DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The aforementioned claims state the phrase “preferably” which is indefinite because it follows a narrow term, where the skilled artisan would not ascertain whether the broad or narrow term is prevalent in the claim and is inconsistent with distinctively claiming the invention. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 11 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koshti et al (2018/0193243) in view of WO (2020/069178) is withdrawn.
Claim(s) 3-4, 8, 11, 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koshti et al (2018/0193243) in view of Ilardi et al (5,393,466).
Koshti et al disclose a preservative personal care composition and method thereof (abstract) in the form of non-dusting composite blend, which comprises; [0022] a) N-capryloyl glycine (Formula I), b) N-undecylenoyl glycine (Formula II), [0023] c) benzoic acid (Formula III) and d) sodium dehydroacetate ((Formula IV) wherein, the ratio of above four components to each other is 1:1:1:1 by weight (0021). Specifically, it is very apparent to anyone with reasonable knowledge in microbiology that ratios of four components can be varied a little and still can get the effective broad spectrum of antimicrobial activity, for example, ratio of N-capryloyl glycine:N-undecylenoyl glycine:benzoic acid:sodium dehydroacetate can be 1:1:1.25:0.75 or it can be 1.25:0.75:1.0:1.0 by weight (0048). Koshti et al teach that 8 to 12% surfactant mix is the usual range that can be used for home and personal care products and comprise a blend of anionic and amphoteric surfactants, specifically cocoamidopropyl betaine (0051 and 0052). This ease of dispersion of the anti-microbial blend of the present invention in water and subsequent solubility of the same in the presence of surfactants is very surprising (0051) and water to balance a pH from 4-6 is suggested at example 3 Table 7. Furthermore, the personal care compositions comprising the antimicrobial composition of in an amount of 0.3 to 2% (with a ratio of 0.75 for dehydroacetate @ 0.3%= 0.075%; below the substantially free amounts as claimed) for of the personal care composition and wherein the composition is selected from the group consisting of a powder, granules, a compact, a lotion, a cream, a solution, a body-washes, sera, a hand wash, an intimate hygiene wash, a wipe, an emulsion, and combinations thereof (claims 6-7).
Koshti et al not suggest sodium dehydroacetate at 0.0125%.
The examiner contends that as stated above, the low amount of 0.07% as suggested may be optimized given that optimization is within the level of the ordinary artisan, absent a showing to the contrary commensurate in scope with the claimed invention.
Koshti et al teach all of the instantly required except an isethionate anionic surfactant.
Ilardi et al disclose a personal cleansing composition comprising isethionate anionic surfactants, betaine amphoteric surfactants, lauric acid, preservatives and water (example 8).
One skilled in the art would have been motivated to include alkyl isethionate surfactants as an anionic surfactant of choice within the preservative compositions of Koshti et al given that Ilardi et al teaches that isethionates, and betaines are desirable and mild body cleansers (col. 3, lines 40-60) anionic surfactants and amphoteric surfactants equivalently utilized in preservative compositions and absent a showing to the contrary, one skilled would have readily employed said isethionates with the expectation of similar reduction of surface tension upon the personal substrates being treated by Koshti et al.
[W]hen a patent 'simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform' and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious. [KSR Int'l Co. v.Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. at 418 (quoting Sakraida v. Ag Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273,282 (1976).]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5-7, 9-10, 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Koshti et al not suggest sodium dehydroacetate at less than 0.125% or 0.0125%.
The examiner contends that as stated above, the low amount of 0.07% as suggested may be optimized given that optimization is within the level of the ordinary artisan, absent a showing to the contrary commensurate in scope with the claimed invention.
“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages” Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382; In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997).Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NECHOLUS OGDEN JR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761