DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on June 12, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1-15 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendment to the claims has overcome the previous claim objections of record. The rejection of claim 2 under 35 U.S.C. 112 has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the remarks filed June 12, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 20080299449 A1 (Yun ‘449).
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 10, and 12-13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 2 of claim 2 should recite “wherein the metal case of each cell”.
In line 3 of claim 2, insert “the” to recite “so that the cells can be stacked”.
Line 3 of claim 10 should recite “the pump for the heat transfer fluid”.
Line 2 of claim 12 should recite “the pump”.
Line 5 of claim 13 should recite “the pump”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20080299449 A1 (Yun ‘449) in view of JP 2004031272 A (Fukuzawa ‘272 – citing to the attached English translation).
Regarding claim 1, Yun ‘449 teaches an electric battery assembly (lithium ion secondary battery system 50; [0051] & Fig. 1) that comprises a multiplicity of cells that operate at an elevated temperature (a plurality of lithium battery cell units 31 contained within the cooling cover 51 to be cooled; [0057]), each cell having a case (the unit cells 31 are constructed to include a pouch 34; [0017];) with a projecting flange (as shown in Fig. 4, each unit cell 31 has a projecting flange around the pouch 34; [0017]), the cells being arranged in at least one stack (the cells 31 are arranged in a stack; Fig. 5), and the assembly comprising at least one generally rectangular frame that defines a rectangular aperture to locate at least one stack of cells (as shown in Figs. 6 & 7, the stack of cells 31 are contained within a rectangular cover 51; [0020]), such that the flanges of the cells in each stack are adjacent to a wall of the frame (each battery cell 31 is accommodated in a main frame 41 and a partitioning frame 42, the frames 41/42 surrounding the flange of the pouch 34 being adjacent to a wall of the cover 51; [0057] & Figs. 4, 5, & 7 ), each flange being thinner than the remainder of the case so that there are gaps between the flanges of adjacent cells (as shown in Fig. 3, the flange surrounding the pouch 34 is thinner than the pouch 34; as shown in Fig. 9, cooling channels 43 are formed between the flanges of adjacent cells; [0058]), wherein the assembly also includes a pump to pass heat transfer fluid through each frame (a cooling fan 52 blows air to cool the lithium battery unit cells 31; [0020]; Figs. 6 & 7), so that the heat transfer fluid flows through the gaps between the flanges of the cells adjacent to the wall of the frame (the cooling fan 52 blows air that passes through the cooling channels 43 within the space partitioned by the cover 51; [0020]; Figs. 5 & 7).
Yun ‘449 discloses the casing 12 is a pouch-type casing including a middle layer of a metallic foil with inner and outer surface layers made of insulating films attached to both sides of the metallic foil ([0008]). Thus, Yun ‘449 does not disclose that the outer surfaces of the pouch 34 are metal.
Fukuzawa ‘272 discloses a battery having an electrode stacked body 13 housed in an outer case 15 that is sealed by overlapping a pair of laminate films 15a and 15b and welding their edges together ([0012] & Fig. 1). Each of the laminate films 15a and 15b has an aluminum layer 27, which is a conductive metal, as the center, with an outer resin layer 29 and an inner resin layer 31 ([0014]). A portion of the outer resin layer 29 of each of the laminate films 15a and 15b near the portion that substantially corresponds to the electrode laminate 13 is removed to exposed the aluminum layer 27, thereby forming the positive electrode terminal contact portion 37 and the negative electrode terminal contact portion 39 as outer metal exposed portions ([0016]). Therefore, there is no need to provide positive and negative electrode tabs, because the aluminum layer 27 of the laminate films 15a and 15b becomes a current passage leading from the positive and negative electrode plates 17 and 19 to the outside, reducing the number of parts and simplifying the structure ([0018]). A plurality of battery units B may be stacked and connected in series to form a battery pack ([0021] & Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the pouch-type casings of the cells in the electric battery assembly, as taught by Yun ‘449, to have outer metal exposed portions, the exposed portions acting as terminal contact portions, to simplify the structure and to be able to stack a plurality of batteries in series to form a battery pack, as suggested by Fukuzawa ‘272.
Regarding claim 2, Yun ‘449 teaches the electric battery assembly as claimed in claim 1, wherein the metal case of each cell has opposed faces with opposite polarity, so that cells can be stacked directly in contact with each other, all with the same orientation, with all the cells of the stack being electrically connected in series (the aluminum layer 27 of the laminate films 15a and 15b becomes a current passage leading from the positive and negative electrode plates 17 and 19 to the outside; [0018]; a plurality of battery units B may be stacked and connected in series to form a battery pack; [0021] & Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Yun ‘449 teaches the electric battery assembly as claimed in claim 1, wherein the heat transfer fluid does not undergo a phase change in the temperature range between ambient temperature and the operating temperature of the cells (air is blown by the cooling fan; [0020] of Yun’449; corresponding to the heat transfer fluid being air in [0010] of the PG Pub of this application – US 20230307744 A1).
The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding claim 5, Yun ‘449 teaches the electric battery assembly as claimed in claim 1, wherein the heat transfer fluid is air (air is blown by the cooling fan; [0020] of Yun’449).
Regarding claim 6, Yun ‘449 teaches the electric battery assembly as claimed in claim 1, wherein each stack of cells is provided with endplates, each endplate incorporating at least one electrical contact (in a third embodiment, a plurality of battery units B are arranged in parallel and fixed together with a pair of metal plates 41 and 43 from both sides, wherein the two metal plates 41 and 43 function as electrodes, and also act as retaining plates to hold down the battery unit B, i.e., end plates; [0023] – [0027] of Fukuzawa ‘272).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20080299449 A1 (Yun ‘449) in view of JP 2004031272 A (Fukuzawa ‘272), and further in view of US 20060210868 A1 (Kim ‘868).
Regarding claim 4, Yun ‘449 teaches the electric battery assembly as claimed in claim 1, but does not disclose also comprising a heater to heat the heat transfer fluid, for raising the temperature of the cells.
Kim ‘868 discloses a secondary battery module including a positive temperature coefficient (PTC) heater 22 disposed in an inlet 13 side of a housing 12 to heat air as it is flowing into the housing 12 to control the temperature of a plurality of unit batteries 11 within the secondary battery module ([0031] - [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the electric battery assembly, as taught by Yun ‘449, to include a heater to heat the air, corresponding to the heat transfer fluid, to control the temperature of the cells therein, as suggested by Kim ‘868.
Claims 7 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20080299449 A1 (Yun ‘449) in view of JP 2004031272 A (Fukuzawa ‘272), and further in view of US 20160365612 A1 (Bradwell ‘612).
Regarding claim 7, Yun ‘449 teaches the electric battery assembly as claimed in claim 1, but does not disclose wherein each frame is an insulating frame of a thermally insulating material.
Bradwell ‘612 discloses an energy storage system that includes providing a thermal management fluid to or from the energy storage system, wherein the thermal management fluid may be provided to (e.g., contacted with) the energy storage system as well as other portions of the system (e.g., a storage reservoir, condenser or other component of the system) ([0004]). For example, the thermal management fluid can flow through a frame of the energy storage system to maintain the system at an operating temperature ([0004]).
The energy storage system can further include a fluid flow system that is configured and arranged to direct the thermal management fluid through one or more fluid flow paths of the frame ([0164]). The fluid flow system can include a pump, a fan, a blow, and/or any other suitable device for moving the thermal management fluid ([0164]).
The energy storage system may comprise a plurality of electrochemical cells supported by a frame structure, wherein the frame structure comprises one or more fluid flow paths for bringing a thermal management fluid in thermal communication with at least a subset of the plurality of electrochemical cells ([0014]).
The frame can be made from any suitable material including plastic, aluminum, steel, or stainless steel ([0158]). Thermal insulation and frames may be provided with various groups of cells herein ([0134]). The thermal insulation and/or the frame(s) may be configured to allow a group of cells to be cooled ([0134]). Thermal insulation can be used to prevent heat loss from the cells ([0144]), wherein the system can be insulated, because thermal insulation surrounds the frame (or frame elements) ([0160]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the frame of the electric battery assembly, as taught by Yun ‘449, to be an insulating frame having a thermally insulating material, to allow the group of cells to be cooled, to prevent heat loss from the cells, or to insulate the system, as suggested by Bradwell ‘612.
The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding claim 11, Yun ‘449 teaches the electric battery assembly as claimed in claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the at least one frame is a metal frame adapted to enclose a plurality of stacks of cells, the stacks being arranged side by side.
Bradwell ‘612 discloses an energy storage system that includes providing a thermal management fluid to or from the energy storage system, wherein the thermal management fluid may be provided to (e.g., contacted with) the energy storage system as well as other portions of the system (e.g., a storage reservoir, condenser or other component of the system) ([0004]). For example, the thermal management fluid can flow through a frame of the energy storage system to maintain the system at an operating temperature ([0004]).
The energy storage system can further include a fluid flow system that is configured and arranged to direct the thermal management fluid through one or more fluid flow paths of the frame ([0164]). The fluid flow system can include a pump, a fan, a blow, and/or any other suitable device for moving the thermal management fluid ([0164]).
The energy storage system may comprise a plurality of electrochemical cells supported by a frame structure, wherein the frame structure comprises one or more fluid flow paths for bringing a thermal management fluid in thermal communication with at least a subset of the plurality of electrochemical cells ([0014]).
The frame can be made from any suitable material including plastic, aluminum, steel, or stainless steel ([0158]). Thermal insulation and frames may be provided with various groups of cells herein ([0134]). The thermal insulation and/or the frame(s) may be configured to allow a group of cells to be cooled ([0134]). Thermal insulation can be used to prevent heat loss from the cells ([0144]), wherein the system can be insulated, because thermal insulation surrounds the frame (or frame elements) ([0160]).
Cell packs can be attached in series and parallel in various configurations, wherein the number and arrangement of various groups of electrochemical cells can be chosen to create the desired system voltage and energy storage capacity ([0130]). The packs can be enclosed together in high temperature thermal insulation ([0130] & Fig. 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the frame of the electric battery assembly, as taught by Yun ‘449, to be a metal frame adapted to enclose a plurality of stacks of cells, the stacks being arranged side by side, as suggested by Bradwell ‘612, wherein the number and arrangement of various groups of electrochemical cells can be chosen to create the desired system voltage and energy storage capacity.
Regarding claim 12, Yun ‘449 teaches the electric battery assembly as claimed in claim 11, wherein the at least one frame is also provided with the pump for the heat transfer fluid (the fluid flow system can include a pump for moving the thermal management fluid; [0164] of Bradwell ‘612).
Regarding claim 13, Yun ‘449 teaches the electric battery assembly comprising a multiplicity of battery assemblies as claimed in claim 12, comprising a multiplicity of frames arranged to form a plurality of stacks of frames, wherein each frame encloses a plurality of stacks of cells, the stacks of cells being arranged side by side, and each frame is provide with a pump (the fluid flow system can include multiples pumps for moving the thermal management fluid through separate fluid flow channels or paths, for example, a pump can be provided for each separate fluid flow path of the four separate frames or quadrants of stacks of cells shown in Figs. 7 & 10; [0164] of Bradwell ‘612).
Regarding claim 14, Yun ‘449 teaches the electric battery assembly as claimed in claim 13, also comprising a thermally insulating chamber that defines a first space adjacent to one end of each frame (the system may include ducting 10005 that can be located between groups of electrochemical cells 1010 (e.g., enclosed by a frame) for passing thermal management fluid therethrough; [0162] & Fig. 10; thermal insulation inside of a fluid flow channel can provide thermal insulation between the thermal transfer fluid and one or more structural portions of the fluid flow channel; [0160] of Bradwell ‘612), a second space adjacent to the opposite end of each frame (four separate ducts 1005 are shown in Fig. 10 of Bradwell ‘612), a seal structure to inhibit flow outside the frames of the heat transfer fluid between the first space and the second space (in some cases, the thermal management fluid may flow through distinct thermal flow paths, each in communication with one or more distinct openings, separating the fluid in each path, and thus, enabling the system to separately control fluid flow rate through each path; [0157] of Bradwell ‘612), and ports for the heat transfer fluid communicating with the first space and the second space (the fluid may be moved through multiple fluid flow paths that are in fluid communication with each other; [0164] of Bradwell ‘612).
Regarding claim 15, Yun ‘449 teaches the electric battery assembly as claimed in claim 12, wherein each frame also comprises a thermal sensor, and the pump associated with a frame is controlled in response to measurements from the thermal sensor associated with that frame (one or more temperature sensors may be placed in the hot zone of the system and may provide measurement data to the computer system outside of the hot zone, wherein the temperature sensors can be in electronic communication with, for example, the computer processor to control the pump; [0028] & [0190] of Bradwell ‘612).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20080299449 A1 (Yun ‘449) in view of JP 2004031272 A (Fukuzawa ‘272) and US 20160365612 A1 (Bradwell ‘612), and further in view of US 20160072163 A1 (Tsuruta ‘163).
Regarding claim 8, Yun ‘449 teaches the electric battery assembly as claimed in claim 7, but does not disclose wherein the wall of each insulating frame defines a recess or a wide groove open at one end but closed at the other end on two walls of the frame, the recess or wide groove locating edges of the cell stack, and the closed end of the recess preventing the stack from passing right through the insulating frame.
Tsuruta ‘163 discloses an energy storage apparatus 1, including an outer covering 100 and a second outer covering 200; and an energy storage unit 30 and electric equipment 40 which are accommodated in the insider of the outer covering 10 ([0062]; Figs. 1-4). The first outer covering 100 and the second outer covering 200 is formed using an insulating resin ([0091]).
As shown in Fig. 4, each wall of the second outer covering 200 has recesses formed between inner corner portions of the walls, and the recesses are open at one end when the first outer covering 100 is removed and closed at the other end by a second flat surface portion 210 ([0092] – [0093]). The energy storage unit 30 is located at the recessed walls of the second outer covering 200, wherein the energy storage unit 30 cannot pass through the outer covering 200 (Figs. 1-4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the walls of the cover of the electric battery assembly, as taught by Yun ‘449, to have recesses formed at the walls which are open at one end and closed at the other preventing the stack from passing though the insulating frame, the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20080299449 A1 (Yun ‘449) in view of JP 2004031272 A (Fukuzawa ‘272) and US 20160365612 A1 (Bradwell ‘612), and further in view of US 20130323551 A1 (Lee ‘551).
Regarding claim 9, Yun ‘449 teaches the electric battery assembly as claimed in claim 7, but does disclose that the battery assembly is modular, comprising a plurality of battery modules, each battery module comprising a stack of the cells located within one such rectangular insulating frame, with the flanges of the cells in the stack adjacent to a wall of the insulating frame.
Lee ‘551 discloses an apparatus for cooling a power storage device, i.e., cooling apparatus 1000, which includes a housing 200, a circulation driving module 300, an exhaust duct 400, and stack 500 formed by layering a plurality of battery pack containers 100 in which battery packs 10 are provided ([0046] & Fig. 1). The battery pack 10 includes a plurality of secondary electric cells ([0047]). Each battery pack container 100 may include one or more battery packs 10, wherein ([0048] & Fig. 2). The battery pack container 100 includes first and second side plates 110, 111, upper frames 130, lower frames 140, and a top plate 150 ([0055] & Fig. 2). The battery pack container and an apparatus for cooling a power storage battery pack allow a plurality of power storage battery packs to have a suitable structure for an air conditioning system and to be easily layered in a stack ([0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide that the battery assembly, as taught by Yun ‘449, comprises a plurality of battery containers, each battery container comprising a stack of cells therein (the cells having the claimed flanges taught by Yun ‘449), wherein the flanges of the cells contained therein are adjacent to a wall of the container, as suggested by Lee ‘551, to provide a suitable structure for an air conditioning system and to be easily layered in a stack.
Regarding claim 10, Yun ‘449 teaches the electric battery assembly as claimed in claim 9, wherein the insulating frames of adjacent battery modules are shaped to fit together, and to be combined with a module that incorporates a pump for a heat transfer fluid (as shown in Fig. 4 of Lee ‘551, the adjacent battery containers 100 are shaped to fit together, because the uneven structures of the lower frames 141, 143 included in a first battery pack container 100-1 is mutually coupled to the uneven structures 153 of the top portion of the top plate 150, wherein the upper frames 131, 133 included in a second battery pack container 100-2 are coupled to the uneven structure 151 of the bottom portion of the top plate 150, and thus, the battery pack containers 100 are vertically layered to form the stack 500, as shown in Fig. 5; [0070] of Lee ‘551).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20100285347 A1 (Saito ‘347) discloses a battery system provided with battery blocks 3 having a plurality of battery cells 1, stacked with cooling gaps 4 established between the battery cells 1 to pass cooling gas ([0010]). A battery block 3 is provided with endplates 10 disposed at the ends of the battery cell 1 stack, and the pair of endplates 10 is connected by fastening components 11 to solidly hold the stack of battery cells 1 and spacers 2 between the endplates 10 ([0047]). The endplates 10 have essentially the same rectangular outline shape as the battery cells 1 ([0047] & Fig. 7).
/TAYLOR HARRISON KRONE/Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/JONATHAN CREPEAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725