input data (e.g. ¶42, 52, 55, 83, 89, 93, 97, 103, 107, 116, 120 and 124), and wherein one or more simulation models of the at least one simulation model replace at least one part of at least one of the branches (via new/updated decision tree) of the decision tree (e.g. ¶55 and 61).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Baidya discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the data is presented in a tabular form (e.g. via multiple vectors), with measurement sets in rows and correlated feature information, label, or a combination thereof in column (e.g. ¶36, 43 and 57).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Baidya discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising detecting an anomaly, the detecting of the anomaly comprising: generating, using a simulation model, example anomaly data (e.g. quality/defect data) that is compared to process data that has been collected during operation (e.g. ¶52); or inputting collected process data to the simulation model while comparing an output to other measurement channels or time frames of the collected process data.
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Baidya discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising determining cause of anomalies using the at least one simulation model, the determining of the cause of anomalies comprising identifying signals that influence anomalies by a cause analysis (e.g. ¶36 and 45-46).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Baidya discloses the method claim 1, wherein the at least one simulation model is used to simulate future behavior and predict expected values (e.g. ¶40-46, 49, 52, 56-58, 62-63 and 83).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Baidya discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising varying simulation model parameters (e.g. via improved machine learning system) of at least one simulation model, such that an error function defined through simulated and measured output values is minimized (e.g. minimize imperfections/defects) (e.g. ¶40-41, 52 and 58).
Regarding claim 10, Baidya discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising generating, using the at least one simulation model example data for at least one condition, with defined feature information, correlate (e.g. ¶40-41, 52 and 58); correlating, using the at least one simulation model, the input data to the at least one condition (e.g. ¶40-41, 52 and 58); and generalizing and enhancing (e.g. improving machine learning model), using the at least one simulation model, the decision tree analytics model (e.g. ¶40-41, 52 and 58).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baidya as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Colwell et al. U.S. Patent 10,628,546 (hereinafter “Colwell”).
Baidya discloses using a decision tree to improve yield in a semiconductor manufacturing environment, but does not explicitly disclose using a Gradient Boosted Decision Tree.
Colwell discloses alternatively using a Gradient Boosted Decision Tree in a semiconductor manufacturing environment (e.g. col. 17, lines 44-53).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use a Gradient Boosted Decision Tree in a semiconductor manufacturing environment. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this since it is known for having high predictive accuracy.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Baidya with Colwell to obtain the invention as specified in claims 2 and 13.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
CK
September 30, 2025
/CHARLES R KASENGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116